DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Application No. 19/177,2335 and the preliminary amendments filled on 04/24/2026.
Claims 2-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “circuitry” on line 2 should apparently be “a circuitry”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 18 cite the phrase “more closely”, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification doesn’t provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of the ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 2 cites the phrase “further trained based” on line 7. However, there is no system train cited in the previous line. Therefore, a citation of further trained makes the claim ambiguous.
Claims 2, 4-5, 9, 12, 16, 18 and 21 cite the phrase “at least in part”. Where the phrase “in part” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification doesn’t provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of the ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 11 cites the phrase “closer”. It is not clear how close it is. The specification fails to further define the limit.
Claims 3-8, 10-15 and 17-21 are also rejected by the virtue of their dependency on rejected base claim(s).
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/ columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching
all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-5, 8, 9-12, 15-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukano et al. (JP2008065588A, attached English translated NPL document is used for claim mapping) (hereinafter (Fukano).
Claim 2. Fukano teaches one or more processors (See Para. [0007], “parameter adjustment device comprising control unit such as the CPU”, and/or see Para. [0022], “arithmetic control unit”), comprising:
circuitry (See Para. [0022], “storage unit and/or arithmetic control unit”) to:
adjust one or more distributions of one or more simulation parameters based, at least in part, on output generated by a control system of an autonomous device from performing one or more autonomous actions based on one or more simulations corresponding to the one or more simulation parameters (See Para. [0022], “an arithmetic control unit that searches for a first mathematical parameter so that the mathematical model matches the measured values, performs a simulation using the plant model, and searches for a second mathematical parameter so that the mathematical model matches the simulation values”); and
cause the control system to be further trained based, at least in part, on simulation results generated based, at least in part, on the one or more adjusted distributions of the one or more simulation parameters (See Para. [0022]-[0024], [0038], discloses “repeatedly performing the simulation [constitutes further trained as claimed] to match the measured values and the simulation values, the user performing the adjustment can easily determine which physical parameter does not match the actual plant in the simulation, thereby enabling efficient parameter adjustment”).
Claim 2. One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to:
adjust one or more distributions of one or more simulation parameters based, at least in part, on output generated by a control system of an autonomous device from performing one or more autonomous actions based on one or more simulations corresponding to the one or more simulation parameters; and
cause the control system to be further trained based, at least in part, on simulation results generated based, at least in part, on the one or more adjusted distributions of the one or more simulation parameters.
Claim 3. Fukano teaches one or more processors of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further to iteratively repeat the adjustment of the one or more distributions and the causing of the control system to be further trained (See Para. [0014]-[0015], [0022], “repeatedly performing the simulation to match the measured values and the simulation values”, and/or see Para. [0050], “by repeating the operations from "S102" to "S106" in Figure 3, the mathematical parameters for the measured values and the mathematical parameters for the simulated values become closer, making it possible to narrow down the optimal physical parameters and make the measured values and simulated values match”).
Claim 4. Fukano teaches the one or more processors of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further to indicate that the simulation results, generated based, at least in part, on the one or more adjusted distributions, more closely resemble a result of the performance of the one or more autonomous actions (See Para. [0050], “the mathematical parameters for the measured values and the mathematical parameters for the simulated values become closer, making it possible to narrow down the optimal physical parameters and make the measured values and simulated values match.”).
Claim 5. Fukano teaches the one or more processors of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is to adjust the one or more distributions further based, at least in part, on one or more failed attempts of the autonomous device to perform the one or more autonomous actions (See Para. [0014], “when the simulated value of the plant model does not fall within the tolerance range [constituted failed attempt], in Figure 10, at "S004", the calculation control unit 1 of the parameter adjustment device 50 changes the parameter”, and/or Para. [0068], “when the simulated values do not fall within an acceptable range [constituted a failed attempt] compared to the measured values, mathematical parameters are searched again to match the simulated values in the mathematical model”).
Claim 8. The one or more processors of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is to cause the control system to be further trained at least by maximizing a similarity between the simulation results and a result of the performance of the one or more autonomous actions (See Para. [0050], “make the measured values and simulated values match”).
Claims 9-12 are system claim corresponding to the processors claims 2-5 and having substantially the same technical features as claims 2-5, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claims 9-12 are rejected for the same rationales.
Claim 15 is system claim corresponding to the processors claim 8 and having substantially the same technical features as claim 8, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claim 15 is rejected for the same rationales
Claims 16-19 are method claims corresponding to the processors claims 2-5 and having substantially the same technical features as claims 2-5, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claims 16-19 are rejected for the same rationales.
Claim 21 is method claim corresponding to the processors claim 8 and having substantially the same technical features as claim 8, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claim 21 is rejected for the same rationales
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukano et al. (JP2008065588A, attached English translated NPL document is used for claim mapping) (hereinafter (Fukano) in view of Ding et al. (US 2017/0320210) (hereinafter Ding).
Claim 6. Fukano teaches the one or more processors of claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the autonomous device is to perform the one or more autonomous actions under control from the control system.
However, Ding teaches, wherein the autonomous device is to perform the one or more autonomous actions (See Para. [0006]-[0007], “autonomously perform the at least one task”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Fukano with the autonomously performed the task as taught by Din in order to improve under the measure at performing one of a task autonomously.
Claim 13 is a system claim corresponding to the processors 6 and having substantially the same technical features as claim 6, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claim 13 is rejected for the same rationales
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukano et al. (JP2008065588A) (hereinafter (Fukano) in view of Bai (US 11,461,589 B1).
Claim 7. Fukano teaches the one or more processors of claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the control system comprises one or more machine learning models.
However, Bai teaches, wherein the control system comprises one or more machine learning models (See Col. 2, lines 40-47, discloses training one or more machine learning models leads to improved performance of task(s) (e.g., a higher success rate for the task(s)) by a real robot that utilizes the machine learning model(s) in performance of real robots that utilize machine learning model(s)).
Claim 14 is a system claim corresponding to the processors claim 7 and having substantially the same technical features as claim 7, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claim 14 is rejected for the same rationales
Claim 20 is a method claim corresponding to the processors claims 3 and 7 and having substantially the same technical features as claims 3 and 7, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claim 20 is rejected for the same rationales.
Conclusion
/B M M HANNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657