DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of PCT/CN2019/120664 filed 11/25/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanmugam et al., “hereinafter Shanmugam” (U.S. Patent Application: 20190334995) in view of Ha et al., “hereinafter Ha” (U.S. Patent Application: 20200389528).
As per Claim 1, Shanmugam discloses a method in a network exposure node, comprising:
facilitating subscription of the first terminal device to a topic via the MQTT-SN gateway (Shanmugam, Para.35, The message broker 250 optionally stores the messages according to various topics and the topics can be subscribed by different client devices 260, Para.15, The IoT gateway service obtains a wireless communication, transmitted, for example, using a Bluetooth standard, from sensor devices, converts the wireless communication to a machine-to-machine IoT connectivity protocol, such as a Message Queuing Telemetry Transport (MQTT) protocol; and provides the converted wireless communication as a message to a message broker that determines a topic of the message. The message broker optionally verifies the topic of the message and publishes the message to one or more client devices that have subscribed to the topic.); and
facilitating data publishing of a second terminal device for the topic towards the first terminal device via the MQTT gateway (Shanmugam, Para.34, the message broker 250 is implemented as an MQTT message broker, such as a Really Small Message Broker (RSMB). The message broker 250 determines a topic of a given message 245-1 and publishes the given message 245-1 to one or more client devices 260 that have subscribed to the particular topic as MQTT-SN over TCP messages 245-2.);
wherein facilitating the data publishing comprises: receiving, from the MQTT-SN gateway, a publishing message to publish data for the topic (Shanmugam, Para.41, The wireless communication is converted during step 430 to a machine-to-machine IoT connectivity protocol (e.g., MQTT-SN). The converted wireless communication is provided as a message to the message broker 250 during step 440. The message broker 250 also determines a topic of the message during step 440 (optionally verifies the topic) and publishes the message to one or more client devices 260 that have subscribed to the topic.);and
transmitting the publishing message to the first terminal device (Shanmugam, Para.37, When a message 245-1 has been sent by the MQTT-SN gateway 240, the message broker 250 receives the message 245-1 and optionally decides if the topic of the message 245-1 is valid. Once the topic has been verified, if needed, the message broker 250 publishes the message to the respective topic, for example, in an event source (not shown) or directly to the client device(s) 260.).
However Shanmugam does not disclose establishing a connection between a first terminal device and a Message Queuing Telemetry Transport for Sensor Network (MQTT-SN) gateway.
Ha discloses establishing a connection between a first terminal device and a Message Queuing Telemetry Transport for Sensor Network (MQTT-SN) gateway (Ha, Para.56, the Message Queueing Telemetry Transport (MQTT) protocol or the MQTT for Sensor Networks (MQTT-SN) protocol may be used for the connection to the IoT device 400, Para.103, The gateway 300 may connect the restrictive device 450 to the middleware unit 100. The gateway 300 may support short-range wired communication, short-range wireless communication, Zigbee, or WiFi. For example, the restrictive device 450 may be connected to the gateway 300 using the MQTT-SN protocol and through a Zigbee connection, and the gateway 300 may convert the restrictive device 450 to the MQTT protocol and connect the restrictive device 450 to the middleware unit 100.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Shanmugam with the teachings as in Ha. The motivation for doing so would have been for provide a service-oriented Internet of Things (IoT) platform capable of allowing a user to create a service scenario using a script editor and control a service provided by an IoT device according to the service scenario. An Internet of Things (IoT) platform may include a middleware unit including a device management unit configured to receive device generation information from an IoT device and establish a connection to the IoT device, a service management unit configured to abstract the IoT device into a service device and control the IoT device according to a service scenario, and a data management unit configured to generate and store data regarding the device management unit, the service management unit, and the IoT device, and a script editor configured to create the service scenario for the service device. (Ha Para.04, 6).
With respect to Claim 12, 16 are substantially similar to Claim 1 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 11, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first terminal device is a non-Internet Protocol (Non-IP) device; and the second terminal device is an Internet Protocol (IP) device or a Non-IP device (Shanmugam, Para.40, the IoT gateway service obtains a wireless communication, such as a BLE radio signal 220, from one or more sensor devices during step 420, Para.36, The exemplary client device 260 can optionally provide a radio signal 265, for example, in a BLE format to one or more of the sensor nodes 210-1 through 210-J. The radio signal 265 may be based, for example, on the topic of the message. In this manner, the reactive stream of data/signal can be sent by the exemplary client device 260 that can be sent back to the sensor nodes 210 by the client devices 260 (listeners of these topics) which, in turn, can be converted as BLE radio signals 265 and sent to the sensor node 210 of the IoT devices.).
With respect to Claim 15, 19 are substantially similar to Claim 11 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
Claims 2, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanmugam et al., “hereinafter Shanmugam” (U.S. Patent Application: 20190334995) in view of Ha et al., “hereinafter Ha” (U.S. Patent Application: 20200389528) and further in view of Oliner et al., “hereinafter Oliner” (US Patent: 11853303).
As per Claim 2, Shanmugam in view of Ha discloses the method of claim 1,
However Shanmugam in view of Ha does not disclose the publishing message includes a first parameter indicating a size of the data to be published, a second parameter indicating whether there is a subsequent block of the data to be published, and a third parameter indicating a data block index.
Oliner discloses the publishing message includes a first parameter indicating a size of the data to be published, a second parameter indicating whether there is a subsequent block of the data to be published, and a third parameter indicating a data block index (Oliner, Col.30, Line: 56-59, At block 710, the intake system 210 determines a destination ingestion buffer to which to publish the (potentially transformed) message, as well as a topic to which the message should be published, Col.28, Line: 26-32, the indexing system 212 may subscribe to an indexing topic 342, …the output ingestion buffer 310 may transmit each message published to a topic to each subscriber of that topic, Col.17, Line:34-42, a forwarder 302 receives the raw data and may segment the data stream into “blocks”, possibly of a uniform data size, to facilitate subsequent processing steps. The forwarder 302 may additionally or alternatively modify data received, prior to forwarding the data to the data retrieval subsystem 304. Illustratively, the forwarder 302 may “tag” metadata for each data block, such as by specifying a source, sourcetype, or host associated with the data, or by appending one or more timestamp or time ranges to each data block.). (Oliner, US Patent: 11853303).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Shanmugam, Ha with the teachings as in Oliner. The motivation for doing so would have been for facilitating searching and analyzing large sets of data to locate data of interest. (Oliner,01).
With respect to Claim 13, 17 are substantially similar to Claim 2 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
Claims 3, 14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al., “hereinafter Ha” (U.S. Patent Application: 20200389528) in view of Shanmugam et al., “hereinafter Shanmugam” (U.S. Patent Application: 20190334995) and further in view of LI et al., “hereinafter LI” (U.S. Patent Application: 20200146077).
As per Claim 3, Shanmugam in view of Ha discloses the method of claim 1,
However Shanmugam in view of Ha does not disclose wherein receiving the publishing message from the MQTT-SN gateway comprises: receiving the publishing message in a Non-Internet Protocol (IP) Data Delivery (NIDD) Mobile Terminated (MT) message from the MQTT-SN gateway; and/or transmitting the publishing message to the first terminal device comprises: transmitting the publishing message in a NIDD MT message to the first terminal device.
LI discloses receiving the publishing message from the MQTT-SN gateway comprises: receiving the publishing message in a Non-Internet Protocol (IP) Data Delivery (NIDD) Mobile Terminated (MT) message from the MQTT-SN gateway (LI, Para.25, a 5G NIDD architecture is proposed including different options of data paths for non-IP data delivery (NIDD) through the 5G core network. In connection with this aspect, a registration procedure is proposed with some new parameters for enabling the NIDD. Also, mechanisms are proposed for establishing the PDU session between a UE and SCS/AS for non-IP delivery. For example, the PDU session may go through AMF, SMF, and User Plane Function (UPF)/NEF. Additionally, methods of Mobile Originated (MO) and Mobile Terminated (MT) non-IP data transfer are described.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Shanmugam, Ha with the teachings as in Li. The motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a Systems and methods for non-IP data delivery (NIDD) through the 5G core network, including different options of data paths for the NIDD. In connection with this aspect, a registration procedure is proposed with some new parameters for enabling the NIDD. Also, mechanisms are proposed for establishing the PDU session between a UE and SCS/AS for non-IP delivery. For example, the PDU session may go through AMF, SMF, and User Plane Function (UPF)/NEF. Additionally, methods of Mobile Originated (MO) and Mobile Terminated (MT) non-IP data transfer are described. (Li, Para.80).
With respect to Claim 14, 18 are substantially similar to Claim 3 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
Claims 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al., “hereinafter Ha” (U.S. Patent Application: 20200389528) in view of Shanmugam et al., “hereinafter Shanmugam” (U.S. Patent Application: 20190334995) and further in view of Bedi et al., “hereinafter Bedi”(U.S. Patent Application: 20090172117).
As per Claim 6, Shanmugam in view of Ha discloses the method of claim 1,
However Shanmugam in view of Ha does not disclose receiving, from the first terminal device, a connection message to setup a connection with the MQTT-SN gateway and transmitting the connection message to the MQTT-SN gateway; receiving, from the MQTT-SN gateway, a first acknowledgement message in response to the connection message.
Bedi discloses receiving, from the first terminal device, a connection message to setup a connection with the MQTT-SN gateway(Bedi, Para.08, MQTT and MQTT-S are connection-oriented protocols in the sense that they require a client to set up a connection with the broker before the client can exchange publications and subscriptions with the broker… a CONNECT message is defined which contains a Client ID. The Client ID enables the broker to identify the connected client); transmitting the connection message to the MQTT-SN gateway; receiving, from the MQTT-SN gateway, a first acknowledgement message in response to the connection message (Bedi, Para.22, the gateway 140, 150 or the broker 130 to receive an acknowledgment from the client device to be sure that the client has correctly received the published message, Para.31, the client first connects to a gateway/broker 203 (FIG. 2), waits to receive an acknowledgment of the connection from the gateway/broker (FIG. 4, block 403), and either times out (block 407) while waiting for the acknowledgment, or receives the acknowledgment (block 405).).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Shanmugam, Ha with the teachings as in Bedi. The motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a methods for using message queuing telemetry transport for sensor networks (MQTT-S) to support a sleeping client device on a wireless sensor network operatively coupled to a broker through a gateway, the methods comprising the broker receiving a CONNECT message from the client device, the CONNECT message specifying a client identifier and a keep-alive duration; monitoring the client device using a keep-alive timer set to the keep-alive duration (Bedi, Para.11).
As per Claim 8, Shanmugam in view of Ha discloses the method of claim 1, wherein facilitating the subscription comprises:
receiving, from the first terminal device, a subscription message to subscribe to the topic; transmitting the subscription message to the MQTT-SN gateway (Shanmugam, Para.04, providing the message to the message broker that determines a topic of the message and publishes the message to one or more client devices that have subscribed to the topic.);
However Ha in view of Shanmugam do not disclose receiving, from the MQTT-SN gateway, a second acknowledgement message in response to the subscription message; and transmitting the second acknowledgement message to the first terminal device.
Bedi discloses receiving, from the MQTT-SN gateway, a second acknowledgement message in response to the subscription message; and transmitting the second acknowledgement message to the first terminal device. (Bedi, Para.24, The gateway/broker 203 acknowledges that message with a DISCONNECT 217 message and considers the client 201 for being in the asleep 207 state., Para.31, the client first connects to a gateway/broker 203 (FIG. 2), waits to receive an acknowledgment of the connection from the gateway/broker (FIG. 4, block 403), and either times out (block 407) while waiting for the acknowledgment, or receives the acknowledgment (block 405).).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Ha, Shanmugam with the teachings as in Bedi. The motivation for doing so would have been for implementing a methods for using message queuing telemetry transport for sensor networks (MQTT-S) to support a sleeping client device on a wireless sensor network operatively coupled to a broker through a gateway, the methods comprising the broker receiving a CONNECT message from the client device, the CONNECT message specifying a client identifier and a keep-alive duration; monitoring the client device using a keep-alive timer set to the keep-alive duration (Bedi, Para.11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-5, 7, 9, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449