DETAILED ACTION
As of the Response to the Restriction Requirement filed on May 28, 2026, claims 1 – 11 are pending. Claims 9 – 11 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group I in the reply filed on May 28, 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1:
The claim recites the clause “heating the gel mixture to prepare a titanium oxide (TiOx) gel from which a peroxotitanic acid precipitate, a peroxide, and water have been removed”. As recited, it is unclear if “from which a peroxotitanic acid precipitate,a peroxide, and water have been removed” is a result of the heating of the gel mixture or intended to recite an additional step that further acts upon the titanium oxide gel prepared from the heating of the recited gel mixture. In other words, does the heating of the gel mixture removes the recited elements as part of the preparation of the titanium oxide gel? Or is there an additional step of removing the recited elements from the titanium oxide gel prepared by the heating of the gel mixture?
Regarding claim 2:
Claim 2 recites the limitation " the peroxide aqueous solution is added in a divided manner". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner notes that the limitation as presented is not necessarily a part of the express “(S10)” step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YYY.
Akui et al. US 20040244648 A1 (hereinafter “Akui”) and Ichinose US 6602918 B1 (hereinafter “Ichinose”).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8:
Akui is directed to a method of preparing a coating composition for forming a titanium oxide film, and a process of coating a metal substrate with the coating composition (Abstract). Akui discloses that their method comprises:
providing an aqueous solution of a titanium hydroxide or a titanium alkoxide, e.g. titanium tetraisopropoxide and mixing the aqueous solution with aqueous hydrogen peroxide ([0019], [0060], [0064], [0068], [0139], [0143] – [0144]);
heating and aging the mixture at a temperature of 60°C and optionally further to 95°C, thus resulting in a liquid having a solid content of 2% [containing precipitants] to form a titanium-containing aqueous liquid [titanium oxide gel] ([0143] – [0144]);
mixing an amount of the titanium-containing aqueous liquid with additional deionized water [solvent] and an acid to form a coating composition ([0148] – [0153]);
applying the coating composition onto substrates such as aluminum sheets ([0009] – [0010], [0014], [0035] – [0037], [0041], [0123] – [0134], [0156]); and
heating and drying the applied coating composition [heat treatment] at a temperature of e.g. 20 to 250°C ([0132], [0156], [0164]).
Akui does not expressly teach, in view of the indefiniteness of the claims, a titanium oxide gel where a peroxytitanic acid precipitate, a peroxide and water has been removed.
Ichinose is directed to a process of producing a titanium oxide-forming solutions (Abstract). Ichinose discloses that the solutions are prepared by adding hydrogen peroxide solution to titanium-containing starting aqueous solutions to form peroxytitanium complexes [peroxytitanic acid], forming a precipitate [gel] of peroxotitanium hydrate polymer by heating and in turn decomposing peroxide, removing all dissolved components and impurities from the aqueous solution from the precipitate, and dispersing the precipitate to form a dispersion with sonication and further decomposition of hydrogen peroxide [removal of precipitate and peroxide, meeting claim 3] (Abstract; col 4 line 60 – col 5 line 16, col 10 lines 60 – 67). The resulting dispersion is therefore refined in a way where impurities are minimized (col 2 line 65 – col 3 line 15) and a higher quality coating solution for forming titanium oxide films with improved properties such as improved anti-corrosive properties (col 2 lines 10 – 20, col 9 line 5 – 15, col 16 line 1 – 16, col 9 line 24 – 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Akui to heat the gel mixture or perform other processing to result in a titanium oxide gel from which a peroxotitanic precipitate, a peroxide and excess water has been removed in order to result in a solution/dispersion that has minimal impurities and with the titanium oxide dissolved because Ichinose teaches that resultant dispersion free of excess components and impurities lead to improved film properties, including improved corrosion resistance.
Regarding claim 2:
Akui does not expressly teach that the peroxide aqueous solution is added in a divided manner.
However Ichinose discloses first adding hydrogen peroxide to the titanium-containing starting aqueous solution (col 4 lines 65 – 67) and then adding at a later time more hydrogen peroxide to further allow the hydrogen peroxide to act on the peroxotitanic acid precipitate without other impurities until the hydrogen peroxide is decomposed (col 3 lines 30 – 45, col 5 lines 1 – 10, col 10 lines 35 – 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Akui to heat the gel mixture or perform other processing to result in a titanium oxide gel from which a peroxotitanic precipitate, a peroxide and excess water has been removed in order to result in a solution/dispersion that has minimal impurities and with the titanium oxide dissolved, and additionally form such a solution/dispersion with a step of partitioning the addition of hydrogen peroxide because Ichinose teaches that resultant dispersion free of excess components and impurities lead to improved film properties, including improved corrosion resistance.
Conclusion
/JOSE I HERNANDEZ-KENNEY/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717