DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04/15/2025. Claim(s) 1 - 20 are presently pending and are examined in this first action on the merits (FAOM).
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority based on Application PRO 63/706,151 filed 10/11/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawing, Fig. 2, is objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to correctly show the embodiment of the fly-by-wire control system 108 as described in the specification [0015] – [0020]. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalo Javier Rey et. al. US 20220033066 (“Rey”) in view of Gen Matsui US 20160272300 (“Matsui”).
As per Claim 1
Rey discloses,
An actuator control system, comprising:
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers (see at least Fig. 2, and [0043] Each flight control computer 220 comprises a plurality of control modules 225 configured to convert inputs from the aircraft control interfaces 210 and aircraft sensors 245 into actuator instructions).
each primary flight control actuator controller adapted to receive flight control position command data from one or more flight control computers and configured upon receipt of the flight control position command data, to generate and supply primary flight control actuator commands (see at least [0021] Each flight control computer may be part of an independent channel that provides instructions to multiple actuators to control multiple vehicle components, [0031] After determining a set of actuator commands, the universal vehicle control router 120 may transmit the commands to relevant components of the vehicle for causing corresponding actuators to execute the commands, and [0035] The universal vehicle control router 120 may comprise multiple flight control computers configured to provide instructions to vehicle actuators 130 in a redundant configuration)
a plurality of primary flight control actuators, each primary flight control actuator associated with, and in operable communication with, a different one of the primary flight control actuator controllers to thereby receive the primary flight control actuator commands from its associated primary flight control actuator controller (see at least [0036] The vehicle actuators 130 are one or more actuators configured to control components of a vehicle integrated with the universal vehicle control interfaces 110, [0036] if the vehicle is a rotorcraft the vehicle actuators 130 may include actuators for controlling lateral cyclic, longitudinal cyclic, collective, and pedal controllers of the rotorcraft, and [0042] Each flight control computer 220 is configured to receive inputs from the aircraft control interfaces 210 and provide instructions to actuators 215 configured to move aircraft components in a redundant configuration).
each primary flight control actuator configured, upon receipt of its associated primary flight control actuator commands, to supply a primary input force for use in driving a flight control component (see at least [0036] Each vehicle actuator 130 may comprise multiple motors configured to move the vehicle actuator 130. Each motor for a vehicle actuator 130 may be controlled by a different FCC. Every vehicle actuator 130 may comprise at least one motor controlled by each FCC. Thus, any single FCC may control every vehicle actuator 130 on the vehicle, and [0050] Motors 240 may include rotary actuators (e.g., motor, servo, etc.), linear actuators (e.g., solenoids, solenoid valves, etc.), hydraulic actuators, pneumatic actuators, any other suitable motors, or some combination thereof).
Rey discloses,
A triple redundancy architecture for fly-by-wire systems (see at least [0023] The disclosed systems may increase vehicle safety by providing a full fly-by-wire (FBW) architecture with triple redundancy).
Ray does not explicitly disclose,
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers
a plurality of primary flight control actuators
a backup flight control actuator controller adapted to receive the flight control position command data from the one or more flight control computers and to selectively receive an activation signal, the backup flight control actuator controller configured, upon receipt of the flight control position command data and the activation signal, to selectively generate and supply backup flight control actuator commands; and
a backup flight control actuator in operable communication with the backup flight control actuator controller to thereby receive the backup flight control actuator commands and configured, upon receipt of the backup flight control actuator commands, to supply a backup input force for use in driving the flight control component.
Matsui teaches,
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers and a plurality of primary flight control actuators (See Fig. 1, [0036] Actuator control system 100 is configured to select and deliver selected ones of plurality of commands 102 from number of primary controllers 104 to number of actuator controllers 106 for controlling number of actuators 108, [0037] Actuator control system 100 may be configured to provide control and data reporting for number of actuators 108 on aircraft 114. For example, without limitation, number of actuators 108 may be configured to move flight control surfaces or to perform other appropriate functions on aircraft 114. In this case, actuator control system 100 may comprise flight control system 115 and number of primary controllers 104 may comprise number of primary flight controllers 116, and [0044] plurality of commands 102 may be sent from number of primary controllers 104 to number of actuator controllers 106 and number of power controllers 110 via interface module 140. Reporting data 112 may be sent from number of actuator controllers 106 to number of primary controllers 104 via interface module 140. Interface module 140 may comprise command lane 142, monitor lane 144, command combiner 146, backup controller 148, and reporting message combiner 150).
a backup flight control actuator controller adapted to receive the flight control position command data from the one or more flight control computers and to selectively receive an activation signal, the backup flight control actuator controller configured, upon receipt of the flight control position command data and the activation signal, to selectively generate and supply backup flight control actuator commands (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0046] Backup controller 148 may generate backup actuator control commands and power commands in response to a determination that a backup mode is desirable. Command combiner 146 may direct the appropriate backup commands from backup controller 148 to number of actuator controllers 106 and number of power controllers 110 in response to the determination that a backup mode is desired, and [0058] Backup controller 308 may receive selected actuator control commands 318 from command lane 302 and check value 322 from monitor lane 304. Backup controller 308 also may generate backup actuator control message 338 and backup power control command 340. During primary mode operation, backup actuator control message 338 may include actuator control commands that are the same as selected actuator control commands 318 received from command lane 302.)
a backup flight control actuator in operable communication with the backup flight control actuator controller to thereby receive the backup flight control actuator commands and configured, upon receipt of the backup flight control actuator commands, to supply a backup input force for use in driving the flight control component (see at least Fig. 6, and [0042] Actuator control commands 120 may comprise any appropriate commands indicating a desired position, movement, state, or other condition of number of actuators 108).
Thus, Rey discloses a triple redundancy system for fly-by-wire vehicles and Matsui teaches a method for controlling an actuator where a plurality of commands for the actuator are received from a number of primary controllers and a backup controller that generate a first backup actuator control command that matches a command message.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Rey with fly by wire control and actuator command and control system taught by Matsui, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide commands from primary controllers to remote actuator controllers with the highest integrity, so that no data corruption will go undetected (0033).
As per Claim 6
Rey discloses,
A fly-by-wire control system, comprising:
a plurality of flight control computers, each flight control computer adapted to receive inceptor data from a flight control inceptor and configured, upon receipt of the inceptor data, to generate and supply flight control position command data; (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0028] the universal vehicle control interfaces 110 may include one or more hardware input devices, e.g., one or more control sticks inceptors, such as side sticks, center sticks, throttles, cyclic controllers, or collective controllers, [0040] The aircraft control interfaces 210 may be embodiments of the universal vehicle control interfaces 110. In particular, the aircraft control interfaces 210 may include an inceptor device, a gesture interface, and an automated control interface, and [0041] The universal avionics control router 205 is configured to convert the inputs received from the aircraft control interfaces 210 into instructions to an actuator 215 configured to move an aircraft component. The universal avionics control router 205 comprises a plurality of flight control computers 220A, 220B, 220C (Collectively 220)).
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers (see at least Fig. 2, and [0043] Each flight control computer 220 comprises a plurality of control modules 225 configured to convert inputs from the aircraft control interfaces 210 and aircraft sensors 245 into actuator instructions).
each primary flight control actuator controller adapted to receive flight control position command data from one or more flight control computers and configured upon receipt of the flight control position command data, to generate and supply primary flight control actuator commands (see at least [0021] Each flight control computer may be part of an independent channel that provides instructions to multiple actuators to control multiple vehicle components, [0031] After determining a set of actuator commands, the universal vehicle control router 120 may transmit the commands to relevant components of the vehicle for causing corresponding actuators to execute the commands, and [0035] The universal vehicle control router 120 may comprise multiple flight control computers configured to provide instructions to vehicle actuators 130 in a redundant configuration)
a plurality of primary flight control actuators, each primary flight control actuator associated with, and in operable communication with, a different one of the primary flight control actuator controllers to thereby receive the primary flight control actuator commands from its associated primary flight control actuator controller (see at least [0036] The vehicle actuators 130 are one or more actuators configured to control components of a vehicle integrated with the universal vehicle control interfaces 110, [0036] if the vehicle is a rotorcraft the vehicle actuators 130 may include actuators for controlling lateral cyclic, longitudinal cyclic, collective, and pedal controllers of the rotorcraft, and [0042] Each flight control computer 220 is configured to receive inputs from the aircraft control interfaces 210 and provide instructions to actuators 215 configured to move aircraft components in a redundant configuration).
each primary flight control actuator configured, upon receipt of its associated primary flight control actuator commands, to supply a primary input force for use in driving a flight control component (see at least [0036] Each vehicle actuator 130 may comprise multiple motors configured to move the vehicle actuator 130. Each motor for a vehicle actuator 130 may be controlled by a different FCC. Every vehicle actuator 130 may comprise at least one motor controlled by each FCC. Thus, any single FCC may control every vehicle actuator 130 on the vehicle, and [0050] Motors 240 may include rotary actuators (e.g., motor, servo, etc.), linear actuators (e.g., solenoids, solenoid valves, etc.), hydraulic actuators, pneumatic actuators, any other suitable motors, or some combination thereof).
Rey discloses,
A triple redundancy architecture for fly-by-wire systems (see at least [0023] The disclosed systems may increase vehicle safety by providing a full fly-by-wire (FBW) architecture with triple redundancy).
Ray does not explicitly disclose,
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers
a plurality of primary flight control actuators
a backup flight control actuator controller adapted to receive the flight control position command data from the one or more flight control computers and to selectively receive an activation signal, the backup flight control actuator controller configured, upon receipt of the flight control position command data and the activation signal, to selectively generate and supply backup flight control actuator commands; and
a backup flight control actuator in operable communication with the backup flight control actuator controller to thereby receive the backup flight control actuator commands and configured, upon receipt of the backup flight control actuator commands, to supply a backup input force for use in driving the flight control component.
Matsui teaches,
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers and a plurality of primary flight control actuators (See Fig. 1, [0036] Actuator control system 100 is configured to select and deliver selected ones of plurality of commands 102 from number of primary controllers 104 to number of actuator controllers 106 for controlling number of actuators 108, [0037] Actuator control system 100 may be configured to provide control and data reporting for number of actuators 108 on aircraft 114. For example, without limitation, number of actuators 108 may be configured to move flight control surfaces or to perform other appropriate functions on aircraft 114. In this case, actuator control system 100 may comprise flight control system 115 and number of primary controllers 104 may comprise number of primary flight controllers 116, and [0044] plurality of commands 102 may be sent from number of primary controllers 104 to number of actuator controllers 106 and number of power controllers 110 via interface module 140. Reporting data 112 may be sent from number of actuator controllers 106 to number of primary controllers 104 via interface module 140. Interface module 140 may comprise command lane 142, monitor lane 144, command combiner 146, backup controller 148, and reporting message combiner 150).
a backup flight control actuator controller adapted to receive the flight control position command data from the one or more flight control computers and to selectively receive an activation signal, the backup flight control actuator controller configured, upon receipt of the flight control position command data and the activation signal, to selectively generate and supply backup flight control actuator commands (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0046] Backup controller 148 may generate backup actuator control commands and power commands in response to a determination that a backup mode is desirable. Command combiner 146 may direct the appropriate backup commands from backup controller 148 to number of actuator controllers 106 and number of power controllers 110 in response to the determination that a backup mode is desired, and [0058] Backup controller 308 may receive selected actuator control commands 318 from command lane 302 and check value 322 from monitor lane 304. Backup controller 308 also may generate backup actuator control message 338 and backup power control command 340. During primary mode operation, backup actuator control message 338 may include actuator control commands that are the same as selected actuator control commands 318 received from command lane 302.)
a backup flight control actuator in operable communication with the backup flight control actuator controller to thereby receive the backup flight control actuator commands and configured, upon receipt of the backup flight control actuator commands, to supply a backup input force for use in driving the flight control component (see at least Fig. 6, and [0042] Actuator control commands 120 may comprise any appropriate commands indicating a desired position, movement, state, or other condition of number of actuators 108).
Thus, Rey discloses a triple redundancy system for fly-by-wire vehicles and Matsui teaches a method for controlling an actuator where a plurality of commands for the actuator are received from a number of primary controllers and a backup controller that generate a first backup actuator control command that matches a command message.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Rey with fly by wire control and actuator command and control system taught by Matsui, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide commands from primary controllers to remote actuator controllers with the highest integrity, so that no data corruption will go undetected (0033).
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalo Javier Rey et. al. US 20220033066 (“Rey”) in view of Gen Matsui US 20160272300 (“Matsui”) and Karl Portier et. al. BR 102024018813 (“Portier”).
As per Claim 5, 10 and 15
Rey does not disclose,
each primary flight control actuator rotates at a rotational speed; and the system further comprises a speed summing gearbox coupled to each primary flight control actuator and configured to sum the rotational speeds of each primary flight control actuator
Portier teaches,
each primary flight control actuator rotates at a rotational speed (see at least [0006] In general, AEMs include an electric motor with an output shaft having a first and a second direction of rotation and a transmission assembly configured to connect the shaft to the moving surface, and [007] A rotary AEM has a rotating shaft, driven by a motor, and is coupled to the rotation of an output ring by means of a gear set. The output ring is coupled to the surface to be moved, to cause a corresponding rotary movement of the surface about the axis of the output ring. Rotary AEMs have proven useful, for example, in aircraft flight control panels, where the AEM can be mounted along or on the hinge of the panel.
and the system further comprises a speed summing gearbox coupled to each primary flight control actuator and configured to sum the rotational speeds of each primary flight control actuator (see at least [0023] The common second stage gearbox 30 comprises a first sun gear 32 that meshes with and is driven by the first shaft S1 and a second sun gear 34 that meshes with and is driven by the second shaft S2, [0027] The first and second electric motors are active and both the first and second sets of brakes are deactivated, allowing the motors to operate. In this situation, the first motor drives the first shaft S1 due to the rotation of the first motor, and the second motor drives the second shaft S2. The rotation of the shafts causes the rotation of the first and second sun gears and the first and second idler gears which cause the outer gear frame parts to rotate. The rotation of the second outer gear part causes the corresponding rotation of the output 40. The output speed is the speed of the two motors scaled according to the ratio of the first stage gearboxes and the pitch diameters of the shafts and outer gear and is effectively 100% of the speed capability of the AEM. The output torque is also the sum of the torque of the two motors weighted by the gear ratio and pitch diameters and is 100% of the available torque, and [0030] the output speed will be directly equal to the speeds of the first and second shafts, which must be equal, and the output torque is the sum of the torques of the first and second shafts)
Thus, Rey discloses a triple redundancy system for fly-by-wire vehicles and Portier teaches use of electromechanical rotary actuator for positioning movable surfaces, especially in rotary electric aircrafts.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Rey with electromechanical rotary actuator as taught by Portier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to use lighter, cleaner, more efficient AEMs instead of hydraulic actuators in more applications, (009).
As per Claim 16
Rey does not disclose,
a mechanical linkage coupled between the speed summing gearbox and the dual hydraulic actuator.
Portier teaches,
a mechanical linkage coupled between the speed summing gearbox and the dual hydraulic actuator (see at least [0006] AEMs include an electric motor with an output shaft having a first and a second direction of rotation and a transmission assembly configured to connect the shaft to the moving surface, [0021] The first electric motor 12 is configured to drive a first output shaft S1 via the first stage gearbox 10, and [0027] The first and second electric motors are active and both the first and second sets of brakes are deactivated, allowing the motors to operate. In this situation, the first motor drives the first shaft S1 due to the rotation of the first motor, and the second motor drives the second shaft S2. The rotation of the shafts causes the rotation of the first and second sun gears and the first and second idler gears which cause the outer gear frame parts to rotate).
Thus, Rey discloses a triple redundancy system for fly-by-wire vehicles and Portier teaches use of electromechanical rotary actuator for positioning movable surfaces, especially in rotary electric aircrafts.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Rey with electromechanical rotary actuator as taught by Portier, with a reasonable expectation of success, to use lighter, cleaner, more efficient AEMs instead of hydraulic actuators in more applications, (009).
Claims 11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalo Javier Rey et. al. US 20220033066 (“Rey”) in view of Gen Matsui US 20160272300 (“Matsui”) and Jillian Samantha Alfred US 20190016443 (“Alfred”).
As per Claim 11
Rey discloses,
A flight control system, comprising: a flight control component;
A fly-by-wire control system, comprising:
a plurality of flight control computers, each flight control computer adapted to receive inceptor data from a flight control inceptor and configured, upon receipt of the inceptor data, to generate and supply flight control position command data; (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0028] the universal vehicle control interfaces 110 may include one or more hardware input devices, e.g., one or more control sticks inceptors, such as side sticks, center sticks, throttles, cyclic controllers, or collective controllers, [0040] The aircraft control interfaces 210 may be embodiments of the universal vehicle control interfaces 110. In particular, the aircraft control interfaces 210 may include an inceptor device, a gesture interface, and an automated control interface, and [0041] The universal avionics control router 205 is configured to convert the inputs received from the aircraft control interfaces 210 into instructions to an actuator 215 configured to move an aircraft component. The universal avionics control router 205 comprises a plurality of flight control computers 220A, 220B, 220C (Collectively 220)).
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers (see at least Fig. 2, and [0043] Each flight control computer 220 comprises a plurality of control modules 225 configured to convert inputs from the aircraft control interfaces 210 and aircraft sensors 245 into actuator instructions).
each primary flight control actuator controller in operable communication with one or more of the flight control computers, each primary flight control actuator controller coupled to receive the flight control position command data from the one or more flight control computers and configured, upon receipt of the flight control position command data, to generate and supply primary flight control actuator commands (see at least [0021] Each flight control computer may be part of an independent channel that provides instructions to multiple actuators to control multiple vehicle components, [0031] After determining a set of actuator commands, the universal vehicle control router 120 may transmit the commands to relevant components of the vehicle for causing corresponding actuators to execute the commands, and [0035] The universal vehicle control router 120 may comprise multiple flight control computers configured to provide instructions to vehicle actuators 130 in a redundant configuration)
a plurality of primary flight control actuators, each primary flight control actuator associated with, and in operable communication with, a different one of the primary flight control actuator controllers to thereby receive the primary flight control actuator commands from its associated primary flight control actuator controller (see at least [0036] The vehicle actuators 130 are one or more actuators configured to control components of a vehicle integrated with the universal vehicle control interfaces 110, [0036] if the vehicle is a rotorcraft the vehicle actuators 130 may include actuators for controlling lateral cyclic, longitudinal cyclic, collective, and pedal controllers of the rotorcraft, and [0042] Each flight control computer 220 is configured to receive inputs from the aircraft control interfaces 210 and provide instructions to actuators 215 configured to move aircraft components in a redundant configuration).
each primary flight control actuator configured, upon receipt of its associated primary flight control actuator commands, to supply the primary input force to the dual hydraulic actuator (see at least [0036] Each vehicle actuator 130 may comprise multiple motors configured to move the vehicle actuator 130. Each motor for a vehicle actuator 130 may be controlled by a different FCC. Every vehicle actuator 130 may comprise at least one motor controlled by each FCC. Thus, any single FCC may control every vehicle actuator 130 on the vehicle, and [0050] Motors 240 may include rotary actuators (e.g., motor, servo, etc.), linear actuators (e.g., solenoids, solenoid valves, etc.), hydraulic actuators, pneumatic actuators, any other suitable motors, or some combination thereof).
Rey discloses,
A triple redundancy architecture for fly-by-wire systems (see at least [0023] The disclosed systems may increase vehicle safety by providing a full fly-by-wire (FBW) architecture with triple redundancy).
Ray does not explicitly disclose,
a dual hydraulic actuator coupled to receive a flow of hydraulic fluid and either a primary input force or a backup input force,
the dual hydraulic actuator configured, in response to receiving either the primary input force or the backup input force, to control the flow of the hydraulic fluid to thereby control an output force supplied to the flight control component; and a fly-by-wire control system configured to supply the input force to the dual hydraulic actuator,
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers
a plurality of primary flight control actuators
each primary flight control actuator configured, upon receipt of its associated primary flight control actuator commands, to supply the primary input force to the dual hydraulic actuator
a backup flight control actuator controller adapted to receive the flight control position command data from the one or more flight control computers and to selectively receive an activation signal, the backup flight control actuator controller configured, upon receipt of the flight control position command data and the activation signal, to selectively generate and supply backup flight control actuator commands; and
a backup flight control actuator in operable communication with the backup flight control actuator controller to thereby receive the backup flight control actuator commands and configured, upon receipt of the backup flight control actuator commands, to supply a backup input force to the dual hydraulic actuator.
Matsui teaches,
a plurality of primary flight control actuator controllers and a plurality of primary flight control actuators (See Fig. 1, [0036] Actuator control system 100 is configured to select and deliver selected ones of plurality of commands 102 from number of primary controllers 104 to number of actuator controllers 106 for controlling number of actuators 108, [0037] Actuator control system 100 may be configured to provide control and data reporting for number of actuators 108 on aircraft 114. For example, without limitation, number of actuators 108 may be configured to move flight control surfaces or to perform other appropriate functions on aircraft 114. In this case, actuator control system 100 may comprise flight control system 115 and number of primary controllers 104 may comprise number of primary flight controllers 116, and [0044] plurality of commands 102 may be sent from number of primary controllers 104 to number of actuator controllers 106 and number of power controllers 110 via interface module 140. Reporting data 112 may be sent from number of actuator controllers 106 to number of primary controllers 104 via interface module 140. Interface module 140 may comprise command lane 142, monitor lane 144, command combiner 146, backup controller 148, and reporting message combiner 150).
a backup flight control actuator controller adapted to receive the flight control position command data from the one or more flight control computers and to selectively receive an activation signal, the backup flight control actuator controller configured, upon receipt of the flight control position command data and the activation signal, to selectively generate and supply backup flight control actuator commands (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 6, [0046] Backup controller 148 may generate backup actuator control commands and power commands in response to a determination that a backup mode is desirable. Command combiner 146 may direct the appropriate backup commands from backup controller 148 to number of actuator controllers 106 and number of power controllers 110 in response to the determination that a backup mode is desired, and [0058] Backup controller 308 may receive selected actuator control commands 318 from command lane 302 and check value 322 from monitor lane 304. Backup controller 308 also may generate backup actuator control message 338 and backup power control command 340. During primary mode operation, backup actuator control message 338 may include actuator control commands that are the same as selected actuator control commands 318 received from command lane 302.)
a backup flight control actuator in operable communication with the backup flight control actuator controller to thereby receive the backup flight control actuator commands and configured, upon receipt of the backup flight control actuator commands, to supply a backup input force to the dual hydraulic actuator (see at least Fig. 6, [0042] Actuator control commands 120 may comprise any appropriate commands indicating a desired position, movement, state, or other condition of number of actuators 108, [0046] Backup controller 148 may generate backup actuator control commands and power commands in response to a determination that a backup mode is desirable. Command combiner 146 may direct the appropriate backup commands from backup controller 148 to number of actuator controllers 106 and number of power controllers 110 in response to the determination that a backup mode is desired).
Thus, Rey discloses a triple redundancy system for fly-by-wire vehicles and Matsui teaches a method for controlling an actuator where a plurality of commands for the actuator are received from a number of primary controllers and a backup controller that generate a first backup actuator control command that matches a command message.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Rey with fly by wire control and actuator command and control system taught by Matsui, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide commands from primary controllers to remote actuator controllers with the highest integrity, so that no data corruption will go undetected (0033).
Ray does not explicitly disclose,
Flight control system with a flight control component comprising a dual hydraulic actuator coupled to receive a flow of hydraulic fluid and either a primary input force or a backup input force,
(see at least [0011] the first and second control members comprise at least one of a hydraulic valve or an electrical power module, [0012] the first, second and third actuators comprise at least one of a hydraulic actuator or an electrical actuator, [0035] the first actuator may be controlled via a first hydraulic stage, and the second and third actuators may be controlled via a second hydraulic stage independent of the first hydraulic stage, and [0051] A first control member 322 is coupled to a first hydraulic stage having a pressure line P1 and a return line R1, the first control member 322 being in fluid communication with a fluid chamber of the first actuator 310 via conduits 322 a and 322 b. The first control member 322 is operative to selectively and proportionally provide fluid power to the first actuator 310 to effect motion thereof. A second control member 324 is coupled to a second hydraulic stage different from the first hydraulic stage and having a pressure line P2 and a return line R2, the second control member 324 being mechanically independent from the first control member 322. The second control member 324 is in fluid communication with a fluid chamber of both the second and third actuator 312 and 314 via conduits 324 a and 324 b, and is operative to selectively and proportionally provide fluid power to the second and third actuators 312 and 314 to effect motion of the respective actuators. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 the second actuator 312 and the third actuator are connected in parallel to the second control member 324)
the dual hydraulic actuator configured, in response to receiving either the primary input force or the backup input force, to control the flow of the hydraulic fluid to thereby control an output force supplied to the flight control component; and a fly-by-wire control system configured to supply the input force to the dual hydraulic actuator (see at least [0025] the first, second and third actuators are configured to output a first, second and third force, respectively, and wherein the force output by the first actuator is substantially the same as the force output by a combination of the second and third actuators, [0054] respective controllers 326 and 328 may control the control members 322 and 324 to position the actuators 310, 312 and 314,
Thus, Rey discloses a triple redundancy system for fly-by-wire vehicles and Hussey teaches a dual hydraulic fly by wire actuator in redundant flight control actuator systems.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Rey with dual hydraulic actuator as taught by Hussey, with a reasonable expectation of success, to design a redundant actuator to withstand the worst-case wear and fatigue that could occur in the active-active operational configuration would result in additional weight, and associated costs (0006).
As per Claim 17
Rey discloses,
wherein the flight control component comprises:
a swash plate coupled to receive the output force; and a plurality of rotor blades coupled to the swashplate (see at least [0051] Actuators 215 may directly or indirectly manipulate control surfaces. Control surfaces may include rotary control surfaces (e.g., rotor blades), linear control surfaces, wing flaps, elevators, rudders, ailerons, any other suitable control surfaces, or some combination thereof. In some embodiments, actuators 215 can manipulate a swashplate (or linkages therein), blade pitch angle, rotor cyclic, elevator position, rudder position, aileron position, tail rotor RPM, any other suitable parameters, or some combination thereof. In some embodiments, actuators 215 may include devices configured to power primary rotor actuation about the rotor axis (e.g., in a helicopter)).
As per Claim 18
Rey discloses,
further comprising the flight control inceptor (see at least [0028] Additionally, or alternatively, the universal vehicle control interfaces 110 may include one or more hardware input devices, e.g., one or more control sticks inceptors, such as side sticks, center sticks, throttles, cyclic controllers, or collective controllers)
As per Claim 19
Rey discloses,
flight control system of claim 18, wherein the flight control inceptor is a cyclic control stick that is configured, when manipulated by an operator, to generate and supply the inceptor data (see at least [0040] The aircraft control interfaces 210 may be embodiments of the universal vehicle control interfaces 110, [0040] aircraft control interfaces 210 may be configured to receive instructions from a human pilot as well as instructions from an autopilot system and convert the instructions into universal aircraft control inputs to the universal avionics control router 205, [0040] The aircraft control interfaces 210 may generate multiple sets of signals, such as one set of signals for each flight control channel via separate wire harnesses and connectors. and [0041] The universal avionics control router 205 is configured to convert the inputs received from the aircraft control interfaces 210 into instructions to an actuator 215 configured to move an aircraft component).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-4, 7-9 and 12-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants should take note of the prior art in the PTO-892.
/A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668