DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Latham (US 2020/0399841).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Latham discloses a grinding wheel [Figure 1; Paragraph 19], comprising: a hub [102]; a plurality of teeth [103] removably attached to a circumference of the hub, wherein each of the teeth comprises: a carrier [106]; a plurality of polycrystalline diamond compact (PDC) segments [134; Paragraph 26] extending beyond a leading edge of the carrier.
Regarding claim 2, Latham further discloses a plurality of recesses [108] on the circumference of the hub, wherein each of the plurality of teeth fits within a respective one of the plurality of recesses [Figure 1].
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Latham further discloses the carrier comprises: a first carrier [124] and a second carrier [106], and wherein a fastener [114b] extends through the first carrier and second carrier and into the hub; and the first carrier is L-shaped and the second carrier is T-shaped [Figure 1].
Regarding claim 9, Latham further discloses the PDC segments are rectangular in cross-section [Paragraph 26].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latham (US 2020/0399841) alone.
Regarding claim 10, although Latham is silent as to the PDC segments being oval in cross section, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the shape could be modified to achieve a desired cutting surface area and/or angularity depending on the type of material intended to be cut, as well as the wheel size and quantity of the cutting bits producing the total cutting force. Furthermore, it has been held that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 11, although Latham shows three PDC segments rather than six, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize six depending on a number of factors including the size of the wheel, hardness of the material to be cut, etc. Subsequently, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latham (US 2020/399841) in view of Smith (US 2021/0310312).
Regarding claims 3-5, Latham fails to disclose further details of the PDC embedment within the carrier.
Smith teaches a griding tool comprising a groove for mounting the PDC tooth in the carrier, a length of the groove being less than a length of a top of the carrier, the groove extending to a top surface of the carrier; the groove extending to a top surface of the carrier, and wherein a width of the groove at the top surface of the carrier is less than a diameter of the PDC tooth cylinder; and the cylinder extends above a top surface of the carrier [Figures 4A-4G].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the teeth of Latham for the teeth of Smith such that the cutting wheel can be modified o have rake angles for specific types of ground conditions [Paragraph 44], thereby increasing its versatility, applicability and subsequently profitability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Willer (US 12440908), Fischer (US 2024/0075542), Willer (US 2022/0032383) and (US 11426810), and Curry (US 2020/0222999) disclose grinding wheels having hubs, cutters and teeth similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619