Information Disclosure Statement
In consideration of the Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 4/28/26, a reference was found (Hinterberger et al, US20200185922A1) which resulted in Claim 1 no longer being considered allowed. In addition, due to blurry submission of the translated Non-patent literature (NPL) citations [9, 20], these references were not considered in the 11 page IDS document submitted on 4/28/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinterberger et al (USPGPN 20200185922, hereinafter Hinte) in view of Le et al (USPGPN 20150202983; hereinafter Wyatt),
as evidenced by Johnson et al (USPGPN 20060164032)
Independent Claim 1, Hinte teaches a charging apparatus (Figs. [1, 2]), comprising:
an energy storage module (11), wherein the energy storage module comprises a plurality of energy storage units (11’), each of the plurality of energy storage units comprises a battery sub-unit (12, ¶’s [31-34]) and has a first positive power supply terminal and a first negative power supply terminal (see esp. Fig. 2), the plurality of energy storage units are connected to a second positive power supply terminal and a second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module via the first positive power supply terminals and the first negative power supply terminals, and the energy storage module is configured to provide a first direct current (see well demonstrated in Figs. [1, 2]);
a charging module, wherein the charging module is connected to the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module, and the charging module is configured to be adapted to provide charging output based on the first direct current (connection between bus 18 and 100, providing charging power to 100, ¶’s [31, 39, 40, 42-44]),
an input module, wherein the input module is adapted to provide charging energy for each of the plurality of energy storage units (24, 21);
wherein: the plurality of energy storage units comprise a first energy storage unit and a second energy storage unit (11’ shown in Fig. 1; noted that ¶’s [35, 36, esp. 35] describes that components are optionally included in each);
the second energy storage unit further comprises a first power conversion sub-unit (14), the first power conversion sub-unit being connected between the battery sub-unit of the second energy storage unit and both the first positive power supply terminal and the first negative power supply terminal of the second energy storage unit, and being configured to convert electric energy of the battery sub-unit into a second direct current (¶’s [35, 36, 38, 53-58]); and
the input module comprises a second power conversion sub-unit, wherein the second power conversion sub-unit is directly connected to all of the plurality of energy storage units, and is configured to provide charging energy for each of the plurality of energy storage units based on a first alternating current provided by a second external power supply (21, 24’).
While Hinte fails to explicitly teach maximum charging output power of the charging module is greater than or equal to 350 kilowatts, and/or rated charging output power of the charging module is greater than or equal to 290 kilowatts, Hinte does teach that the power provided is greater than 110, which means that the range of greater than 110kw would overlap with the claimed range, and market forces are would make it obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed ranges as level 4 DC charging like that shown in Hinter ¶[43] is known to employ power outputs of 350kW hours or more (KSR F; ¶[83], official notice taken on the power levels of level 4 DC charging).
While it is noted that Hinter leaves open the possibility of one energy storage unit [11’] with a converter and one without, i.e. the battery sub-unit of the first energy storage unit is directly connected to both the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal (¶’s [35, 36, esp. 35]), Hinter fails to explicitly teach the battery sub-unit of the first energy storage unit is directly connected to both the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal.
Wyatt teaches the battery sub-unit of the first energy storage unit is directly connected to both the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal and the second energy storage unit further comprises a first power conversion sub-unit (14), the first power conversion sub-unit being connected between the battery sub-unit of the second energy storage unit and both the first positive power supply terminal and the first negative power supply terminal of the second energy storage unit, and being configured to convert electric energy of the battery sub-unit into a second direct current (see Figs. [15A-17, 21] has batteries 30 & 32 which are connected in an analogous format to the present application and Hinte in that (a) the batteries are connected in parallel, (b) at least one converter of one battery is between the bus and at least one battery, and (c) the battery outputs are connected to an output [66, 62];
in Fig. 15A, battery unit 30/410A has a converter 410A while battery unit 32 does not, and thus 32 is directly connected to the parallel bus;
in Fig. 15B, battery unit 32/410B has a converter 410B while battery unit 30 does not, and thus 30 is directly connected to the parallel bus;
similar to Fig. 15B, Fig. 21 has 30 directly connected to bus while 32/654 has converter 654 in the way;
Figs. 16 & 17 demonstrate a situation where even the circuit of Fig. 19 could meet both requirements, thus in line with Hinte’s ¶[35], Wyatt describes the claimed features).
Wyatt describes by the use of one battery/storage-unit with a converter and another without due to distinct chemistry/voltage-levels/coulombic-efficiency-levels, it serves to improve the safety (¶’s [179, 186, 192, 200, 207, 211, 217, 226]), flexibility (abstract, ¶’s [12, 56]), and efficiency (¶’s [56, 170, 171, 178, 179, 207, 230]) of the system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte with Wyatt to provide improved efficiency, flexibility, and safety.
Dependent Claim 4, the combination of Hinte and Wyatt teaches the plurality of energy storage units are connected in series and/or parallel between the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module via the first positive power supply terminals and the first negative power supply terminals to provide the first direct current (parallel connection, as cited above).
Dependent Claim 6, Hinte teaches maximum output power of the input module is less than or equal to 150 kilowatts, and/or rated output power of the input module is less than or equal to 125 kilowatts (¶’s [83, 90] are both less than these values).
Dependent Claim 7, Hinte teaches a ratio of the maximum charging output power of the charging module to the maximum output power of the input module is greater than 1 and less than or equal to 15, and/or a ratio of the rated charging output power of the charging module to the rated output power of the input module is greater than 1 and less than or equal to 15 (¶’s [83, 90] has at least one example that matches this design choice description).
Dependent Claim 9, the combination of Hinte and Wyatt teaches each of the plurality of energy storage units is configured to provide the second direct current based on the electric energy of the battery sub-unit (as the power comes from the battery, it is based on it).
Dependent Claim 11, the combination of Hinte and Wyatt teaches the second energy storage unit further comprises a first switch sub-unit, wherein the first switch sub-unit is connected to the battery sub-unit of the second energy storage unit and a first positive power supply terminal and a first negative power supply terminal of the second energy storage unit, and is configured to connect the battery sub-unit of the second energy storage unit to the first positive power supply terminal and the first negative power supply terminal of the second energy storage unit under the condition of being in an on-state, to provide the second direct current; and/or the plurality of energy storage units further comprise a third energy storage unit that further comprises a first switch sub-unit, wherein the first switch sub-unit is connected to the battery sub-unit of the third energy storage unit and a first positive power supply terminal and a first negative power supply terminal of the third energy storage unit, and is configured to connect the battery sub-unit of the third energy storage unit to the first positive power supply terminal and the first negative power supply terminal of the third energy storage unit under the condition of being in an on-state, to provide the second direct current (Hinte Fig. 1 in light of Wyatt Figs. [15A-17] demonstrates such features).
Dependent Claim 13, the combination of Hinte and Wyatt teaches the first power conversion sub-unit is a bidirectional DCDC sub-unit (¶’s [36, 56 “Every string 11 can be drained or charged individually. In addition or in the alternative, the efficiency of the DC/DC converter 14 within the string 11 can be optimized by setting its input voltage by selecting and connection usage units 12. The DC/DC converter 14 of each string 11 can therefore perform two tasks”] of Hinte plus the absence of any bypass circuit in Fig. 1 means the DC-DC converter would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be bidirectional).
Dependent Claim 14, Hinte teaches the input module further comprises an input interface, wherein the input interface is connected to the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module, and is configured to provide charging energy for each of the plurality of energy storage units based on a third direct current provided by a first external power supply (see Fig. 1)
Dependent Claim 20, Hinte teaches the energy storage module further comprises a selection unit, wherein the selection unit is connected to the plurality of energy storage units, and is configured to select at least one energy storage unit from the plurality of energy storage units to be connected to the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module to provide the first direct current ([15, 15’, N14, N11, N13] represents the selection unit elements).
Dependent Claim 23, Hinte teaches a volumetric energy density of the battery sub-unit is greater than or equal to 380 watt-hours per liter (¶’s [33, 34] describes the battery as being lithium ion, while Johnson provides evidence that lithium ion batteries have volumetric energy density of ~390Wh/L).
Claims 2, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Water (USPGPN 20210078435) in view of Sarkar et al (USPGPN 20150069970)
Dependent Claim 2, Hinte teaches each of the energy storage units comprise a battery unit (see Figs. 1 & 2).
Hinte is silent to a ratio of rated energy of the battery sub-unit to the rated charging output power of the charging module is greater than or equal to 1/(n2xn3) hours, n2 ranging from 94% to 99%, and n3 ranging from 4 to 6
Sarkar teaches a ratio of rated energy of the battery sub-unit to the rated charging output power of the charging module is greater than or equal to 1/(n2xn3) hours, n2 ranging from 94% to 99%, and n3 ranging from 4 to 6 (Figs. 4 & 5, ¶’s [47-49, 55, 90-92] describes that the output of the battery unit can be 120 kW to 170kW [as examples], ¶[91] is 170 kW;
¶’s [44, 58] describes the energy/capacity of the battery can be between 100-50kWh or smaller, where the ratio then is larger than the claimed ratio)
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that this serves as a design choice, where a larger capacity means it is able to provide power for longer, while a larger power output capability means it is able to charge an external battery faster, thus optimization serves to provide improved user/customer satisfaction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte in view of Wyatt with Sarkar to provide improved satisfaction due to optimization of design choice.
Dependent Claim 3, Hinte teaches each of the energy storage units comprise a battery unit (see Figs. 1 & 2).
Hinte is silent to a ratio of rated energy of the battery sub-unit to rated power of the battery sub-unit is less than or equal to 1/3 hours, and/or a volumetric energy density of the battery sub-unit is greater than or equal to 380 watt-hours per liter.
Sarkar teaches a ratio of rated energy of the battery sub-unit to rated power of the battery sub-unit is less than or equal to 1/3 hours, and/or a volumetric energy density of the battery sub-unit is greater than or equal to 380 watt-hours per liter (Figs. 4 & 5, ¶’s [47-49, 55, 90-92] describes the output of the battery unit can be 120 kW to 170kW [as examples], ¶[91] is 170 kW;
¶’s [44, 58] describes the energy/capacity of the battery can be between 100-50kWh or smaller, where the ratio then is larger than the claimed ratio).
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that this serves as a design choice, where a larger capacity means it is able to provide power for longer, while a larger power output capability means it is able to charge an external battery faster, thus optimization serves to provide improved user/customer satisfaction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte in view of Wyatt with Sarkar to provide improved satisfaction due to optimization of design choice
Dependent Claim 8, Hinte teaches each of the energy storage units comprise a battery unit (see Figs. 1 & 2).
Hinte is silent to a ratio of the rated output power of the input module to rated energy of the battery sub-unit is greater than or equal to 1/n1 hour-1, n1 ranging from 1 to 4.
Sarkar teaches a ratio of the rated output power of the input module to rated energy of the battery sub-unit is greater than or equal to 1/n1 hour-1, n1 ranging from 1 to 4 (Figs. 4 & 5 have the output of the input module being 180kW, ¶[58] has the battery capacity of 1kWh up to 1000 kWh, the claimed range is met).
One of ordinary skill in the art understands that this serves as a design choice, where a larger capacity means it is able to provide power for longer, while a larger power output capability means it is able to charge an external battery faster, thus optimization serves to provide improved user/customer satisfaction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte in view of Wyatt with Sarkar to provide improved satisfaction due to optimization of design choice
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinte in view of Wyatt, further in view of McAlwee et al (USPGPN 20230356607; hereinafter McAl)
Dependent Claim 16, Hinte teaches the charging module comprises a charging gun (connection to vehicle in Hinte understood to be a charging gun).
Hinte is silent to a positive input terminal and a negative input terminal of the third power conversion sub-unit are correspondingly connected to the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module,
a positive output terminal and a negative output terminal of the third power conversion sub-unit are correspondingly connected to a positive input terminal and a negative input terminal of the charging gun, and the third power conversion sub-unit is configured to convert the first direct current into a fourth direct current for charging output through the charging gun.
McAl in view of Hinte teaches a positive input terminal and a negative input terminal of the third power conversion sub-unit are correspondingly connected to the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module,
a positive output terminal and a negative output terminal of the third power conversion sub-unit are correspondingly connected to a positive input terminal and a negative input terminal of the charging gun, and the third power conversion sub-unit is configured to convert the first direct current into a fourth direct current for charging output through the charging gun (Figs. [1, 2, & 12, esp. 2] as further elaborated by Figs. [5-7E, 8A-8C, 10, 11] demonstrates an analogous system where the batteries are connected to the bus by a converter 212, the charging gun EVSE 204 connection to vehicle has another converter connecting it to the bus along with switches). McAl states the circuitry serves to provide improved costs, efficiency, and scalability (abstract)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte in view of Wyatt with McAl to provide improved costs, efficiency, and scalability.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinte in view of McAl and Wyatt, further in view of Wiegman et al (USPGPN 20100080030)
Dependent Claims 17, Hinte fails to explicitly teach the third power conversion sub-unit is a bipolar bidirectional DCDC sub-unit
Wiegman teaches the third power conversion sub-unit is a bipolar bidirectional DCDC sub-unit (¶’s [45, 46, 56, 57, esp. 45, 46] describes a DC-DC converter converting from DC-DC and from unipolar to bipolar and in a bidirectional direction). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a bidirectional converter is more flexible than a unidirectional converter, thus Wiegman’s modification of Hinte would improve flexibility. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art understands by not having to convert from AC to DC, it serves to improve system efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte in view of [McAl and Wyatt] with Wiegman to provide improved efficiency and flexibility.
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinte in view of Wyatt, further in view of Water (USPGPN 20210078435)
Dependent Claim 15, Hinte is silent to the second power conversion sub-unit is a bidirectional ACDC sub-unit.
Water teaches the second power conversion sub-unit is a bidirectional ACDC sub-unit (¶’s [22, 23, 36, 38]). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by making an AC/DC unit connected to the grid of Hinte would provide improved savings for the owner of the station, as they could have the ability to sell power stored in the station battery back to the grid in order to buy when the prices are low and sell when the prices are high.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte in view of Wyatt with Water to provide improved cost savings for the user of the station.
Dependent Claim 18, Hinte teaches the charging module comprises a charging gun (connection to vehicle in Hinte understood to be a charging gun).
Hinte is silent to the charging module comprises a fourth power conversion sub-unit, wherein a positive input terminal of the fourth power conversion sub-unit is connected to the second positive power supply terminal of the energy storage module, a positive output terminal of the fourth power conversion sub-unit is connected to a positive input terminal of the charging gun, a negative input terminal of the charging gun is connected to the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module, and the fourth power conversion sub-unit is configured to convert the first direct current into a fourth direct current for charging output through the charging gun.
Water teaches the charging module comprises a fourth power conversion sub-unit (218/318) and a charging gun (inherent “charging gun” seen in Fig. 1 connected to vehicle input port), a positive input terminal of the fourth power conversion sub-unit is connected to the second positive power supply terminal of the energy storage module (see Figs. 2 & 3),
a positive output terminal of the fourth power conversion sub-unit is connected to a positive input terminal of the charging gun (comparing Figs. [2 & 3] with Fig. 1),
a negative input terminal of the charging gun is connected to the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module (see comparing Figs. [2 & 3] with Fig. 1, where battery 220/320 is directly connected to the negative bus), and
the fourth power conversion sub-unit is configured to convert the first direct current into a fourth direct current for charging output through the charging gun (converts at least some of the battery units into direct current, which can be added to the other battery units). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by having a further/redundant converter in the charging module, it helps to make the charging system more flexible in being able to handle more types of systems, can help more safely adjust voltages even if one of the other converters is not working as well, and can be more efficient in not having to make huge changes in power levels for a single stage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte in view of Wyatt with Water to provide improved efficiency, flexibility, and safety.
Water (further context for analogousness of Water for Claims 15 and 18 to the present application and Hinte) further discloses a charging apparatus (Figs. 1-3, 102), comprising:
an energy storage module ([220 & 222 in Fig. 2], [320 & 322 in Fig. 3]),
wherein the energy storage module comprises a plurality of energy storage units ([220 & 222 in Fig. 2], [320 & 322 in Fig. 3]),
each of the energy storage units comprises a battery sub-unit and has a first positive power supply terminal and a first negative power supply terminal (Figs. 2&3),
the plurality of energy storage units are connected to a second positive power supply terminal and a second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module via the first positive power supply terminals and the first negative power supply terminals (Figs. 2&3), and
the energy storage module is configured to provide a first direct current (inherent); and
a charging module (right side of circuit),
wherein the charging module is connected to the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal of the energy storage module (see Figs. 2 & 3]), and the charging module is configured to be adapted to provide charging output based on the first direct current (output of [102/][218 & 220]/[318 & 320] to EV 10),
wherein maximum charging output power of the charging module is greater than or equal to 350 kilowatts, and/or rated charging output power of the charging module is greater than or equal to 290 kilowatts (350kw-400kw meets both limitations, see at least Fig. 3 & ¶[12]);
wherein: the plurality of energy storage units comprise a first energy storage unit and a second energy storage unit ([220 & 222 in Fig. 2], [320 & 322 in Fig. 3]);
the battery sub-unit of the first energy storage unit is directly connected to both the second positive power supply terminal and the second negative power supply terminal (220 & 320, ¶’s [27, 42]); and
the second energy storage unit further comprises a first power conversion sub-unit (218/318 is a buck converter),
the first power conversion sub-unit being connected between the battery sub-unit of the second energy storage unit and both the first positive power supply terminal and the first negative power supply terminal of the second energy storage unit (Figs. 2 & 3 shows it being directly connected to the terminal), and being configured to convert electric energy of the battery sub-unit into a second direct current (see esp. Fig. 3).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinte in view of Water and Wyatt, further in view of Wiegman et al (USPGPN 20100080030)
Dependent Claims 19, Hinte in view of [Water and Wyatt] teaches the fourth power conversion sub-unit is a DC-DC converter (as described above).
Hinte fails to explicitly teach the fourth power conversion sub-unit is a unipolar bidirectional DCDC sub-unit.
Wiegman teaches and the fourth power conversion sub-unit is a unipolar bidirectional DCDC sub-unit (¶’s [45, 46, 56, 57, esp. 45, 46] describes a DC-DC converter converting from DC-DC and from unipolar to bipolar and in a bidirectional direction). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a bidirectional converter is more flexible than a unidirectional converter, thus Wiegman’s modification of Water would improve flexibility. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art understands by not having to convert from AC to DC, it can serve to improve the efficiency of the system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hinte in view of [Water and Wyatt] with Wiegman to provide improved efficiency and flexibility.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The reasons for the allowance of Claim 21 were provided on pages 3-5 of the notice of allowance mailed 1/29/26. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859