Notice of Non Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by US20210112647 A1 by Coleman.
Referring to claim 1, Coleman Fig 1-15 teaches, A lighting device ( Fig 4 item 402 AVLEDs, abstract) comprising: a communicator (See image sensors 403 paragraph [0287]) configured to communicate with a user terminal (See paragraphs [0127] or [0139] or [0149] or [0156] teaches using an user interface to communicate with the lighting units 402) ;
a light emitter (item 402) comprising a plurality of light emitting devices (items A01 to AN paragraph [0287]) in a two-dimensional(2D) arrangement (See paragraph [0204] or [0266] Coleman teaches AVLEDs having a matrix configuration and relevant information of light properties);
at least one memory storing instructions (See paragraph [0140], [0142] where Coleman teaches using a storage medium for storing instructions, commands and data) and a target illuminance of an indoor space (spatial zones 405 and paragraph [0287]) corresponding to a lighting direction and a time of the indoor space (See Fig 4 and abstract and [0287]) ; and
at least one processor operatively connected to the communicator, the light emitter and the at least one memory (See paragraph [0140], [0142] where Coleman teaches processors communicators which communicate with the AVLED lighting units and memory unit to store instructions into memory (see paragraph [0237]),
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine the lighting direction of the indoor space based on an input from the user terminal (See paragraph [0140] and [0142] and Fig 5) , and
control the light emitter to illuminate the indoor space to the target illuminance based on the determined lighting direction and the time (See abstract and paragraphs [0162] and [0289] where Coleman teaches lighting direction and the time).
Referring to claim 2 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory is storing a target illuminance for each area of the indoor space corresponding to the lighting direction and the time of the indoor space, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to control the light emitter to illuminate each area of the indoor space to the target illuminance of each area respectively. (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0289] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Referring to claim 3 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to control the light emitter to illuminate the indoor space with an illuminance having a gradation (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0290] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Referring to claim 4 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 3, further comprising an illuminance sensor configured to detect an illuminance of the indoor space, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine a starting area of the gradation based on a detection by the illuminance sensor. (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0290] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Referring to claim 5 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine an area with a greatest change in illuminance as the starting area of the gradation. (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0290] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Referring to claim 6 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim3,wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine a starting area of the gradation based on information input through the user terminal. (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0290] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Referring to claim 7 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine a location of a user in the indoor space, and control the light emitter to illuminate the location of the user. (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0289] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Referring to claim 8 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine the location of the user in the indoor space based on an ultra-wide band (UWB) signal received by the communicator. (See Fig 4 paragraph [0287]-[0290] and Fig 5).
Referring to claim 9 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: identify a display device in the indoor space, and control the light emitter to illuminate an area other than the display device. (See Fig 4 paragraph [0287]-[0290] and Fig 5).
Referring to claim 10 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 1, wherein the communicator is further configured to receive information about a non-illumination area from the user terminal, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to control the light emitter to illuminate an area other than the non-illumination area based on the received information. (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0289] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Referring to claim 11 Coleman teaches the lighting device of claim 1, wherein the target illuminance corresponds to an illuminance of sunlight within the indoor space. (See paragraphs [0155] and [0175] and [0289])
Referring to Claim 12 Coleman Fig 1-15 and abstract teaches: A method of controlling a lighting device (See Fig 4, 5), the method comprising:
storing a target illuminance of an indoor space corresponding to a lighting direction and a time of the indoor space (See Fig 5 and steps 501-504 and paragraph [0287] –[0290] ;
determining the lighting direction of the indoor space based on an input from a user terminal (See Fig 5 item 503 to 506 and paragraphs [0287] , [0290]);
determining the target illuminance of the indoor space based on the determined lighting direction and the time of the indoor space (See Fig 4, 5 item 507 -510] and paragraph [0287] and [0290]); and
controlling a light emitter to illuminate the indoor space to the target illuminance (See abstract).
Referring to claim 13 Coleman teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the storing the target illuminance comprises storing a target illuminance for each area of the indoor space corresponding to the lighting direction and the time of the indoor space, and wherein the controlling the light emitter comprises controlling the light emitter to illuminate each area of the indoor space to the target illuminance of each area respectively. (See abstract and Fig 4-6paragraphs [0162] and[0287]- [0290] where Coleman teaches lighting direction and the time).
Referring to claim 14 Coleman teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the controlling the light emitter further comprises controlling the light emitter to illuminate the indoor space with an illuminance having a gradation. (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0290] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Referring to claim 15 Coleman teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: detecting an illuminance of the indoor space; and determining a starting area for the gradation based on the detecting the illuminance. (See paragraphs [0140] –[0142] and Fig 4 and paragraph [0287]-[0290] where Coleman teaches the AVLEDs execute instructions based on the input commands and also see Fig 5).
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/ 08/06/2026
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845