Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is in claim format and contains legal phraseology, e.g. “comprises”.. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Narendrnath (USP 6,581,275).
Regarding claim 1, Narendrnath discloses a substrate support, comprising: a support body (100) configured to support an object thereon, the object including a substrate (55), the support body comprising a dielectric portion (115) and a bias electrode (110) disposed in the dielectric portion (figure 1), the dielectric portion including an upper surface (U: see below) including a support surface facing the object (55) and a lower surface (L) opposite the upper surface, and the support body providing a first through-hole (155) penetrating from the upper surface to the lower surface (figure 1); a base (105) providing a second through-hole (160) communicating with the
first through-hole (155) and configured to support the support body thereon (figure 1 and col. 3, lines 39-58); and a ceramic member (200) that has permeability allowing a heat-transfer gas to pass therethrough and is filled in an upper end of the first through- hole (155) (figure 1), the ceramic member being positioned to set a distance between a
lower end thereof (B) and the bias electrode (C) to be smaller than a distance between an upper end thereof (A) and the bias electrode (C), in a direction in which a central axis of the first through-hole extends (see figure below).
[AltContent: textbox (L)][AltContent: textbox (U)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (c)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 2 , Narendrnath discloses wherein the lower end of the ceramic member (B)is positioned above the bias electrode (110) (see figure above).
Regarding claim 4, Narendrnath discloses wherein the ceramic member (200) is a porous member (having porous material 206) or a multi-tube member that provides
a plurality of through-holes penetrating from the upper end thereof to the lower end thereof (figures 6A/B and col. 6, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 6, Narendrnath discloses wherein the ceramic member (200) is made of aluminum oxide or silicon carbide (col. 5, lines 51-55).
Regarding claim 13, Narendrnath discloses wherein the bias electrode (110) is a first electrode, and the support body further includes a second electrode (110) that is an electrostatic electrode disposed in the dielectric portion (figures 1 and 4A-4D).
Regarding claim 15, Narendrnath discloses a plasma processing chamber (50); and the substrate support according to Claim 1, which is disposed in the plasma processing chamber (figure 1 and col. 2, lines 39-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narendrnath (USP 6,581,275).
Narendrnath discloses all aspects of the invention as set forth in the above rejection except for the lower end of the ceramic member is positioned at a distance of 0.1 mm or more from the bias electrode in the direction in which the central axis of the first through-hole extends nor the porous ceramic member having a ratio of a volume of all pores to a volume of the porous member is 40% or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose a desired location for the ceramic member and porous volume depending on the type of substrate being held, size of support body, size of through home etc, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose a desired location for the ceramic member and porous volume depending on the type of substrate being held, size of support body, size of through home etc
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 9/29/30