DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 06/24/26 has been acknowledged.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1 and 4-17, 19-33, 35-45, 47-51, 53-56 are presented for examination.
Claims 2, 3, 18, 34, 46, 52 and 57-61 are canceled.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant has amended the independent claims and multiple dependent claims. The corresponding OA examination reflect the new amended claims submitted herein. The arguments regarding previous claim submittal are moot since the amended claim has modified the scope of the previous claim. The amended claims are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-17, 19-33, 35-45, 47-51, 53-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Hu (CN 116299603 A) in view of Luo (US 2024/0241263 A1) and further in view of Zhang (CN 109786980_A_I).
Hu discloses a system (See [Abstract]; ground station), comprising:
a frequency reference generator of a ground communication system (See p.3; [4];
ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [4]; wherein the time-frequency reference information comprises a reference frequency signal of the navigation modulation signal. A frequency signal is somewhat in a frequency band),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for receiving signals from a satellite or an aircraft band (See p.3; [3]; p.8; [3]; in the satellite navigation system, basically adopts direct broadcasting type navigation mode, the ground receiver receives modulated signal from the satellite using one frequency in the L/C/Ku band)));
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
a communication transmission channel of the ground communication system for transmitting a first signal to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6-7]; the ground station can be configured with at least 4 navigation uplink systems, each navigation uplink system comprises a transmitting antenna and a rear end of the power amplifier, an upper transducer, a transmitting and baseband sub-module of the ground control and calibration module) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; carrying out carrier modulation to the reference frequency signal of the time-frequency reference information through the transmitting navigation message to determine the navigation modulation signal);
a frequency reference generator of the ground communication system (See p.3; [4]; ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for transmitting signals to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.3; [3-4]; p.7; [5]; determining that the ground station transmits the uplink navigation modulation signal to the target aircraft);
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
and
a communication receiving channel of the ground communication system for receiving a signal from the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6]; [8]; the ground station is configured with 1 navigation downlink system, the navigation downlink system comprises a receiving antenna and a rear end of the low-noise amplifier converter, a multi-channel (N is more than or equal to 4) of receiving baseband ground operation and calibration module of the control sub-modulu) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; determining that the navigation modulation signal is transmitted by the target aircraft down to the downlink transmission time of the ground station using time-frequency information);
But Hu fails to explicitly recite
wherein the communication receiving channel receives ranging accuracy of the PNT data.
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the system. The limitation describes a result of the above functionalities. For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
However in an analogous art,
Luo teaches about mobile device that can receive high timing ranging accuracy signal from a satellite device (See [0038-0039]).
Hu and Luo are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal. Luo teaches about mobile device that can receive high timing ranging accuracy signal from a satellite device. Hu could have use Luo features for receiving high timing with accuracy range signal PNT as described in the claim in order to more accurately decode embedded original data signal and obtaining navigation, position and timing. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu and Luo as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
But Hu and Luo fail to explicitly recite about
generating a first frequency in a first frequency band for uplink communication and a second frequency in a second frequency band for downlink communication.
However in an analogous art,
Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission (See p.1, [3]; p.2; [1]; satellite and ground station antenna to transceiver can cover 10.7~12.75GHz (receive) and 14~14.5GHz (transmit) two bands).
Hu, Luo and Zhang are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal. Luo teaches about mobile device that can receive high timing ranging accuracy signal from a satellite device. Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission. Hu and Luo could use Zhang features for simultaneous transmission without interference. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu, Zhang and Luo as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
2. (Canceled)
3. (Canceled)
Regarding Claim 4,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Luo further teaches
wherein the ranging accuracy of the PNT data is greater than or equal to ranging accuracy of GPS data (See [0038-0039]; the above wherein limitation is indefinite as it is considered as a mere statement of an event or results that may happened. But there is no functionality associated with the system. For compact prosecution, it is interpreted as per examiner own interpretation).
Regarding Claim 5,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Luo further teaches
wherein frequencies of the communication receiving channel are greater than receiving frequencies of a global positioning system (GPS) signal (See [0034-0035] ; the above limitation does not carry any weight to the system claim as it is just a mere comparison between two receiver devices that can receive any transmitted frequency signal. There is no active functionality described in the claim the receivers are just receiving signal with different frequencies).
Regarding Claim 6,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 5 and Luo further teaches
wherein the frequencies of the communication receiving channel are at least 25 GHz (See [0034-0035] ; the fact that the frequencies are below a certain number does not make the claim an allowable subject matter).
Regarding Claim 7,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Luo further teaches
wherein chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are at least 100 MHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are at least 10MHz, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. Any communication device can receive a signal. What it does with the signal is an active functionality).
Regarding Claim 8,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 7 and Luo further teaches
wherein the chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are selectable up to 1 GHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are selectable at 1 GHz, is a passive function of maximum selection frequency and does carry weight the system claim).
Regarding Claim 9,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Luo further teaches
wherein processing gain of the first signal or the second signal is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped of second signal that is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. The limitation is just citing a fact).
Regarding Claim 10,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Hu further teaches
wherein the communication receiving channel is one of a set of receiving channels (See p.4; [2]; p.7; [10]; any receiving channel is a set of receiving channels. The above limitation does not carry any weight to the claim.).
Regarding Claim 11,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 10 and Hu further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is associated with a user group (See p.4; [2]; p.7; [10]; No related functionality to the system. No weight to the claim).
Regarding Claim 12,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 10 and Luo further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is encrypted (See [0051]; channel may be encrypted).
Regarding Claim 13,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 10 and Luo further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is associated with a spreading factor (See [0039]; channel may receive direct sequence spread spectrum. Receiving is not an active functionality but a passive one).
Regarding Claim 14,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 13 and Luo further teaches
wherein the spreading factor is between 30 dB and 60 db. (See [0039]; the characteristic of the channel does not carry any weight to the claim).
Regarding Claim 15,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 10 and Luo further teaches
wherein a first channel of the set of receiving channels transmits PNT data with a first ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; accuracy is indefinite when there is no reference to what make the signal data transmission accurate) and a second channel of the set of receiving channels transmits PNT data with a second ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; accuracy is indefinite when there is no reference to what make the signal data transmission accurate),
wherein the first ranging accuracy is greater than the second ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; this limitation only describe result/comparison of two events and does not constitute a patentable subject matter).
Regarding Claim 16,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Luo further teaches
wherein the satellite or the aircraft is at most 1000 km above a ground plane (See [0033]; can be 2000 km. Passive statement combined with factual event does not constitute a patentable subject)
.
Regarding Claim 17,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Luo further teaches
wherein a reception angle of the communication receiving channel is not less than 36 degrees with respect to a ground plane (See Fig.3; [0033]; the angle between the receiving channel and the ground depend on the rotation of the earth and the position of the satellite. Not less than 36 degree is indefinite, when you compare the height and the range distance of the earth. This doe s not constitute a patentable subject as it is a result of motion and size of earth vis a vis of the satellite position)
Regarding Claim 19, 20, 53
Hu discloses a method (See [Abstract]; ground station communicating with satellite), comprising:
a frequency reference generator of a ground communication system (See p.3; [4];
ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [4]; wherein the time-frequency reference information comprises a reference frequency signal of the navigation modulation signal. A frequency signal is somewhat in a frequency band),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for receiving signals from a satellite or an aircraft band (See p.3; [3]; p.8; [3]; in the satellite navigation system, basically adopts direct broadcasting type navigation mode, the ground receiver receives modulated signal from the satellite using one frequency in the L/C/Ku band)));
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
a communication transmission channel of the ground communication system for transmitting a first signal to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6-7]; the ground station can be configured with at least 4 navigation uplink systems, each navigation uplink system comprises a transmitting antenna and a rear end of the power amplifier, an upper transducer, a transmitting and baseband sub-module of the ground control and calibration module) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; carrying out carrier modulation to the reference frequency signal of the time-frequency reference information through the transmitting navigation message to determine the navigation modulation signal);
a frequency reference generator of the ground communication system (See p.3; [4]; ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for transmitting signals to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.3; [3-4]; p.7; [5]; determining that the ground station transmits the uplink navigation modulation signal to the target aircraft);
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
and
a communication receiving channel of the ground communication system for receiving a signal from the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6]; [8]; the ground station is configured with 1 navigation downlink system, the navigation downlink system comprises a receiving antenna and a rear end of the low-noise amplifier converter, a multi-channel (N is more than or equal to 4) of receiving baseband ground operation and calibration module of the control sub-modulu) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; determining that the navigation modulation signal is transmitted by the target aircraft down to the downlink transmission time of the ground station using time-frequency information);
But Hu fails to explicitly recite
wherein a reception angle of the communication receiving channel is not less than 36 degrees with respect to a ground plane.
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the system. For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
However in an analogous art,
Luo teaches wherein a reception angle of the communication receiving channel is not less than 36 degrees with respect to a ground plane (See Fig.3; [0033]; the angle between the receiving channel and the ground depend on the rotation of the earth and the position of the satellite. Not less than 36 degree is indefinite, when you compare the height and the range distance of the earth. This doe s not constitute a patentable subject as it is a result of motion and size of earth vis a vis of the satellite position)
Hu and Luo are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal Luo teaches wherein a reception angle of the communication receiving channel is not less than 36 degrees with respect to a ground plane. Hu could inherit Luo features as a fact of the physical word and satellite position. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu and Luo as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
But Hu and Luo fail to explicitly recite about
generating a first frequency in a first frequency band for uplink communication and a second frequency in a second frequency band for downlink communication.
However in an analogous art,
Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission (See p.1, [3]; p.2; [1]; satellite and ground station antenna to transceiver can cover 10.7~12.75GHz (receive) and 14~14.5GHz (transmit) two bands).
Hu, Luo and Zhang are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal. Luo teaches about mobile device that can receive high timing ranging accuracy signal from a satellite device. Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission. Hu and Luo could use Zhang features for simultaneous transmission without interference. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu, Zhang and Luo as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
Regarding Claim 21,
Hu discloses a method (See [Abstract]; ground station communicating with satellite), comprising:
a frequency reference generator of a ground communication system (See p.3; [4];
ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [4]; wherein the time-frequency reference information comprises a reference frequency signal of the navigation modulation signal. A frequency signal is somewhat in a frequency band),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for receiving signals from a satellite or an aircraft band (See p.3; [3]; p.8; [3]; in the satellite navigation system, basically adopts direct broadcasting type navigation mode, the ground receiver receives modulated signal from the satellite using one frequency in the L/C/Ku band)));
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
a communication transmission channel of the ground communication system for transmitting a first signal to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6-7]; the ground station can be configured with at least 4 navigation uplink systems, each navigation uplink system comprises a transmitting antenna and a rear end of the power amplifier, an upper transducer, a transmitting and baseband sub-module of the ground control and calibration module) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; carrying out carrier modulation to the reference frequency signal of the time-frequency reference information through the transmitting navigation message to determine the navigation modulation signal);
a frequency reference generator of the ground communication system (See p.3; [4]; ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for transmitting signals to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.3; [3-4]; p.7; [5]; determining that the ground station transmits the uplink navigation modulation signal to the target aircraft);
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
and
a communication receiving channel of the ground communication system for receiving a signal from the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6]; [8]; the ground station is configured with 1 navigation downlink system, the navigation downlink system comprises a receiving antenna and a rear end of the low-noise amplifier converter, a multi-channel (N is more than or equal to 4) of receiving baseband ground operation and calibration module of the control sub-modulu) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; determining that the navigation modulation signal is transmitted by the target aircraft down to the downlink transmission time of the ground station using time-frequency information);
But Hu fails to explicitly recite
wherein frequencies of the communication receiving channel are greater than receiving frequencies of a global positioning system (GPS) signal.
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the system. For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
However in an analogous art,
Luo teaches wherein frequencies of the communication receiving channel are greater than receiving frequencies of a global positioning system (GPS) signal (See [0034-0035] ; the above limitation does not carry any weight to the system claim as it is just a mere comparison between two receiver devices that can receive any transmitted frequency signals. There is no active functionality described in the claim the receivers are just receiving signal with different frequencies).
Hu and Luo are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal Luo teaches wherein frequencies of the communication receiving channel are greater than receiving frequencies of a global positioning system (GPS) signal. Hu could inherit Luo features as a fact of different frequencies can be adopted to be used in a system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu and Luo as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
But Hu and Luo fail to explicitly recite about
generating a first frequency in a first frequency band for uplink communication and a second frequency in a second frequency band for downlink communication.
However in an analogous art,
Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission (See p.1, [3]; p.2; [1]; satellite and ground station antenna to transceiver can cover 10.7~12.75GHz (receive) and 14~14.5GHz (transmit) two bands).
Hu, Luo and Zhang are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal. Luo teaches about mobile device that can receive high timing ranging accuracy signal from a satellite device. Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission. Hu and Luo could use Zhang features for simultaneous transmission without interference. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu, Zhang and Luo as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
Regarding Claim 22,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 21 and Luo further teaches
wherein the frequencies of the communication receiving channel are at least 25 GHz (See [0034-0035] ; the fact that the frequencies are below a certain number does not make the claim an allowable subject matter).
Regarding Claim 23,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 21 and Luo further teaches
wherein chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are at least 100 MHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are at least 10MHz, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. Any communication device can receive a signal. What it does with the signal is an active functionality and this is not described in this claim).
Regarding Claim 24,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 23 and Luo further teaches
wherein the chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are selectable up to 1 GHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are selectable at 1 GHz, is a passive function of maximum selection frequency and does carry weight the system claim).
Regarding Claim 25,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 21 and Luo further teaches
wherein processing gain of the first signal or the second signal is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped of second signal that is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. The limitation is just citing a fact).
Regarding Claim 26,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 21 and Hu further teaches
wherein the communication receiving channel is one of a set of receiving channels (See p.4; [2]; p.7; [10]; any receiving channel is a set of receiving channels. The above limitation does not carry any weight to the claim.).
Regarding Claim 27,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 26 and Hu further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is associated with a user group (See p.4; [2]; p.7; [10]; No related functionality to the system. No weight to the claim).
Regarding Claim 28,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 26 and Luo further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is encrypted (See [0051]; channel may be encrypted).
Regarding Claim 29,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 26 and Luo further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is associated with a spreading factor (See [0039]; channel may receive direct sequence spread spectrum. Receiving is not an active functionality but a passive one).
Regarding Claim 30,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 29 and Luo further teaches
wherein the spreading factor is between 30 dB and 60 db. (See [0039]; the characteristic of the channel does not carry any weight to the claim).
Regarding Claim 31,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 26 and Luo further teaches
wherein a first channel of the set of receiving channels transmits PNT data with a first ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; accuracy is indefinite when there is no reference to what make the signal data transmission accurate) and a second channel of the set of receiving channels transmits PNT data with a second ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; accuracy is indefinite when there is no reference to what make the signal data transmission accurate),
wherein the first ranging accuracy is greater than the second ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; this limitation only describe result/comparison of two events and does not constitute a patentable subject matter).
Regarding Claim 32,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 21 and Luo further teaches
wherein the satellite or the aircraft is at most 1000 km above a ground plane (See [0033]; can be 2000 km. Passive statement combined with factual event does not constitute a patentable subject)
Regarding Claim 33,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 21 and Luo further teaches
wherein a reception angle of the communication receiving channel is not less than 36 degrees with respect to a ground plane (See [0033]; the angle between the receiving channel and the ground depend on the rotation of the earth and the position of the satellite. Not less than 36 degree is indefinite, when you compare the height and the range distance of the earth. This doe s not constitute a patentable subject as it is a fact)
Regarding Claim 35,
Hu discloses a system (See [Abstract]; ground station communicating with satellite), comprising:
a frequency reference generator of a ground communication system (See p.3; [4];
ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [4]; wherein the time-frequency reference information comprises a reference frequency signal of the navigation modulation signal. A frequency signal is somewhat in a frequency band),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for receiving signals from a satellite or an aircraft band (See p.3; [3]; p.8; [3]; in the satellite navigation system, basically adopts direct broadcasting type navigation mode, the ground receiver receives modulated signal from the satellite using one frequency in the L/C/Ku band)));
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
a communication transmission channel of the ground communication system for transmitting a first signal to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6-7]; the ground station can be configured with at least 4 navigation uplink systems, each navigation uplink system comprises a transmitting antenna and a rear end of the power amplifier, an upper transducer, a transmitting and baseband sub-module of the ground control and calibration module) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; carrying out carrier modulation to the reference frequency signal of the time-frequency reference information through the transmitting navigation message to determine the navigation modulation signal);
a frequency reference generator of the ground communication system (See p.3; [4]; ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for transmitting signals to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.3; [3-4]; p.7; [5]; determining that the ground station transmits the uplink navigation modulation signal to the target aircraft);
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
and
a communication receiving channel of the ground communication system for receiving a signal from the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6]; [8]; the ground station is configured with 1 navigation downlink system, the navigation downlink system comprises a receiving antenna and a rear end of the low-noise amplifier converter, a multi-channel (N is more than or equal to 4) of receiving baseband ground operation and calibration module of the control sub-modulu) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; determining that the navigation modulation signal is transmitted by the target aircraft down to the downlink transmission time of the ground station using time-frequency information);
But Hu fails to explicitly recite
wherein the communication receiving channel is one of a set of receiving channels,
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the system. For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
However in an analogous art,
Luo teaches wherein the communication receiving channel is one of a set of receiving channels (See [0006-0007]; any receiving channel is a set of receiving channels. The above limitation does not carry any weight to the claim as it is a passive statement with no functionality stating a fact).
Hu, Luo and Zhang are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal. Luo wherein the communication receiving channel is one of a set of receiving channels. Hu would have use Luo features as a fact. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu, Luo and Zhang as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
But Hu and Luo fail to explicitly recite about
generating a first frequency in a first frequency band for uplink communication and a second frequency in a second frequency band for downlink communication.
However in an analogous art,
Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission (See p.1, [3]; p.2; [1]; satellite and ground station antenna to transceiver can cover 10.7~12.75GHz (receive) and 14~14.5GHz (transmit) two bands).
Hu, Luo and Zhang are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal. Luo teaches about mobile device that can receive high timing ranging accuracy signal from a satellite device. Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission. Hu and Luo could use Zhang features for simultaneous transmission without interference. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu, Zhang and Luo as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
Regarding Claim 36,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 35 and Luo further teaches
wherein chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are at least 100 MHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are at least 10MHz, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. Any communication device can receive a signal. What it does with the signal is an active functionality).
Regarding Claim 37,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim36 and Luo further teaches
wherein the chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are selectable up to 1 GHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are selectable at 1 GHz, is a passive function of maximum selection frequency and does carry weight the system claim).
Regarding Claim 38,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 35 and Luo further teaches
wherein processing gain of the first signal or the second signal is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped of second signal that is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. The limitation is just citing a fact).
Regarding Claim 39,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 35 and Hu further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is associated with a user group (See p.4; [2]; p.7; [10]; No related functionality to the system. No weight to the claim).
Regarding Claim 40,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 35 and Luo further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is encrypted (See [0051]; channel may be encrypted).
Regarding Claim 41,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 35 and Luo further teaches
wherein a channel of the set of receiving channels is associated with a spreading factor (See [0039]; channel may receive direct sequence spread spectrum. Receiving is not an active functionality but a passive one).
Regarding Claim 42,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 41 and Luo further teaches
wherein the spreading factor is between 30 dB and 60 db. (See [0039]; the characteristic of the channel does not carry any weight to the claim).
Regarding Claim 43,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 35 and Luo further teaches
wherein a first channel of the set of receiving channels transmits PNT data with a first ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; accuracy is indefinite when there is no reference to what make the signal data transmission accurate) and a second channel of the set of receiving channels transmits PNT data with a second ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; accuracy is indefinite when there is no reference to what make the signal data transmission accurate),
wherein the first ranging accuracy is greater than the second ranging accuracy (See [0022-0023]; [0038-0039]; this limitation only describe result/comparison of two events and does not constitute a patentable subject matter).
Regarding Claim 44,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 35 and Luo further teaches
wherein the satellite or the aircraft is at most 1000 km above a ground plane (See [0033]; can be 2000 km. Passive statement combined with factual event does not constitute a patentable subject)
Regarding Claim 45,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 35 and Luo further teaches
wherein a reception angle of the communication receiving channel is not less than 36 degrees with respect to a ground plane (See [0033]; the angle between the receiving channel and the ground depend on the rotation of the earth and the position of the satellite. Not less than 36 degree is indefinite, when you compare the height and the range distance of the earth. This doe s not constitute a patentable subject as it is a fact) .
Regarding Claim 47,
Hu discloses a system (See [Abstract]; ground station communicating with satellite), comprising:
a frequency reference generator of a ground communication system (See p.3; [4];
ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [4]; wherein the time-frequency reference information comprises a reference frequency signal of the navigation modulation signal. A frequency signal is somewhat in a frequency band),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by a legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for receiving signals from a satellite or an aircraft band (See p.3; [3]; p.8; [3]; in the satellite navigation system, basically adopts direct broadcasting type navigation mode, the ground receiver receives modulated signal from the satellite using one frequency in the L/C/Ku band)));
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
a communication transmission channel of the ground communication system for transmitting a first signal to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6-7]; the ground station can be configured with at least 4 navigation uplink systems, each navigation uplink system comprises a transmitting antenna and a rear end of the power amplifier, an upper transducer, a transmitting and baseband sub-module of the ground control and calibration module) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; carrying out carrier modulation to the reference frequency signal of the time-frequency reference information through the transmitting navigation message to determine the navigation modulation signal);
a frequency reference generator of the ground communication system (See p.3; [4]; ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the frequency reference generator generates a frequency reference signal in a frequency band (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite),
wherein the frequency band is selected based at least in part on the frequency band being utilized by the legacy communication system (See p.3; [1]; p.8; [2]; a frequency is used among the infinite frequency in the L/C/Ku band to emit signal to the legacy satellite) for transmitting signals to the satellite or the aircraft (See p.3; [3-4]; p.7; [5]; determining that the ground station transmits the uplink navigation modulation signal to the target aircraft);
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the claimed system. This wherein limitation is describing a legacy satellite system (Emphasis). For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
and
a communication receiving channel of the ground communication system for receiving a signal from the satellite or the aircraft (See p.11; [6]; [8]; the ground station is configured with 1 navigation downlink system, the navigation downlink system comprises a receiving antenna and a rear end of the low-noise amplifier converter, a multi-channel (N is more than or equal to 4) of receiving baseband ground operation and calibration module of the control sub-modulu) using the frequency reference signal (See p.3; [3]; determining that the navigation modulation signal is transmitted by the target aircraft down to the downlink transmission time of the ground station using time-frequency information);
But Hu fails to explicitly recite
wherein the satellite or the aircraft is at most I000 km above a ground plane.
(The “above wherein…” limitation do not carry any weight to the claim as there are no functionality associated with the system. For compact prosecution the limitation is treated as is and per examiner own interpretation.))
However in an analogous art,
Luo teaches wherein the satellite or the aircraft is at most 1000 km above a ground plane (See [0033]; can be 2000 km. Passive statement combined with factual event does not constitute a patentable subject)
Hu, Luo and Zhang are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal. Luo teaches wherein the satellite or the aircraft is at most 1000 km above a ground plane. Hu would have use Luo features as an actual fact. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu, Luo and Zhang as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
But Hu and Luo fail to explicitly recite about
generating a first frequency in a first frequency band for uplink communication and a second frequency in a second frequency band for downlink communication.
However in an analogous art,
Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission (See p.1, [3]; p.2; [1]; satellite and ground station antenna to transceiver can cover 10.7~12.75GHz (receive) and 14~14.5GHz (transmit) two bands).
Hu, Luo and Zhang are analogous art because they all pertain to satellite system transmitting direct sequence spectrum spread signal. Hu teaches about ground station receiver capable of receiving satellite signal. Luo teaches about mobile device that can receive high timing ranging accuracy signal from a satellite device. Zhang teaches about a system where a ground station and a satellite can communicate using a half-duplex transmission wherein two different frequencies in two different frequency bands is used for uplink and downlink transmission. Hu and Luo could use Zhang features for simultaneous transmission without interference. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Hu, Zhang and Luo as to obtain an efficient accurate satellite system.
Regarding Claim 48,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 47 and Luo further teaches
wherein chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are at least 100 MHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are at least 10MHz, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. Any communication device can receive a signal. What it does with the signal is an active functionality).
Regarding Claim 49,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 48 and Luo further teaches
wherein the chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are selectable up to 1 GHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are selectable at 1 GHz, is a passive function of maximum selection frequency and does carry weight the system claim).
Regarding Claim 50,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 47 and Luo further teaches
wherein processing gain of the first signal or the second signal is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped of second signal that is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal, is a passive function and does not carry weight the claim. The limitation is just citing a fact).
Regarding Claim 51,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 47 and Luo further teaches
wherein a reception angle of the communication receiving channel is not less than 36 degrees with respect to a ground plane (See [0033]; the angle between the receiving channel and the ground depend on the rotation of the earth and the position of the satellite. Not less than 36 degree is indefinite, when you compare the height and the range distance of the earth. This doe s not constitute a patentable subject as it is a fact)
Regarding Claim 52,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 47 and Hu further teaches
another frequency reference generator of the ground communication system (See p.3; [4]; There can be a plurality of ground station generating the time-frequency reference information),
,
wherein the other frequency reference generator generates another frequency reference signal in another frequency band (See p.3; [4]; wherein the time-frequency reference information comprises a reference frequency signal of the navigation modulation signal. A frequency signal is somewhat in a frequency band); and
a communication transmission channel for transmitting a direct spread or frequency
hopped signal to the satellite or the aircraft using the other frequency reference signal (See [Abstract]; p.4; [1]; p.16; [3]; transmitting modulated signal with spread spectrum code data).
Regarding Claim 54,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 53 and Luo further teaches
wherein chip rates of the first signal or the second signal are at least 100 MHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are at least 10MHz, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. Any communication device can receive a signal. What it does with the signal is an active functionality).
Regarding Claim 55,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 54 and Luo further teaches
wherein the chip rates of first signal or the second signal are selectable up to 1 GHz (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped signal that are selectable at 1 GHz, is a passive function of maximum selection frequency and does carry weight the system claim).
Regarding Claim 56,
Hu, Luo and Zhang teach all the features with respect to claim 53 and Luo further teaches
wherein processing gain of the first signal or the second signal is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal (See [0038-0039]; receiving direct spread or frequency hopped of second signal that is greater than processing gain of a GPS signal, is a passive function and does carry weight the claim. The limitation is just citing a fact).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646