DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment and request for reconsideration of application 19/178,137 filed on August 14, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamasundar (US 20180253982 A1) in view of Jones (US 20140012437 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shamasundar discloses a method, comprising:
automatically collecting, by an avionics system of an aircraft (abstract, “avionics systems”), data for preparing a pilot report (PIREP) (¶0044, “a process 600 for obtaining and using pilot report (PIREP) data onboard an aircraft”);
preparing, by the avionics system of the aircraft, a virtual PIREP that includes the collected data (¶0051, “automatically completes a set of incomplete PIREPs associated with the current flight path using the information relevant to the one or more PIREPs, to generate complete PIREPs”);
sending, by the avionics system of the aircraft, the virtual PIREP to a computing device located remotely from the aircraft (¶0054, “transmits, via the communication device, the complete PIREPs and the pre-completed PIREPs to the at least one remote server”);
determining, by the computing device, additional aircraft to send the virtual PIREP to based on the data included in the virtual PIREP and conditions associated with the additional aircraft; and
automatically sending, by the computing device, the virtual PIREP to the additional aircraft (¶0026, “ The server system 112 then provides the completed PIREPs to other aircraft traveling in geographic areas applicable to the completed PIREPs, thereby providing relevant weather and flight condition data to the other aircraft that have not traveled in the applicable geographic areas recently and are unaware of such conditions”); wherein preparing the virtual PIREP comprises encoding the collected data (¶0025, “The data communication network 110 may be any digital or other communications network capable of transmitting messages or data between devices,”)
Shamasundar does not explicitly disclose but, Jones teaches in response to receiving the virtual PIREP from the avionics system of the aircraft; identifying additional aircraft having an aircraft type that matches an aircraft type included in the virtual PIREP and having at least one of weather conditions and a region that matches weather data and a region included in the virtual PIREP; herein preparing the virtual PIREP comprises encoding the collected data (¶0010, “PIREP”, ¶0013, type of plane…”, ¶0034, “to into account weather changes”);
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the type of aircraft and weather conditions taught in Jones with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted facilitating an improved and/or more efficient mechanisms by which to allow technology and IP exchange.
Regarding claim 2, Shamasundar discloses automatically sending, by the avionics system of the aircraft, the virtual PIREP to the additional aircraft (¶0026, “ The server system 112 then provides the completed PIREPs to other aircraft traveling in geographic areas applicable to the completed PIREPs, thereby providing relevant weather and flight condition data to the other aircraft that have not traveled in the applicable geographic areas recently and are unaware of such conditions”).
Regarding claim 4, Shamasundar discloses wherein the method includes displaying, by the avionics system of the aircraft, the virtual PIREP to a pilot of the aircraft prior to sending the virtual PIREP to the computing device (¶0026, “The computing device 108 analyzes the obtained data to determine applicable data used to complete the relevant PIREPs, present the completed PIREPs via a display device onboard the aircraft, and to transmit the completed PIREPs to the server system”).
Regarding claim 5, Shamasundar discloses wherein the method includes determining the additional aircraft to send the PIREP to by determining the additional aircraft that have conditions associated therewith that match the data included in the virtual PIREP (¶0026, “The server system 112 then provides the completed PIREPs to other aircraft traveling in geographic areas applicable to the completed PIREPs, thereby providing relevant weather and flight condition data to the other aircraft that have not traveled in the applicable geographic areas recently and are unaware of such conditions.”).
Regarding claim 6, Shamasundar discloses wherein the method includes automatically displaying, by an avionics system of the additional aircraft, the virtual PIREP to a pilot of the additional aircraft (FIG. 6, 608).
Regarding claim 7, Shamasundar discloses wherein the collected data includes weather data (¶0034).
Regarding claim 8, Shamasundar discloses wherein the collected data includes: a location of the aircraft; an altitude of the aircraft; and a type of the aircraft (¶0035).
Regarding claim 9, Shamasundar discloses a computing device, comprising:
a processor (FIG. 2, 202); and
a memory storing non-transitory machine-readable instructions (FIG. 2, 204) to cause the processor to:
receive a number of virtual pilot reports (PIREPs) (¶0055, “obtaining user-entered manual revisions of automatically completed pilot reports (PIREPs)”);
enable a PIREP subscription service (¶0059, “a plurality of aircraft may subscribe to, or otherwise establish communication connections to, the server system”);
prepare the number of virtual PIREPs to send to aircraft included in the PIREP subscription (¶0059, “the server system may provide the stored PIREPs to other subscribed aircraft, upon request.”) service based on:
type of the aircraft;
weather data; and
region of the aircraft (¶0035, “a message type, an aircraft location, a time, an altitude or flight level, an aircraft type, a sky condition, flight visibility and weather, ....”); and
automatically send the number of virtual PIREPs to the aircraft (¶0059, “the server system may provide the stored PIREPs to other subscribed aircraft, upon request.”).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 9.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamasundar (US 20180253982 A1), in view of Jones (US 20140012437 A1) and further in view of Katz (US 20220058967 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Shamasundar does not explicitly disclose but, Katz teaches wherein the method includes sending, by the computing device, the virtual PIREP to a ground-based aircraft control system (abstract).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the ground based aircraft control system taught in Katz with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted significantly enhances safety, efficiency, and communication clarity.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamasundar (US 20180253982 A1), in view of Jones (US 20140012437 A1), and further in view of Rockafellow (US 20190012752 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Shamasundar does not explicitly disclose but, Rockafellow teaches wherein the computing device is a cloud-based computing device (¶0030).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the ground communication taught in Rockafellow with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted facilitating an improved and/or more efficient mechanisms by which to allow technology and IP exchange.
Regarding claim 11, Rockafellow further teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to prepare the number of virtual PIREPs to send to aircraft included in the PIREP subscription service based on historical analytics (¶0073).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the ground commuication taught in Rockafellow with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted facilitating an improved and/or more efficient mechanisms by which to allow technology and IP exchange.
Regarding claim 12, Rockafellow teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to: prepare the number of virtual PIREPs to send to ground-based aircraft control systems; and send the number of virtual PIREPs to the ground-based aircraft control systems (¶0095).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the ground communication taught in Rockafellow with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted facilitating an improved and/or more efficient mechanisms by which to allow technology and IP exchange.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamasundar (US 20180253982 A1), in view of Jones (US 20140012437 A1), and further in view of New (US 20110260908 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Shamasundar does not explicitly disclose but, New teaches wherein the aircraft are not equipped with weather radar or access to weather services (¶0002).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the radar system taught in New with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement and high precision radar in regions of significant interference and/or clutter such as that caused by wind farms, or in regions poor coverage.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamasundar (US 20180253982 A1), in view of Jones (US 20140012437 A1), and further in view of Van (US 20210183255 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Shamasundar does not explicitly disclose but, Van teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to send the number of virtual PIREPs to the aircraft without using a data connection established with a ground-based aircraft control system (¶0011).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the direct communication taught in Van with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement and high precision radar in regions of significant interference and/or clutter such as that caused by wind farms, or in regions poor coverage.
Regarding claim 16, Van teaches wherein the instructions are further executable to send the number of virtual PIREPs from the ground-based aircraft control system to additional aircraft in a particular region (¶0055).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the direct communication taught in Van with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement and high precision radar in regions of significant interference and/or clutter such as that caused by wind farms, or in regions poor coverage.
Regarding claim 20, Van teaches wherein the ground- based aircraft control system is an air traffic control system (¶0051).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with the direct communication taught in Van with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement and high precision radar in regions of significant interference and/or clutter such as that caused by wind farms, or in regions poor coverage.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamasundar (US 20180253982 A1) in view of Nicholls (US 20200013243 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Shamasundar does not explicitly disclose but, Nicholls teaches wherein the instructions are further executable to: modify, by the ground-based aircraft control system, a flight plan for the aircraft based on the number of virtual PIREPs; and send, by the ground-based aircraft control system, the modified flight plan to the aircraft (¶0029).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with modifying flight plan taught in Nicholls with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an enhancement in safety, efficiency, and flexibility.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamasundar (US 20180253982 A1), in view of Jones (US 20140012437 A1), further in view of Braswell (US 20060251507 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Shamasundar does not explicitly disclose but, Braswell teaches wherein the instructions are further executable to: define, by the ground-based aircraft control system, conditions under which the virtual PIREPs must be prepared; and send, by the ground-based aircraft control system, the defined conditions to aircraft from which the virtual PIREPs are received (¶0059).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the avionics systems disclosed in Shamasundar with communicating with ground system taught in Braswell with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted minimizing the vibration and noise relating to the engine and vibrations detected within the aircraft cabin caused by such engine vibrations.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamasundar (US 20180253982 A1), in view of Jones (US 20140012437 A1), and further in view of MULLIN (US 20190207649 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Shamasundar does not explicitly disclose but, Mullin teaches wherein the ground- based aircraft control system is an aeronautical operational control system (¶0003).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hamblin (US 20170210483) discloses a method of evaluating pilot performance receives and processes avionics data at a database system. The database system computes component scores for the pilot based on the avionics data. Each component score represents a performance grade for a pilot-controlled operation of the aircraft. The database system saves the component scores in association with a pilot performance record for the pilot, and calculates an overall score based on the component scores. The overall score represents a flight performance grade for the pilot. The database system saves the overall score in association with the pilot performance record, and generates a report derived from the component scores and the overall score. A graphical representation of the report is communicated to an electronic device (abstract).
/REDHWAN K MAWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664