DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 17-20 as amended in applicant’s response dated 22 June 2026 are presently under consideration along with new claims 21-23. Claims 3, and 15-16 are cancelled by applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the indefiniteness grounds of rejection of record which are thus withdrawn from further consideration.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, some of the prior art grounds of rejection of record are maintained to show where applicant’s newly amended limitation are taught, and applicant’s other newly amended limitations and claims are rejected under new prior art grounds of rejection as necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have raised new issues of indefiniteness identified below.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have raised new issues of new matter and drawing objections regarding claim 21 identified below.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks where applicable are addressed below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “conductive oxide layer is in direct contact with the first perovskite layer along the first direction” of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites “the conductive oxide layer is in direct contact with the first perovskite layer along the first direction” which is not supported by applicant’s originally filed claims, drawings or specification. The first direction is the x-axis direction or arrangement direction of applicant’s plurality of cell units 20 (see specification para [0055] and Fig. 5) but the only embodiments where conductive oxide layer 54 directly contacts the first perovskite layer 53, it does so along the second direction (y-axis direction, Figs. 1-7) and the conductive oxide layer 54 otherwise directly contacts the second charge transport layer 62 (Figs. 5 or 7) or fourth charge transport layer 64 (Fig. 6) along the first direction (x-axis direction) not the first perovskite layer 53. As such, claim 21 is rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer” in lines 9-10 where claim 1 previously defines “a first electrode layer” of “the cell unit” in lines 2-3 and “a first electrode layer of a first cell unit” in lines 5-6 where it’s unclear which first electrode is being referenced in lines 9-10 given the multiple instances of “a first electrode”. As such, the scope of claim 1 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 2,4-14, 17-18, and 21-22 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 1.
Claim 19 recites “the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer” in lines 9-10 where claim 19 previously defines “a first electrode layer” of “the cell unit” in lines 2-3 and “a first electrode layer of a first cell unit” in lines 5-6 where it’s unclear which first electrode is being referenced in lines 9-10 given the multiple instances of “a first electrode”. As such, the scope of claim 19 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 20 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 19.
Claim 22 recites “wherein the conductive oxide layer is not provided between the second electrode layer and the first perovskite layer along the second direction” but claim 1 from which claim 22 depends recites a second electrode layer for the cell unit and a second electrode layer for a first cell unit where it’s unclear which second electrode is being referenced in claim 22 given the multiple instances of “a second electrode”. As such, the scope of claim 22 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 23 recites “a plurality of cell units … the cell unit comprising…” where it’s unclear which cell unit of the plurality of cell units is being referenced by the later recitation of “the cell unit” or if the recitation means to defined the cell unit structure for each cell unit.
Claim 23 recites “a conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first absorption layer, between the connection structure and the second absorption layer, between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and between the connection structure and the third electrode layer” where it’s unclear which “first absorption layer” which “second absorption layer” which “first electrode layer” and which “third electrode layer” are being referenced considering there appear to be multiple instances of each of these structural features for each cell unit. As such, the scope of claim 23 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-13, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (CN 114695674A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1 Chen discloses a perovskite cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: serially connected sub-units of the perovskite solar assembly), the cell unit (Fig. 1) comprising a first electrode layer (transparent electrode layer 1), a second electrode layer (back electrode layer 5), and a first perovskite layer (perovskite layer 3) located between the first electrode layer (1) and the second electrode layer (5), that are arranged in a second direction (thickness direction); and
a connection structure (extension section 51), the connection structure being configured to connect a first electrode layer (1) of a first cell unit and a second electrode layer (5) of a second cell unit that are adjacent among the plurality of cell units (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: extension section 51 serially connecting transparent electrode layer 1 of one unit cell to a back electrode layer 5 of an adjacent unit cell);
wherein a conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first perovskite layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 of a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO or FTO provided between back electrode layer 5 and perovskite layer 3) and between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 extends between extension section 51 and transparent electrode layer 1 and continuously arranged over a surface of transparent electrode layer 1).
Regarding claim 2 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the conductive oxide layer extends from a first surface of the second electrode layer to the first surface of the first electrode layer, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer closest to the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer closest to the second electrode layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 extends between lower surface of back electrode layer 5 and upper surface of transparent electrode layer 1).
Regarding claim 4 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the connection structure is a conductive wall extending from a first surface of the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer closest to the first electrode layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: extension section 51 extends from lower surface of back electrode layer 5 to transparent electrode layer 1).
Regarding claim 5 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the cell unit (Fig. 1) comprises the first electrode layer (transparent electrode layer 1), a first charge transport layer (first charge transport layer 2), the first perovskite layer (perovskite layer 3), a second charge transport layer (second charge transport layer 4), and the second electrode layer (back electrode layer 5) sequentially disposed on a substrate (Page 6 of translation, see: substrate not shown in Fig. 1 supports the cell beneath transparent electrode layer 1).
Regarding claim 6 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 5, wherein the conductive oxide layer is provided between the second electrode layer and the second charge transport layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 extends between back electrode layer 5 and second charge transport layer 4).
Regarding claim 11 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the second electrode layer and the connection structure are formed as an integral structure (Pages 5-6 of translation and step 8 of Embodiment 1, Fig. 1 see: extension section 51 is part of or integral to back electrode 5).
Regarding claim 12 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, and regarding the claim 12 recitation “wherein a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm; and optionally, the resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 5*10-3 Ω-cm” Chen at Page 6 of the translation discloses that isolation layer 6 is a transparent conductive oxide of ITO or FTO which inherently possess the property of a resistivity less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 13 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the conductive oxide layer is 5 nm to 100 nm , optionally 20 nm to 50 nm (Pages 5-6 of translation and step 7 of Embodiment 1, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 having a thickness of 10-40 nm).
Regarding claim 18 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein a structural formula of the first perovskite layer is ABX3, wherein: an ionic radius of A is 0.076 nm to 0.315 nm, an ionic radius of B is 0.06 nm to 0.15 nm, and an ionic radius of X is 0.1 nm to 0.2 nm; optionally, A comprises at least one of an organic amine cation, Cs, K, Rb, or Li, B comprises at least one of lead, tin, zinc, titanium, antimony, bismuth, nickel, iron, cobalt, silver, copper, gallium, germanium, magnesium, calcium, indium, aluminium, manganese, chromium, molybdenum, or europium, and X comprises at least one of fluorine, chlorine, bromine, or iodine; and optionally, the organic amine cation comprises at least one of a methylammonium cation or a formamidinium cation (Page 6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: perovskite is perovskite layer 3 is an ABX3 material such as CsFAPbX3, CsMAPbX3, CsFAMAPbX3, CsPbX3, MAPbX3, FAPbX3, wherein X is Cl, Br, I and FA is formamidine, MA is methylamine; anyone of the recited perovskite materials meets the limitations of A, B and X of claim 18).
Regarding claim 19 Chen discloses a method for preparing a perovskite cell, comprising:
providing a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: provided serially connected sub-units of the perovskite solar assembly), the cell unit (Fig. 1) comprising a first electrode layer (transparent electrode layer 1), a second electrode layer (back electrode layer 5), and a first perovskite layer (perovskite layer 3) located between the first electrode layer (1) and the second electrode layer (5), that are arranged in a second direction (thickness direction); and
providing a connection structure (extension section 51), the connection structure being configured to connect a first electrode layer (1) of a first cell unit and a second electrode layer (5) of a second cell unit that are adjacent among the plurality of cell units (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: extension section 51 serially connecting transparent electrode layer 1 of one unit cell to a back electrode layer 5 of an adjacent unit cell);
wherein a conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first perovskite layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 of a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO or FTO provided between back electrode layer 5 and perovskite layer 3) and between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 extends between extension section 51 and transparent electrode layer 1 and continuously arranged over a surface of transparent electrode layer 1).
Regarding claim 20 Chen discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein:
providing the plurality of cell units arranged in the first direction comprises (See method on pages 6-7 of translation and Fig. 1):
providing a substrate (step 1 see: providing substrate), wherein the first electrode layer is provided on the substrate (step 1 see: sputtering transparent electrode layer on substrate);
sequentially depositing a first charge transport layer, a first perovskite layer, and a second charge transport layer on the first electrode layer (steps 3-5 see: sputtering first charge transport layer; preparing perovskite layer on first charge transport layer; preparing second charge transport layer on the perovskite layer); and
depositing the second electrode layer on the second charge transport layer (step 8 see: preparing the back electrode layer on the isolation layer and second charge transport layer); and
providing the connection structure comprises:
etching the second charge transport layer in the second direction to expose the first electrode layer, forming a first notch groove (step 6 see: using laser etching to remove layers 2, 3, 4 to form groove P2); and
depositing the conductive oxide layer on the second charge transport layer and in the first notch groove (step 7 see: preparing an isolation layer on the surface of the second charge transport layer and P2 groove by electron beam).
Regarding claim 21 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the conductive oxide layer is in direct contact with the first perovskite layer along the first direction (Fig. 1, see: isolation layer 6 extends between extension section 51 and perovskite layer 3 directly contacting sidewalls of perovskite layer 3).
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 13, 18-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bush (US 2020/0152812).
Regarding claim 1 Bush discloses a perovskite cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction ([0057], Fig. 5A see: serial cells 120 forming additive voltages V1+V2), the cell unit comprising a first electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: bottom electrode layer 210), a second electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: top electrode layer 250), and a first perovskite layer ([0054] Figs. 3A and 5A see: subcell layer 220 including absorber 320 of a perovskite material) located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (Fig. 5A), that are arranged in a second direction; and
a connection structure (Fig. 5A see: portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2), the connection structure being configured to connect a first electrode layer of a first cell unit and a second electrode layer of a second cell unit that are adjacent among the plurality of cell units (Fig. 5A see: portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2 connecting top electrode 250 of one cell with bottom electrode 210 of an adjacent cell);
wherein a conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first perovskite layer ([0053], Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 of a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO, AZO, IZO formed between subcell layer 220 including absorber 320 of a perovskite material and portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2) and between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 disposed between portion of top electrode 250 in P2 and bottom contact 210 and conformal transport layer 240 continuously extends over top surface 211 of bottom contact 210).
Regarding claim 2 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the conductive oxide layer extends from a first surface of the second electrode layer to the first surface of the first electrode layer, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer closest to the first electrode layer, and the first surface of the first electrode layer is a surface of the first electrode layer closest to the second electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 disposed between a lower surface of top electrode 250 and top surface of bottom contact 210).
Regarding claim 4 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the connection structure is a conductive wall extending from a first surface of the second electrode layer to the first electrode layer, wherein the first surface of the second electrode layer is a surface of the second electrode layer closest to the first electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: portion of top electrode 250 in P2 extends from a lower surface of top electrode 250 to bottom contact 210).
Regarding claim 5 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the cell unit comprises (Figs. 3A and 5A) the first electrode layer (bottom electrode 210), a first charge transport layer (ETL layer 310), the first perovskite layer (perovskite absorber layer 320), a second charge transport layer (HTL-1 layer 330), and the second electrode layer (top electrode layer 250) sequentially disposed on a substrate (substrate 202).
Regarding claim 6 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 5, wherein the conductive oxide layer is provided between the second electrode layer and the second charge transport layer (Figs. 3A and 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 disposed between top electrode 250 and HTL-1 layer 330).
Regarding claim 7 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 5, wherein the cell unit further comprises a light absorption layer located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (Fig. 3B see: subcell 220 further includes another absorber 360 between bottom electrode 210 and top electrode 250).
Regarding claim 8 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 7, wherein the light absorption layer comprises a second perovskite layer ([0055], Fig. 3B see: subcell 220 further includes another perovskite absorber 360), the cell unit further comprises a third electrode layer (Fig. 3B see: recombination layer 340), a third charge transport layer (Fig. 3B see: ETL layer 350), the second perovskite layer (perovskite absorber 360), and a fourth charge transport layer (Fig. 3B see: HTL-1 layer 370) sequentially disposed between the second charge transport layer and the second electrode layer (see Fig. 3B), and the conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the second perovskite layer ([0053], [0055] Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 formed between subcell layer 220 including absorber 360 of a perovskite material and portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2).
Regarding claim 11 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the second electrode layer and the connection structure are formed as an integral structure (Fig. 5A see: portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2 is integral with the rest of top electrode 250).
Regarding claim 13 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the conductive oxide layer is 5 nm to 100 nm, optionally 20 nm to 50 nm ([0053], Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 is 10-40 nm thick).
Regarding claim 18 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein a structural formula of the first perovskite layer is ABX3, wherein: an ionic radius of A is 0.076 nm to 0.315 nm, an ionic radius of B is 0.06 nm to 0.15 nm, and an ionic radius of X is 0.1 nm to 0.2 nm; optionally, A comprises at least one of an organic amine cation, Cs, K, Rb, or Li, B comprises at least one of lead, tin, zinc, titanium, antimony, bismuth, nickel, iron, cobalt, silver, copper, gallium, germanium, magnesium, calcium, indium, aluminium, manganese, chromium,molybdenum, or europium, and X comprises at least one of fluorine, chlorine, bromine, or iodine; and optionally, the organic amine cation comprises at least one of a methylammonium cation or a formamidinium cation ([0065] see: the absorber perovskite material is characterized by the formula ABX3, with A representing a large atomic or molecular cation (e.g. Cs, methylammonium, formamidinium, etc.), with B representing a positively charged cation (e.g. metal, lead, plumbate, Sn), and X representing a negatively charged anion (e.g. halide, I, Br, Cl) which meets the limitations of claim 18).
Regarding claim 19 Bush discloses a method for preparing a perovskite cell, comprising:
providing a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction([0057], Fig. 5A see: serial cells 120 forming additive voltages V1+V2), the cell unit comprising a first electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: bottom electrode layer 210), a second electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: top electrode layer 250), and a first perovskite layer ([0054] Figs. 3A and 5A see: subcell layer 220 including absorber 320 of a perovskite material) located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (Fig. 5A), that are arranged in a second direction; and
providing a connection structure (Fig. 5A see: portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2), the connection structure being configured to connect a first electrode layer of a first cell unit and a second electrode layer of a second cell unit that are adjacent among the plurality of cell units (Fig. 5A see: portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2 connecting top electrode 250 of one cell with bottom electrode 210 of an adjacent cell);
wherein a conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first perovskite layer ([0053], Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 of a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO, AZO, IZO formed between subcell layer 220 including absorber 320 of a perovskite material and portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2) and between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 disposed between portion of top electrode 250 in P2 and bottom contact 210 and conformal transport layer 240 continuously extends over top surface 211 of bottom contact 210).
Regarding claim 20 Bush discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein: providing the plurality of cell units arranged in the first direction comprises:
providing a substrate (Fig. 8A see: providing substrate 202), wherein the first electrode layer is provided on the substrate ([0064], Fig. 8B see: forming bottom electrode 210 on substrate 202);
sequentially depositing a first charge transport layer, a first perovskite layer, and a second charge transport layer on the first electrode layer ([0065], Figs. 8D and 3A see: forming subcell layer 220 which includes ETL layer 310, perovskite absorber layer 320, HTL-1 layer 330); and
depositing the second electrode layer on the second charge transport layer ([0070], Figs. 8I see: forming top electrode over top of subcell layer 220 including ETL layer 310); and
providing the connection structure comprises:
etching the second charge transport layer in the second direction to expose the first electrode layer, forming a first notch groove ([0066], Fig. 8E see: etching groove P2 exposing surface of bottom electrode 210); and
depositing the conductive oxide layer on the second charge transport layer and in the first notch groove ([0068], Fig. 8H see: conformal layer 240 deposited in groove P2 and on top of subcell layer 220 including ETL layer 310).
Regarding claim 21 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, wherein the conductive oxide layer is in direct contact with the first perovskite layer along the first direction (Fig. 16B see: conformal layer 240 directly contacting s sidewall of subcell layer 220 and thus a sidewall of the perovskite absorber).
Regarding claim 23 Bush discloses a perovskite cell, comprising:
a plurality of cell units arranged in a first direction ([0057], Fig. 5A see: serial cells 120 forming additive voltages V1+V2), the cell unit comprising a first electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: bottom electrode layer 210), a second electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: top electrode layer 250), a third electrode layer ([0055], Figs. 3B, 4B see: recombination layer 340), a first light absorption layer located between the first electrode layer and the third electrode layer ([0055], Figs. 3B, 4B see: absorber 320), and a second light absorption layer located between the second electrode layer and the third electrode layer ([0055], Figs. 3B, 4B see: absorber 360), that are arranged in a second direction (Figs. 3B, 4B); and
a connection structure (Fig. 5A see: portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2), the connection structure being configured to connect a first electrode layer of a first cell unit and a second electrode layer of a second cell unit that are adjacent among the plurality of cell units (Fig. 5A see: portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2 connecting top electrode 250 of one cell with bottom electrode 210 of an adjacent cell);
wherein a conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first absorption layer, between the connection structure and the second absorption layer, between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and between the connection structure and the third electrode layer ([0053], Figs. 3B, 4B, 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 in opening P2 of a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO, AZO, IZO formed between subcell layer 220 including absorber 320, absorber 360, top electrode 250, recombination layer 340, and top surface 211 of bottom electrode 210 and portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN 114695674A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-13, and 18-21 above and further in view of Kurata et al (US 2001/0035205).
Regarding claim 12 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, and regarding the claim 12 recitation “wherein a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm; and optionally, the resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 5*10-3 Ω-cm” Chen at Page 6 of the translation discloses that isolation layer 6 is a transparent conductive oxide of ITO or FTO which would appear to meet the claimed limitation to the resistivity of the conductive oxide layer, but in the alternative where it’s not clear Chen discloses herein a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm; and optionally, the resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 5*10-3 Ω-cm, Kurata teaches a thin-film solar cell comprising a protective conductive oxide film between an absorber layer and back electrode with a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm (5*10-4 Ω-cm to 4*10-3 Ω-cm) to provide low series resistance of the thin-film solar battery, but high enough to prevent diffusion of the transparent metal oxide material into the back electrode causing the formation of an alloy that results in a lower fill factor (Kurata, [0029]).
Kurata and Chen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Chen in view of Kurata such that a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer of Chen is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm as in Kurata (para [0029] see: transparent metal oxide material with a resistivity of 5*10-4 Ω-cm to 4*10-3 Ω-cm) as Kurata teaches this provides low series resistance for the thin-film solar battery, but high enough to prevent diffusion of the transparent metal oxide material into the back electrode causing the formation of an alloy that results in a lower fill factor (Kurata, [0029]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN 114695674A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-13, and 18-21 above and further in view of Park et al (US 2014/0230891).
Regarding claim 14 Chen discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a material of the conductive oxide layer comprises at least one of tungsten-doped indium oxide, gallium-doped zinc oxide, lanthanum series metal doped indium oxide, indium hafnium oxide, indium tantalum oxide, or indium niobium oxide.
Park discloses a conductive oxide material layer disposed in a connection structure between thin-film solar cells (Park, Fig. 1 see: portion of front electrode 600 in through hole TH2 under first conductive layer 700) where a material of the conductive oxide layer comprises gallium-doped zinc oxide (Park, [0035] see: front electrode 600 can be Ga doped zinc oxide (GZO)).
Park and Chen are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Chen in view of Park such that the material of the conductive oxide layer comprises gallium-doped zinc oxide as in Park ([0035] see: front electrode 600 in TH2 can be Ga doped zinc oxide (GZO)) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known conductive oxide material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claims 9-10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bush (US 2020/0152812) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 13, 18-21, and 23 above, and further in view of Kamino et al (US 2018/0174761).
Regarding claim 9 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 8, and discloses where the band gap of the first perovskite layer is different than that of the second perovskite layer (para [0055]) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a band gap of the first perovskite layer is greater than that of the second perovskite layer.
However, Kamino teaches forming the band gap of the first perovskite layer is greater than that of the second perovskite layer (Kamino, [0132], Fig. 6c. see: first photoactive region 110 is a wide band gap perovskite and second photoactive region 220 is a narrow band gap perovskite) as Kamino teaches such tandem subcell arrangements provide a wider absorption spectrum and more efficient absorption of light (Kamino, [0008]-[0008]).
Bush and Kamino are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Bush in view of Kamino such that a band gap of the first perovskite layer is greater than that of the second perovskite layer as in Kamino (Kamino, [0132], Fig. 6c. see: first photoactive region 110 is a wide band gap perovskite and second photoactive region 220 is a narrow band gap perovskite) as Kamino teaches such tandem subcell arrangements provide a wider absorption spectrum and more efficient absorption of light (Kamino, [0008]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 10 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the light absorption layer comprises a copper indium gallium selenide layer, but does disclose the absorber layers can be different materials and discloses where the cell unit further comprises a fifth charge transport layer, the light absorption layer, a sixth charge transport layer, and a fourth electrode layer sequentially disposed between the first electrode layer and the first charge transport layer ([0055], Fig. 3B see: ETL layer 310/Absorber layer 320/HTL-1 layer 330/Recombination layer 340 where absorber layer 360 can be a perovskite absorber).
Kamino discloses a tandem solar cell arrangement where the bottom cell includes a copper indium gallium selenide layer with a perovskite top cell ([0131], see Fig. 6b).
Bush and Kamino are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Bush in view of Kamino such that the light absorption layer of Bush comprises a copper indium gallium selenide layer as in Kamino ([0131], see Fig. 6b) as Bush states the absorber layers can be different materials (para [0055]) and such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known lower band gap subcell material to be paired with a wider bandgap perovskite material in a known environment to accomplish the entirely expected result of forming a tandem solar cell with a wider spectrum of light absorption.
Regarding claim 17 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the first electrode layer is 300 nm to 800 nm, a thickness of the second electrode layer is 10 nm to 200 nm, and a thickness of the first perovskite layer is 300 nm to 800 nm; and optionally, the thickness of the first electrode layer is 400 nm to 600 nm, the thickness of the second electrode layer is 80 nm to 120 nm, and the thickness of the first perovskite layer is 400 nm to 600 nm.
However, Kamino teaches forming a perovskite solar cell where a thickness of the first electrode layer is 300 nm to 800 nm (para [0146] see front electrode thickness can be 400 nm), a thickness of the second electrode layer is 10 nm to 200 nm (para [0146] see back electrode thickness of 150 nm), and a thickness of the first perovskite layer is 300 nm to 800 nm (para [0144] see the thickness of the perovskite layer should ideally be in the order of from 300 to 600).
Bush and Kamino are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Bush in view of Kamino such that a thickness of the first electrode layer is 300 nm to 800 nm as in Kamino (para [0146] see front electrode thickness can be 400 nm), a thickness of the second electrode layer is 10 nm to 200 nm as in Kamino (para [0146] see back electrode thickness of 150 nm), and a thickness of the first perovskite layer is 300 nm to 800 nm as in Kamino (para [0144] see the thickness of the perovskite layer should ideally be in the order of from 300 to 600 nm) as such thicknesses would have amounted to the mere selection of known thicknesses of the front electrode, back electrode and perovskite absorber layer in the known environment of a perovskite solar cell to accomplish entirely expected results.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bush (US 2020/0152812) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 13, 18-21, and 23 above and further in view of Kurata et al (US 2001/0035205).
Regarding claim 12 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, and regarding the claim 12 recitation “wherein a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm; and optionally, the resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 5*10-3 Ω-cm” Bush discloses in para [0053] that conformal transport layer 240 is made of a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO, AZO, IZO which would appear to meet the claimed limitation to the resistivity of the conductive oxide layer, but in the alternative where it’s not clear Bush discloses herein a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm; and optionally, the resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 5*10-3 Ω-cm, Kurata teaches a thin-film solar cell comprising a protective conductive oxide film between an absorber layer and back electrode with a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm (5*10-4 Ω-cm to 4*10-3 Ω-cm) to provide low series resistance of the thin-film solar battery, but high enough to prevent diffusion of the transparent metal oxide material into the back electrode causing the formation of an alloy that results in a lower fill factor (Kurata, [0029]).
Kurata and Bush are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Bush in view of Kurata such that a resistivity of the conductive oxide layer of Bush is less than 1*10-2 Ω-cm as in Kurata (para [0029] see: transparent metal oxide material with a resistivity of 5*10-4 Ω-cm to 4*10-3 Ω-cm) as Kurata teaches this provides low series resistance for the thin-film solar battery, but high enough to prevent diffusion of the transparent metal oxide material into the back electrode causing the formation of an alloy that results in a lower fill factor (Kurata, [0029]).
Claims 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bush (US 2020/0152812) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 13, 18-21, and 23 above and further in view of Park et al (US 2014/0230891).
Regarding claim 14 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a material of the conductive oxide layer comprises at least one of tungsten-doped indium oxide, gallium-doped zinc oxide, lanthanum series metal doped indium oxide, indium hafnium oxide, indium tantalum oxide, or indium niobium oxide.
Park discloses a conductive oxide material layer disposed in a connection structure between thin-film solar cells (Park, Fig. 1 see: portion of front electrode 600 in through hole TH2 under first conductive layer 700) where a material of the conductive oxide layer comprises gallium-doped zinc oxide (Park, [0035] see: front electrode 600 can be Ga doped zinc oxide (GZO)).
Park and Bush are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Bush in view of Park such that the material of the conductive oxide layer (conformal transport layer 240) comprises gallium-doped zinc oxide as in Park ([0035] see: front electrode 600 in TH2 can be Ga doped zinc oxide (GZO)) as Bush teaches the conformal transport layer 240 can be formed from doped zinc oxides (Bush, para [0053]) and such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known conductive oxide material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 22 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the conductive oxide layer is not provided between the second electrode layer and the first perovskite layer along the second direction.
Park discloses a conductive oxide material layer disposed in a connection structure between thin-film solar cells (Park, [0035] Fig. 1 see: portion of front electrode 600 in through hole TH2 under first conductive layer 700) where the conductive oxide layer is not provided between the second electrode layer and the absorber layer along the second direction (Park, Fig. 1 see: portion of TCO front electrode 600 in through hole TH2 not provided between TCO front electrode 600 of the adjacent cell and its absorber layer 300 in the thickness direction).
Park and Bush are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Bush in view of Park such that the conductive oxide layer is not provided between the second electrode layer and the first perovskite layer along the second direction as in Park (Park, Fig. 1 see: portion of TCO front electrode 600 in through hole TH2 not provided between TCO front electrode 600 of the adjacent cell and its absorber layer 300 in the thickness direction) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known interconnection arrangement for thin-film solar cells for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bush (US 2020/0152812) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 13, 18-21, and 23 above and further in view Yuan et al (CN 105161623A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 22 Bush discloses the perovskite cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the conductive oxide layer is not provided between the second electrode layer and the first perovskite layer along the second direction.
Yuan discloses a perovskite solar cell having a conductive oxide layer which is not provided between the second electrode layer and the first perovskite layer along the second direction (Yuan, Abstract, Figs. 1-2 see: ITO sidewalls 3 surrounding perovskite layer 4 and not provided between perovskite layer 4 and metal electrode layer 6 in a thickness direction). Yuan discloses this arrangement provides a moisture barrier for the perovskite layer (Yuan, Abstract).
Yuan and Bush are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thin-film solar cell of Bush in view of Yuan such that the conductive oxide layer is not provided between the second electrode layer and the first perovskite layer along the second direction as in Yuan (Abstract, Figs. 1-2 see: ITO sidewalls 3 surrounding perovskite layer 4 and not provided between perovskite layer 4 and metal electrode layer 6 in a thickness direction) as Yuan discloses this arrangement also provides a moisture barrier for the perovskite layer (Yuan, Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments to the prior art of Bush and Chen have been fully considered but are not found persuasive as applicant’s arguments are mere conclusory statements that the prior art of Bush and Chen do not disclose “the conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first perovskite layer and between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer” without further indicating how or why Bush and Chen do not teach these limitations.
These arguments are thus not found persuasive as Chen teaches wherein a conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first perovskite layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 of a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO or FTO provided between back electrode layer 5 and perovskite layer 3) and between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer (Pages 5-6 of translation, Fig. 1 see: isolation layer 6 extends between extension section 51 and transparent electrode layer 1 and continuously arranged over a surface of transparent electrode layer 1) and Bush teaches wherein a conductive oxide layer is provided between the connection structure and the first perovskite layer ([0053], Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 of a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO, AZO, IZO formed between subcell layer 220 including absorber 320 of a perovskite material and portion of top electrode 250 in opening P2) and between the connection structure and the first electrode layer, and the conductive oxide layer is continuously arranged over a first surface of the first electrode layer (Fig. 5A see: conformal transport layer 240 disposed between portion of top electrode 250 in P2 and bottom contact 210 and conformal transport layer 240 continuously extends over top surface 211 of bottom contact 210).
Applicant likewise simply states the prior art of Bush does not recites the limitations of new claim 23 without further indicating how or why Bush does not teach these limitations. These arguments are thus not found persuasive and a claim mapping as to how Bush anticipates claim 23 can be found above.
Applicants further arguments to these points are moot as they depend from the arguments rebutted above.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-14, and 17-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: The prior art of Shao (US 2022/0044878) in Figs. 1-4 also discloses barrier oxide materials in connection regions of thin film perovskite solar cells.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726