DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on April 24, 2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 9, “a first transistor” should be changed to --the first transistor--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 13-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olson et al. (US 2014/0361687).
With respect to claim 1, Olson discloses in figure 4 a brake light modulation device configured for installation in a brake line circuit (10, e.g., a vehicle baking circuit) of a vehicle (see paragraph 0043, e.g., “the vehicle brakes are applied, the supply line and return line of the vehicle braking circuit 10”), the brake line circuit including a supply line (14, e.g., a supply line) and a return line (16, e.g., a return line), the brake light modulation device comprising: a first lead (J1, e.g., a first lead), a second lead (J2, e.g., a second lead) and a third lead (J3, e.g., a third lead), wherein an input path (having a input path via a brake signal line or a supply line 14) is connected to the first lead (see figure 4), an output path (having an output path between a current sense 1 and the second lead J2 thereof) is connected to the second lead, and a ground connection (GND) is provided at the third lead (see figure 4); an input current detector (40, e.g., a current sensor) connected to the input path (see figure 4), the input current detector configured to detect a magnitude of a current applied to the input line (figure 4 shows the current sensor 40 to measure or sense the input current thereof); an output transistor (50, e.g., a transistor 1 formed as an output transistor applied to a brake lamp 12 thereof) arranged in the output path (see figure 4); a shunt transistor (52, e.g., a shunt transistor) arranged in a shunt path (54, e.g., a shunt path) extending between a shunt node (N) and the third lead (GND/J3/16), the shunt node connecting the input path to the output path (see figure 4); and a controller (30, e.g., a microcontroller) configured to: receive a current signal (S1-S2) from the input current detector (see figure 4), the current signal indicative of the magnitude of the current applied to the input line during a vehicle braking event including during an initial time period of the vehicle braking event (figure 3 shows an initial time period or cycle during a vehicle braking state thereof), and provide control signals (S3-S4, e.g., control signals) to the output transistor and the shunt transistor (see figure 4), the control signals configured to (i) modulate an output current delivered through to the output path at the second lead after the initial time period during the vehicle braking event (figures 3-4 shows the control signal S4 to control the output transistor to modulate an output current to the second lead J2 to drive the lamp 12 thereof) and (ii) maintain the magnitude of the current applied to the input line after the initial time period such that the magnitude of the current applied to the input line remains constant during the vehicle braking event (see paragraph 0069, e.g., “remains substantially constant during the first and second time periods”).
With respect to claim 2, Olson discloses that further comprising an input voltage detector (R8-R5, e.g., formed as a voltage divider or detector thereof) connected between the first lead and the third lead (see figure 5), the input voltage detector configured to detect a voltage applied between the first lead and the third lead (see figure 5), the controller further configured to receive a voltage signal (at terminal 1 of the controller 130) from the input voltage detector, the voltage signal indicative of an input voltage detected between the input path and the ground connection (see figure 5).
With respect to claim 5, Olson discloses that further comprising a capacitor (C1-C3) connected to the controller and configured to store a voltage representative of the magnitude of the current applied to the brake line circuit of the vehicle (see figure 5).
With respect to claim 6, Olson discloses that wherein the shunt transistor is a Darlington transistor (Q2) and the controller is configured to deliver a control signal (S3) to a base of the Darlington transistor to control current flowing through the shunt path (see figures 4-5).
With respect to claim 7, Olson discloses that wherein the output transistor is a first MOSFET (Q1), wherein a gate of the first MOSFET is connected to a drain of a second MOSFET (Q2), wherein the controller is configured to deliver the control signal to a gate of the second MOSFET in order to activate the second MOSFET and control current flowing through the first MOSFET (see figures 4-5).
With respect to claim 8, Olson discloses that wherein the controller is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) device (see figure 5).
With respect to claim 9, Olson discloses that wherein the shunt path includes the shunt transistor, a diode and at least one transistor (see figure 5, e.g., having a shunt path 154).
With respect to claim 10, Olson discloses that wherein the brake light modulation device is retained within a housing with the first lead, second lead and third lead extending out of the housing (see figures 7-9).
With respect to claim 13, Olson discloses that wherein the control signals configured to modulate the output current include control signals for a plurality of on-intervals and a plurality of off-intervals, wherein each off-interval is further defined by sub-modulation during said off-interval (see figure 3, e.g., having a PWM signal including ON or OFF intervals thereof).
With respect to claim 14, Olson discloses in figure 4 a brake light modulation device configured for installation in a brake line circuit (10, e.g., a vehicle baking circuit) of a vehicle (see paragraph 0043, e.g., “the vehicle brakes are applied, the supply line and return line of the vehicle braking circuit 10”), the brake line circuit including a supply line (14, e.g., a supply line) and a return line (16, e.g., a return line), the brake light modulation device comprising: a first lead (J1, e.g., a first lead), a second lead (J2, e.g., a second lead) and a third lead (J3, e.g., a third lead), wherein an input path (14, e.g., a brake signal line or an input path thereof) is connected to the first lead (see figure 4), an output path (having an output path between a current sense 1 and the second lead J2 thereof) is connected to the second lead (see figure 4), and a ground connection (GND) is provided at the third lead (see figure 4); a first transistor (50, e.g., a first transistor) connected between the first lead and the second lead (see figure 4); a second transistor (52, e.g., a second transistor) connected between the first lead and the third lead (see figure 4); and a controller (30, e.g., a controller) configured to provide control signals (S3-S4) to a first transistor (50) and the second transistor, the control signals configured to modulate an output voltage at the second lead between a plurality of on-intervals and a plurality of off-intervals (figures 3-4 shows the control signal S4 to control the output transistor to modulate an output current to the second lead J2 to drive the lamp 12 thereof), wherein a steady output voltage is provided during the on-intervals, and wherein a sub-modulated output voltage is provided during the off-intervals (see paragraph 0069, e.g., “remains substantially constant during the first and second time periods”).
With respect to claim 15, Olson discloses that wherein the first transistor is an output transistor (50, e.g., a first and an output transistor to provide power to drive the lamp 12 thereof) arranged in the output path and the second transistor is a shunt transistor (52, e.g., a second transistor and a shunt transistor as well) arranged in a shunt path (54) extending between a shunt node (N) and the third lead, the shunt node connecting the input path to the output path (see figure 4).
With respect to claim 16, Olson discloses that further comprising an input current detector (40, e.g., a current sensor) connected to the input path, the input current detector configured to detect a magnitude of a current applied to the input line (see figure 4), wherein the controller is further configured to receive a current signal (S1) from the input current detector (see figure 4), the current signal indicative of the magnitude of the current applied to the input line during a vehicle braking event including during an initial time period of the vehicle braking event (see figure 4).
With respect to claim 17, Olson discloses that wherein the control signals from the controller are further configured to (i) modulate an output current delivered through to the output path at the second lead after the initial time period during the vehicle braking event (figures 3-4 shows the control signal S4 to control the output transistor to modulate an output current to the second lead J2 to drive the lamp 12 thereof) and (ii) maintain the magnitude of the current applied to the input line after the initial time period such that the magnitude of the current applied to the input line remains constant during the vehicle braking event (see paragraph 0069, e.g., “remains substantially constant during the first and second time periods”).
With respect to claim 20, Olson discloses in figure 4 a method controlling illumination of a brake light (12, e.g., a brake lamp) in a brake light circuit (10, e.g., a vehicle baking circuit) of a vehicle (see paragraph 0043, e.g., “the vehicle brakes are applied, the supply line and return line of the vehicle braking circuit 10”), the brake light circuit including the brake light and brake light wiring (14-16, e.g., wiring lines), the brake light wiring including a brake light supply line (14) and a return line (16), the method comprising: cutting (when the output transistor 50 opened) the brake light wiring such that at least one line of the brake light wiring is a severed line (see figure 4), the severed line including a first severed end ( at the terminal J1) and a second severed end (at the terminal J2); connecting a first terminal (J1) of a brake light modulation device (20) to the first severed end; connecting a second terminal (J2) of the brake light modulation device to the second severed end (see figure 4); connecting a third terminal (J3) of the brake light modulation device to the brake light wiring (see figure 4); applying a vehicle brake (when the output transistor 50 closed); and controlling current flow through an output transistor and a shunt transistor (52) in order to modulate illumination of the brake light (see figure 4), wherein said modulation includes on-intervals and off-intervals (see figure 3), wherein controlling current flow through the output transistor and the shunt transistor during the off-intervals includes sub-modulating illumination of the brake light during the off-intervals (figures 3-4 shows the control signal S4 to control the output transistor to modulate an output current to the second lead J2 to drive the lamp 12 thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson et al. (US 2014/0361687) in view of Aoki et al. (US 2021/0076465).
With respect to claim 3, Olson discloses that wherein the input current detector is provided by a sense resistor (R2, e.g., a sense resistor in figure 5).
Olson does not explicitly disclose that the input current detector further comprising a current sense amplifier.
Aoki discloses in figure 1 a light modulation device comprising an input current detector (Rs-16, e.g., formed as a current sensor thereof) is provided by a sense resistor (Rs) and a current sense amplifier (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Olson with an current detector including a resistor and an amplifier as taught by Aoki for the purpose of amplifying the terminal to terminal voltage between the pins of the sense resistor to modulate a current flowing through the light source thereof since this configuration for the stated purpose would have been obvious as evidenced by the teaching of Aoki (see paragraph 0032).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Olson and Aoki disclose that wherein the sense resistor is connected across an inverting input (+) and non-inverting input (-) of the current sense amplifier, and wherein an output of the current sense amplifier is connected to the controller (1, e.g., a controller in figure 1 of Aoki).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson et al. (US 2014/0361687) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2023/0071949).
With respect to claim 11, Olson discloses all claimed limitations, as expressly recited in claim 1, except for specifying that further comprising a temperature sensor, wherein the controller is configured to suspend modulation of the output current when a temperature signal from the temperature sensor exceeds a threshold.
Suzuki discloses in figure 16 a brake light modulation device comprising a temperature sensor (120, e.g., a temperature sensor), wherein a controller (16, e.g., a controller) is configured to suspend modulation of the output current when a temperature signal from the temperature sensor exceeds a threshold (paragraphs 0177-0178, e.g., having temperature sensors 120 for measuring the temperature compared with a set or threshold or reference number thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Olson with a temperature sensor as taught by Suzuki for the purpose of sensing, detecting, monitoring or measuring the temperature to protect the device thereof since this configuration for the stated purpose would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Olson and Suzuki disclose that wherein the controller and temperature sensor are provided on a printed circuit board (200, e.g., a PCB in figure 16 of Suzuki).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson et al. (US 2014/0361687).
With respect to claims 18-19, Olson discloses all claimed limitations, as expressly recited in claim 1, except for specifying that wherein the output voltage is pulse-width-modulated (PWM) with a duty cycle of less than 10% and wherein the output voltage is modulated with a duty cycle of 5% at 102 Hz. However, this difference is not patentable merits since a frequency duty cycle can be selected that depends on a particular environment of use. Thus, to employ the device of Olson with a duty cycle of less than 10% at 102 Hz that would have been deemed obvious to a person skilled in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art Takeda et al. – US 7,456,590
Prior art Polak et al. – US 2010/0102946
/TUNG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 June 22, 2026