DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on have been entered. Claims 1,7-8, 17-18, and 20 have been amended and claim 6 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant contends, “Tu does not appear to disclose adjusting a voltage level based on any estimated power consumption or panel efficiency, for example. Tu appears to generally teach "[a]n ambient temperature correction is determined in accordance with the determined power consumption of the display driver" (e.g., see the Abstract of Tu), but does not appear to disclose "adjusting a power supply voltage according to the luminance mode and a panel efficiency of a display panel," as now recited in claim 17.”
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Lee et al (US 2019/0206305) teaches the above features in the claim. See the office action below for detail explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 2, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (US 2022/0358872) in view of Lee et al (US 2019/0206305).
As to claim 1, Lim teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel comprising pixels (display unit 100, [0050], fig. 1);
a scan driver configured to provide scan signals to the pixels (scan driver 110, [0054], fig. 1);
a data driver configured to provide data signals to the pixels (data driver 120, [0056], fig. 1);
a controller configured to control the scan driver and the data driver (signal controller 150, [0062], fig. 1);
a power board configured to generate a power supply voltage for the pixels (the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140, [0064], fig. 1); and
a scaler (signal controller 150, fig. 1) configured to receive input image data from a host processor (application processor 160, [0058] The signal controller 150 receives an image signal IS and an input control signal CONT to control its operations from the application processor 160, fig. 1), to convert a data format of the input image data ([0060] The signal controller 150 generates the control signals CONT1, CONT2, CONT3, and CONT4 and the image data signal DATA according to the image signal IS, the horizontal synchronizing signal, the vertical synchronization signal, the main clock signal, the data enable signal, and the TE signal), to provide converted input image data to the controller (examiner’s note: the signal controller 150 functions as a scaler and a controller), to determine a luminance mode of the display device, and to control the power board to adjust the power supply voltage based on the luminance mode ([0064] The signal controller 150 may control the driving of the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140 according to a power control signal indicative of the luminance of the image displayed and/or to be displayed by the display unit 100, which is in the form of the luminance setting value DBV…the signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT3 to the first power supply 130 so that the first power supply 130 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD1 and ELVSS1 to the display unit 100. The signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT4 to the second power supply 140 so that the second power supply 140 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD2 and ELVSS2 to the display unit 100).
Lim does not teach adjusting the power supply voltage based on the panel efficiency of the display panel and the panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current.
However, Lee teaches adjusting the power supply voltage based on the panel efficiency of the display panel ([0071] FIG. 7 is a relationship graph between luminance efficiency and driving voltages, [0096]) and the panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current ([0073] the luminance efficiency may refer to a ratio of luminance of the display device with respect to a current of a power source provided to the display device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lim to teach, a panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current, as suggested by Lee. The motivation would have been in order to “minimize the luminance difference or the color difference, such that the display device may display accurate luminance and color.” ([0004]).
As to claim 2, Lim in view of Lee teach the display device, wherein a voltage level of the power supply voltage increases as a maximum luminance of the luminance mode increases (Lim: [0063] the luminance setting value DBV may express a maximum luminance value displayed by the display unit 100…[0064] control the driving of the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140 according to a power control signal … the form of the luminance setting value DBV).
3. (Withdrawn)
10. (Withdrawn)
11. (Withdrawn)
12. (Withdrawn)
13. (Withdrawn)
14. (Withdrawn)
15. (Withdrawn)
16. (Withdrawn)
As to claim 17, Lim teaches a method of operating a display device, the method comprising: determining, by a scaler of the display device (signal controller 150, fig. 1), a luminance mode of the display device ([0064] The signal controller 150 may control the driving of the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140 according to a power control signal indicative of the luminance of the image displayed and/or to be displayed by the display unit 100, which is in the form of the luminance setting value DBV); adjusting a power supply voltage according to the luminance mode ([0064] The signal controller 150 may control the driving of the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140 according to a power control signal indicative of the luminance of the image displayed and/or to be displayed by the display unit 100, which is in the form of the luminance setting value DBV…the signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT3 to the first power supply 130 so that the first power supply 130 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD1 and ELVSS1 to the display unit 100. The signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT4 to the second power supply 140 so that the second power supply 140 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD2 and ELVSS2 to the display unit 100); generating, by a power board of the display device, the power supply voltage determined according to the luminance mode ([0064] The signal controller 150 may control the driving of the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140 according to a power control signal indicative of the luminance of the image displayed and/or to be displayed by the display unit 100, which is in the form of the luminance setting value DBV…the signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT3 to the first power supply 130 so that the first power supply 130 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD1 and ELVSS1 to the display unit 100. The signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT4 to the second power supply 140 so that the second power supply 140 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD2 and ELVSS2 to the display unit 100); and displaying, by a display panel of the display device, an image based on the power supply voltage received from the power board (fig. 1 illustrates a display panel with power supply ELVDD1, ELVDD2, ELVSS1 and ELVSS2).
Lim does not teach adjusting the power supply voltage according to a panel efficiency of the display panel and the panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current.
However, Lee teaches adjusting the power supply voltage according to a panel efficiency of the display panel ([0071] FIG. 7 is a relationship graph between luminance efficiency and driving voltages) and the panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current ([0073] the luminance efficiency may refer to a ratio of luminance of the display device with respect to a current of a power source provided to the display device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lim to teach, a panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current, as suggested by Lee. The motivation would have been in order to “minimize the luminance difference or the color difference, such that the display device may display accurate luminance and color.” ([0004]).
19. (Withdrawn)
As to claim 20, Lim teaches an electronic device comprising a display device comprising:
a display panel comprising pixels (display unit 100, [0050], fig. 1);
a scan driver configured to provide scan signals to the pixels (scan driver 110, [0054], fig. 1);
a data driver configured to provide data signals to the pixels (data driver 120, [0056], fig. 1);
a controller configured to control the scan driver and the data driver (signal controller 150, [0062], fig. 1);
a power board configured to generate a power supply voltage for the pixels (the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140, [0064], fig. 1); and
a scaler (signal controller 150, fig. 1) configured to receive input image data from a host processor (application processor 160, [0058] The signal controller 150 receives an image signal IS and an input control signal CONT to control its operations from the application processor 160, fig. 1), to convert a data format of the input image data ([0060] The signal controller 150 generates the control signals CONT1, CONT2, CONT3, and CONT4 and the image data signal DATA according to the image signal IS, the horizontal synchronizing signal, the vertical synchronization signal, the main clock signal, the data enable signal, and the TE signal), to provide converted input image data to the controller (examiner’s note: the signal controller 150 functions as a scaler and a controller), to determine a luminance mode of the display device, and to control the power board to adjust the power supply voltage based on the luminance mode ([0064] The signal controller 150 may control the driving of the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140 according to a power control signal indicative of the luminance of the image displayed and/or to be displayed by the display unit 100, which is in the form of the luminance setting value DBV…the signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT3 to the first power supply 130 so that the first power supply 130 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD1 and ELVSS1 to the display unit 100. The signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT4 to the second power supply 140 so that the second power supply 140 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD2 and ELVSS2 to the display unit 100).
Lim does not teach adjusting the power supply voltage based on the panel efficiency of the display panel and the panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current.
However, Lee teaches adjusting the power supply voltage based on the panel efficiency of the display panel ([0071] FIG. 7 is a relationship graph between luminance efficiency and driving voltages) and the panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current ([0073] the luminance efficiency may refer to a ratio of luminance of the display device with respect to a current of a power source provided to the display device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lim to teach, a panel efficiency representing a ratio of a panel luminance to a panel current, as suggested by Lee. The motivation would have been in order to “minimize the luminance difference or the color difference, such that the display device may display accurate luminance and color.” ([0004]).
3. Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (US 2022/0358872) in view of Lee et al (US 2019/0206305) and further in view of Bae (US 2015/0170577).
As to claim 4, Lim in view of Lee does not teach a mode-to-power supply voltage lookup table and a power supply voltage determiner as claimed.
However, Bae teaches the display device, wherein the controller comprises: a mode-to-power supply voltage lookup table configured to store voltage levels of the power supply voltage respectively corresponding to luminance modes ([0121] lookup table 340 stores information about the driving voltage corresponding to the maximum luminance value); and a power supply voltage determiner configured to: receive a mode signal indicating the luminance mode from the scaler (fig. 9 illustrates that the driving voltage calculation unit 330 receives d_max from the maximum value detection unit); and determine one of the voltage levels of the power supply voltage corresponding to the luminance mode using the mode-to-power supply voltage lookup table ([0121] the driving voltage calculation unit 330 calculates the maximum luminance value corresponding to the maximum value d_max, and detects the driving voltage corresponding to the maximum luminance value by using the lookup table 340).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lim in view of Lee to teach, the mode-to-power supply voltage lookup table and the power supply voltage determiner, as suggested by Bae. The motivation would have been in order to provide a display device “which allow for improved outdoor visibility at a low grayscale level” ([0013]).
As to claim 5, Lim in view Lee and further in view of Bae teach the display device, wherein the controller is configured to provide a power supply voltage level signal indicating the one of the voltage levels of the power supply voltage (Lim: control signal CONT3 and control signal CONT4) to the scaler (examiner’s note: the signal controller 150 functions as a scaler and a controller), and wherein the scaler is configured to control the power board in response to the power supply voltage level signal such that the power supply voltage has the one of the voltage levels (Lim: [0064] The signal controller 150 may control the driving of the first power supply 130 and the second power supply 140 according to a power control signal indicative of the luminance of the image displayed and/or to be displayed by the display unit 100, which is in the form of the luminance setting value DBV…the signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT3 to the first power supply 130 so that the first power supply 130 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD1 and ELVSS1 to the display unit 100. The signal controller 150 transmits the control signal CONT4 to the second power supply 140 so that the second power supply 140 may transmit the power voltages ELVDD2 and ELVSS2 to the display unit 100).
6. (Canceled)
4. Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (US 2022/0358872) in view of Lee et al (US 2019/0206305) and further in view of Tu et al (US 2022/0068227).
As to claim 7, Lim in view Lee does not teach wherein a voltage level of the power supply voltage increases as a maximum luminance of the luminance mode increases as claimed.
However, Tu teaches the display device, wherein a voltage level of the power supply voltage increases as a maximum luminance of the luminance mode increases (Tu: [0049] A maximum display driver current is associated with a maximum brightness level… A linear relationship exists between the brightness setting and the display driver current I.sub.D. Given the brightness setting, the display driver current I.sub.D is estimated based on the linear relationship), and decreases as the panel efficiency increases (Tu: [0050] determine the display efficiency η.sub.D based on the display driver current I.sub.D. [0050]-[0051]. Examiner’s note: additionally, it is well known that power consumption decreases as the panel efficiency increases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lim in view of Lee to teach, wherein a voltage level of the power supply voltage increases as a maximum luminance of the luminance mode increases, as suggested by Tu. The motivation would have been in order to reduce the cost of power consumption estimation compared to the direct power monitoring ([0066]).
As to claim 18, Lim in view Lee does not teach storing panel efficiency information as claimed.
However, Tu teaches the method, wherein a voltage level of the power supply voltage increases as a maximum luminance of the luminance mode increases ([0049] A maximum display driver current is associated with a maximum brightness level… A linear relationship exists between the brightness setting and the display driver current I.sub.D. Given the brightness setting, the display driver current I.sub.D is estimated based on the linear relationship), and wherein the method further comprises storing panel efficiency information indicating the panel efficiency of the display panel ([0049] FIG. 6 is an example display efficiency lookup table 600 for estimating power consumption P.sub.DSP of a display driver 140).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lim in view of Lee to teach the disclosure as suggested by Tu. The motivation would have been in order to reduce the cost of power consumption estimation compared to the direct power monitoring ([0066]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628