Detailed Action
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claims 1 & 15 are unclear with the newly added limitation “before, after or during a drilling operation” as it is unclear how a bottom hole tool and cable can be deposited into a wellbore that has not been drilled yet. Therefore, as it is unclear how a tool can be deposited or positioned within a wellbore that has not been created yet, the language of claims 1-15 is ambiguous.
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected on this basis.
Claims 2-14 and 16-20 are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 10 of Copending Application No. 18/535,374 in view of Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375).
Claims 1 & 10 of copending Application No. 18/535,374 disclose a cable, superconducting material, one cryogenic supply channel, one or more cryogenic liquid return channels. Claims 1 & 10 do not disclose the down hole tool is a bottom hole assembly. Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375) however discloses a downhole tool can include a bottom hole assembly. In view of the teachings of Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375) it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 1 & 10 of Copending Application No. 18/535,374 to include the Bottom hole assembly as a downhole tool as taught by Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375), paragraph [0005] Pulsed power drilling downhole assembly [0024] downhole tools in the teaching (PPD assembly) can be used on offshore platforms, drill ships, semi-submersibles and drilling barges) .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 2 is rejected for being patentably indistinct from claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/535,374
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of Copending Application No. 18/535,374 in view of Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375).
Claim 17 of copending Application No. 18/535,374 discloses a cable, superconducting material, one cryogenic supply channel, one or more cryogenic liquid return channels. Claim 17 does not disclose the down hole tool is a bottom hole assembly. Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375) however discloses a downhole tool can include a bottom hole assembly. In view of the teachings of Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375) it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 17 of Copending Application No. 18/535,374 to include the Bottom hole assembly as a downhole tool as taught by Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375), paragraph [0005] Pulsed power drilling downhole assembly [0024] downhole tools in the teaching (PPD assembly) can be used on offshore platforms, drill ships, semi-submersibles and drilling barges) .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 16 is rejected for being patentably indistinct from claim 18 of copending Application No. 18/535,374
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 10-12, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375) in view of Parsche (US Pub No 20140131044).
Gleitman discloses in claim 1. A system comprising: a bottom hole assembly (Gleitman Fig 1; 128); and a cable (Gleitman Fig 1; 220) comprising:
Gleitman discloses a power cable ([0047] pulsed power tool supplied power via cable 220) but does not disclose further details on the cable construction.
However, Parsche discloses a power cable that comprises: a superconducting material (Parsche Fig 2-3; 43, 46 [0038] [0041] disclosing a first and second superconducting material as part of the cable) configured to provide at least power to the bottom hole assembly (Parsche [0050] cable is capable of transferring power downhole);
one or more liquid supply channels (Parsche Fig 2; 41 and 45 Fig 3; 41 cryogenic coolant channel [0036] cryogenic fluid passageway 41 [0047] cryogenic coolant passageway 45) configured to supply a fluid to reduce temperature of the superconducting material (Parsche Fig 1; 24 Cryogenic coolant) before, after, or during a drilling operation (Parsche Fig 1 [0055] installed in a wellbore after drilling);
and one or more liquid return channels (Parsche Fig 1; Cryogenic coolant source on the surface contains a two way arrow to denote two way flow, supply and return flow, Fig 2; 41 and 45 Fig 3; 41 cryogenic coolant channel [0036] cryogenic fluid passageway 41 [0047] cryogenic coolant passageway 45).
As both Gleitman and Parsche both disclose cables for transmitting power to a downhole tool, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the generic power cable of Gleitman for the Superconducting cable of Parsche in order to achieve the predictable result of providing power via cable to downhole assembly.
Gleitman in view of Parsche discloses in claim 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the superconducting material is disposed within a high temperature superconducting (HTS) tape (Parsche [0017] super conductive tape).
Gleitman in view of Parsche discloses in claim 6. The system of claim 1, wherein the cable further comprises an outer jacket configured to protect the cable (Parsche Fig 3; 52 [0048] protective outer jacket)).
Gleitman in view of Parsche discloses in claim 7. The system of claim 6, wherein the cable further comprises an insulator (Parsche Fig 3; 51 [0048] insulation layer) separating an inner jacket (Parsche Fig 3; 51 [0048] insulation layer 51 is separate from the outer jacket) from the outer jacket (Parsche Fig 3; 52 [0048] protective outer jacket) configured to insulate the cable (Parsche [0048] inner insulation layer separates further interior of the wire from outer jacket).
Gleitman in view of Parsche discloses in claim 8. The system of claim 1, wherein the cable further comprises a negative potential (Parsche [0048] dielectric outer jacket 52).
Gleitman in view of Parsche discloses in claim 10. The system of claim 1, wherein the liquid is a cryogenic liquid is nitrogen (LN2) (Parsche [0052] liquid nitrogen).
Gleitman in view of Parsche discloses in claim 11. The system of claim 1, wherein the cable further comprises at least one of a fiber optic or coaxial communication cable (Gleitman [0035] optical fiber line may be enclosed within a slickline, wireline [0089] optical cable can be used as communication in combination with a cable to supply actuation power).
Gleitman in view of Parsche discloses in claim 12. The system of claim 1, wherein the power delivered via the cable is 1W - 10MW (Parsche [0050] 5-10 MW) and a voltage is .01V - 10MV (Parsche [0032] breakdown voltage for liquid nitrogen 70kV).
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the bottom hole assembly further comprises an input filter, a voltage booster, one or more capacitors (Gleitman [0030] downhole assembly contains capacitors), and/or a smart charger.
Gleitman discloses in claim 15. A method comprising: disposing a bottom hole assembly (Gleitman Fig 1; 128) into a wellbore (Gleitman [0017] bottom hole assembly placed in a wellbore); and disposing a cable (Gleitman Fig 1; 220) into a wellbore, configured to provide at least power to the bottom hole assembly ([0047] pulsed power tool supplied power via cable 220),
Gleitman discloses a power cable ([0047] pulsed power tool supplied power via cable 220) but does not disclose further details on the cable construction.
However, Parsche discloses a power cable that comprises: a superconducting material (Parsche Fig 2-3 43, 46 [0038] [0041] disclosing a first and second superconducting material as part of the cable) configured to provide at least power to the bottom hole assembly (Parsche [0050] cable is capable of transferring power downhole);
one or more liquid supply channels (Parsche Fig 2; 41 and 45 Fig 3; 41 cryogenic coolant channel [0036] cryogenic fluid passageway 41 [0047] cryogenic coolant passageway 45) configured to supply a fluid to reduce temperature of the superconducting material (Parsche Fig 1; 24 Cryogenic coolant) before, after, or during a drilling operation (Parsche Fig 1 [0055] installed in a wellbore after drilling);
and one or more liquid return channels (Parsche Fig 1; Cryogenic coolant source on the surface contains a two way arrow to denote two way flow, supply and return flow, Fig 2; 41 and 45 Fig 3; 41 cryogenic coolant channel [0036] cryogenic fluid passageway 41 [0047] cryogenic coolant passageway 45).
As both Gleitman and Parsche both disclose cables for transmitting power to a downhole tool, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the generic power cable of Gleitman for the Superconducting cable of Parsche in order to achieve the predictable result of providing power via cable to downhole assembly.
Claim(s) 4-5 & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleitman (US Pub No 20200370375) in view of Parsche (US Pub No 20140131044) as applied to claim 1 & 15 above, and further in view of Mitzuno (US Pub No 20240161953).
In regards to claim 4 Gleitman in view of Parsche does not disclose an adhesive layer with the super conducting tape. However, Mizuno discloses Superconducting tape with an adhesive layer (Mizuno [0059] & [0061] superconductive tape with adhesive layer) to adhere the super conducting tape to another layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gleitman in view Parsche to include adhesive as taught by Mitzuno for the purpose of adhering the super conducting tape to another layer.
Gleitman in view of Parsche & Mitzuno disclose in claim 5. The system of claim 4, wherein the cable further comprises a copper shield wire configured to prevent the fluid from directly contacting the HTS tape. (Parsche Fig 3 42 [0037] material layer may be a copper layer between coolant tube 41 and super conductive layer 43)
Gleitman in view of Parsche discloses in claim 19. The method of claim 15, wherein the superconducting material is disposed within a high temperature superconducting (HTS) tape (Parsche [0017] super conductive tape)
Parsche does not disclose an adhesive layer with the super conducting tape. However, Mizuno discloses Superconducting tape with an adhesive layer (Mizuno [0059] & [0061] superconductive tape with adhesive layer) to adhere the super conducting tape to another layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gleitman in view Parsche to include adhesive as taught by Mitzuno for the purpose of adhering the super conducting tape to another layer.
Gleitman in view of Parsche & Mitzuno disclose in claim 20. The method of claim 19, wherein the cable further comprises a copper shield wire configured to prevent the fluid from directly contacting the HTS tape. (Parsche Fig 3 42 [0037] material layer may be a copper layer between coolant tube 41 and super conductive layer 43)
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2, 9, 14 and 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and double patenting rejections..
Claims 2 and 16 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter as the best prior art for the claims as written as, Gleitman in view of Parche from the above rejection, teaches all the prior limitations of independent claims 1 and 15 but Gleitman et al does not teach one or more cryogenic pumps disposed in line with the cable and disposed on the coiled tubing or bottom hole assembly and modification of Gleitman in view of Parsche to include the limitations of claim 2 & 16 would rely on hindsight reasoning to modify to meet the limitations of claim 1 & 15 as written. Therefore, the limitations of claim 2 & 16 if included with the limitations of claim 1 & 15 as written overcome would be considered allowable subject matter.
Claim 14 is indicated as allowable as the best prior art for the claims as written Gleitman in view of Parsche from above, teaches all the prior limitations of independent claim 1 and dependent claim 13 but Gleitman does not teach a boost charger is configured to increase DC power received from the cable at least partially in parallel with a storage of the DC power in the one or more capacitors. Sedano (US Pub No 20220195866) teaches a similar system containing a boost charger, and capacitor however modification to Gleitman et al. to include the limitations of claim 14 would rely on hindsight reasoning to modify to meet the limitations of claim 14 as written. Therefore, the limitations of claim 14 if included with the limitations of claim 1 and 13 as written overcome would be considered allowable subject matter.
Claims 9 & 17-18 are indicated as allowable as the best prior art for the claims as written, Gleitman in view of Parsche from above, teaches all the limitations of the independent claims 1 & 15 and dependent claims 8 & 16. However, Gleitman et al does not teach connecting the negative potential to the positive potential of a power source and connecting a positive potential to a negative potential power source. It could be argued that the capability for the claimed connection is generally known or easily conceived in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. The examiner could find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that Gleitman nor Parsche teach the newly added limitation as Parsche teaches placing the downhole tool within a wellbore that would have been drilled for creation and meeting the limitation that “…reduce temperature of the superconducting material after a drilling operation” As shown in the above rejection. Furthermore, Gleiman teaches the use of a cooling fluid during a drilling operation as shown in the above rejection. For these reasons Examiner does not find the Applicants arguments and amendments persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sedano (US Pub No 20220195866): Pulse drilling tool with a Transmission line (Fig 2; 274)
Ashworth (US Pat No 11908593): Subterranean superconductive transmission line with a coolant flow channel (Fig 1)
Petty (US Pat No 9874077): Downhole tool with liquid nitrogen coolant channels (Fig 1)
Al-Huwaider (US Pub No 20240271520): Cooling a bottomhole assembly with supply and return channels supplying power (Fig 4b)
Varkey (US Pub No 20180023731): Coiled tubing construction with integrated communication and power supply.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS D WLODARSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672