DETAILED ACTION
SUMMARY
2. RCE of the patent application submitted on July 24, 2026, has been received and recorded. In response to Final Office Action mailed on May 05, 2026, applicant amended independent claims 1, 10, 18 and dependent claim 2. Dependent claims 3-9, and 11-17 are maintained. NO claim has been cancelled and/or added as new claim after the Final Office Action. Therefore, claims 1-18 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments in "Remarks" submitted on June 23, 2026, with respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 18 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection as necessitated by applicant's amendment. However, regarding applicant’s arguments in REMARKS “Accordingly, if any synchronization of signals of the touch-sensing electrodes 251 and 252/alleged "first touch electrodes" and "second touch electrodes" as allegedly disclosed by Chen, is applied to the X electrode and Y electrode of Kawaguchi, consequently, no push operation would be able to be determined, and, as a result, no operation signal would be outputted, thereby frustrating a principle of operation of Kawaguchi-determining pressing by the finger f. Therefore, one skilled in the art would not be motivated to combine the cited portions of Chen and Kawaguchi to arrive at "the second touch electrodes and the first touch electrodes are configured to receive a same voltage in a non-touch section of a frame when an amount of change in capacitance between the first touch electrodes and the second touch electrodes is equal to or greater than a reference amount of change," as now recited in claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 10 and 18”, examiner would like to mention that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Furthermore, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, “the cited portions of Kawaguchi fail to disclose, or otherwise suggest, applying any same voltage to any X electrode and Y electrode based on any change in capacitance of the capacitive elements 51Da or 51Db being equal to or above any threshold value at all, much less during any alleged non-touch section. Instead, the portion of Kawaguchi that is combined with the alleged non-touch section of Chen is, conversely, during an operation when a touch occurs (e.g., during a pressing operation)” the examiner would like to mention that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee et al.(US 2013/0335343 A1)(herein after Lee) in view of Chen et al.(US 2024/0168324 A1)(herein after Chen) and further in view of Kawaguchi et al.(US 2013/0194230 A1)(herein after Kawaguchi).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a display device(display device with an integrated in-cell type touch screen, Para-3) comprising:
a touch panel(touch screen 110, fig.2, Para-37) comprising first touch electrodes(driving electrodes 112, or sensing electrodes 114) arranged in a first direction(horizontal or vertical direction), and second touch electrodes(sensing electrodes 114, or driving electrodes 112) arranged in a second direction (vertical or horizontal direction) crossing the first direction (fig.2, Para 36-42); and
a touch panel driver(touch IC 300, fig.2, Para-49) configured to provide touch-driving signals to the first touch electrodes(driving electrodes 112, fig.2, Para-45), and to receive touch-sensing signals corresponding to the touch-driving signals from the second touch electrodes(sensing electrodes 114, fig.2, Para-45),
Nevertheless, Lee is not found to teach expressly the display device, wherein the second touch electrodes and the first touch electrodes are configured to receive a same voltage in a non-touch section of a frame, the non-touch section being a period of time in which no touch is detected.
However, Chen teaches a decoration panel and display apparatus, wherein the second touch electrodes(first touch-sensing electrodes 251 or second touch-sensing electrodes 252) and the first touch electrodes(second touch-sensing electrodes 252 or first touch-sensing electrodes 251, fig.8, Para-67) are configured to receive a same voltage in a non-touch section of a frame, the non-touch section being a period of time in which no touch is detected(figs.25-26, Para-84: during the operation in the transparent mode in a non-touch-sensing period t2 following the touch-sensing period t1, the potentials of the first touch-sensing electrodes 251F/ 251G/251H, the second touch-sensing electrodes 252F/252G/252H, the first dummy electrodes 253-1/253-1G/253-1H, and the second dummy electrodes 253-2/253-2G/253-2H are substantially the same).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified Lee with the teaching of Chen to include the feature in order to provide a decorative panel and display apparatus that displays or not displays decorative pictures according to user choice.
Neither Lee nor Chen teaches expressly the display device, wherein the touch panel driver is configured to operate when the amount of the change in the capacitance is equal to or greater than the reference amount of the change.
However, Kawaguchi teaches an electronic device,
wherein the touch panel driver(processing device) configured to operate in a second mode(push state, Para-267) when an amount of the change in the capacitance is equal to or greater than the reference amount of the change(ST102, YES, ST106, fig.41).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified Lee further with the teaching of Kawaguchi to include the feature in order to provide an electronic apparatus that have a simple configuration and are capable of detecting not only a touch operation of an operating element and but also a push operation.
Regarding claim 2, Lee as modified by Chen and Kawaguchi teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the touch panel driver(display driver IC 200, touch IC 300, fig.2, Lee; processing device p, fig.3, Para-110, Kawaguchi) is configured to operate in a first mode(touch state) when the amount of change in the capacitance between the first touch electrodes and the second touch electrodes is less than the reference amount of change(ST 102, NO, ST103-ST105, fig.41, Para-265, 266, Kawaguchi), to operate in a second mode when the amount of the change in the capacitance is equal to or greater than the reference amount of the change(push state, Para-267, Kawaguchi), and to apply the same voltage to the second touch electrodes and to the first touch electrodes in the non-touch section of the second mode(Para-45, Lee) (display driving mode session) (transparent mode, figs.25-26, Para-84, 86, Chen).
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified by Chen and Kawaguchi teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the touch panel driver(driver 310, touch IC 300, fig.3, Lee) is configured to apply a reference voltage to the second touch electrodes in the touch section of the second mode and in the first mode (fig.8, Para-45, 86, Lee).
Regarding claim 4, Lee as modified by Chen and Kawaguchi teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first touch electrodes are configured to receive a ground voltage in the non-touch section(Para-86, Lee; Para-84, 86, Chen).
Regarding claim 9, Lee as modified by Chen and Kawaguchi teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the touch panel driver is configured to apply a reference voltage to the second touch electrodes and to the first touch electrodes in the non-touch section of the second mode(Para-86, Lee; Para-84, 86, Chen).
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 2, since both claims 2 and 10 recite identical claim limitations except claims are presented in different formats.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claims 2 and 3, since claim 11 recites limitations in different formats and in a broader way as presented in claims 2 and 3.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 4, since both claims 4 and 12 recite identical claim limitations except different formats.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claims 2 and 4, since claim 17 recites limitations in different formats and in a broader way as presented in claims 2 and 4(ground voltage is regarded as reference voltage).
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1 since both claims 1 and 18 recite identical claim limitations. The additional claim limitation, “an electronic device(display device with an integrated in-cell type touch screen, Para-3) comprising: a processor(display driver IC 200, fig.2) to provide input image data(Para-46); and a display device(display device with integrated touch screen) to display an image based on the input image data(fig.2, Para-46)” are disclosed by Lee as mapped.
8. Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al.(US 2013/0335343 A1), Chen et al.(US 2024/0168324 A1), Kawaguchi et al.(US 2013/0194230 A1) and further in view of Chen et al.(US 2018/0314356 A1)(herein after Chen’356).
Regarding claim 5, Lee as modified by Chen and Kawaguchi teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the touch panel driver comprises a signal receiver(sensing unit 320, fig.4, Para-68, Lee), the signal receiver comprising:
an amplifier(operational amplifier 322, fig.4, Para-68, Lee) comprising a first input terminal(inverting input terminal, Para-72), a second input terminal(non-inverting input terminal, Para-72), and an output terminal(output terminal, fig.4, Para-72) connected to at least one of the second touch electrodes (sensing electrode 114);
Nevertheless, Lee as modified by Chen and Kawaguchi is not found to teach expressly the display device comprising: a first switch comprising a first terminal connected to the first input terminal of the amplifier, and a second terminal connected to the output terminal of the amplifier; and a capacitor comprising a first electrode connected to the first input terminal of the amplifier, and a second electrode connected to the output terminal of the amplifier, and wherein the second input terminal of the amplifier is configured to selectively receive one of the ground voltage or the reference voltage.
However, Chen’356 teaches a display device for sensing a stylus, comprises:
a signal receiver(touch sensing unit 20, fig.1, Para-25), the signal receiver comprising:
an amplifier(223, fig.4B, Para-29) comprising a first input terminal(“-“ terminal), a second input terminal(“+” terminal), and an output terminal(O/P) connected to at least one of the second touch electrodes(fig.4B);
a first switch(second switch Sfb, fig.4B, Para-29) comprising a first terminal connected to the first input terminal of the amplifier(“-“, fig.4B), and a second terminal connected to the output terminal(O/P) of the amplifier(223); and
a capacitor(capacitor Cfb, fig.4B, Para-29) comprising a first electrode connected to the first input terminal(“-“, fig.4B) of the amplifier(223), and a second electrode connected to the output terminal(O/P) of the amplifier(223), and wherein the second input terminal(“+“, fig.4B) of the amplifier(223) is configured to selectively(multiplexer 222) receive one of the ground voltage(ground, Para-29) or the reference voltage (Vcom).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified Lee further with the teaching of Chen’356 to include the feature in order to improve touch accuracy of a sensing touch object.
Regarding claim 6, Lee as modified by Chen, Kawaguchi and Chen’356 teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the touch panel driver is configured to apply the ground voltage to the second input terminal of the amplifier in the non-touch section of the second mode, and to apply the reference voltage to the second input terminal of the amplifier in the touch section of the second mode and in the first mode(Lee as modified by Kawaguchi teaches the first and second different mode with applied reference voltage and Chen’356 uses the multiplexer to apply two different voltages at two different time, therefore their combined teaching would teach the claim limitations as mentioned in claim 6) (see also the rejection of claims 2-5 above).
Regarding claim 7, [Lee as modified by Chen, Kawaguchi and] Chen’356 teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the touch panel driver comprises a signal receiver(20, 22, figs.1, 2B, 4B), the signal receiver comprising:
an amplifier(223) comprising a first input terminal(“-“), a second input terminal(“+”), and an output terminal(O/P) connected to at least one of the second touch electrodes(C23) (Lee also discloses amplifier with three terminals and first input terminal “-“ connected to one of the second electrode 114, figs.4 &6), or configured to receive the ground voltage;
a first switch(second switch Sfb, fig.4B, Para-29) comprising a first terminal connected to the first input terminal(“-“) of the amplifier, and a second terminal connected to the output (O/P) terminal of the amplifier(223); and
a capacitor(capacitor Cfb, fig.4B, Para-29) comprising a first electrode connected to the first input terminal(“-“) of the amplifier(223), and a second electrode connected to the output terminal(O/P) of the amplifier(223)(for motivation, see the rejection of claim 5 above).
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 5, since both claims 5 and 13 recite identical claim limitations except different formats.
Regarding claim 14, Lee as modified by Chen, Kawaguchi and Chen’356 teaches the method for driving the display device of claim 13, further comprising:
applying the ground voltage(ground, fig.2B, Para-29, Chen) to the second input terminal(+) of the amplifier(amplifier 223, fig.2B, Para-29, Chen) in the non-touch section when the amount of the change of the capacitance is equal to or greater than the reference amount of the change(ST102, YES, ST106, fig.41, Para-267, Kawaguchi),
applying the reference voltage(common voltage Vcom, fig.2B, Para-29, Kawaguchi) to the second input terminal(+) of the amplifier(amplifier 223, fig.2B, Para-29, Chen) in the touch section when the amount of the change of the capacitance is equal to or greater than the reference amount of the change (ST102, YES, ST106, fig.41, Para-267, Kawaguchi), and
applying the reference voltage(common voltage Vcom, fig.2B, Para-29, Kawaguchi) to the second input terminal(+) of the amplifier(amplifier 223, fig.2B, Para-29, Chen) when the amount of the change of the capacitance is less than the reference amount of the change(ST 102, NO, ST103-ST105, fig.41, Para-265, 266, Kawaguchi)(for motivation, see the rejection of claims 2&5).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 7, since both claims 7 and 15 recite identical claim limitations except different formats.
9. Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al.(US 2013/0335343 A1), Chen et al.(US 2024/0168324 A1), Kawaguchi et al.(US 2013/0194230 A1), Chen et al.(US 2018/0314356 A1) and further in view of Chan et al.(US 2012/0169657 A1)(herein after Chan).
Regarding claim 8, Lee as modified by Chen, Kawaguchi and Chen’356 is not found to teach expressly the display device of claim 7, wherein the touch panel driver is configured to apply the ground voltage to the first input terminal of the amplifier in the non-touch section of the second mode, and to connect the first input terminal of the amplifier to the at least one of the second touch electrodes in the touch section of the second mode and in the first mode.
However, Chan teaches a touch sensing apparatus, wherein the touch panel driver(logic control module 10, driving/sensing control module 30, fig.1, Para-17, 19) is configured to apply the ground voltage(fig.2) to the first input terminal(it is obvious that buffer/amplifier has negative terminal and positive terminal and first terminal is regarded as negative terminal) of the amplifier(buffer A1, fig.2, Para-28) in the non-touch section of the second mode(Para-30)(SW1 and SW3 are open and SW2 closed), and
Fig.8(Claim invention) fig.2(Prior Art)
to connect the first input terminal of the amplifier(buffer A1) to the at least one of the second touch electrodes(S11) in the touch section of the second mode and in the first mode(Para-30: After the analog data is stored in the storage capacitor C1, the logic control module 10 controls the storage switch SW3 to be deactivated (i.e. in open state) and controls the ground switch SW2 to be activated (i.e. in closed state), so that the conductive thin film sensor 100 executes the discharge process, releasing the residual charge of the conductive thin film sensor 100. When the discharge process is completed, the logic control module 10 controls the sensing switch SW1 to be deactivated).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified Lee further with the teaching of Chan to include the feature in order to provide a mutual capacitance touch sensing apparatus capable of sensing a plurality of data from a conductive thin film sensor simultaneously and avoiding noise of a liquid crystal panel from influencing the sensing data.
Regarding claim 16, Lee as modified by Chen, Kawaguchi, Chen’356 and Chan teaches the method for driving the display device of claim 15, further comprising:
applying the ground voltage(fig.2, Chan) to the first input terminal(it is obvious that buffer/amplifier has negative terminal and positive terminal and first terminal is regarded as inverted terminal) of the amplifier(buffer A1, fig.2, Para-29, Chan) in the non-touch section, and connecting the first input terminal of the amplifier to the at least one of the second touch electrodes(S11, fig.2, Para-29, Chan), in the touch section when the amount of the change in the capacitance is equal to or greater than the reference amount of the change (ST102, YES, ST106, fig.41, Para-267, Kawaguchi), and
connecting the first input terminal of the amplifier(it is obvious that buffer/amplifier has negative terminal and positive terminal and first terminal is regarded as inverted terminal) to the at least one of the second touch electrodes(S11) in the touch section when the amount of the change in the capacitance is less than the reference amount of the change(ST 102, NO, ST103-ST105, fig.41, Para-265, 266, Kawaguchi)(for motivation, see the rejection of claims 2&8 above).
Examiner Note
10. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the references or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact
/MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626