Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a loading zone”, “a conveyor”, “a conveyor belt” of claim 1, and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3, and 13 recites the limitation "first, second and third”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "third arcuate support”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "first, second, and third supports”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by James (US 20160340127).
Regarding claim-1. James discloses an impact cradle (18, Fig.1-3, specifically Fig.6) for use in a loading zone (Abstract; [0035]) of a conveyor (10, Fig.1-4) having a conveyor belt (14, Fig.1-2) ([0027-0028]), the impact cradle comprising:
a transversely extending base (Fig.6-8);
a first arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7);
a second arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7); and
at least a first impact pad (56, Fig.6-8) removably engaging said first and second arcuate supports (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-2 and 12. James discloses wherein said first arcuate support is parallel to said second arcuate support (Left and Right Side 54/64 are parallel to each other see Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-3. James discloses wherein said impact cradle has a width W (Annotated Fig.7) extending between a first side thereof and a second side thereof (Annotated Fig.7), wherein first, second and third supports cooperatively support said impact cradle along an entirety of said width W (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-4. James discloses further comprising: a third arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7), said first impact pad (56) at least partially supported on said third arcuate support, wherein said first and second arcuate supports (Annotated Fig.7) are each disposed at a height above said third arcuate support at each transverse position along a width of the impact cradle (first and second are disposed above third support, Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-5. James discloses wherein said impact cradle has a width W extending between a first side thereof and a second side thereof, wherein first, second and third arcuate supports cooperatively support said impact cradle along an entirety of said width W (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-6 and 16. James discloses wherein said impact pad (56) comprises a first undercut, said first undercut configured to receive at least a portion of said first arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-7 and 17. James discloses wherein said impact pad (56) comprises a second undercut, said second undercut configured to receive at least a portion of said second arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-8. James discloses wherein said first impact pad (56) is one of a plurality of impact pads (plurality of 56), said plurality of impact pads being disposed along a width of the cradle (Fig.6-8).
Regarding claim-9 and 19. James discloses wherein each of said plurality of impact pads (56) includes first and second undercuts (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-10 and 20. James discloses wherein each of said plurality of impact pads (56) is removable from the cradle by sliding along said first and second arcuate supports ([0033], Fig.6-8).
Regarding claim-11. James discloses an impact cradle (18, Fig.1-3, specifically Fig.6) for use in a loading zone of a conveyor (10) having a conveyor belt (14), the impact cradle comprising:
at least a first impact pad (56);
a frame (52, Fig.6-8) configured to releasably support said impact pad, said frame comprising:
a first arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7); a second arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7); and third arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7) disposed below said first and second arcuate supports (first and second are disposed above third support, Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-13. James discloses wherein said frame (52) has a width W extending between a first side thereof and a second side thereof, wherein first, second and third supports cooperatively support said impact cradle along an entirety of said width W (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-14. James discloses further comprising: a third arcuate support (Annotated Fig.7), said first impact pad at least partially supported on said third arcuate support, wherein said first and second arcuate supports are each disposed at a height above said third arcuate support at each transverse position along a width W of said frame (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-15. James discloses wherein said frame has a width W extending between a first side thereof and a second side thereof, wherein first, second and third supports cooperatively support said frame along an entirety of said width W (Annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim-18. James discloses wherein said first impact pad (56) is one of a plurality of impact pads, said plurality of impact pads (plurality of 56) being disposed along a width of said frame (Fig.6-8).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donald (US 5038924).
Regarding claim-1. Donald discloses an impact cradle (abstract, Fig.1) for use in a loading zone of a conveyor having a conveyor belt (abstract), the impact cradle comprising:
a transversely extending base (Fig.1-2); a first arcuate support (12B, Fig.4); a second arcuate support (12A, Fig.4); and at least a first impact pad (30, Fig.1, 4) removably engaging said first and second arcuate supports.
Regarding claim-2 and 12. Donald discloses wherein said first arcuate support is parallel to said second arcuate support (12A and 12B are parallel to each other See Fig.3-4).
Regarding claim-3 and 13. Donald discloses wherein said impact cradle has a width W extending between a first side thereof and a second side thereof, wherein first, second and third supports cooperatively support said impact cradle along an entirety of said width W (See Fig.3-4).
Regarding claim-4 and 14. Donald discloses further comprising: a third arcuate support (14 of frame 12), said first impact pad at least partially supported on said third arcuate support, wherein said first (12B) and second arcuate supports (12A) are each disposed at a height above said third arcuate support at each transverse position along a width of the impact cradle (12A-B support Bar 20 are disposed above 14, See Fig.4).
Regarding claim-5 and 15. Donald discloses wherein said impact cradle has a width W extending between a first side thereof and a second side thereof, wherein first (12B), second (12A) and third arcuate supports (14) cooperatively support said impact cradle along an entirety of said width W (Fig.1-4).
Regarding claim-6 and 16. Donald discloses wherein said impact pad (30) comprises a first undercut (32), said first undercut configured to receive at least a portion of said first arcuate support (12B) (See Fig.4).
Regarding claim-7 and 17. Donald discloses wherein said impact pad (30) comprises a second undercut (32), said second undercut configured to receive at least a portion of said second arcuate support (12A) (See Fig.4).
Regarding claim-8 and 18. Donald discloses wherein said first impact pad is one of a plurality of impact pads, said plurality of impact pads being disposed along a width of the cradle (See Fig.1-2 for plurality of 30).
Regarding claim-9 and 19. Donald discloses wherein each of said plurality of impact pads includes first and second undercuts (Fig.1-4).
Regarding claim-10 and 20. Donald discloses wherein each of said plurality of impact pads (30) is removable from the cradle by sliding (removable via slots i.e., sliding) along said first and second arcuate supports (Fig.1-4).
Regarding claim-11. Donald discloses an impact cradle for use in a loading zone of a conveyor having a conveyor belt (abstract, Fig.1), the impact cradle comprising: at least a first impact pad (30); a frame (12, Fig.1) configured to releasably support said impact pad, said frame comprising: a first arcuate support (12B); a second arcuate support (12A); and third arcuate support (14) disposed below said first and second arcuate supports (12A-B support Bar 20 are disposed above 14, See Fig.4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure See PTO-892.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651