DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,279,401. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the limitations of the present claims is anticipated by the claims of the issued patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kopko (US 2015/0285539).
As to claim 1, Kopko discloses a system capable of use as a datacenter cooling system, comprising:
one or more flow controllers 70/76/172/178 capable of distributing equal ratios of a liquid phase of refrigerant to a vapor phase of refrigerant to cold plates along a plurality of parallel refrigerant paths (paragraphs 83-84).
As to claim 2, Kopko discloses a controller 32 having at least one processor to distribute the equal ratios (paragraph 34).
As to claims 3-5, Kopko discloses a controller 32 with a processor that determines cooling requirement using a sensed temperature (paragraph 32), and thus is capable of determining cooling requirement based on a temperature associated with computing devices as claimed.
As to claim 7, Kopko discloses determining a cooling load using temperature sensors connected to a controller processor (paragraphs 32 and 34) and thus is capable of performing in the recited manner.
As to claim 8, Kopko provides an equal percentage of liquid to vapor (paragraph 84).
As to claim 10, Kopko discloses an accumulator 160 to store liquid refrigerant and provide a steady output to the refrigerant flow paths.
As to claims 11-13 and 15, as discussed in the rejections above Kopko discloses a processor configured in the manner as claimed.
As to claims 16-20, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would nec-essarily perform the method claimed then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. Thus the method as claimed would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus of Kopko.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko as applied above.
As to claims 6 and 14, Kopko does not explicitly teach one or more neural networks as claimed. However, Official Notice is taken that general use of neural networks for performing refrigeration calculations is a common and typical control feature that would have been obvious to use in conjunction with the system of Kopko for the purpose of closely identifying an overall cooling requirement.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko as applied in the rejections above, and further in view of Justak (US 7,905,099)
As to claim 9, Kopko does not explicitly teach use of an optical sensor as claimed. However, Justak teaches that it is known to use an optical sensor to detect vapor/liquid boundaries (col. 3, line 50 – col. 4, line 5). As such it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to use an optical sensor as claimed and taught by Justak to determine the equal liquid amount in order to ensure the proper level of refrigeration can be achieved.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763