DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on July 06, 2026 is acknowledged and entered. Claims 1, 4, 7, 13, 15 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination in this Office action.
Response to Amendment
The rejections to claims 4, 7 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), written description support and 112(b) are now withdrawn in view of the claim amendment. Upon overcoming the rejections, claim 7 is now joining claims 8, 9 and 19 to be allowable.
The rejections to claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained but modified to address the amended claim limitations. The rejection to claims 1, 13 and 20 is considered a new ground of rejection necessitated by the claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogin et al., EP 2509507 B1, hereinafter Gogin, in view of Lang et al., US 2021/0192759 A1, hereinafter Lang, further in view of Behrendt et al., US 2020/0240790 A1, hereinafter Behrendt.
Claims 1, 13 and 20. Gogin teaches a medical system, a method, and a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors associated with a medical device are adapted to cause the one or more processors to perform a method ([0001]: a system comprising an x-ray system as well as an ultrasound system, wherein the system is equipped with a computer program for performing the method), comprising:
one or more processors configured to perform operations ([0001]: a system comprising an x-ray system as well as an ultrasound system, wherein the system is equipped with a computer program for performing the method) comprising:
determining an initial registration between a probe device space and an imaging device space (Claim 1: registering the detected ultrasound probe with a 3D model of the probe by matching a digitally rendered radiograph of the 3D model with a projection of the probe in the 2D x-ray image; and [0023]: a 2D x-ray image of an ultrasound probe may be registered with a 3D model of the probe which can be either a 3D acquisition of the probe or a computer-aided design. This registration is performed by matching a digitally rendered radiograph of the probe and the real x-ray projection of the probe) – the “3D model of the probe” is considered the “probe device space” as claimed, and the “detected ultrasound probe in the 2D x-ray image” is considered the “imaging device space” as claimed,
the probe device space being associated with a probe device coupled to the medical system, the imaging device space being associated with an imaging device coupled to the medical system (Claim 1: detecting an ultrasound probe in the 2D x-ray image; registering the detected ultrasound probe with a 3D model of the probe by matching a digitally rendered radiograph of the 3D model with a projection of the probe in the 2D x-ray image; and [0001]: a system comprising an x-ray system as well as an ultrasound system) - the “3D model of the probe” is considered the “probe device space” as claimed and it is associated with the probe device (i.e., the ultrasound probe or the ultrasound system), and the “detected ultrasound probe in the 2D x-ray image” is considered the “imaging device space” as claimed and it is associated with the imaging device (i.e., imaged by the x-ray system);
receiving imaging data from the imaging device (Claim 1: receiving a 2D x-ray image);
generating a predicted projection of the probe device relative to the image data based on the initial registration (Claim 1: estimating a position and an orientation of the ultrasound probe relative to a reference coordinate system based on the registration) – the estimated position and orientation of the ultrasound probe is considered “a prediction projection of the probe device” as claimed.
As considered above, Gogin teaches the predicted projection (Claim 1: estimating a position and an orientation of the ultrasound probe relative to a reference coordinate system based on the registration), the actual projection (Claim 1: detecting an ultrasound probe in the 2D x-ray image), and the registration being between the probe device space and the imaging device space (Claim 1 and [0023], see above).
Gogin does not teach updating the initial registration by comparing the predicted information to the actual information in the image data to generate a first registration.
In regard to the projection, the position and orientation of Gogin is considered the format of the projection. Gogin however does not teach that the predicted projection is presented in a format that corresponds to an expected outline of the probe device in the image data.
In regard to updating the initial registration to generate a first registration, in an analogous imaging registration based medical procedure guidance field of endeavor, Lang teaches updating the initial registration to generate a first registration ([0717]: modify the registration of the virtual data of the patient in relationship to live data of the patient. The operator or surgeon can optionally repeat the registration procedure using any of the techniques described in the specification or known in the art for registering the virtual data of the patient, including, for example the virtual surgical plan, relationship to the live data of the patient after the physical surgical alteration).
In regard to the predicted projection corresponds to an expected outline of the probe device in the image data, Lang teaches in [0711]: Following initial registration…a first or any subsequent surgical alternation or surgical step can be performed…The surgical alternation or surgical step can be performed with optional guidance through the OHMD display, e.g., by displaying…predetermined position, predetermined orientation…predetermined contour or outline or cross-section or surface features or shape or projection…of the virtual surgical tool, virtual surgical instrument.
According to Lang, either the position/orientation, the projection, the outline/contour are alternative ways to present the tool or instrument after an initial registration for the purpose of medical procedure guidance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more processors of Gogin employ such a feature associated with updating the initial registration to generate a first registration, and the predicted projection corresponds to an expected outline of the probe device in the image data as taught in Lang for the advantage of allowing all subsequent virtual medical steps to be referenced off the re-registration of the virtual and live data, as suggested in Lang, [0717].
In regard to the re-registration being performed by comparing the predicted information to the actual information in the image data, in an analogous registration updating field of endeavor, Behrendt teaches that
the predicted information and the actual information is compared to update the initial registration to generate a first registration ([0055]: FIGS.4A: the map image 400 includes map features, such as lane-markings 400A; FIG.4B: a visualization image 402, which includes a set of localization features, such as detections of lane-markings 401A; FIG.4C: the map image 400 is offset from the visualization image 402 by a fist offset value 406 along an x-axis and a second offset value 408 along a y-axis; and [0056]: FIG.4D: when the map image 400 is optimally registered with the visualization image 402, the map features 400A are aligned with the localization features 402A. In this case, the localization update data includes offset data, which indicates an offset between a position of the map image, as aligned via the localization estimate, relative to a position fo the map image, as optimally registered) – the visualization image 402 is considered the actual information and the map image 400 is considered the predicted information.
Hence, when Gogin, Lang and Behrendt are combined, the offset of the predicted information being the predicted projection and the actual information being the actual projection is determined and used to generate an optimizing registration that is the first registration as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more processors of Gogin and Lang combined employ such a feature associated with the predicted information and the actual information is compared to update the initial registration to generate a first registration as taught in Behrendt for the advantage of determining localization information in a high level of accuracy, as suggested in Behrendt, [0002].
Claims 2 and 14. Gogin, Lang and Behrendt combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
As applied to claim 1, Gogin teaches the predicted projection (Claim 1: estimating a position and an orientation of the ultrasound probe relative to a reference coordinate system based on the registration) and the actual projection (Claim 1: detecting an ultrasound probe in the 2D x-ray image).
Behrendt also teaches predicted information and actual information, and Behrendt further teaches aligning the two information ([0055]: the visualization image 402 is considered the actual information and the map image 400 is considered the predicted information).
Hence, when Gogin, Lang and Behrendt are combined, it teaches the claimed feature of aligning the predicted projection with the actual projection.
Claim 3. Gogin, Lang and Behrendt combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1, including the projection of the probe device (Gogin, claim 1).
Lang further teaches a second predicted projection of the probe device based on the first registration matches the actual projection of the probe device ([0717]: all subsequent virtual surgical steps displayed by the OHMD and any related virtual surgical plan can be referenced off the re-registration of the virtual and live data of the patient. For example, the OHMD can then be used after the re-registration for projecting all subsequent virtual surgical steps, e.g., by projecting one or more of virtual surgical tool…).
Claims 4 and 15. Gogin, Lang and Behrendt combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1, including a second predicted projection of the probe device, the actual projection of the probe device, and the first registration (Gogin: claim 1 and Lang: [0717]).
Behrendt further teaches
the first registration minimizes an offset between a predicted projection and the actual projection ([0031]: the map alignment module is configured to obtain the localization estimate. Upon receiving the localization estimate, the map alignment module is configured to use this localization estimate to obtain a map region…In FIG.2A, the map alignment module is configured to align the map region such that the localization estimate is positioned at a predetermined area of the map region).
To align such that the estimate is positioned at a predetermined area is considered “minimizing an offset” as claimed.
Claims 5 and 16. Lang further teaches that
the actual projection of the probe device comprises an outline of the probe device in the image data ([0915]: the projection can be a 2D outline similar to radiographic templates, optionally derived from radiographic templates, oral 3D image, e.g., a 3D CAD file of the…virtual medical device and virtual instrument).
Claim 10. As applied to claim 1, Gogin teaches that the probe device is an ultrasound probe. It is known in the field of art that an ultrasound probe requires an manipulator, either manually or robotically, to move it, i.e., an ultrasound probe “lacking independent movement capacities” as claimed.
Claims 6, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogin et al., EP 2509507 B1, hereinafter Gogin, in view of Lang et al., US 2021/0192759 A1, hereinafter Lang, further in view of Behrendt et al., US 2020/0240790 A1, hereinafter Behrendt, further in view of Popovic et al., US 2019/0290247 A1, hereinafter Popovic.
Claims 6, 17 and 18. Gogin, Lang and Behrendt combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Gogin further teaches
determining a probe area; and providing one or more instructions to a user to position the probe device to obtain a scan of the probe area ([0043]: An ultrasound acquisition system with for example a TEE ultrasound probe, is configured to produce images of the anatomy. This ultrasound acquisition system is assumed to lie aet least partially in the field of view of the x-ray acquisition system with sufficient information that it is enough to recover the coordinate system of the images produced by this system; and [0055]: the probe steering module, based on the ultrasound/x-ray registration information will determine and apply the relevant set parameters enabling this device-driven steering).
Neither of Gogin, Lang and Behrendt teaches that the probe area is determined to be associated with one or more anatomic features identified in an anatomic model.
However, in an analogous proper probe device placement field of endeavor, Popovic teaches
identifying one or more anatomic features in an anatomic model; determining a probe area associated with the one or more anatomic features; and providing one or more instructions to a user to position the probe device to obtain a scan of the probe area ([0091]: In order to visualize desired anatomical regions or lesions, a laparoscopic probe must be placed in the specific positions and orientations…This display embodiment helps alleviate this difficulty by presenting an anatomical model of an anatomical organ along with an overlay of probe positions and orientations that would achieve the relevant views, such as, for example, a current position 110 and projected position 111a-111d relative to anatomical model image shown in FIG.15).
In regard to the recited feature of claim 18 “controlling the probe device using a manipulator, to scan the probe area”, as applied to claim 1, Gogin teaches that the probe device is an ultrasound probe. It is known in the field of art that an ultrasound probe lacks independent movement capacities and requires an manipulator, either manually or robotically, to control the scanning operation of the device move it.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more processors of Gogin. Lang and Behrendt combined employ such a feature associated with identifying one or more anatomic features in an anatomic model; determining a probe area associated with the one or more anatomic features; and providing one or more instructions to a user to position the probe device to obtain a scan of the probe area as taught in Popovic for visualizing desired anatomical regions or lesions by presenting this relevant view, as suggested in Popovic, [0091].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogin et al., EP 2509507 B1, hereinafter Gogin, in view of Lang et al., US 2021/0192759 A1, hereinafter Lang, further in view of Behrendt et al., US 2020/0240790 A1, hereinafter Behrendt, further in view of Mozes et al., US 20180008355 A1, hereinafter Mozes.
Claim 11. Gogin, Lang and Behrendt combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither of Gogin, Lang and Behrendt teaches a manipulator configured to control the probe device by controlling an end effector to grip the probe device.
However, in an analogous ultrasound imaging-based registration field of endeavor, Mozes teach
a manipulator configured to control the probe device by controlling an end effector to grip the probe device ([0069]: A suitable scanning device (i.e.,.. other imaging device such as an ultrasound transducer…) scanner may be attached to an end effector (i.e., tip) of the arm member 350…as administered, for example, via the controller device 450) – the ultrasound transducer is considered the “probe device” as claimed; and the controller device is considered the “manipulator” as claimed. To be attached to the end effector is consider that the end effector grips the ultrasound transducer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the probe device of Gogin, Lang and Behrendt combined employ such a feature of being controlled by a manipulator via controlling an end effector to grip the probe device, as taught in Mozes for the advantage of capable of scanning the patient’s structure to surface match the captured and manipulated image with an actual scan without necessarily requiring a fiducial marker”, as suggested in Mozes, [0069].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogin et al., EP 2509507 B1, hereinafter Gogin, in view of Lang et al., US 2021/0192759 A1, hereinafter Lang, further in view of Behrendt et al., US 2020/0240790 A1, hereinafter Behrendt, further in view of Eibye et al., US 2015/0369915 A1, hereinafter Eibye.
Claim 12. Gogin, Lang and Behrendt combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
As applied to claim 1, Gogin teaches the initial registration and updating the initial registration to generate the first registration (Gogin: Claim 1, [0023]; and Lang: [0717]).
Neither Popovic not Mozes teaches that the registration is performed in response to the probe device being determined to be in an activated state.
However, in an analogous ultrasound imaging device registration field of endeavor, Eibye teaches
the registration is performed in response to the probe device being determined to be in an activated state ([0051]: registration can be achieved for an ultrasound input device 104 merely by activating the ultrasound input device 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the registration of Gogin, Lang and Behrendt combined employ such a feature of being performed in response to the probe device being determined to be in an activated state, as taught in Eibye, for the advantage of limiting the registration to be performed only when the imaging device is activated, as suggested in Eibye, [0052]: transmission of the signal may be deactivated to that described for activation, for example, tiered down after a preconfigured duration of time of activation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The limitations recited in claim 7 in regard to the features of “the medical system further comprises a medical instrument gripping the probe device, wherein the initial registration is determined based on kinematics of the imaging device and kinematics of the medical instrument controlling the probe device", in combination with the other claimed elements, are not taught or disclosed in the prior arts.
The limitations recited in claims 8 and 19 in regard to the features of “transforming, based on the second registration, the anatomic model to the probe device space to generate a first transformed anatomic model; and transforming, based on the first registration, the first transformed anatomic model to the first imaging device space to generate a second transformed anatomic model, the first registration is between the probe device space and the imagine device space, and the second registration is between a model space of the anatomic model and the probe device space", in combination with the other claimed elements, are not taught or disclosed in the prior arts.
Dependent claim 9 is allowable solely by virtue of their respective dependency upon an allowable claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YI-SHAN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798