DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Pat. 12,308,987. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to substantially similar methods, systems, and/or mediums, for example contrast claim 1 with claim 1 ‘987:
Instant Claim 1
‘987 claim 1
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
detecting a phrase based on a real-time transcription and discussion points of a conference;
determining a topic based on keywords within a neighboring word range of a phrase detected based on a conference;
determining a topic based on keywords within a neighboring word range of the phrase;
determining that the topic of the conference is unrelated to the discussion points of the conference by processing the transcription using a machine learning (ML) model trained for contextual awareness;
determining that the topic of the conference is unrelated to the discussion points of the conference by processing the real-time transcription using a machine learning (ML) model trained for contextual awareness;
transmitting a prompt to participants related to the topic to confirm that the topic is unrelated to the discussion points;
generating a future discussion point based on the topic for a future conference.
generating a future discussion point based on the topic responsive to receiving one or more confirmation responses; and adding a future conference including the future discussion point to respective calendars of the participants related to the topic.
That is, the differences between the claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in that the scope of the instant invention overlaps with the scope of the patent. Further, instant claims 2-20, correspond similarly to subject matter of ‘987 claims 2-20. Therefore, if a patent were to be granted, it may result in an improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” of the subject matter and may lead to possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Pat. 11,916,687. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to substantially similar methods, systems, and/or media; see particularly the rejections above and further the Terminal Disclaimer between US Pat. 11,916,687 and US Pat. 12,308,987 and the accompanying Double Patenting rejections presented in the case history of Pat. 12,308,987.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 9-14 are directed systems comprising a server that when interpreted in light of the specification may read on software alone which is non- statutory. In order to comply, the claimed systems must explicitly comprise hardware (e.g. a processor, memory) so they may not be reasonably be interpreted as software alone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0160278), hereafter, “Allen,” in view of Abuelsaad et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0164510; cited on IDS), hereafter, “Abuelsaad.”
As to claim 9, Allen discloses a system comprising: a server configured to (Abstract and Fig. 1):
determine a topic based on keywords within a neighboring word range of a phrase detected based on a conference ([0049], “Embodiments determine that John is staying on topic, based on the sentences with identified keywords in his speech and the keywords in Judith's speech. Two nearby sentences, referred to as “sentence pairs” may be analyzed to determine if they are deviatory or non-deviatory. The keywords may be compared with one another, and to other words, in corpus (170 of FIG. 1) to determine that the keywords are related to the same topic. The corpus may include dictionary definitions, a thesaurus, and/or an antonym dictionary, etc. John's speech has a low deviation score, based on analysis of sentence pairs which indicate that the current discussion within the meeting is related to the agenda, and therefore he is staying on topic.”);
process the transcription using a machine learning (ML) model trained for contextual awareness to determine that the topic of the conference is unrelated to the discussion points of the conference ([0078]-[0086] and [0090]-[0092]); and
identify a future discussion point based on the topic for a future conference ([0056], particularly, “The corpus may include dictionary definitions, a thesaurus, and/or an antonym dictionary, etc. John's speech has an elevated deviation score, which indicates that the keywords in his speech are related, but not directly relevant to, the agenda topic. Accordingly, this topic may be “parked” in a “parking lot” so that it may be returned to at a later time, such as at the end of the meeting, or in another meeting at another time.”)
However, Allen does not explicitly disclose generating a future discussion point based on the topic for a future conference. Rather, Allen has a “parking lot” with the topic that may be returned to in another meeting, but does not specifically indicate that the discussion point for a future conference is actually generated as part of the process.
But, Abuelsaad discloses a system configured to generate a future discussion point based on a topic for a future conference ([0031], particularly, “If an agenda topic is determined to be unfinished at the conclusion of the meeting, the meeting management engine (100) reschedules the unfinished meeting agenda topics for a later meeting. In the example of FIG. 1, the third agenda topic (112) is classified as unfinished because it was still in progress at the conclusion of the meeting. Thus, the topic is likely to need additional discussion.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad in order to automatically create meetings so as to provide time in future meetings for unfinished topics.
As to claim 1 and 15, they are rejected by a similar rationale to that set forth in claim 9’s rejection.
As to claim 2, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 9’s rejection further disclose detecting the phrase based on a transcription and discussion points of the conference (Allen, [0056]-[0061] and Abuelsaad, [0024]).
As to claims 3, 11, and 17, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 9’s rejection further disclose determining the topic is based on a keyword that references one or more subjects (Allen, [0056]-[0061] and Abuelsaad, [0024]).
As to claims 4, 12, and 18, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 9’s rejection further disclose the one or more subjects is based on a plan for the conference (Allen, [0056]-[0061] and Abuelsaad, [0024]).
As to claims 6 and 14, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 9’s rejection further disclose determining the topic includes performing a semantic analysis on the transcription (Allen, [0078]-[0086], [0090]-[0092] and Abuelsaad, [0024]).
As to claim 7, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 9’s rejection further disclose determining the topic includes performing a semantic analysis on the transcription when a threshold is met for a duration of time that a keyword or phrase is not detected (Allen, [0078]-[0086], [0090]-[0092] and Abuelsaad, [0024]).
As to claims 10 and 16, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 9’s rejection further disclose the ML model is configured to detect that a further discussion of the topic is to be left for a later time (Allen, [0056] and Abuelesaad, [0031]).
As to claim 13 and 19, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 9’s rejection further disclose the one or more subjects is learned from a previous conference plan (Allen, [0056] and Abuelesaad, [0031]).
Claims 5, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen and Abuelsaad in further view of Vangala et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0284402; cited on IDS), hereafter, “Vangala.”
As to claims 5 and 20, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad disclose the parent claim but do not disclose including an audio portion of the conference in respective calendars.
However, Vangala discloses including an audio portion of a conference in respective calendars ([0009], particularly, "Based upon the one or more keywords and the identifier for the user, the Al personalization application obtains identifiers for one or more invitees (or potential invitees) for the meeting and/or computer-readable content (e.g., a document, a spreadsheet, a slideshow presentation, an email, a copy of a real-time message, an audio recording, a video recording, etc.) that is to be (or that may be) included in an electronic invitation for the meeting via the user graph for the user." And further, [0089], particularly, "The computing device 1100 may be used in a system that identifies invitees for a meeting and/or identifies computer-readable content that is to be included in an electronic invitation for the meeting.. In addition to storing executable instructions, the memory 1104 may also store user graphs, tenancy graphs, vector representations of graphs, contextual data, audio-visual recordings of electronic meetings, transcripts of electronic meetings, computer-readable content (e.g., documents, emails, and so forth), etc."; see [0007] for the disclosure of calendars).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective to filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad with Vangala in order to provide more relevant information to participants of meetings so as to conduct more productive meetings.
As to claim 8, the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad disclose the parent claim but do not disclose including a video portion of the conference associated with the future discussion point in respective calendars.
However, Vangala discloses including a video portion of the conference associated with the future discussion point in respective calendars ([0009], particularly, "Based upon the one or more keywords and the identifier for the user, the Al personalization application obtains identifiers for one or more invitees (or potential invitees) for the meeting and/or computer-readable content (e.g., a document, a spreadsheet, a slideshow presentation, an email, a copy of a real-time message, an audio recording, a video recording, etc.) that is to be (or that may be) included in an electronic invitation for the meeting via the user graph for the user." And further, [0089], particularly, "The computing device 1100 may be used in a system that identifies invitees for a meeting and/or identifies computer-readable content that is to be included in an electronic invitation for the meeting…In addition to storing executable instructions, the memory 1104 may also store user graphs, tenancy graphs, vector representations of graphs, contextual data, audio-visual recordings of electronic meetings, transcripts of electronic meetings, computer-readable content (e.g., documents, emails, and so forth), etc."; see [0007] for the disclosure of calendars).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective to filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Allen and Abuelsaad with Vangala in order to provide more relevant information to participants of meetings so as to conduct more productive meetings.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458