Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 19 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giancristofaro et al. (US 20210396866 A1) in view of Mayfield et al. (US 20030078040 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Giancristofaro teaches a system (LO of the locator transponder 24 of Figs. 19-21), comprising:
a first frequency reference generator (VHF 861) of a satellite or an aircraft (the radio communications system 22 may conveniently be integrated with the radar-based system 23 on board one or more same platforms (e.g., one or more same satellite(s) and/or aircraft, [0268]), wherein the first frequency reference generator generates a first frequency reference signal in a first frequency band (a Very High Frequency (VHF) crystal oscillator 861 designed to provide a first reference signal having a first reference frequency in the VHF band, [0382]);
a communication receiving channel (sampling phase detector 862, Fig. 21) for receiving a first signal at the satellite or the aircraft using the first frequency reference signal (a sampling phase detector 862 coupled to the VHF crystal oscillator 861 to receive the first reference signal, [0383]);
a second frequency reference generator (oscillator 865, Fig. 21) of the satellite or the aircraft, wherein the second frequency reference generator generates a second frequency reference signal in a second frequency band (a microwave oscillator 865 connected to the output of the low noise active filter 863 and designed to provide a second reference signal having a second reference frequency comprised in a microwave frequency band (e.g., in X band), [0385]); and
a communication transmission channel (e.g. SAR path 85 of Fig. 19) for transmitting a second signal from the satellite or the aircraft using the second frequency reference signal (wherein said second reference signal is provided [0386] at an output 866 of the LO 86 so that it may be used by the locator transponder 24 as reference frequency signal for its operation in reception and in transmission, [0386]).
However, Giancristofaro does not teach wherein the first frequency band is selected based at least in part on the first frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system for receiving signals from satellites or aircrafts and wherein the second frequency band is selected based at least in part on the second frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system for transmitting signals to the satellites or the aircrafts.
In an analogous art, Mayfield teaches wherein the first frequency band is selected based at least in part on the first frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system for receiving signals from satellites or aircrafts (The system 10 depicted in FIG. 1 reverses the transmission and reception frequency bands of the terrestrial communication system, represented by cell site 12, with respect to the satellite communication system represented by satellite 14. Terrestrial user terminals 18 transmit on the satellite system's downlink frequency (f.sub.d), [0015]; The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has allocated a 34 MHZ spectrum within the L-band (at .apprxeq.1.5 GHz) for use in mobile satellite communications, [0005]) and wherein the second frequency band is selected based at least in part on the second frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system for transmitting signals to the satellites or the aircrafts (The system 10 depicted in FIG. 1 reverses the transmission and reception frequency bands of the terrestrial communication system, represented by cell site 12, with respect to the satellite communication system represented by satellite 14. Terrestrial user terminals 18 receive communications on the satellite system's uplink frequency (f.sub.u), [0015]; The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has allocated a 34 MHZ spectrum within the L-band (at .apprxeq.1.5 GHz) for use in mobile satellite communications, [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro with the satellite spectrum of Mayfield to provide a method for assigning frequency bands so that terrestrial users and ground satellite users within the same geographic region are using different uplink and downlink bands minimizes the potential for interference within a region as suggested, Mayfield [0018].
Regarding claim 16, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the satellite or the aircraft is at most 1000 km above a ground plane (For example, assuming a satellite altitude of approximately 620 km, Giancristofaro [0317]).
Regarding claim 17, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a transmission angle of the communication transmission channel is not less than 36 degrees with respect to a ground plane (The access area considered is 25-50 degrees (the maximum, with mechanical steering assistance, is 20-59 degrees), Giancristofaro [0318]).
Regarding claim 18, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first signal or the second signal comprise a direct spread or a frequency hopped signal (This modulation-demodulation scheme may be conveniently used also for the paging step 31 and, hence, for the transmission by the radio communications system 22 and the reception by the transponder locator 24 of the spread spectrum paging signa, Giancristofaro [0336]).
Regarding claim 19, Giancristofaro teaches a method (method of Fig. 7 using system of Figs. 19-21), comprising:
generating a first frequency reference signal in a first frequency band using a first frequency reference generator of a satellite or an aircraft (a Very High Frequency (VHF) crystal oscillator 861 designed to provide a first reference signal having a first reference frequency in the VHF band, [0382]);
receiving a first signal at the satellite or the aircraft using the first frequency reference signal via a communication receiving channel (a sampling phase detector 862 coupled to the VHF crystal oscillator 861 to receive the first reference signal, [0383]);
generating a second frequency reference signal in a second frequency band using a second frequency reference generator of the satellite or the aircraft (a microwave oscillator 865 connected to the output of the low noise active filter 863 and designed to provide a second reference signal having a second reference frequency comprised in a microwave frequency band (e.g., in X band), [0385]); and
transmitting a second signal from the satellite or the aircraft using the second frequency reference signal via a communication transmission channel (wherein said second reference signal is provided [0386] at an output 866 of the LO 86 so that it may be used by the locator transponder 24 as reference frequency signal for its operation in reception and in transmission, [0386]].
However, Giancristofaro does not teach wherein the first frequency band is selected based at least in part on the first frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system for receiving signals from satellites or aircrafts and wherein the second frequency band is selected based at least in part on the second frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system for transmitting signals to the satellites or the aircrafts.
In an analogous art, Mayfield teaches wherein the first frequency band is selected based at least in part on the first frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system for receiving signals from satellites or aircrafts (The system 10 depicted in FIG. 1 reverses the transmission and reception frequency bands of the terrestrial communication system, represented by cell site 12, with respect to the satellite communication system represented by satellite 14. Terrestrial user terminals 18 transmit on the satellite system's downlink frequency (f.sub.d), [0015]; The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has allocated a 34 MHZ spectrum within the L-band (at .apprxeq.1.5 GHz) for use in mobile satellite communications, [0005]) and wherein the second frequency band is selected based at least in part on the second frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system for transmitting signals to the satellites or the aircrafts (The system 10 depicted in FIG. 1 reverses the transmission and reception frequency bands of the terrestrial communication system, represented by cell site 12, with respect to the satellite communication system represented by satellite 14. Terrestrial user terminals 18 receive communications on the satellite system's uplink frequency (f.sub.u), [0015]; The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has allocated a 34 MHZ spectrum within the L-band (at .apprxeq.1.5 GHz) for use in mobile satellite communications, [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro with the satellite spectrum of Mayfield to provide a method for assigning frequency bands so that terrestrial users and ground satellite users within the same geographic region are using different uplink and downlink bands minimizes the potential for interference within a region as suggested, Mayfield [0018].
Regarding claim 20, Giancristofaro teaches a computer program product (system of Fig. 19) embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and comprising computer instructions for locator transponder 24 conveniently includes also a Field-Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) 87, or an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), that is connected to the first ADC 846 and is conveniently configured to, [0356]):
generating a first frequency reference signal in a first frequency band using a first frequency reference generator of a satellite or an aircraft (a Very High Frequency (VHF) crystal oscillator 861 designed to provide a first reference signal having a first reference frequency in the VHF band, [0382]);
receiving a first signal at the satellite or the aircraft using the first frequency reference signal via a communication receiving channel (a sampling phase detector 862 coupled to the VHF crystal oscillator 861 to receive the first reference signal, [0383]);
generating a second frequency reference signal in a second frequency band using a second frequency reference generator of the satellite or the aircraft ((a microwave oscillator 865 connected to the output of the low noise active filter 863 and designed to provide a second reference signal having a second reference frequency comprised in a microwave frequency band (e.g., in X band), [0385]); and
transmitting a second signal from the satellite or the aircraft using the second frequency reference signal via a communication transmission channel (wherein said second reference signal is provided [0386] at an output 866 of the LO 86 so that it may be used by the locator transponder 24 as reference frequency signal for its operation in reception and in transmission, [0386]).
However, Giancristofaro does not teach wherein the first frequency band is selected based at least in part on the first frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system for receiving signals from satellites or aircrafts and wherein the second frequency band is selected based at least in part on the second frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system for transmitting signals to the satellites or the aircrafts.
In an analogous art, Mayfield teaches wherein the first frequency band is selected based at least in part on the first frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system for receiving signals from satellites or aircrafts (The system 10 depicted in FIG. 1 reverses the transmission and reception frequency bands of the terrestrial communication system, represented by cell site 12, with respect to the satellite communication system represented by satellite 14. Terrestrial user terminals 18 transmit on the satellite system's downlink frequency (f.sub.d), [0015]; The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has allocated a 34 MHZ spectrum within the L-band (at .apprxeq.1.5 GHz) for use in mobile satellite communications, [0005]) and wherein the second frequency band is selected based at least in part on the second frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system for transmitting signals to the satellites or the aircrafts (The system 10 depicted in FIG. 1 reverses the transmission and reception frequency bands of the terrestrial communication system, represented by cell site 12, with respect to the satellite communication system represented by satellite 14. Terrestrial user terminals 18 receive communications on the satellite system's uplink frequency (f.sub.u), [0015]; The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has allocated a 34 MHZ spectrum within the L-band (at .apprxeq.1.5 GHz) for use in mobile satellite communications, [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro with the satellite spectrum of Mayfield to provide a method for assigning frequency bands so that terrestrial users and ground satellite users within the same geographic region are using different uplink and downlink bands minimizes the potential for interference within a region as suggested, Mayfield [0018].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giancristofaro et al. (US 20210396866 A1) in view of Mayfield and further in view of Reis et al. (US 20210311203 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Giancristofaro and Mayfield do not teach wherein chip rates of the second signal are at least 100 MHz.
In an analogous art, Reis teaches wherein chip rates of the second signal are at least 100 MHz (each GPS satellite continuously broadcasts a navigation message on two or more L-band (10.23 MHz) frequencies: one at 1575.42 MHz (10.23 MHz×154) called “L1”; and a second at 1227.60 MHz (10.23 MHz×120), called “L2”, Reis [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the different frequency bands of Reis to provide a method wherein resilience in radio communications comes from diversity, which is can be in the form of many channels, switching between multiple frequency bands, many satellites, different antennas, using encrypted WAI messages, and different modulations as suggested, Reis [0186].
Regarding claim 8, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Reis teaches the system of claim 7. Reis further teaches wherein the chip rates of the second signal are selectable up to 1 GHz (Each network satellite 105.sub.1, 105.sub.2 . . . 105.sub.N may include a laser communication each GPS satellite continuously broadcasts a navigation message on two or more L-band (10.23 MHz) frequencies: one at 1575.42 MHz (10.23 MHz×154) called “L1”; and a second at 1227.60 MHz (10.23 MHz×120), called “L2”, Reis [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the different frequency bands of Reis to provide a method wherein resilience in radio communications comes from diversity, which is can be in the form of many channels, switching between multiple frequency bands, many satellites, different antennas, using encrypted WAI messages, and different modulations as suggested, Reis [0186].
Claims 2-5 , 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giancristofaro et al. (US 20210396866 A1) in view of Mayfield and further in view of Matsumori et al. (US 11677469 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Giancristofaro and Mayfield do not teach wherein the communication transmission channel transmits a position-navigation-timing (PNT) data.
In an analogous art, Matsumori teaches wherein the communication transmission channel transmits a position-navigation-timing (PNT) data (PNT data is sent in a step 730. Col 9, lines 22-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Regarding claim 3, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Matsumori teaches the system of claim 2. Matsumori further teaches wherein the communication transmission channel transmits ranging accuracy of the PNT data (additional information, such as the geometric orientation of the various components and transmission of the OPNT system and the molecular orientation angle of the liquid crystal switch used within each transceiver 452 and the satellite ephemeris, can be incorporated to the PNT data to further refine the accuracy of the PNT data, col 7, lines 41-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Regarding claim 4, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Matsumori teaches the system of claim 2. Matsumori further teaches wherein ranging accuracy of the PNT data is greater than or equal to ranging accuracy of a GPS data (Higher accuracy than RF GPS due to focused beam and the ability to combine data from multiple beams, col 4, lines 51-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Regarding claim 5, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Giancristofaro and Mayfield do not teach wherein frequencies of the communication transmission channel are greater than transmission frequencies of a GPS signal.
In an analogous art, Matsumori teaches wherein frequencies of the communication transmission channel are greater than transmission frequencies of a GPS signal (FSOC systems, such as those using MOCA transceivers, can provide essentially non-disruptive system design that can provide flexible and encoded PNT data quickly and more efficiently than GPS, col 6, lines 14-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Regarding claim 9, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Giancristofaro and Mayfield do not teach wherein processing gain of the second signal is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal.
In an analogous art, Matsumori teaches wherein processing gain of the second signal is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal (FSOC systems, such as those using MOCA transceivers, can provide essentially non-disruptive system design that can provide flexible and encoded PNT data quickly and more efficiently than GPS, col 6, lines 14-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Regarding claim 10, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Giancristofaro and Mayfield do not teach wherein the communication transmission channel is one of a set of transmission channels.
In an analogous art, Matsumori teaches wherein the communication transmission channel is one of a set of transmission channels (Plurality of rays 240A-240E emerging from each of transceiver systems establish separate communication channels 250A-250E, respectively, with a faraway target , shown in FIG. 6 as a satellite 260, col 5, lines 55-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Regarding claim 11, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Matsumori teaches the system of claim 10. Matsumori further teaches wherein a channel of the set of transmission channels is associated with a user group (For military use, for example, a narrow beam can be used to transmit PNT information to a specific group of users or even to individual, col 9, lines 49-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Regarding claim 12, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Matsumori teaches the system of claim 10. Matsumori further teaches wherein a channel of the set of transmission channels is encrypted (Moreover, FSOC PNT systems can provide additional security by enabling encryption of the transmitted optical data, col 9, 56-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Regarding claim 13, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Matsumori teaches the system of claim 10, wherein a channel of the set of transmission channels is associated with a spreading factor (Normally, the fact of associating a power such that a certain E.sub.b/N.sub.0 is imposed is equivalent to transmit over the channel at a E.sub.c/N.sub.0=E.sub.b/MN.sub.0, where M is the spreading factor, Giancristofaro [0394]).
Regarding claim 15, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Matsumori teaches the system of claim 10. Matsumori further teaches wherein a first channel of the set of transmission channels transmits PNT data with a first ranging accuracy (For military use, for example, a narrow beam can be used to transmit PNT information to a specific group of users or even to individuals, col 9, lines 49-52) and a second channel of the set of transmission channels transmits PNT data with a second ranging accuracy (Due to the flexibility provided by the MOCA transceiver arrays, MOCA-based FSOC PNT systems can be dynamically configured to provide PNT data over a wide area or to specific users. For example, for commercial use, a broad beam can be used to provide PNT data to a large group of users, col 9, lines 47-49), wherein the first ranging accuracy is greater than the second ranging accuracy (The use of overlapping FSOC PNT signals allows increased precision in PNT data at the receiving terminal, col 9, lines 41-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro and Mayfield with the PNT system of Matsumori to provide a method wherein optical transmitters or transceivers can provide PNT data much more efficiently than traditional RF-based PNT system as suggested, Matsumori col 4, lines 22-23.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giancristofaro et al. (US 20210396866 A1) in view of Mayfield and further in view of Matsumori et al. (US 11677469 B1) and Ravishankar et al. US 20230269780 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Matsumori teaches the system of claim 5.
However, Giancristofaro, Mayfield and Matsumori do not teach wherein the frequencies of the communication transmission channel are at least 25 GHz.
In an analogous art, Ravishankar teaches wherein the frequencies of the communication transmission channel are at least 25 GHz (For forward link, nominal (Ka-band) [0139] 27.5-29.1 and 29.5-30 GHz on each, [0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro, Mayfield and Matsumori with the 5g based satellite of Ravishankar to provide connectivity through inter-satellite links in the satellite network as suggested, Ravishankar Abstract.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giancristofaro et al. (US 20210396866 A1) in view of Mayfield and further in view of Matsumori et al. (US 11677469 B1) and Mo et al. (US 20180167134 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Giancristofaro as modified by Mayfield and Matsumori teaches the system of claim 13.
However, Giancristofaro, Mayfield and Matsumori do not teach wherein the spreading factor is between 30 dB and 60 dB.
In an analogous art, Mo teaches wherein the spreading factor is between 30 dB and 60 dB (n terms of the HW/SW modification cost at 520, in the satellite or RTS, the spreading factor such as the processing gain can be limited to a value less than 40 dB, otherwise the HW/SW complexity may be costly, [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the satellite system of Giancristofaro, Mayfield and Matsumori with satellite link of Mo to provide a method to enable the Satellite Control Network to improve spectrum efficiency in the congested spectrum band as suggested, Mo [0004].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sorond et al. (US 20250324319 A1): he method involves receiving a request for a position, navigation, and timing (PNT) service from a first device i.e. first user equipment (UE) (120-1). Determination is made to check whether the first device is associated with a service level agreement. Requested performance indicators associated with the PNT service and the level agreement are received. Performance indicators associated with the PNT service are received from a second device i.e. second UE (120-2).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641