Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “gently inclined” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gently” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such, “gently inclined” renders claim 1 indefinite. Claims 2-7 depend from claim 1, and therefore have the same indefiniteness issues as outlined above with regard to claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the molten elastic material". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0059343 (Uchida et al.) (hereinafter “Uchida”) in view of German Publication No. 102010015901 (hereinafter “DE’901”).
Regarding claim 1, Figs.1-3 of Uchida show a guide-equipped belt (1) comprising:
a flat belt portion (2);
a guide portion (including 3 and 5) that is made of an elastic material and protrudes along a longitudinal direction on a surface (lower surface in Fig. 1) of the flat belt portion face to a pulley (34), wherein at a top portion of the guide portion (including 3 and 5) exposed to an outside, a recess (5) gently inclined from corners (inside corners) of the top portion to a center of the top portion is formed along the longitudinal direction. Uchida teaches most of the limitations of this claim, but does not show a guide covering material, as claimed.
DE’901 shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a guide portion (including 6) with a guide covering material (10) that is made of a knitted fabric, includes a dense mesh such that the guide covering material (10) is not embedded in an elastic material constituting the guide portion (including 6), and covers a surface of the guide portion (including 6), for the purpose of reducing running noise and providing high wear protection even under high slippage conditions. See, e.g., numbered paragraph [0007] of the machine translation of DE’901. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the guide portion (including 3 and 5) of Uchida with a guide covering material, for the purpose of reducing running noise and providing high wear protection even under high slippage conditions, as taught by DE’901. Providing the guide portion (including 3 and 5) of Uchida with a guide covering material, in a manner as taught by Fig. 1 of Uchida and the figure in DE’901, results in having in the top portion of the guide portion where the guide covering material is exposed to the outside, the recess being gently inclined from corners (inner corners) of the top portion to the center of the top portion being formed along the longitudinal direction, as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, the English abstract of DE’901 and numbered paragraphs [0005] - [0011] of the machine translation of DE’901 teach that the guide covering material (10) includes a chain yarn that constitutes a chain stitch, a weft insertion yarn that connects a loop portion of the chain stitch of the chain yarn in a weft direction, and a warp insertion yarn that connects the loop portion of the chain stitch of the chain yarn in a warp direction.
Regarding claim 3, the English abstract of DE’901 and numbered paragraphs [0005] - [0012] of the machine translation of DE’901 teach that the guide covering material (10) includes the dense mesh such that, when the molten elastic material constituting the guide portion (including 6) and the guide covering material (10) are adhered to each other in a manufacturing process, the molten elastic material does not exude through the guide covering material (10) to the outside, and the guide covering material (10) is not embedded in the guide portion (including 6).
Regarding claim 4, numbered paragraph [0011] of the machine translation of DE’901 teaches that the guide covering material (10) has an elongation percentage of 10% or more when measured with a sample having a width of 40 mm. In particular, the elongation is greater than or equal 30% in the warp direction and greater than or equal 50% in the weft direction, regardless of the width. Absent any criticality for the 40mm width dimension of the sample, this width of sample is an obvious matter of design choice. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the sample width 40mm, e.g., for the purpose of sizing the sample to the dimensions of the guide covering material attached to the guide portion of the belt.
Regarding claim 5, numbered paragraph [0011] of the machine translation of DE’901 teaches that the guide covering material (10) has an elasticity of 10% or more in the longitudinal direction when measured with the sample having a width of 40 mm. In particular, the elongation is greater than or equal 30% in the warp direction and greater than or equal 50% in the weft direction, regardless of the width. Absent any criticality for the 40mm width dimension of the sample, this width of sample is an obvious matter of design choice. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the sample width 40mm, e.g., for the purpose of sizing the sample to the dimensions of the guide covering material attached to the guide portion of the belt.
Regarding claim 6, numbered paragraph [0008] of the machine translation of DE’901 teaches that the guide covering material (10) includes an elastic yarn.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 1 of Uchida shows that a core wire (4) or a fabric is embedded inside the flat belt portion (2).
Conclusion
/THOMAS A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653