Double Patenting
A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,337,189. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same essential invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,915. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same essential invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,850,116. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they encompass the same essential invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 , lines 2-5, recites among other things “the determining the activity of the user comprises determining that the user is stationary, and the method further comprises in accordance with the determination that the user is stationary, reducing a brightness of the display,” however, the rewritten description supports no such recitation.
Claim 5, lines 2-5, recites among other things “the determining the activity of the user comprises determining that the user is moving, and the method further comprises in accordance with the determination that the user is moving, increasing a brightness of the display,” however, the rewritten description supports no such recitation.
Corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osterhout et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0309316).
Regarding claim 1, Osterhout et al. disclose a device comprising:
one or more sensors (see any and/or all of the sensors or sensing/detecting elements in [0018], [0022], [0025], [0029], [0036]-[0042], [0045]-[0047], [0053] and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure);
a lighting system adapted to provide a light signal to a user (see for example at least the light/image source(s) associated with the display, see for example [0028], [0071] and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure);
an audio system (comprising a “speaker,” see [0285], [0393], [0502] and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure) adapted to provide an audio signal to the user;
a haptic system adapted to provide a haptic signal to the user (see haptic/vibration actuation [0068], [0362], [0429], [0436] for example); and
one or more processors (see the processor and/or processing unit in abstract, [0026]-[0029], [0224] for example and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure) adapted to perform a method comprising:
presenting a stimulus, wherein the presenting the stimulus comprises one or more of:
presenting, to the user via the lighting system, a light signal (see for example [0311], [0542], [0759], for example and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure) comprising a component at a first frequency;
presenting, to the user via the audio system, an audio signal (see for example [0391], [0396], [0456], for example and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure) comprising a component at the first frequency; and
presenting, to the user via the haptic system, a haptic signal user (see haptic/vibration actuation [0068], [0362], [0429], [0436] for example and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure) comprising a component at the first frequency,
wherein the stimulus is configured to cause changes in the user's brain by reinforcing a brain communication frequency (see [0455]-[0456] for example);
determining, via the one or more sensors, a response of the user to the stimulus (many instances including gps tracking in response to light stimulation for directional target, movement in response to the light stimuli to move, etc.); and
adjusting a level of one or more of the light signal, the audio signal, and the haptic signal based on the response (see [0020], [0064]-[0066], [0313]-[0317] for example and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure).
Regarding claims 2-3, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0024], [0037]-[0039], [0353], [0355]-[0356] for example many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure).
Regarding claims 6-7, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0087] and [0372]).
Regarding claim 8, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0479], [0517], [0524], for example many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure).
Regarding claims 9-10, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see figure 7).
Regarding claims 12-13, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0087]).
Regarding claim 14, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0087], [0313]-[0314]).
Regarding claim 15, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0025], [0050]-[0051], [0080], for example many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure).
Regarding claim 16, Osterhout et al. disclose a method comprising:
presenting a stimulus, wherein the presenting the stimulus comprises one or more of:
presenting, to the user via a lighting system of a wearable device, a light signal comprising a component at a first frequency (see for example [0311], [0542], [0759], for example and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure);
presenting, to the user via an audio system of the wearable device, an audio signal comprising a component at the first frequency (see for example [0391], [0396], [0456], for example and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure); and
presenting, to the user via a haptic system of the wearable device, a haptic signal comprising a component at the first frequency (see haptic/vibration actuation [0068], [0362], [0429], [0436] for example and many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure),
wherein the stimulus is configured to cause changes in the user's brain by reinforcing a brain communication frequency (see [0455]-[0456] for example);
determining, via one or more sensors of the wearable device, a response of the user to the stimulus (many instances including gps tracking in response to light stimulation for directional target, movement in response to the light stimuli to move, etc.); and
adjusting a level of one or more of the light signal, the audio signal, and the haptic signal based on the response (see [0553], [0604], for example).
Regarding claim 17, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0024], [0037]-[0039], [0353], [0355]-[0356] for example many other instances disclosed throughout 225 pages of the disclosure).
Regarding claims 18-19, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0087] and [0372]).
Regarding claim 20, Osterhout et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0087], [0313]-[0314]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterhout et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0309316) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Edgerton et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0296752).
Regarding claim 11, Osterhout et al. also disclose the use of the device for and during therapy (see [0442], and [0472]) but fail to recite the stimulation frequency of 40 hz,
Like Osterhout et al., Edgerton et al. disclose device placed on the user and teach providing stimulation having the frequency of 40 hz (see Table 1, [0071], and [0077]) in order to provide a known and workable manner of providing a therapeutic effect to the user.
Therefore, at the time of the of invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Osterhout et al., as taught by Edgerton et al., to provide a known and workable manner of providing a therapeutic effect to the user.
Conclusion
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792