DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 April 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: each “unit configured to” limitation in claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim limitations “code generation unit”, “degradation state calculating unit”, “degradation state integration unit”, and “data separating unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The Specification only recites high-level functionality without any details towards structure and/or algorithms for performing the various steps by these units. As such, the means amounts to a black box designed to perform the recited function. This is insufficient because there must be some explanation of how the computer or the computer component performs the claimed function. Blackboard, Inc. v. Desire2Learn, Inc., 574 F.3d 1371, 1383-85, 91 USPQ2d 1481, 1491-93 (Fed. Cir. 2009); Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. VeriSign, Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1366-67, 88 USPQ2d 1751, 1756-57 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Rodriguez, 92 USPQ2d at 1405-06. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As put forth above, the Specification lacks the necessary details towards and structure or algorithms for performing the various steps and as such the Specification lacks the necessary written description for these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mitsuoka et al. (US 20240426929).
As per claims 1 and 2, Mitsuoka et al. discloses a battery authentication system comprising: a data obtaining unit configured to: obtain time-series battery data including signal values indicative of a state of a secondary battery and physical values indicative of physical quantities of the secondary battery including multiple pieces of impedance data (see paragraphs [0096] and [0178]-[0182] the measurement unit measuring current and voltage); and
record the signal values and the physical values based on a predetermined rule including the impedance data (see paragraph [0097]);
a data standardization unit configured to standardize the signal values and the physical values that are recorded based on different rules by re-recording the signal values and the physical values using a common rule (see paragraphs [0098]-[0104]);
a code generation unit configured to generate a first identification code to identify the secondary battery based on the standardized signal values (see paragraphs [0105]-[0106] the generated ID); a degradation state calculating unit configured to calculate a degradation state of the secondary battery based on the standardized physical values to obtain a degradation calculation result; a degradation state integration unit configured to integrate the first identification code with the degradation calculation result to generate a second identification code containing the degradation calculation result (see paragraphs [0178]-[0182]); and
a degradation state providing unit configured to: verify the first identification code based on the second identification code in response to a request for the degradation calculation result using the first identification code; and output the degradation calculation result included in the second identification code based on verification of the first identification code (see paragraphs [0184]-[0186]).
As per claim 3, Mitsuoka et al. discloses system further comprising an electric device configured to operate using the secondary battery as a power source: a cloud server configured to receive the time-series battery data from the electric device; and a user terminal used by a user, wherein the electric device, the cloud server, and the user terminal are communicatively connected one another through a communication network, the electric device includes the data obtaining unit, and the cloud server includes the data standardization unit, the code generation unit, the degradation state calculating unit, the degradation state integration unit, and the degradation state providing unit (see paragraphs [0093], [0158] and [0223]).
As per claim 4, Mitsuoka et al. discloses a data separating unit configured to separate the physical values and the signal values from the time-series battery data, wherein the data standardization unit includes a physical value standardization unit configured to standardize the physical values and a signal value standardization unit configured to standardize the signal values, the electric device includes the data separating unit and the signal value standardization unit, and the cloud server includes the physical value standardization unit (see paragraphs [0098]-[0104]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed towards battery authentication systems.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409