Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 9, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (2020/0266524).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoon et al. (2020/0266524) discloses an electronic device (fig. 2-5) comprising:
at least one housing including a first surface (vertical surface 513, 523) and a second side surface (bottom surface 514, 524) extending from the first side surface in a perpendicular direction (fig. 5);
a conductor (antenna as radiation conductor, paragraph [0075]) disposed at least partially in the housing (fully in housing) (paragraph [0089]) and extending along the second side surface from the first side surface (paragraph [0016]).
a substrate (PCB 270) including a ground plane (ground portion) disposed at least partially (fully in housing) in an internal space of the housing (paragraph [0123]); and
a wireless communication circuit (197, 190) disposed on the substrate and configured to transmit and/or receive a wireless signal in a first frequency band through at least a first point of the conductor (paragraph [0089]),
wherein the first point is located at and/or adjacent to a corner of the conductor, and wherein, in the conductor, a first length (L1) of a first radiating portion located at a side from the first point is equal to a second length (L2) of a second radiating portion disposed at another side (paragraph [0129]), based on the first frequency band (different frequency bands, paragraph [0007]; “resonance frequency to be formed using the radiation conductor”, paragraph [0126]).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first point is disposed at a position not exceeding 5 mm from a corner of the conductor (Yoon teaches “100mm or less” overlaps the claimed value, paragraph [0126]).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first frequency band includes a low band (“low band,” paragraphs [0140], [0167]).
Regarding Claim 9, Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one housing (housing structure 210, 220) includes a conductive lateral member including the first and second side surfaces (figs. 2, 3), and the conductor includes at least one conductive member, comprising conductive material, segmented from the conductive lateral member through at least one segmenting portion (segmentation) (paragraph [0096]).
Regarding Claim 15, Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one housing includes: a first housing; and a second housing foldably (unfolded state or folded state of the first and second housing structures and hinge structure supporting one display”, paragraphs [0016]-[0018]) connected to the first housing via a hinge device (hinge structure, see paragraph [0096], fig. 4), and the conductor is at least partially disposed in the first housing and/or the second housing (paragraphs [0016]-[0018]).
Regarding Claim 16, Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first housing and/or the second housing (housing structure 210, 220) includes a conductive lateral member including the first side surface and the second side surface (figs. 2, 3), and wherein the conductor includes at least one conductive member segmented from the conductive lateral member through at least one segmenting portion (segmentation) (paragraph [0096]).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (2020/0266524) in view of Levy et al. (2018/0279751).
Regarding Claim 2, as discussed above, Yoon essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first length is λ/4.
However, Levy et al. (2018/0279751) discloses the length is a quarter of the characteristic wavelength of the radio antenna (paragraphs [0013]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a quarter of length in Yoon in order to obtain the advantageous aspects as taught by Levy.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 5-8, 10-14, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845