DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021106805A1 to Duden et al. (see machine translation) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0174346 to Kessler et al.
As to claim 1, Duden discloses a container for a dispensing system that can be positioned in the interior of a dishwasher comprising a dispensing device by which at least one preparation can be dispensed into the interior (see Duden Fig. 2, ref.#2, 2a, 2b), wherein the container has at least one chamber for receiving the preparation and a connection piece which is paired with the chamber and connected to the chamber (see Duden Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0066]-[0071]), and being connectable to a connection receptacle of the dispensing device to produce a connection between the chamber and the dispensing device (see Duden Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0066]-[0071], and wherein the connection piece has a membrane which is closed in a state as manufactured and is designed to be opened when the connection piece is connected to the connection receptacle (see Duden paragraphs [0016] and [0071] disclosing a membrane in the container that is pierced by the connecting unit).
Duden does not explicitly disclose that the connection piece has a main part onto which the membrane is integrally formed, wherein the main part and the membrane are made of the same material. Kessler discloses that it is known in the art that the cartridge can be made as a single-part construction (see Kessler paragraphs [0199], [0250]-[0254]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the connection piece have a main part onto which the membrane is integrally formed, wherein the main part and the membrane are made of the same material as disclosed by Kessler and the results would have been predictable (see Kessler paragraphs [0199], [0250]-[0254]; see also MPEP 2144.04(V)(B) where making parts integral is prima facie obvious).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021106805A1 to Duden et al. (see machine translation) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0174346 to Kessler et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO2020/152004A1 to Kessler et al. (where the English counterpart U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0348088 will be cited to and referred to as “the ‘088 application”).
Duden and Kessler are relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 2, the combination of Duden and Kessler does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the membrane. The ‘088 application discloses a similar container wherein the membrane has a thickness of 1 micron to 1000 microns (0.001mm - 1mm) (see the ‘088 application paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the membrane thickness be between 1-1000 microns as disclosed by the ‘088 application and the results would have been predictable (membrane for detergent container).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021106805A1 to Duden et al. (see machine translation) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0174346 to Kessler et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO2020/125937A1 to Rube et al. (see machine translation).
Duden and Kessler are relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 3, the combination of Duden and Kessler does not explicitly disclose that the membrane is made of polyolefin filled with a filler. Rube discloses a similar dishwashing dispenser with a membrane (see Rube paragraphs [0001], [0037], [0074]-[0075], [0198] wherein the membrane is made of polyolefin filled with a filler (see Rube paragraph [0136]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a polyolefin filled with a filler as disclosed by Rube as being known in the art of membranes for dishwashing dispensers and also to give the membrane both a hydrophilic and hydrophobic surface.
As to claim 4, the combination of Duden, Kessler and Rube discloses that the membrane can be made of polyolefin which is filled with calcium carbonate with a proportion by weight of 20% (see Rube paragraph [0136], [0115] and [0119]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021106805A1 to Duden et al. (see machine translation) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0174346 to Kessler et al. and WO2020/125937A1 to Rube et al. (see machine translation) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of WO2020/152004A1 to Kessler et al. (where the English counterpart U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0348088 will be cited to and referred to as “the ‘088 application”).
Duden, Kessler and Rube are relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 5, the combination of Duden, Kessler and Rube discloses that the filler size may be between 1 – 100 microns and typically from 10-30 microns, which is further reduced in size (see Rube paragraph [0116]) but does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the membrane. The ‘088 application discloses a similar container wherein the membrane has a thickness of 1 micron to 1000 microns and preferably from 50-600 microns (see the ‘088 application paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the membrane thickness be between 1-1000 microns and preferably between 50-600 microns as disclosed by the ‘088 application and the results would have been predictable (membrane for detergent container) and also for the filler size to be smaller than 30 microns as disclosed by Rube.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021106805A1 to Duden et al. (see machine translation) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0174346 to Kessler et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DE202008010295U1 to Weber et al. (see machine translation).
Duden and Kessler are relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
As to claims 6-8, the combination of Duden and Kessler does not explicitly disclose that the main part has a weld-in part with an inflow channel wherein the weld-in part is sealing attached to a chamber wall of the chamber and the inflow channel is connected to the chamber and the main part has a plug-in part with an outflow channel, wherein the plug-in part is insertable into the connection receptacle. Weber discloses a similar container having part sealingly attached to a chamber wall of the chamber and the inflow channel is connected to the chamber and a part with an outflow channel, wherein the part is insertable into the connection receptacle (see Weber Fig. 4 disclosing a part 27 that is sealingly attached to the chamber 16’, 17’ with an inflow-channel to the chamber and a part 30 with an outflow channel wherein the part is insertable to the connection receptacle 20’). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Duden and Kessler to have said weld-in part and plug-in part as disclosed by Weber in order dispense the contents of the container as is known in the art (see Weber paragraphs [0074]-[0079]). With regards to claim 8, the combination of Duden, Kessler and Weber discloses that the membrane can be arranged between the inflow channel and the outflow channel (see Weber Fig. 4, ref.#26’).
Claim(s) 10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021106805A1 to Duden et al. (see machine translation) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0174346 to Kessler et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2012/0012466 to Sperry et al. and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0284150 to Doubles et al.
Duden and Kessler are relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 10, the combination of Duden and Kessler does not explicitly disclose a finger ring is attached to the main part, which is movable from an initial position to an active position, wherein in the active position the finger ring is designed to be engaged from behind by a human finger in order to introduce a tensile force into the main part, by which the connection piece can be separated from the connection receptacle. Sperry discloses that it is known in the art for a container to have gripping means such as a pull ring (see Sperry paragraph [0089]) and Doubles discloses that pivotable pull rings are known in the art of detergent containers (see Doubles paragraph [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have a pivotable pull ring (read as a pull ring with an initial position and active position) on the container in order to improve the gripping means on the cartridge for insertion and removal.
As to claim 12, Doubles further discloses that the container can include handles, bars, notches and rods (read as a pressure plate for receiving a human finger) (see Doubles paragraph [0089). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to further include handles or bars on the container as disclosed by Doubles in order to improve the gripping means.
As to claims 13 and 14, the recitation of the finger ring being in the initial position surrounding the pressure plate and lies substantially in the same plane as the pressure plate and the pressure plate being arranged coaxially to the membrane are considered an obvious design choice and does not provide patentable significance (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) where rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102021106805A1 to Duden et al. (see machine translation) in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0174346 to Kessler et al., U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2012/0012466 to Sperry et al. and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0284150 to Doubles et al. as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2005/0045634 to Ward et al.
Duden, Kessler, Sperry and Doubles are relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 10.
With regards to claim 11, the recitation of two webs to define the pivot axis is considered as an obvious design choice for a pivotable pull ring and does not provide patentable significance. For example, Ward discloses a pivotable pull ring wherein the pull ring pivots about a mount (see Ward paragraph [0036]) and wherein the mount can be considered as two webs (the top of the mount and the bottom of the mount) (see also MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) where making parts separable is prima facie obvious).
Double Patenting
Claims 10-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/181,663 (reference application herein referred to as “the ‘663 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
As to claim 10, the ‘663 application discloses a container comprising at least one chamber and a connection piece which is paired with the chamber and connected to the chamber and being connectable to a connection receptacle of the dispensing device to produce a connection between the chamber and the dispensing device and wherein the connection piece has a membrane between the inflow and outflow channel and is integrally formed on the main body along with a finger ring secured to the main part (see the ‘663 application claims 1 and 10).
As to claim 11, the ‘663 application discloses that the finger ring can be attached to the main part and movable between an initial position into an active position (see the ‘663 application claims 1 and 10).
As to claim 12, the ‘663 application discloses that the finger ring can be attached to the main part by two webs (see the ‘663 application claims 1, 3 and 10).
As to claims 13 and 14, the ‘663 application discloses the pressure plate recitations (see the ‘663 application claims 1 and 10-14).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art does not explicitly disclose the main part has an air chamber with an air chamber wall for ventilating the chamber, wherein a projection is formed on the air chamber wall, which projection has a support spaced from the air chamber wall for an abutment of the connection receptacle, so that a force which acts on the support of the projection when the connection piece and the connection receptacle are connected generates a bending moment, by which the projection is rotated and an opening is torn into the air chamber wall.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714