DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 2, “injecting grooves is columnar and long groove” should say “injecting grooves is a columnar and long groove” for the purposes of claim language consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that the claims are directed to an apparatus/a system and therefore are only limited by positively recited elements. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Furthermore, it is well settled that the intended uses of and the particular material used in an apparatus have no significance in determining patentability of apparatus claims. A recitation with respect to manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims. In other words, the process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2114 (II) and 2115 for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “long groove” in line 2. The term “long” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of the term “long” renders the shape of the groove indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the upper board” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “long groove” in line 4. The term “long” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of the term “long” renders the shape of the groove indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitations “the upper board”, “the lower board” and “the two adjacent boards” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “long groove” in line 2. The term “long” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of the term “long” renders the shape of the groove indefinite.
The dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lister et al. (WO 9951413 A1 from IDS filed on 01/20/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Lister discloses a layered mold (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; mold block assembly 84) for a decorative sheet (Fig. 16; decorative article 200 is sheet-shaped), comprising:
a first mold (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; mold plate 62) having a first mold body (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; mold plate 62 and hardened portion 79), wherein the first mold body has an opening surface (Fig. 12; top surface of mold plate 62);
the opening surface has an edge (Fig. 12; outside edge of mold plate 62);
an injecting area (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 3rd ¶; surface of hardened portions 79 receives injecting molding material) is formed on the opening surface and has a peripheral edge (Fig. 12; outside edge of hardened portion 79), wherein the peripheral edge encloses in a closed shape (Fig. 12);
a plurality of injecting grooves (Fig. 12; Pg. 14, 2nd ¶; cavities 78 include a plurality of holes) are formed in the injecting area;
each of the plurality of injecting grooves forms an injecting opening (Fig. 12; Pg. 14, 2nd ¶) in the injecting area;
and a second mold (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; mold fence 82) has a second mold body (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; mold fence 82), wherein the second mold body has an engaging surface (Fig. 12; bottom surface of mold fence 82);
a through hole (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; central mold opening 85) is formed in the second mold body and penetrates through the engaging surface (Fig. 12);
the through hole has a side wall (Fig. 12; one of the interior walls of mold fence 82);
a shape formed through the side wall surrounding is identical to a shape of the peripheral edge (Fig. 12; shape of interior walls of mold fence 82 corresponds to outside edges of hardened portion 79);
when the second mold is engaged with the first mold, the engaging surface faces the opening surface and abuts against the opening surface (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶), the side wall surrounds the peripheral edge of the injecting area, and the through hole communicates with the plurality of injecting openings (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶).
Regarding claim 2, Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of injecting grooves is a columnar and long groove (Fig. 12, 15; Pg. 12, 3rd ¶; cavities 78 include a plurality of holes, which are cylindrical column shaped); one of two opposite ends of each of the plurality of injecting grooves is a closed end (Fig. 12, 15; bottom end of hole) and the other end of each of the plurality of injecting grooves forms each of the plurality of injecting openings (Fig. 12, 15; top end of hole is the opening that receives the injected molding material); each of the plurality of injecting grooves has a central axis (Fig. 12, 15), wherein the plurality of central axes are parallel (Fig. 12, 15) and are respectively perpendicular to the opening surface (Fig. 12, 15).
Regarding claim 5, Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first mold body comprises at least two boards (Fig. 12; mold plate 62 and hardened portions 79); the at least two boards are stacked in an up-down direction (Fig. 12; hardened portions 79 is stacked on mold plate 62 in a vertical direction); the opening surface is formed on an upper board of the at least two boards (Fig. 12; top surface is formed on hardened portion 79 on top of mold plate 62); each of the plurality of injecting grooves is a columnar and long groove (Fig. 12, 15; Pg. 12, 3rd ¶; cavities 78 include a plurality of holes, which are cylindrical column shaped); one of two opposite ends of each of the plurality of injecting grooves is a closed end (Fig. 12, 15; bottom end of hole) and the other end of each of the plurality of injecting grooves forms each of the plurality of injecting openings (Fig. 12, 15; top end of hole is the opening that receives the injected molding material); the plurality of injecting openings extend into the upper board or penetrate through at least one of the at least two boards (Fig. 12, 15; plurality of holes extend into hardened portion 79); each of the closed ends is located in one of the at least two boards (Fig. 12, 15; bottom end of each hole is in hardened portion 79 or mold plate 62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lister et al. (WO 9951413 A1 from IDS filed on 01/20/2026) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Etsy Custom Word Wavy Silicone Mold (NPL 1).
Regarding claim 3, Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 2.
While Lister discloses the molding fence 82, corresponding to the second mold body, can be configured as different shapes (Pg. 14, 1st ¶), Lister does not explicitly disclose the shape formed through the side wall surrounding is S-shaped and a shape of the peripheral edge of the injecting area is S-shaped.
However, it is well-known in the art of molding to configure the shape of the mold in order to produce articles of the desired shape. In the analogous art, Etsy Custom Word Wavy Silicone Mold teaches a mold with S-shaped sidewalls.
Lister and Etsy Custom Word Wavy Silicone Mold are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of molding assemblies for decorative articles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the shape of the molding assembly of Lister with the teachings of Etsy Custom Word Wavy Silicone Mold to provide the shape formed through the side wall surrounding is S-shaped and a shape of the peripheral edge of the injecting area is S-shaped. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the manufacture of a greater variety of decorative articles.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lister et al. (WO 9951413 A1 from IDS filed on 01/20/2026) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Moll et al. (US 20190381740 A1; hereafter Moll).
Regarding claim 4, Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second mold body has a top surface (Fig. 12; top surface of mold fence 82); the top surface and the engaging surface are respectively formed on two opposite sides of the second mold body (Fig. 12; top surface and bottom surface are on opposite sides of mold fence 82).
Lister does not disclose a convex ring is formed at a peripheral edge of an end of the through hole away from the engaging surface and extends away from the top surface.
However, in the analogous art Moll teaches a mold body (Fig. 3C, 3D; [0027]; second stencil plate 106) with a convex ring (Fig. 3C, 3D; [0030]; flange portion 46) formed at a peripherical edge of a through hole away (Fig. 3C, 3D; [0030]; openings 112) away from a bottom surface of the mold (Fig. 3C, 3D; [0030]; bottom surface of second stencil plate 106), wherein the convex ring extends away from a top surface of the mold body (Fig. 3C, 3D; [0030]).
Lister and Moll are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of molding assemblies for decorative articles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the molding assembly of Lister with the teachings of Moll to provide a convex ring is formed at a peripheral edge of an end of the through hole away from the engaging surface and extends away from the top surface. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would aid in preventing “sticking” when demolding the decorative article from the molding assembly (Moll [0030]).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lister et al. (WO 9951413 A1 from IDS filed on 01/20/2026) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lau (GB2200865A).
Regarding claim 6, Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first mold body is a board (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; mold plate 62 and hardened portion 79); the injecting area is formed on a middle portion of the opening surface (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 3rd ¶; surface of hardened portions 79 receives injecting molding material in the middle); the second mold body is a board (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; mold fence 82 is considered a board under broadest reasonable interpretation); the through hole penetrates through a middle portion of the engaging surface (Fig. 12; Pg. 13, 2nd ¶; central mold opening 85).
Lister does not disclose a plurality of positioning pin holes are formed on an outer periphery of the opening surface; a plurality of positioning pins are connected to an outer periphery of the engaging surface; when the second mold is engaged with the first mold, each of the plurality of positioning pins is inserted into each of the plurality of positioning pin holes for positioning.
However, in the analogous art Lau teaches a mold assembly (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 6, 1st ¶) comprising a plurality of stacked mold boards (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 6, 1st ¶; stacked block molds), wherein a first mold board (Fig. 1; Pg. 10, 1st ¶; top block 20) has a plurality of positioning pins (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 16, 2nd ¶; pin means 90) connected to an outer periphery of an engaging surface (Fig. 1; bottom surface of top block 20) and a second mold board (Fig. 1; Pg. 10, 1st ¶; bottom cavity block 24) has a plurality of positioning pin holes (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 16, 2nd ¶; bush means 92) formed on an outer periphery of an opening surface (Fig. 1; upper surface of bottom cavity block 24). When the first mold board is stacked on the second mold board, the plurality of positioning pins are inserted into each of the plurality of positioning pin holes for positioning (Fig. 1).
Lister and Lau are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of stacked block/board molding assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the molding assembly of Lister with the teachings of Lau to provide a plurality of positioning pin holes are formed on an outer periphery of the opening surface; a plurality of positioning pins are connected to an outer periphery of the engaging surface; when the second mold is engaged with the first mold, each of the plurality of positioning pins is inserted into each of the plurality of positioning pin holes for positioning. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would guarantee a secure engagement of the mold bodies and guide their movement in a vertical direction (Lau Pg. 16, 2nd ¶).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 6, wherein Lister further discloses the first mold body comprises at least two boards (Fig. 12; mold plate 62 and hardened portions 79); the at least two boards stacked in an up-down direction (Fig. 12; hardened portions 79 is stacked on mold plate 62 in a vertical direction); the opening surface is formed on an upper board of the at least two boards (Fig. 12; top surface is formed on hardened portion 79 on top of mold plate 62); a lower board (Fig. 12; mold plate 62) of two adjacent boards of the at least two boards in the up-down direction has a board top surface (Fig. 12; top surface of mold plate 62).
Lister does not disclose a plurality of positioning grooves are formed on an outer periphery of the board top surface; a plurality of positioning pieces are connected to an outer periphery of the board bottom surface; each of the plurality of positioning pieces is inserted into each of the plurality of positioning grooves for positioning.
However, in the analogous art Lau teaches a mold assembly (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 6, 1st ¶) comprising a plurality of stacked mold boards (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 6, 1st ¶; stacked block molds), wherein a first mold board (Fig. 1; Pg. 10, 1st ¶; top block 20) has a plurality of positioning pins (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 16, 2nd ¶; pin means 90) connected to an outer periphery of an engaging surface (Fig. 1; bottom surface of top block 20) and a second mold board (Fig. 1; Pg. 10, 1st ¶; bottom cavity block 24) has a plurality of positioning pin holes (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 16, 2nd ¶; bush means 92) formed on an outer periphery of an opening surface (Fig. 1; upper surface of bottom cavity block 24). When the first mold board is stacked on the second mold board, the plurality of positioning pins are inserted into each of the plurality of positioning pin holes for positioning (Fig. 1).
Lister and Lau are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of stacked block/board molding assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the molding assembly of modified Lister with the teachings of Lau to provide a plurality of positioning grooves are formed on an outer periphery of the board top surface; a plurality of positioning pieces are connected to an outer periphery of the board bottom surface; each of the plurality of positioning pieces is inserted into each of the plurality of positioning grooves for positioning. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would guarantee a secure engagement of the mold bodies and guide their movement in a vertical direction (Lau Pg. 16, 2nd ¶).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 7, wherein Lister further discloses each of the plurality of injecting grooves is a columnar and long groove (Fig. 12, 15; Pg. 12, 3rd ¶; cavities 78 include a plurality of holes, which are cylindrical column shaped); one of two opposite ends of each of the plurality of injecting grooves is a closed end (Fig. 12, 15; bottom end of hole) and the other end of each of the plurality of injecting grooves forms each of the plurality of injecting openings (Fig. 12, 15; top end of hole is the opening that receives the injected molding material); the plurality of injecting grooves extend into the upper board or penetrate through at least one of the at least two boards (Fig. 12, 15; plurality of holes extend into hardened portion 79); each of the closed ends is located in one of the at least two boards (Fig. 12, 15; bottom end of each hole is in hardened portion 79 or mold plate 62).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 8, wherein Lister further discloses the second mold is engaged with the first mold in an opening and closing direction (Fig. 12; mold fence 82 stacks onto mold plate 62 and hardened portions 79 in a vertical direction); the first mold body comprises two boards (Fig. 12; mold plate 62 and hardened portions 79), wherein the two boards are stacked in the opening and closing direction (Fig. 12; hardened portions 79 is stacked on mold plate 62 in a vertical direction).
Lister does not explicitly disclose a length of the upper board of the two boards in the opening and closing direction is less than a length of the lower board of the two boards in the opening and closing direction.
However, in the analogous art Lau teaches a mold assembly (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 6, 1st ¶) comprising a plurality of stacked mold boards (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 6, 1st ¶; stacked block molds), wherein a first upper mold board (Fig. 1; Pg. 10, 1st ¶; bottom cavity block 24) has a length in the opening and closing direction that is less than a length of a second lower mold board (Fig. 1; Pg. 10, 1st ¶; bottom cover block 26) in an opening and closing direction (Fig. 1; 24 has less thickness than 26 in the vertical direction).
Lister and Lau are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of stacked block/board molding assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the molding assembly of modified Lister with the teachings of Lau to provide a length of the upper board of the two boards in the opening and closing direction is less than a length of the lower board of the two boards in the opening and closing direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the thickness of the boards to allow for the manufacture of a greater variety of decorative articles.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lister et al. (WO 9951413 A1 from IDS filed on 01/20/2026) and Lau (GB2200865A) as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Siemens (AT267709B; page and paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lister discloses the layered mold for the decorative sheet as claimed in claim 9, wherein Lau already teaches in the rejection of claim 8 that the plurality of positioning pin holes are formed on the upper board (Fig. 1, 2; Pg. 16, 2nd ¶; bush means 92 in bottom cavity block 24).
Modified Lister does not explicitly disclose a position of each of the plurality of positioning pin holes formed on the upper board corresponds to a position of each of the plurality of positioning pieces connected to the upper board in the up-down direction.
However, in the analogous art Siemens teaches a mold assembly (Fig. 1; Pg. 1, 1st ¶; multi-part mold) comprising a plurality of stacked mold boards (Fig. 1; Pg. 5, last ¶; stacked frames 3), wherein each stacked mold board has a plurality of positioning pin holes (Fig. 6; Pg. 7, 2nd ¶; recess 15) and positioning pieces (Fig. 6; Pg. 7, 2nd ¶; pin 14) arranged at an outer periphery (Fig. 6). The plurality of positioning pin holes and positioning pieces connect to respect adjacent positioning pin holes and positioning pieces (Fig. 8).
Lister and Siemens are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of stacked block/board molding assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the molding assembly of modified Lister with the teachings of Siemens to provide a position of each of the plurality of positioning pin holes formed on the upper board corresponds to a position of each of the plurality of positioning pieces connected to the upper board in the up-down direction. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would ensure the mold boards are securely stacked (Siemens Pg. 3, last ¶).
Conclusion
/VIPUL MALIK/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754