DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the original application filed on April 15, 2025.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 and 21 objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1, 11 and 21 claims “AI” in line 7, 9 and 8 respectively. This term should be written as “Artificial Intelligence (AI)” at least once in each independent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,388,863. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and ‘863 is directed to a method for mitigating a threat that utilize a universal query language.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,355,807. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and ‘807 is directed to a method for mitigating a threat that utilize a universal query language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 11-20 are directed to a computer program product residing on a computer readable medium. Examiner respectfully asserts that the claimed subject matter does not fall with the statutory class listed in 35 U.S.C. 101. The specification defines the computer readable medium as any kind of readable medium (i.e., see paragraph 788) and therefore, it could be interpreted as a communication media which does not fall within one of the four statutory classes of 101. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-12, 14-15, 17-22, 24-25 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US Pub. No. 2021/0160258) in view of Huang (US Pub. No. 2021/0185039).
As per claim 1 Murphy discloses:
A computer-implemented method executed on a computing device comprising: establishing connectivity with a plurality of security-relevant subsystems within a computing platform; (paragraph 5 of Murphy, establishing connectivity with a plurality of security-relevant subsystems within a computing platform).
Receiving an initial notification of a security event from one of the security- relevant subsystems, wherein the initial notification includes a computer-readable language portion that defines one or more specifics of the security event; (paragraph 99 of Murphy, threat mitigation process 10 may be configured to obtain and combine information from multiple security-relevant subsystem to generate a security profile for computing platform 60. For example, threat mitigation process 10 may obtain 300 first system-defined platform information (e.g., system-defined platform information 232) concerning a first security-relevant subsystem (e.g., the number of operating systems deployed) within computing platform 60 and may obtain 302 at least a second system-defined platform information (e.g., system-defined platform information 234) concerning at least a second security-relevant subsystem (e.g., the number of antivirus systems deployed) within computing platform 60) and (paragraph 193 of Murphy, threat mitigation process 10 may be configured to receive updated threat event information for security-relevant subsystems 226. For example, threat mitigation process 10 may receive 1100 updated threat event information 270 concerning computing platform 60, wherein updated threat event information 270 may define one or more of: updated threat listings; updated threat definitions; updated threat methodologies; updated threat sources; and updated threat strategies. Threat mitigation process 10 may enable 1102 updated threat event information 270 for use with one or more security-relevant subsystems 226 within computing platform 60).
Processing the initial notification using a generative Al model and one or more tools to define one or more recommended actions, (paragraph 92 of Murphy, threat mitigation process 10 may include probabilistic process 56 (e.g., an artificial intelligence/machine learning process) that may be configured to process information (e.g., information 58), wherein examples of information 58 may include but are not limited to platform information (e.g., structured or unstructured content) that may be scanned to detect security events (e.g., access auditing; anomalies; authentication; denial of services; exploitation; malware; phishing; spamming; reconnaissance; and/or web attack) within a monitored computing platform (e.g., computing platform 60)).
Automatically generating a playbook to effectuate at least one of the recommended actions; and processing the playbook to address at least a portion of the security event. (Paragraph 166 of Murphy, once assigned 910 a threat level, threat mitigation process 10 may execute 912 a remedial action plan (e., remedial action plan 252) based, at least in part, upon the assigned threat level) and (paragraph 168 of Murphy, when executing 912 a remedial action plan, threat mitigation process 10 may generate 916 a security event report (e.g., security event report 254) based, at least in part, upon the artifacts (e.g., artifacts 250) gathered 904; and provide 918 the security event report).
Murphy teaches the method of processing and executing remedial action to mitigate the threat (see paragraph 166 of Murphy) but fails to disclose:
Wherein the one or more tools include one or more of: a decompression tool to decompress a compressed initial notification; and an identification tool to identify an owner of a domain associated with the initial notification.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 307 of Huang, optionally, if the security group association information is compressed, the synchronization node may receive the compressed security group association information, and decompress the compressed security group association information to obtain the security group association information. For example, the synchronization node may receive security group association information in a zip format, and decompress the security group association information in the zip format to obtain the security group association information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Murphy and include the above limitation using the teaching of Huang in order to enhance the security of computing system by decompressing the received compressed security information and obtain the security information (see paragraph 57 of Huang).
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 1.
As per claim 2 Murphy in view of Huang discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein receiving an initial notification of a security event from one of the security-relevant subsystems includes: receiving the initial notification of the security event from an agent executed on one of the security-relevant subsystems. (Paragraph 99 of Murphy, threat mitigation process 10 may be configured to obtain and combine information from multiple security-relevant subsystem to generate a security profile for computing platform 60. For example, threat mitigation process 10 may obtain 300 first system-defined platform information (e.g., system-defined platform information 232) concerning a first security-relevant subsystem (e.g., the number of operating systems deployed) within computing platform 60 and may obtain 302 at least a second system-defined platform information (e.g., system-defined platform information 234) concerning at least a second security-relevant subsystem (e.g., the number of antivirus systems deployed) within computing platform 60).
Claims 12 and 22 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 2.
As per claim 4 Murphy in view of Huang discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein processing the initial notification using a generative AI model one or more tools to define one or more recommended actions includes: processing the initial notification using the generative AI model, the one or more tools, and a formatting script to define the one or more recommended actions for the initial notification. (Paragraph 166 of Murphy, once assigned 910 a threat level, threat mitigation process 10 may execute 912 a remedial action plan (e., remedial action plan 252) based, at least in part, upon the assigned threat level) and (paragraph 168 of Murphy, when executing 912 a remedial action plan, threat mitigation process 10 may generate 916 a security event report (e.g., security event report 254) based, at least in part, upon the artifacts (e.g., artifacts 250) gathered 904; and provide 918 the security event report).
Claims 14 and 24 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 5 Murphy in view of Huang discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 4 wherein processing the initial notification using a generative AI model, one or more tools, and a formatting script to define one or more recommended actions includes: utilizing prompt engineering to define one or more recommended actions for the initial notification. (Paragraph 166 of Murphy, once assigned 910 a threat level, threat mitigation process 10 may execute 912 a remedial action plan (e., remedial action plan 252) based, at least in part, upon the assigned threat level) and (paragraph 168 of Murphy, when executing 912 a remedial action plan, threat mitigation process 10 may generate 916 a security event report (e.g., security event report 254) based, at least in part, upon the artifacts (e.g., artifacts 250) gathered 904; and provide 918 the security event report).
Claims 15 and 25 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 5.
As per claim 7 Murphy in view of Huang discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein processing the initial notification using a generative AI model and one or more tools to define one or more recommended actions includes: utilizing several loops and/or nested loops to define one or more recommended actions for the initial notification. (Paragraph 166 of Murphy, once assigned 910 a threat level, threat mitigation process 10 may execute 912 a remedial action plan (e., remedial action plan 252) based, at least in part, upon the assigned threat level) and (paragraph 168 of Murphy, when executing 912 a remedial action plan, threat mitigation process 10 may generate 916 a security event report (e.g., security event report 254) based, at least in part, upon the artifacts (e.g., artifacts 250) gathered 904; and provide 918 the security event report).
Claims 17 and 27 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 7.
As per claim 8 Murphy in view of Huang discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein automatically generating a playbook to effectuate at least one of the recommended actions includes: automatically generating a playbook based, at least in part, upon best practices defined via artificial intelligence. (Paragraph 166 of Murphy, once assigned 910 a threat level, threat mitigation process 10 may execute 912 a remedial action plan (e., remedial action plan 252) based, at least in part, upon the assigned threat level) and (paragraph 168 of Murphy, when executing 912 a remedial action plan, threat mitigation process 10 may generate 916 a security event report (e.g., security event report 254) based, at least in part, upon the artifacts (e.g., artifacts 250) gathered 904; and provide 918 the security event report) and (paragraph 92 of Murphy, threat mitigation process 10 may include probabilistic process 56 (e.g., an artificial intelligence/machine learning process) that may be configured to process information (e.g., information 58), wherein examples of information 58 may include but are not limited to platform information (e.g., structured or unstructured content) that may be scanned to detect security events (e.g., access auditing; anomalies; authentication; denial of services; exploitation; malware; phishing; spamming; reconnaissance; and/or web attack) within a monitored computing platform (e.g., computing platform 60)).
Claims 18 and 28 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 8.
As per claim 9 Murphy in view of Huang discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein the playbook defines a set of procedures and/or guidelines configured to at least partially address the security event. (Paragraph 166 of Murphy, once assigned 910 a threat level, threat mitigation process 10 may execute 912 a remedial action plan (e., remedial action plan 252) based, at least in part, upon the assigned threat level) and (paragraph 168 of Murphy, when executing 912 a remedial action plan, threat mitigation process 10 may generate 916 a security event report (e.g., security event report 254) based, at least in part, upon the artifacts (e.g., artifacts 250) gathered 904; and provide 918 the security event report).
Claims 19 and 29 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 9.
As per claim 10 Murphy in view of Huang discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 9 wherein processing the playbook to address at least a portion of the security event includes: performing the set of procedures and/or guidelines defined within the playbook. (Paragraph 166 of Murphy, once assigned 910 a threat level, threat mitigation process 10 may execute 912 a remedial action plan (e., remedial action plan 252) based, at least in part, upon the assigned threat level) and (paragraph 168 of Murphy, when executing 912 a remedial action plan, threat mitigation process 10 may generate 916 a security event report (e.g., security event report 254) based, at least in part, upon the artifacts (e.g., artifacts 250) gathered 904; and provide 918 the security event report).
Claims 20 and 30 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 10.
Claims 3, 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US Pub. No. 2021/0160258) in view of Huang (US Pub. No. 2021/0185039) and further in view of Rockwell (US Pub. No. 2005/0254654).
As per claim 3:
The combination of Murphy and Huang teaches the method of processing and executing remedial action to mitigate the threat (see paragraph 166 of Murphy) but fails to disclose:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein the one or more tools further includes a decoding tool to decode an encoded initial notification.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rockwell teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 39 of Rockwell, the security event server 45 also receives mobile platform security logs. The security event server 45 decodes the security logs and creates security events).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Murphy and Huang to include the above limitation using the teaching of Rockwell in order to enhance the computing system by decoding and creating the security events (see paragraph 39 of Rockwell).
Claims 13 and 23 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 3.
Claims 6, 16 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US Pub. No. 2021/0160258) in view of Huang (US Pub. No. 2021/0185039) and further in view of Linton (US Pub. No. 2021/0273954).
As per claim 6:
The combination of Murphy and Huang teaches the method of processing and executing remedial action to mitigate the threat (see paragraph 166 of Murphy) but fails to disclose:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein processing the initial notification using a generative AI model and one or more tools to define one or more recommended actions includes: processing the initial notification using a large language model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Linton teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 70 of Linton, still referring to step 530, in an embodiment, the SIEM program module 420 uses self-supervision comparable to that used to train very large language models such and BERT and GPT-2 to train the deep neural network backbone to predict a next network or system event in a time series) and (paragraph 1 of Linton, aspects of the present invention generally relate to computing devices and, more particularly, to methods and systems for artificially intelligent security incident and event management using an attention-based deep neural network and transfer learning).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Murphy and Huang to include the above limitation using the teaching of Linton in order to enhance the computing system by using artificially intelligent security incident and event management using attention based deep neural network learning (see paragraph 1 of Linton).
Claims 16 and 26 are rejected under the same reason set forth in rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made or record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is North (US Pub. No. 2018/0307833). Noeth discloses:
Provided is an intrusion detection technique configured to: obtain kernel-filter criteria indicative of which network traffic is to be deemed potentially malicious, determine that a network packet is resident in a networking stack, access at least part of the network packet, apply the kernel-filter criteria to the at least part of the network packet and, based on applying the kernel-filter criteria, determining that the network packet is potentially malicious, associate the network packet with an identifier of an application executing in userspace of the operating system and to which or from which the network packet is sent, and report the network packet in association with the identifier of the application to an intrusion-detection agent executing in userspace of the operating system of the host computing device, the intrusion-detection agent being different from the application to which or from which the network packet is sent.
/TESHOME HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434