DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0168109 by Kang et al. (“Kang”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0258338 by Park (“Park”).
As to claim 1, Kang discloses an electronic device (Kang, touch screen panel, Figure 1A) comprising:
a first electrode comprising a plurality of first patterns (Kang, plurality of first sensing electrodes 111, Figure 1B), and a first bridge pattern electrically connected to the plurality of first patterns (Kang, vertical connecting units 130, Figures 1B-4B);
a second electrode (Kang, second sensing electrodes 112, Figure 1B) crossing the first electrode (Kang, first bridge patterns 117 for connecting the second sensing electrodes 112, Figure 4A, ¶ [0083]));
a third electrode (Kang, plurality of third sensing electrodes 121, Figure 1B) overlapping with at least a portion of the first electrode (Kang, as illustrated in FIG. 1B, a plurality of third sensing electrodes 121 are formed adjacent to the second surface 10B of the substrate 10 so as to overlap the first sensing electrodes 111, Figure 1B, ¶ [0054]); and
a fourth electrode (Kang, plurality of fourth sensing electrodes 122, Figure 1B) crossing the third electrode (Kang, a plurality of second connecting patterns 125 for connecting the fourth sensing electrodes 122 in the second direction D2. Figure 4B, ¶ [0068]), and comprising a plurality of second patterns (Kang, plurality of fourth sensing electrodes 122, Figure 1B), and a second bridge pattern electrically connected to the plurality of second patterns (Kang, vertical connecting units 130, Figures 1B-4B),
wherein the first bridge pattern (Kang, vertical connecting units 130, Figures 1B-4B), the third electrode (Kang, plurality of third sensing electrodes 121, Figure 1B), and the plurality of second patterns (Kang, plurality of fourth sensing electrodes 122, Figure 1B) are included in a first conductive layer, As shown in figure 1B-4B of Kang, the vertical connecting units 130 are on a first conductive layer as they connect on the layer with the sensing electrodes 120.
wherein the plurality of first patterns (Kang, plurality of first sensing electrodes 111, Figure 1B), the second electrode (Kang, second sensing electrodes 112, Figure 1B), and the second bridge pattern (Kang, vertical connecting units 130, Figures 1B-4B) are included in a second conductive layer on the first conductive layer, As shown in figure 1B-4B of Kang, the vertical connecting units 130 are on a second conductive layer as they connect on the layer with the sensing electrodes 110.
wherein each of the plurality of first patterns, the second electrode, and the second bridge pattern comprises a plurality of first mesh lines (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]), and
Kang does not expressly teach
at least some of a plurality of first end portions of the plurality of first mesh lines have a curvature.
Park teaches a display device including mesh electrodes wherein
at least some of a plurality of first end portions of the plurality of first mesh lines have a curvature (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s electrodes to include Park’s semi-circular shape electrodes because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Kang’s electrodes and Park’s semi-circular shape electrodes perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing electrodes for a touch display panel.. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Kang’s electrodes by replacing it with Park’s semi-circular shape electrodes. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the mesh electrodes having a curved end.
As to claim 2, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein each of the first bridge pattern, the third electrode, and the plurality of second patterns comprises a plurality of second mesh lines (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]).
As to claim 3, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein at least some of a plurality of second end portions of the plurality of second mesh lines have a straight-line shape (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 7, each of the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a straight line shape. Figure 7, ¶ [0136]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 4, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein the plurality of second end portions are covered by the plurality of first mesh lines (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]).
As to claim 5, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein a portion of the plurality of second mesh lines overlaps with a gap between two first end portions facing each other from among the plurality of first end portions (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 6, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein an edge of the portion of the plurality of second mesh lines has a curvature (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 7, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein the plurality of first end portions comprise a first end portion having the curvature (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]), and a second end portion having a straight-line shape (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 7, each of the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a straight line shape. Figure 7, ¶ [0136]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 9, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein the plurality of first mesh lines comprises a plurality of bridge mesh lines included in the second bridge pattern, and wherein an end portion of each of the plurality of bridge mesh lines has a curvature (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]) (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 10, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein the plurality of first mesh lines comprises a plurality of pattern mesh lines included in the plurality of first patterns and the second electrode, and wherein an end portion of each of the plurality of pattern mesh lines has a curvature (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]) (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 11, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein the plurality of first mesh lines comprises a plurality of pattern mesh lines included in the plurality of first patterns and the second electrode, and from among end portions of the plurality of pattern mesh lines, end portions facing end portions of the plurality of bridge mesh lines have a curvature (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]) (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]), and other remaining end portions have a straight-line shape (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 7, each of the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a straight line shape. Figure 7, ¶ [0136]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 12, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein the plurality of first mesh lines comprises a plurality of bridge mesh lines included in the second bridge pattern, wherein end portions of the plurality of bridge mesh lines comprise a first end portion and a second end portion, and wherein the first end portion has a curvature (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]) (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]), and the second end portion has a straight-line shape (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 7, each of the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a straight line shape. Figure 7, ¶ [0136]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 14, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein the plurality of first mesh lines comprises a plurality of pattern mesh lines included in the plurality of first patterns and the second electrode (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]),
wherein the plurality of pattern mesh lines comprises a first pattern mesh line extending in a first direction, and a second pattern mesh line extending in the first direction (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]), As shown in figure 8 of Park, the mesh electrode ends extend in a first direction.
wherein the first pattern mesh line and the second pattern mesh line are spaced from each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]), and
wherein the first pattern mesh line comprises a first pattern portion and a second pattern portion spaced from each other with a gap therebetween (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]). As shown in figure 8 of Park, there is a gap between the electrode patterns. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 18, Kang discloses an electronic device (Kang, touch screen panel, Figure 1A) comprising:
a display layer (Kang, The substrate 10 may be divided into a touch active area AA that overlaps an image display region and in which the sensing electrodes 110 and 120 are formed, Figure 1A, ¶ [0048]);
a first conductive layer (Kang, sensing electrodes 120, Figure 1B) on the display layer, and comprising a plurality of lower mesh lines (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]); and
a second conductive layer (Kang, sensing electrodes 110, Figure 1B) on the first conductive layer, and comprising a plurality of upper mesh lines (Kang, each of the sensing electrodes may be mesh-shaped so as to correspond to the mesh-shaped substrate. ¶ [0018]),
wherein a plurality of second end portions of the plurality of lower mesh lines are covered by the plurality of upper mesh lines, and a portion of the plurality of lower mesh lines overlaps with a gap between two first end portions facing each other from among the plurality of first end portions (Kang, Referring to FIGS. 1A and 1B, a touch screen panel according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a substrate 10 having a first surface 10A and a second surface 10B opposite to the first surface 10A, sensing electrodes 110 of the first surface 10A of the substrate 10, sensing electrodes 120 of the second surface 10B of the substrate 10, Figures 1A and 1B, ¶ [0047]).
Kang does not expressly disclose
wherein at least some of a plurality of first end portions of the plurality of upper mesh lines have a curvature,
Park teaches a display device including mesh electrodes wherein
wherein at least some of a plurality of first end portions of the plurality of upper mesh lines have a curvature (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s electrodes to include Park’s semi-circular shape electrodes because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Kang’s electrodes and Park’s semi-circular shape electrodes perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being providing electrodes for a touch display panel.. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of Kang’s electrodes by replacing it with Park’s semi-circular shape electrodes. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Thus, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the mesh electrodes having a curved end.
As to claim 19, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein at least some of the plurality of second end portions have a straight-line shape (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 7, each of the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a straight line shape. Figure 7, ¶ [0136]). In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 18.
As to claim 20, Kang, as modified by Park, teaches the electronic device wherein the plurality of first end portions comprises a first end portion having the curvature (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 8, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a rounded or curved shape. For example, the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a semi-circular shape protruding toward each other. Figure 8, ¶ [0140]), and a second end portion having a straight-line shape (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 7, each of the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a straight line shape. Figure 7, ¶ [0136]), wherein the plurality of lower mesh lines comprises a first lower mesh line and a second lower mesh line, wherein the first lower mesh line protrudes and extends from the first end portion, and wherein the second lower mesh line comprises a lower end portion having a straight-line shape (Park, As illustrated in FIG. 7, each of the opposing end portions 21 and 11 of the dummy electrode 480 and the connection electrode 150 may have a straight line shape. Figure 7, ¶ [0136]), the second lower mesh line does not overlap with the second end portion, and the lower end portion is spaced from the second end portion. As shown in figures 7 and 8 of Park, the ends of the electrode mesh do not overlap. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 13, and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 8, Kang, as modified by Park, does not expressly teach the electronic device wherein the plurality of second mesh lines comprises a first lower mesh line and a second lower mesh line,
wherein the first lower mesh line protrudes and extends from the first end portion, and
wherein the second lower mesh line comprises a lower end portion having a straight-line shape, the second lower mesh line does not overlap with the second end portion, and the lower end portion is spaced from the second end portion.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to claim 13, Kang, as modified by Park, does not expressly teach the electronic device wherein the first end portion overlaps with one second mesh line included in the plurality of second mesh lines, and the second end portion does not overlap with the plurality of second mesh lines.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to claim 15, Kang, as modified by Park, does not expressly teach the electronic device wherein the second pattern mesh line comprises a third pattern portion, a compensation portion, and a fourth pattern portion spaced from the third pattern portion with the compensation portion therebetween, and
wherein the compensation portion faces the gap in the second direction, and an edge of the compensation portion has a curvature.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 16 and 17, these claims depend upon objected dependent claim 15.
Conclusion
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623