Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2025 and 10/24/2025 is being
considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ee U.S. Patent Number US11501796B1(hereinafter Ee) in view of Pallay U.S. Patent Publication Number US20250299692A1(hereinafter Pallay).
Regarding Claim 1, Ee discloses A head gimbal assembly comprising:
a gimbal (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., gimbal assembly 30; Col. 3 lines 38-59) comprising:
a base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., base portion 34; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a tongue (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 3 lines 38-59) that are connected by a neck portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, neck portion; Col. 3 lines 38-59), wherein the tongue includes a first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59) opposing the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side and second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59), a first strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut and "base portion 34"), a second strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second strut and "base portion 34"), and a distal portion (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) extending from distal ends of the first and (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) second struts (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 second strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) toward the tongue(Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36); a first fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first fore tether meets the tongue ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first strut and the first fore tether overlap); a second fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second fore tether meets the tongue) and a second end connected to the second strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second strut and the first fore tether overlap); a circuit mounted on the gimbal (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.); and a slider mounted on the tongue (Col. 3 lines 49-56 i.e., …mount portion 32 a of the frame 32 on which the slider is mounted (for fine tune positioning of the slider).), and electrically connected to the circuit (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.) but fails to explicitly disclose a first aft tether having a first end connected to the first lateral side and a second end connected to the distal portion;
a second aft tether having a first end connected to the second lateral side and a second end connected to the distal portion.
In an analogous art, Pallay teaches a first aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B ) and a second end connected to the distal portion (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); a second aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) and a second end connected to the distal portion (the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
Ee discloses a head gimbal assembly including a distal portion(see Fig. 15). The Fig. 15 discloses a partial and localized structural detail of the gimbal and the annotated Fig. 4 shows the overall gimbal structure. Pallay discloses flexible tethers configured to act as stabilizers and restrain movement of the head-carrying region of the head gimbal assembly in the z-direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 2, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 1 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the head gimbal assembly comprising: a first PZT actuator and a second PZT actuator mounted to the head gimbal assembly (Fig. 4 i.e., PZTs 46) and electrically connected to the circuit (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.), for displacing the tongue relative to the base portion (Col. 1 lines 22-27 i.e., …PZT devices that rotate a portion of the gimbal assembly for fine positioning of the slider…).
Regarding Claim 3, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 1 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the head gimbal assembly wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends; and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends. Pallay further teaches the head gimbal assembly wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bends flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 4, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 1 as discussed above Ee further discloses the head gimbal assembly wherein the first fore tether includes a third plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether, The first fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.); and the second fore tether includes a fourth plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether, The second fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.) but fails to explicitly disclose the head gimbal assembly wherein the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends; and the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends. Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly wherein the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B; The 184B includes a plurality of bends.); and the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A); The 184A includes a plurality of bends.). Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184B (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the first fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4). ); and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184A (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the second fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bends of flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 5, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 1 as discussed above. Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly wherein: the first aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the first fore tether; and the second aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the second fore tether. Because, when the tether 184B of Pallay reference is considered as being incorporated into the gimbal of the Ee reference, the first aft tether(Fig. 5, i.e., 184 B of Pallay reference) is physically and geometrically longer. The same analysis applies to the second aft tether due to the symmetric structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ee U.S. Patent Number US11501796B1(hereinafter Ee) in view of Pallay U.S. Patent Publication Number US20250299692A1(hereinafter Pallay).
Regarding Claim 6, Ee discloses A head gimbal assembly comprising:
a gimbal (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., gimbal assembly 30; Col. 3 lines 38-59) comprising:
a base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., base portion 34; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a tongue (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 3 lines 38-59) that are connected by a neck portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, neck portion; Col. 3 lines 38-59)
a first strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut and "base portion 34"), a second strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second strut and "base portion 34"), and a distal portion (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) extending from distal ends of the first and (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) second struts (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 second strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) toward the tongue(Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36); a circuit mounted on the gimbal (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.), wherein the circuit includes a first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59; Col. 1 lines 34-46 i.e., A flex circuit 16 (i.e., electrical traces) extend along the load beam 4 ) and a second lateral side opposing the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59; Col. 1 lines 34-46 i.e., A flex circuit 16 (i.e., electrical traces) extend along the load beam 4); a first fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first fore tether meets the tongue ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first strut and the first fore tether overlap); a second fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second fore tether meets the tongue) and a second end connected to the second strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second strut and the first fore tether overlap);
and a slider mounted on the tongue (Col. 3 lines 49-56 i.e., …mount portion 32 a of the frame 32 on which the slider is mounted (for fine tune positioning of the slider).), and electrically connected to the circuit (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.) but fails to explicitly disclose a first aft tether having a first end connected to the first lateral side and a second end connected to the distal portion; and a second aft tether having a first end connected to the second lateral side and a second end connected to the distal portion.
In an analogous art, Pallay teaches a first aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B ) and a second end connected to the distal portion (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and a second aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) and a second end connected to the distal portion (the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
Ee discloses a head gimbal assembly including a distal portion(see Fig. 15). The Fig. 15 discloses a partial and localized structural detail of the gimbal and the annotated Fig. 4 shows the overall gimbal structure. Pallay discloses flexible tethers configured to act as stabilizers and restrain movement of the head-carrying region of the head gimbal assembly in the z-direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 7, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly of claim 6 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the head gimbal assembly comprising:
a first PZT actuator and a second PZT actuator mounted to the head gimbal assembly (Fig. 4 i.e., PZTs 46) and electrically connected to the circuit (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.), for displacing the tongue relative to the base portion (Col. 1 lines 22-27 i.e., …PZT devices that rotate a portion of the gimbal assembly for fine positioning of the slider…).
Regarding Claim 8, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly of claim 6 as discussed above but fails to explicitly discloses the head gimbal assembly, wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends; and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly, wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 9, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly of claim 6 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the head gimbal assembly, wherein first fore tether includes a third plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether, The first fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.); and the second fore tether includes a fourth plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether, The second fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.) but fails to explicitly disclose the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends; the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends; the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends; and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B; The 184B includes a plurality of bends.); and the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A); The 184A includes a plurality of bends.). Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184B (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the first fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4). ); and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184A (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the second fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bends of flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 10, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 6 as discussed above. Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly wherein: the first aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the first fore tether; and the second aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the second fore tether. Because, when the tether 184B of Pallay reference is considered as being incorporated into the gimbal of the Ee reference, the first aft tether(Fig. 5, i.e., 184 B of Pallay reference) is physically and geometrically longer. The same analysis applies to the second aft tether due to the symmetric structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ee U.S. Patent Number US11501796B1(hereinafter Ee) in view of Pallay U.S. Patent Publication Number US20250299692A1(hereinafter Pallay).
Regarding Claim 11, Ee discloses A head gimbal assembly comprising:
a gimbal (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., gimbal assembly 30; Col. 3 lines 38-59) comprising:
a base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., base portion 34; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a tongue (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 3 lines 38-59) that are connected by a neck portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, neck portion; Col. 3 lines 38-59), wherein the tongue includes a first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59) opposing the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side and second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59), a first strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut and "base portion 34"), a second strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second strut and "base portion 34"), and a distal portion (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) extending from distal ends of the first (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) and second struts (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 second strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) away from the tongue (The distal portion is away from the mount portion 32.); a first fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first fore tether meets the tongue ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first strut and the first fore tether overlap); a second fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second fore tether meets the tongue) and a second end connected to the second strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second strut and the first fore tether overlap); a circuit mounted on the gimbal (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.); and a slider mounted on the tongue (Col. 3 lines 49-56 i.e., …mount portion 32 a of the frame 32 on which the slider is mounted (for fine tune positioning of the slider).), and electrically connected to the circuit (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.) but fails to explicitly teach a second aft tether having a first end connected to the second lateral side and a second end connected to the second strut; and a first fore tether having a first end connected to the first lateral side and a second end connected to the first strut.
In an analogous art, Pallay teaches a first aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B) and a second aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) and a second end connected to the second strut (the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
Ee discloses a head gimbal assembly including a distal portion(see Fig. 15). The Fig. 15 discloses a partial and localized structural detail of the gimbal and the annotated Fig. 4 shows the overall gimbal structure. Pallay discloses flexible tethers configured to act as stabilizers and restrain movement of the head-carrying region of the head gimbal assembly in the z-direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 12, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 11 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the head gimbal assembly, comprising:
a first PZT actuator and a second PZT actuator mounted to the head gimbal assembly (Fig. 4 i.e., PZTs 46) and electrically connected to the circuit (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.), for displacing the tongue relative to the base portion (Col. 1 lines 22-27 i.e., …PZT devices that rotate a portion of the gimbal assembly for fine positioning of the slider…).
Regarding Claim 13, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 11 as discussed above but fails to teach the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends; and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly , wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 14, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly of claim 11 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the head gimbal assembly, wherein: first fore tether includes a third plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether, The first fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.); and the second fore tether includes a fourth plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether, The second fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.) but fails to explicitly disclose the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends; the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends; the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends; and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly, wherein: first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B; The 184B includes a plurality of bends.); and the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A); The 184A includes a plurality of bends.). Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184B (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the first fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4). ); and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184A (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the second fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bends of flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 15, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 11 as discussed above. Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly wherein: the first aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the first fore tether; and the second aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the second fore tether. Because, when the tether 184B of Pallay reference is considered as being incorporated into the gimbal of the Ee reference, the first aft tether(Fig. 5, i.e., 184 B of Pallay reference) is physically and geometrically longer. The same analysis applies to the second aft tether due to the symmetric structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ee U.S. Patent Number US11501796B1(hereinafter Ee) in view of Pallay U.S. Patent Publication Number US20250299692A1(hereinafter Pallay).
Regarding Claim 16, Ee discloses A head gimbal assembly comprising:
a gimbal (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., gimbal assembly 30; Col. 3 lines 38-59) comprising:
a base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., base portion 34; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a tongue (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 3 lines 38-59) that are connected by a neck portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, neck portion; Col. 3 lines 38-59) a first strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut and "base portion 34"), a second strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second strut and "base portion 34"), and a distal portion (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) extending from distal ends of the first (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) and second struts (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 second strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) away from the tongue (The distal portion is away from the mount portion 32.); a circuit mounted on the gimbal (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.), wherein the circuit includes a first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59; Col. 1 lines 34-46 i.e., A flex circuit 16 (i.e., electrical traces) extend along the load beam 4 ) and a second lateral side opposing the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59; Col. 1 lines 34-46 i.e., A flex circuit 16 (i.e., electrical traces) extend along the load beam 4); a first fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first fore tether meets the tongue ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first strut and the first fore tether overlap); a second fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second fore tether meets the tongue) and a second end connected to the second strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second strut and the first fore tether overlap);
and a slider mounted on the tongue (Col. 3 lines 49-56 i.e., …mount portion 32 a of the frame 32 on which the slider is mounted (for fine tune positioning of the slider).), and electrically connected to the circuit (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.) but fails to explicitly disclose a first aft tether having a first end connected to the first lateral side and a second end connected to the first strut and a second aft tether having a first end connected to the second lateral side and a second end connected to the second strut.
In an analogous art, Pallay teaches a first aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and a second aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) and a second end connected to the second strut (the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A);
Ee discloses a head gimbal assembly including a distal portion(see Fig. 15). The Fig. 15 discloses a partial and localized structural detail of the gimbal and the annotated Fig. 4 shows the overall gimbal structure. Pallay discloses flexible tethers configured to act as stabilizers and restrain movement of the head-carrying region of the head gimbal assembly in the z-direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 17, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 16 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the head gimbal assembly, comprising: a first PZT actuator and a second PZT actuator mounted to the head gimbal assembly (Fig. 4 i.e., PZTs 46) and electrically connected to the circuit (Col. 3 lines 52-56 i.e., Flex circuit 48 includes electrical traces that are connected to, and provide electrical signaling to/from, the PZT's 46 and the read/write head of the slider.), for displacing the tongue relative to the base portion (Col. 1 lines 22-27 i.e., …PZT devices that rotate a portion of the gimbal assembly for fine positioning of the slider…).
Regarding Claim 18, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly of claim 16 as discussed above but fails to teach the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends; and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly , wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 19, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the head gimbal assembly of claim 16 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the first fore tether includes a third plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether, The first fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.); and the second fore tether includes a fourth plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether, The second fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.) but fails to explicitly disclose the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends; the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends; the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends; and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the head gimbal assembly, wherein: the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B; The 184B includes a plurality of bends.); and the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A); The 184A includes a plurality of bends.). Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184B (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the first fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4). ); and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184A (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the second fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bends of flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 20, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the suspension assembly of claim 16 as discussed above. Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the suspension assembly wherein: the first aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the first fore tether; and the second aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the second fore tether. Because, when the tether 184B of Pallay reference is considered as being incorporated into the suspension assembly of the Ee reference, the first aft tether(Fig. 5, i.e., 184 B of Pallay reference) is physically and geometrically longer. The same analysis applies to the second aft tether due to the symmetric structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the gimbal assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ee U.S. Patent Number US11501796B1(hereinafter Ee) in view of Pallay U.S. Patent Publication Number US20250299692A1(hereinafter Pallay).
Regarding Claim 21, Ee discloses A suspension assembly (Col. 1 lines 33-40 i.e., suspension assembly ), comprising
a base plate (Col. 1 lines 33-40 i.e., baseplate 8 ); a load beam connected to the baseplate at a proximal end of the load beam (Col. 1 lines 33-40 i.e., suspension assembly 2, which includes a load beam 4 terminating at a proximal end with a hinge 6 that is connected to a baseplate 8); a gimbal mounted on the distal end of the load beam (Col. 1 lines 33-40 i.e., A gimbal assembly 10 (containing the slider with the read/write head) is mounted to the distal end of the load beam 4.), a gimbal (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., gimbal assembly 30; Col. 3 lines 38-59) comprising: a base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., base portion 34; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a tongue (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 3 lines 38-59) that are connected by a neck portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, neck portion; Col. 3 lines 38-59), wherein the tongue includes a first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59) opposing the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side and second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59), a first strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut and "base portion 34"), a second strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second strut and "base portion 34"), and a distal portion (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) extending from distal ends of the first (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) and second struts (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 second strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) toward the tongue(Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36); a first fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first fore tether meets the tongue ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first strut and the first fore tether overlap); and a second fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second fore tether meets the tongue) and a second end connected to the second strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second strut and the first fore tether overlap) but fails to explicitly disclose a first aft tether having a first end connected to the first lateral side and a second end connected to the distal portion and a second aft tether having a first end connected to the second lateral side and a second end connected to the distal portion.
In analogous art, Pallay teaches a first aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B ) and a second end connected to the distal portion (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and a second aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) and a second end connected to the distal portion (the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
Ee discloses a suspension assembly including a distal portion(see Fig. 15). The Fig. 15 discloses a partial and localized structural detail of the gimbal and the annotated Fig. 4 shows the overall gimbal structure. Pallay discloses flexible tethers configured to act as stabilizers and restrain movement of the head-carrying region of the head gimbal assembly in the z-direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the suspension assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 22, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the suspension assembly of claim 21 as discussed above but fails to teach the suspension assembly wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends; and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the suspension assembly wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the suspension assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 23, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the suspension assembly of claim 21 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the suspension assembly, wherein first fore tether includes a third plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether, The first fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.); and the second fore tether includes a fourth plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether, The second fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.) but fails to explicitly disclose the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends; the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends; the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends; and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B; The 184B includes a plurality of bends.); and the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A); The 184A includes a plurality of bends.). Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184B (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the first fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4). ); and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184A (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the second fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bends of flexible tethers of Pallay into the suspension assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 24, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the suspension assembly of claim 21 as discussed above. Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the suspension assembly wherein: the first aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the first fore tether; and the second aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the second fore tether. Because, when the tether 184B of Pallay reference is considered as being incorporated into the suspension assembly of the Ee reference, the first aft tether(Fig. 5, i.e., 184 B of Pallay reference) is physically and geometrically longer. The same analysis applies to the second aft tether due to the symmetric structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the suspension assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Claim(s) 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ee U.S. Patent Number US11501796B1(hereinafter Ee) in view of Pallay U.S. Patent Publication Number US20250299692A1(hereinafter Pallay).
Regarding Claim 25, Ee discloses A suspension assembly (Col. 1 lines 33-40 i.e., suspension assembly ) comprising:
a base plate (Col. 1 lines 33-40 i.e., baseplate 8 ); a load beam connected to the baseplate at a proximal end of the load beam (Col. 1 lines 33-40 i.e., suspension assembly 2, which includes a load beam 4 terminating at a proximal end with a hinge 6 that is connected to a baseplate 8); a gimbal mounted on the distal end of the load beam (Col. 1 lines 33-40 i.e., A gimbal assembly 10 (containing the slider with the read/write head) is mounted to the distal end of the load beam 4.), a gimbal (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., gimbal assembly 30; Col. 3 lines 38-59) comprising: a base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., base portion 34; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a tongue (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4 i.e., mount portion 32 a; Col. 3 lines 38-59) that are connected by a neck portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, neck portion; Col. 3 lines 38-59), wherein the tongue includes a first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59) and a second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59) opposing the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first lateral side and second lateral side; Col. 3 lines 38-59), a first strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut and "base portion 34"), a second strut connected to the base portion (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second strut and "base portion 34"),
a distal portion (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) extending from distal ends of the first (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4, first strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) and second struts (Fig. 15 i.e., tip portion 36 and see annotated Fig. 4 second strut; Col. 6 lines 13-18 i.e., tip portion 36) away from the tongue (The distal portion is away from the mount portion 32.); a first fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first fore tether meets the tongue ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the first strut and the first fore tether overlap); and a second fore tether (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second fore tether meets the tongue) and a second end connected to the second strut (Fig. 15 and see annotated Fig. 4, the region where the second strut and the first fore tether overlap) but fails to explicitly disclose a first aft tether having a first end connected to the first lateral side and a second end connected to the first strut and a second aft tether having a first end connected to the second lateral side and a second end connected to the second strut.
In an analogous art, Pallay teaches a first aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B) having a first end connected to the first lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B ) and a second end connected to the first strut (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B) and a second aft tether (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) having a first end connected to the second lateral side (Fig. 5, the portion coupled to the tongue 182; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A) and a second end connected to the second strut (the portion coupled to a rounded edge portion of the gimbal 127; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
Ee discloses a suspension assembly including a distal portion(see Fig. 15). The Fig. 15 discloses a partial and localized structural detail of the gimbal and the annotated Fig. 4 shows the overall gimbal structure. Pallay discloses flexible tethers configured to act as stabilizers and restrain movement of the head-carrying region of the head gimbal assembly in the z-direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the suspension assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 26, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the suspension assembly in claim 25 as discussed above but fails to teach the suspension assembly wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends; and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the suspension assembly wherein: the first aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B); and the second aft tether includes a plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the suspension assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 27, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the suspension assembly of claim 25 as discussed above. Ee further discloses the first fore tether includes a third plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, first fore tether, The first fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.); and the second fore tether includes a fourth plurality of bends (see annotated Fig. 4, second fore tether, The second fore tether has a plurality of bends as shown in the annotated Fig. 4.) but fails to explicitly disclose the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends; the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends; the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends; and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends.
Pallay teaches the first aft tether includes a first plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184B; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers … 184B; The 184B includes a plurality of bends.); and the second aft tether includes a second plurality of bends (Fig. 5 i.e., flexible tethers 184A; para. [0041] i.e. ,flexible tethers 184A); The 184A includes a plurality of bends.). Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the first plurality of bends is greater in number than the third plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184B (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the first fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4). ); and the second plurality of bends is greater in number than the fourth plurality of bends (The number of bends in the 184A (Fig. 5 in Pallay) is greater than the number of bends in the second fore tether(See annotated Fig. 4).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bends of flexible tethers of Pallay into the suspension assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Regarding Claim 28, Ee as modified by Pallay teaches the suspension assembly of claim 25 as discussed above. Given the teachings as a whole, Ee as modified by Pallay discloses the suspension assembly wherein: the first aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the first fore tether; and the second aft tether has a length that is greater than a length of the second fore tether. Because, when the tether 184B of Pallay reference is considered as being incorporated into the gimbal of the Ee reference, the first aft tether(Fig. 5, i.e., 184 B of Pallay reference) is physically and geometrically longer. The same analysis applies to the second aft tether due to the symmetric structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexible tethers of Pallay into the suspension assembly of Ee in order to improve mechanical stability (Pallay, para. 41).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688