Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 20210043692) in view of Piquette (US 20200388718).
Regarding claim 1 Cha teaches a display device (fig. 1) comprising:
a sub-pixel (fig.1, fig.4, SP) connected to a data line (fig. 4, DL); and
a light sensor (fig.1, FPS) adjacent to the sub-pixel (fig.1, fig.4, SP) in a first direction and connected to a readout line ([0091] light receiving element layer PDL may be at a lower end (or a second end, e.g., a lower surface) of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. An upper end (or one end, e.g., an upper surface) of the light receiving element layer PDL may face the lower end (or the other end, e.g., the lower surface) of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. The light receiving element layer PDL may include light receiving elements connected to the thin-film transistors of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. Each of the light receiving elements may include a first electrode, a light receiving layer, and a second electrode. In some embodiments, the light receiving layer may be an organic light receiving layer including an organic material. When the light receiving layer is an organic light receiving layer, the organic light receiving layer may combine holes and electrons by receiving the second light L2 and converting the energy of the second light L2 into an electrical signal (current or voltage) between the first electrode and the second electrode),
a first element control line (fig.3, control line of TFTL1), and a second element control line (fig.3, control line of TFTL2),
wherein the readout line is configured to receive a current corresponding to a light amount of light applied to the light sensor ([0091] light receiving element layer PDL may be at a lower end (or a second end, e.g., a lower surface) of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. An upper end (or one end, e.g., an upper surface) of the light receiving element layer PDL may face the lower end (or the other end, e.g., the lower surface) of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. The light receiving element layer PDL may include light receiving elements connected to the thin-film transistors of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. Each of the light receiving elements may include a first electrode, a light receiving layer, and a second electrode. In some embodiments, the light receiving layer may be an organic light receiving layer including an organic material. When the light receiving layer is an organic light receiving layer, the organic light receiving layer may combine holes and electrons by receiving the second light L2 and converting the energy of the second light L2 into an electrical signal (current or voltage) between the first electrode and the second electrode), and
Cha is silent on an area where the light sensor is formed, a third conductor configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor configuring a portion of the second element control line.
However, Piquette teaches an area where the light sensor is formed (fig. 1), a third conductor (fig.1, 116) configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor (fig.1, where positive terminal of the 128 connected) configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor (fig.1, 118) configuring a portion of the second element control line ([0025] also see fig. 10A, [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Cha in light of Piquette teaching so that it may include an area where the light sensor is formed, a third conductor configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor configuring a portion of the second element control line.
The motivation is to provide a light detector capable of detecting multiple colors of light.
Regarding claim 8 Cha teaches a display device (fig. 1) comprising:
a display panel including a plurality of sub-pixels (fig.1, SP) and a plurality of light sensors (fig.1, FPS); and
a display panel driver configured to drive the display panel, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels is connected to the display panel driver through data lines (fig.4, 200, 300, SP, DL),
each of the plurality of light sensors (fig. 5, FPS) is connected to the display panel driver (SCU) through a readout line ([0091]), a first element control line (fig.3, control line of TFTL1), and a second element control line (fig.3, control line of TFTL2),
wherein the readout line is configured to receive a current corresponding to a light amount of light applied to the light sensor ([0091] light receiving element layer PDL may be at a lower end (or a second end, e.g., a lower surface) of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. An upper end (or one end, e.g., an upper surface) of the light receiving element layer PDL may face the lower end (or the other end, e.g., the lower surface) of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. The light receiving element layer PDL may include light receiving elements connected to the thin-film transistors of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. Each of the light receiving elements may include a first electrode, a light receiving layer, and a second electrode. In some embodiments, the light receiving layer may be an organic light receiving layer including an organic material. When the light receiving layer is an organic light receiving layer, the organic light receiving layer may combine holes and electrons by receiving the second light L2 and converting the energy of the second light L2 into an electrical signal (current or voltage) between the first electrode and the second electrode), and
Cha is silent on an area where the light sensor is formed, a third conductor configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor configuring a portion of the second element control line.
However, Piquette teaches an area where the light sensor is formed (fig. 1), a third conductor (fig.1, 116) configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor (fig.1, where positive terminal of the 128 connected) configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor (fig.1, 118) configuring a portion of the second element control line ([0025] also see fig. 10A, [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Cha in light of Piquette teaching so that it may include an area where the light sensor is formed, a third conductor configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor configuring a portion of the second element control line.
The motivation is to provide a light detector capable of detecting multiple colors of light.
Regarding claim 17 Cha teaches electronic device (fig. 1) comprising:
a processor ([0052] electronic (or optical) circuits, such as, for example, logic circuits, discrete components, microprocessors, to perform other functions) configured to provide input image data to a display device ([0060]);
the display device configured to display an image based on the input image data ([0060]);
and a power supply configured to supply power to the display device, wherein the display device comprises:
a display panel including a plurality of sub-pixels and a plurality of light sensors; and a display panel driver configured to drive the display panel, each of the plurality of sub-pixels is connected to the display panel driver through data lines ([0074] The first thin-film transistor layer TFTL1 may be on the backplane BP. The first thin-film transistor layer TFTL1 may include one or more thin-film transistors for driving each of the subpixels SP. Each of the thin-film transistors of the subpixels SP may include a semiconductor layer, a gate electrode, a drain electrode, and a source electrode. In some embodiments, the first thin-film transistor layer TFTL1 may further include scan lines, data lines, power lines and scan control lines connected to the thin-film transistors of the subpixels SP and may further include routing lines connecting pads and the data lines),
and a display panel driver configured to drive the display panel, each of the plurality of sub-pixels is connected to the display panel driver through data lines (fig.4, 200, 300, SP, DL),
each of the plurality of light sensors (fig. 5, FPS) is connected to the display panel driver (SCU) through a readout line ([0091]), a first element control line (fig.3, control line of TFTL1), and a second element control line (fig.3, control line of TFTL2),
a current corresponding to a light amount of light applied to the light sensor is transmitted to the readout line ([0091]),
wherein the readout line is configured to receive a current corresponding to a light amount of light applied to the light sensor ([0091] light receiving element layer PDL may be at a lower end (or a second end, e.g., a lower surface) of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. An upper end (or one end, e.g., an upper surface) of the light receiving element layer PDL may face the lower end (or the other end, e.g., the lower surface) of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. The light receiving element layer PDL may include light receiving elements connected to the thin-film transistors of the second thin-film transistor layer TFTL2. Each of the light receiving elements may include a first electrode, a light receiving layer, and a second electrode. In some embodiments, the light receiving layer may be an organic light receiving layer including an organic material. When the light receiving layer is an organic light receiving layer, the organic light receiving layer may combine holes and electrons by receiving the second light L2 and converting the energy of the second light L2 into an electrical signal (current or voltage) between the first electrode and the second electrode), and
Cha is silent on an area where the light sensor is formed, a third conductor configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor configuring a portion of the second element control line.
However, Piquette teaches an area where the light sensor is formed (fig. 1), a third conductor (fig.1, 116) configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor (fig.1, where positive terminal of the 128 connected) configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor (fig.1, 118) configuring a portion of the second element control line ([0025] also see fig. 10A, [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Cha in light of Piquette teaching so that it may include an area where the light sensor is formed, a third conductor configuring a portion of the readout line is between a first conductor configuring a portion of the first element control line and a second conductor configuring a portion of the second element control line.
The motivation is to provide a light detector capable of detecting multiple colors of light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-16, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Moon US 20240032806
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625