DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 04/25/2025. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2022-0141232 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “receiving, by an analysis apparatus, a brain image of a subject; identifying, by the analysis apparatus, a region of interest from the brain image; calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a volume or area of the region of interest; and calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a dementia-related index of the subject on the basis of the volume or area” and “receiving, by an analysis apparatus, a brain image of a subject; identifying, by the analysis apparatus, a region of interest from the brain image; and inputting, by the analysis apparatus, the region of interest into a pre-trained learning model to calculate a dementia-related index of the subject” in claims 1 and 6, respectively. Applicant’s specification at paragraph [0054] defines the analysis apparatus as having forms of a computer device, such as a personal computer (PC), a smart device, a network server, a chipset dedicated to data processing, and the like.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “receiving, by an analysis apparatus, a brain image of a subject; identifying, by the analysis apparatus, a region of interest from the brain image; calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a volume or area of the region of interest; and calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a dementia-related index of the subject on the basis of the volume or area”, “inputting, by the analysis apparatus, the region of interest into a pre-trained learning model to calculate a dementia-related index of the subject” and “identify a region of interest from the brain image and calculate a dementia-related index on the basis of the region of interest”, respectively, which are mathematical concepts grouping and mental processes that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the computing device performing the instructions for this process does not add significantly more to the claim itself to overcome the rejection. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the gathering steps required to use the analysis apparatus do not add a meaningful limitation as they are insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirota et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2020/218460).
Consider claim 6, Hirota discloses a method of calculating a dementia-related index based on a volume of an extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region (paragraph [0019], using the volume of each part of the subject's brain, and the degree of atrophy of the subject's brain in determining dementia), the method comprising:
receiving, by an analysis apparatus (paragraph [0004], Fig. 1, guessing/estimation device 20 is composed of a general-purpose computer), a brain image of a subject (paragraph [0006], captured MRI images of the subject's brain is stored in the image management server 30, and is acquired by the estimation device 20 and the diagnosis support device 10);
identifying, by the analysis apparatus, a region of interest from the brain image (paragraph [0003], Fig. 1, diagnostic support device 10 displays the information indicating the region of interest of the brain in the MRI image); and
inputting, by the analysis apparatus, the region of interest into a pre-trained learning model to calculate a dementia-related index of the subject (paragraph [0009], the second acquisition unit 12 acquires information indicating the region of interest of the brain in the image wherein the second acquisition unit 12 may acquire the estimation result of estimating the risk of developing dementia by the subject within a predetermined period based on the image of the brain using the first learned model 21b, see paragraph [0010], Fig. 2),
wherein the region of interest comprises an extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region (paragraph [0069], the first region R1 of the first image IMG1 indicates a region near the occipital lobe in the whole brain, the second region R2 indicates a region near the frontal lobe, and the third image IMG3 is temporal).
Consider claim 7, Hirota discloses wherein the analysis apparatus identifies the region of interest by inputting the brain image into a pre-trained segmentation model (paragraph [0004], the estimation device 20 estimates the region of interest of the brain in the image on which the estimation result is based, using the trained model).
Consider claim 9, Hirota discloses wherein the region of interest is a subregion comprised in the extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region, and the subregion comprises at least one of a frontal region, a temporal region, a parietal region, and an occipital region (paragraph [0069], the first region R1 of the first image IMG1 indicates a region near the occipital lobe in the whole brain, the second region R2 indicates a region near the frontal lobe, and the third image IMG3 is temporal).
Consider claim 11, Hirota discloses wherein the analysis apparatus further inputs additional information of the subject to the learning model to calculate the dementia-related index, and the additional information comprises at least one of age, gender, education level, and APOE e4 genotype of the subject (paragraph [0010], the age of the subject, the gender of the subject used to make inferences related to dementia in the subject based on the images).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirota et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2020/218460) in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0176120).
Consider claims 1, 12, 15, Hirota discloses a method of calculating a dementia-related index based on a volume of an extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region (paragraph [0019], using the volume of each part of the subject's brain, and the degree of atrophy of the subject's brain in determining dementia), the method comprising:
receiving, by an analysis apparatus (paragraph [0004], Fig. 1, guessing/estimation device 20 is composed of a general-purpose computer), a brain image of a subject (paragraph [0006], captured MRI images of the subject's brain is stored in the image management server 30, and is acquired by the estimation device 20 and the diagnosis support device 10);
identifying, by the analysis apparatus, a region of interest from the brain image (paragraph [0003], Fig. 1, diagnostic support device 10 displays the information indicating the region of interest of the brain in the MRI image);
calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a volume or area of the region of interest (paragraph [0004], the estimation device 20 estimates the region of interest of the brain in the image wherein the diagnostic support device 10 determines the volume of each region of interest in each region of interest, see Background-Art section);
wherein the region of interest comprises an extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region (paragraph [0069], the first region R1 of the first image IMG1 indicates a region near the occipital lobe in the whole brain, the second region R2 indicates a region near the frontal lobe, and the third image IMG3 is temporal).
Hirota does not specifically disclose calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a dementia-related index of the subject on the basis of the volume or area.
Wang discloses calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a dementia-related index of the subject on the basis of the volume or area (paragraph [0102], using the volume of the brain area to calculate the atrophy rate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the analysis apparatus as disclosed by Hirota with the image analysis unit as taught by Wang to determine the atrophy rate (Wang, paragraph [0102]).
Consider claim 2, the combination of Hirota and Wang discloses wherein the dementia-related index comprises at least one of degree of brain atrophy, presence or absence of dementia, and degree of dementia progression (Wang, paragraph [0102], using the volume of the brain area to calculate the atrophy rate).
Consider claims 3, 13, the combination of Hirota and Wang discloses wherein the analysis apparatus identifies the region of interest using a mask produced by preprocessing the brain image (paragraph [0074], the estimation unit 24 generates a plurality of images of the whole brain in which only a part of the first image is different by using a masking the image (e.g., frontal lobe is masked)).
Consider claims 4, 10, Hirota does not specifically disclose wherein the region of interest further comprises a ventricular region, and the ventricular region comprises lateral ventricles.
Wang discloses wherein the region of interest further comprises a ventricular region, and the ventricular region comprises lateral ventricles (paragraph [0085], ventricles left and right lateral ventricles of the cerebral hemisphere).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the analysis apparatus as disclosed by Hirota with the device as taught by Wang to provide for landmarks and feature points of characteristic regions (Wang, paragraph [0085]).
Consider claim 5, the combination of Hirota and Wang discloses wherein the region of interest is a subregion comprised in the extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region, and the subregion comprises at least one of a frontal region, a temporal region, a parietal region, and an occipital region (paragraph [0069], the first region R1 of the first image IMG1 indicates a region near the occipital lobe in the whole brain, the second region R2 indicates a region near the frontal lobe, and the third image IMG3 is temporal).
Consider claims 8, 17, 19, Hirota does not specifically disclose wherein the region of interest comprises the entire extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region and a lateral ventricular region.
Wang discloses wherein the region of interest comprises the entire extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region and a lateral ventricular region (paragraph [0075], Fig. 3, a ventricle and a cavity filled with cerebrospinal fluid (i.e., frontal lobe, parietal lobe, temporal lobe, and occipital lobe, see paragraph [0074]) may be the brain area to include left and right lateral ventricles, see paragraph [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the analysis apparatus as disclosed by Hirota with the device as taught by Wang to provide for landmarks and feature points of characteristic regions (Wang, paragraph [0085]).
Consider claim 14, Hirota discloses wherein the computing device identifies the region of interest by inputting the brain image into a pre-trained segmentation model (paragraph [0004], the estimation device 20 estimates the region of interest of the brain in the image on which the estimation result is based, using the trained model).
Consider claim 16, Hirota discloses wherein the computing device calculates the dementia-related index by inputting the region of interest into a pre-trained learning model (paragraph [0009], the second acquisition unit 12 acquires information indicating the region of interest of the brain in the image wherein the second acquisition unit 12 may acquire the estimation result of estimating the risk of developing dementia by the subject within a predetermined period based on the image of the brain using the first learned model 21b, see paragraph [0010], Fig. 2).
Consider claim 18, Hirota discloses wherein the region of interest is a subregion comprised in the extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region, and the subregion comprises at least one of a frontal region, a temporal region, a parietal region, and an occipital region (paragraph [0069], the first region R1 of the first image IMG1 indicates a region near the occipital lobe in the whole brain, the second region R2 indicates a region near the frontal lobe, and the third image IMG3 is temporal).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 19/398,339 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application contains each and every element of the examined application.
The highlighted portions reflect limitation anticipated by the copending application.
Examined Application
Copending Application No. 19/398,339
1. A method of calculating a dementia-related index based on a volume of an extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region, the method comprising: receiving, by an analysis apparatus, a brain image of a subject; identifying, by the analysis apparatus, a region of interest from the brain image; calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a volume or area of the region of interest; and calculating, by the analysis apparatus, a dementia-related index of the subject on the basis of the volume or area, wherein the region of interest comprises an extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region.
1. A method of deriving dementia-related information using volume predicted from brain CT, comprising: receiving, by an analysis apparatus, a brain CT (Computed Tomography) image of a subject;
extracting, by the analysis apparatus, regions of interest by inputting the brain CT image into a pre-trained segmentation model;
predicting, by the analysis apparatus, a volume of at least one region among the regions of interest by inputting pixel information of the at least one region into a pre-trained first learning model; and calculating, by the analysis apparatus, dementia-related information of the subject by inputting the volume of the at least one region into a pre-trained second learning model, wherein the regions of interest include a plurality of regions selected from frontal cerebrospinal fluid region, temporal cerebrospinal fluid region, parietal cerebrospinal fluid region, occipital cerebrospinal fluid region, anterior lateral ventricle region, posterior lateral ventricle region, and peri-hippocampal cerebrospinal fluid region.
An analysis apparatus configured to calculate a dementia-related index, the analysis apparatus comprising:
an input device configured to receive a brain image of a subject; and
a computing device configured to identify a region of interest from the brain image and calculate a dementia-related index on the basis of the region of interest, wherein the region of interest comprises an extracerebral cerebrospinal fluid region.
6. An analysis apparatus for deriving dementia-related information using volume predicted from brain CT, comprising:
an interface device for receiving a brain CT (Computed Tomography) image of a subject; a storage device for storing a segmentation model for extracting regions of interest from a brain CT image, a first learning model for receiving brain region of interest information and predicting volume, and a second learning model for calculating dementia-related information; and
a computing device for extracting regions of interest by inputting the received brain CT image into the segmentation model, predicting a volume of at least one region among the regions of interest by inputting pixel information of the at least one region into the first learning model, and calculating dementia-related information of the subject by inputting the volume of the at least one region into the second learning model, wherein the regions of interest include a plurality of regions selected from frontal cerebrospinal fluid region, temporal cerebrospinal fluid region, parietal cerebrospinal fluid region, occipital cerebrospinal fluid region, anterior lateral ventricle region, posterior lateral ventricle region, and peri-hippocampal cerebrospinal fluid region.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Gerald Johnson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797