DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to correspondence
The notice of allowance is in response to correspondence filed on 04/22/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 05/22/2025 was filed before the first action on the merits. This submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Accordingly, the IDS has been fully considered by the Office.
Abstract
The abstract filed 04/22/2025 appears to be acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent number 3047479 to GALE YOUNG (GALE) in view of Non-Patent Literature “Fired Heaters in the Process Industries” to YOKOGAWA.
Re: Claim 1:
GALE discloses:
An integrated system comprising:
a nuclear power module (See Fig. 1: nuclear power module 10 ) to output initial steam (See Fig.1: initial steam via conduit 12);
a turbine generator (See Fig.1: turbine generator 15) to receive the initial steam and output first steam (See Fig.1: exits steam via 20);
a first heat exchanger (See Fig.1: first heat exchanger 30) to:
receive water (See Fig.1: water via pump 36),
receive the first steam (See Fig.1: receives the first steam via 28), and
transfer heat from the first steam (See Fig.1: transfer heat from the first steam via 28 into water received via conduit 40 in first heat exchanger 30) into the water to create second steam (See Fig.1: the heated water is then used to create second steam in boiler 16); and
an oil-fired boiler (See Fig.1: an oil-fired boiler 50 which receive second the steam from boiler 16) to receive the second steam (See Fig.1: receive second steam from boiler 16), and
convert the second steam to a third steam (See Fig.1: the second steam from boiler 16 is converted to a third steam using boiler 50).
GALE discloses an oil-fired boiler which is typically a second heat exchanger 50, since thermal energy transfer takes place from combustion gases via steel tubes of a heat exchanger to generate steam using feedwater in these tubes, furthermore it is well known in the art that oil fired boilers are heat exchangers, the cited non-literature patent to YOKOGAWA teaches that fuel fired heaters often referred to as boilers are heat exchangers that transfers heat from fuel combustion to process fluids that flow through tubular coils. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construe oil-fired boiler 50 of GALE as a second heat exchanger which would have yielded predictable results, since using such a heat exchanger resolves the claimed subject matter of generating steam which would a yielded predicable results.
Regarding method claim 16, GALE in view of YOKOGAWA discloses all the limitations of method claim 16.
Re: Claim 8:
GALE discloses:
A system comprising:
a turbine generator (See Fig.1: turbogenerator 15) to:
receive initial steam (See Fig.1: initial steam via conduit 12) from a nuclear power module (See Fig. 1: nuclear power module 10) , and
output first steam at a first temperature (See Fig.1: output steam via 20 exiting turbine generator 15 at a first temperature);
a first heat exchanger (See Fig.1: first heat exchanger 30) to:
receive (See Fig.1: receiving a fluid via 42 at a second temperature which is at 125 degrees F as described in col. 4 lines 61-69) a fluid at a second temperature,
receive the first steam at the first temperature (See Fig.1: heat exchanger 30 receives the first steam at the first temperature which is 720 degrees F as explained in col. 4 lines 45-47) , and
output the fluid (See Fig.1: heat exchanger 30 outputs a fluid after heat is extracted by feed water in heat exchanger 30 at a third temperature which is about 470 degrees F as explained in col. 4 lines 62-69) at a third temperature that is greater than the second temperature (the limitation as recited is fully discloses that the fluid is gradually heated up and at maximum temperature at stage of heat exchanger 30 where steam is at it highest temperature to transfer heat to the fluid); and
a boiler (See Fig.1: an oil-fired boiler 50 which receive second the steam from boiler 16) to heat the fluid to a fourth temperature that is greater than the third temperature (See Fig.1: the fluid in boiler 50 is heated to vaporous temperature which is a fourth temperature which is typically greater than the liquid state temperature as explained in col. 5 lines 3-10) .
GALE discloses an oil-fired boiler which is typically a second heat exchanger 50, since thermal energy transfer takes place from combustion gases via steel tubes of a heat exchanger to generate steam using feedwater in these tubes, furthermore it is well known in the art that oil fired boilers are heat exchangers, the cited non-literature patent to YOKOGAWA teaches that fuel fired heaters often referred to as boilers are heat exchangers that transfers heat from fuel combustion to process fluids that flow through tubular coils. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construe oil-fired boiler 50 of GALE as a second heat exchanger which would have yielded predictable results, since using such a heat exchanger resolves the claimed subject matter of generating steam which would a yielded predicable results.
Allowable Subject Matter and Prior Art
Claims 2-7 , 9-14 and 17-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims 1, 8 and 16 respectively, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQ MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
March 12, 2026