DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 4/14/2025.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Ricke (US 2025/0319924).
As to claim 1 Sato discloses a steering system comprising:
steering device having a steering wheel (figure 1 #96);
a steering actuation system for a number of steering axles (figure 1 # 71, 72, 73, 74);
a monitoring device of the steering actuation system (figure 1 #601, 602, 603, 604); and
a steering wheel force actuation (figure 1 #57) system configured to generate a steering wheel resistance, wherein:
the steering wheel force actuation system comprises:
a reception interface configured to provide a number of steering force resistance values of steering resistances associated with a number of steering axles in a case of a steering angle adjustment of one or more steering axles (figure 1 #56),
a transformer configured to convert steering force resistance values to a steering wheel resistance value (Paragraph 0043, the drive limit information is the resistance values. When a wheel reaches a limit, it is communicated to the reaction force actuator #57), and
an output interface configured to output the steering wheel resistance value (the outputs are shown as the arrows in figure 1); the transformer is configured to:
combine the steering force resistance values (figure 1 the dark arrows are combined in to the reaction force control unit (56)) to form an overall steering force by generating an overall steering force value from the steering force resistance values, the overall steering force value being representative of a number of steering axles (shown in figure 1),
form an overall substitute value representative of the number of steering axles from the overall steering force value (shown as the arrow between 56 to 57), and
specify the steering wheel resistance value representative of the number of steering axles from the overall substitute value. (paragraph 0042)
As to claim 2 Sato discloses the steering system according to claim 1, wherein the generated overall steering force value is representative of a number of actively steered steering axles in operation (shown in figure 7),
wherein the overall substitute value is formed from the overall steering force value (all the values of steering force are feed into #56 to create the overall value), and
wherein the steering wheel resistance value is specified from the overall substitute value (this is made in 56 to the steering wheel resistance).
As to claim 3 Sato discloses the steering system according to claim 1, wherein the overall substitute value is a standard value, wherein the standard value is a value selected from a group of values consisting of: an average value, a weighted average value, an expected value, an estimated value, and a value configured to directly indicate an obstruction. (The value selected is directed to indicate an obstruction paragraph 0042)
As to claim 6 Sato discloses the steering system according to claim 1 wherein the monitoring device of the steering actuation system (601-604) has a steering actuator sensor system, and wherein the monitoring device is configured to ascertain a number of steering forces that can be determined as steering force resistance values (liming values) at the number of steering axles. (paragraph 0032-0033)
As to claim 7 Sato discloses the steering system according to claim 1 wherein the monitoring device of the steering actuation system has a steering actuator controller, and wherein the monitoring device is configured to ascertain a number of steering angles that are added over time and can be used as a substitute for steering force resistance values at the number of steering axles. (turning angle calculation shown in figure 2 # 673 can be used as a substitute for steering force)
As to claim 8 Sato discloses the steering system according to claim 1, wherein at least one steering force resistance value and the overall steering force value is representative at least of the front axle taking into account at least one additional steering axle of the number of steering axles (shown in figure 7 #91).
As to claim 11 Sato discloses the steering system according to claim 1, wherein the steering wheel resistance value is proportional to the overall substitute value (shown in the figure 7 the wheel resistance is proportional to all the wheels turning being fed into the reaction force controller #56).
As to claim 12 Sato discloses a vehicle comprising:
a number of steering axles (figures #81-84); and
the steering system according to claim 1, wherein:
the steering actuation system comprises a steering angle specification module for adjusting a number of steering angles that can be adjusted by control actuators at the number of steering axles (#56), and
the monitoring device (figure 1 #601, 602, 603, 604) of the steering actuation system has a steering actuator sensor system configured to ascertain a number of steering forces that determined as a resistance at the number of steering axles (paragraph 0042 and 0043).
As to claim 13 Sato discloses a method for generating a calculated steering wheel resistance during operation of a vehicle having a number of steering axles by the steering system according to claim 1, the method comprising:
adjusting the number of steering angles by control actuators at the number of steering axles according to a steering wheel adjustment (shown in figures 7 and 8);
monitoring the steering actuation system for the number of steering axles (figure 2);
generating a calculated steering wheel resistance by a steering wheel force actuation system, wherein, for the steering wheel force actuation system (paragraph 0006):
a number of steering force resistance values of steering resistances associated with the number of steering axles in a case of a steering angle adjustment of one or more steering axles are provided (paragraph 0066),
the steering force resistance values are converted to a steering wheel resistance value (paragraph 0066), and
the steering wheel resistance value is output, and
wherein:
the steering force resistance values are combined to form an overall steering force by generating an overall steering force value from the steering force resistance values, the overall steering force value being representative of a number of steering axles (paragraph 0066),
an overall substitute value representative of the number of steering axles is formed from the overall steering force value, and
the steering wheel resistance value representative of the number of steering axles is specified from the overall substitute value; and
applying the steering wheel resistance to the steering wheel in direct response to the steering wheel adjustment (shown in figures 7 and 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
SHERMAN D. MANLEY
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/SHERMAN D MANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747