DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 07/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and prosecution would not present a burden because the searches would yield relevant references. This is not found persuasive because the search are directed to a method and product and each search would not necessarily produce relevant for both.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
It is noted that the abstract begins with “Implementations of the present disclosure generally relate”. The examiner suggests its deletion.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
It is noted that the claimed invention is directed solely to a method. The examiner suggests amending the title to reflect same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofkens et al. (WO 2007/124549).
Hofkens teaches of spin coating a polymer on top of a glass cover slip to form a protection layer which is hydrophobic (p.6 line 25 – p.8 line 6). The polymer layer appears to have no fluorocarbon compounds (p.7 line 4 – p.8 line 6). Subsequently, a hydrophilic polymer is form on the first polymeric layer and dried (claim 2, Figure 3, paragraph bridging pp.7-8). However, the reference fails to specifically teach drying by air drying or heating.
Hofkens specifically teaches of drying overnight (p.8 line 1), which appears to read on air drying. Regardless, to use air drying would have been obvious given the teaching of the reference.
Regarding claim 2, Hofkens doesn’t appear to teach fluorocarbon compounds.
Regarding claim 6, the applicant requires air drying. The reference teaches of drying overnight (p.8 line 1), which appears to read on air drying. Regardless, to use air drying would have been obvious given the teaching of the reference.
Regarding claim 9, Hofkens teaches a glass cover slip as a substrate (p.7 lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 10, Hofkens teaches a glass cover slip (p.7 lines 4-5), which is a textile.
Claims 3-5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofkens et al. (WO 2007/124549) in view of Hussey et al. (WO 2019/227137). Hofkens fails to teach the appropriate hydrophobic material.
Hussey teaches a hydrophobic coating composition based on hyperbranched polymer (0009) such as silicone based polymer (0085-0086). It would have been obvious to use a silicon based polymer in Hofkens with the expectation of success because Hussey teaches a hydrophobic coating composition such as silicone based polymers.
Regarding claim 4, Hussey teaches a hydrophobic coating composition based on hyperbranched polymer (0009).
Regarding claim 5, Hussey teaches a curing temperature of 120 to 150oC (0125).
Regarding claim 11, Hussey teaches kiss-roll and spray (0122).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofkens et al. (WO 2007/124549) in view of Clearfield (5,200,378). Hofkens fails to teach the appropriate hydrophilic material.
Clearfield teaches a pillared layered compound (title) in which the composition is hydrophilic (paragraph bridging cols.7-8) and can include hydroxy titanium phosphate (claim 4). It would have been obvious to a metal hydroxy phosphate in Hofkens with the expectation of success because Clearfield teaches a hydrophilic composition such as hydroxy titanium phosphate.
Regarding claim 8, Clearfield teaches titanium hydroxy phosphate as a hydrophilic coating.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofkens et al. (WO 2007/124549) in view of Hussey et al. (WO 2019/227137) and Clearfield (5,200,378).
Hofkens teaches of spin coating a polymer on top of a glass cover slip to form a protection layer which is hydrophobic (p.6 line 25 – p.8 line 6). The polymer layer appears to have no fluorocarbon compounds (p.7 line 4 – p.8 line 6). Subsequently, a hydrophilic polymer is form on the first polymeric layer and dried (claim 2, Figure 3, paragraph bridging pp.7-8). However, the reference fails to a hyperbranched material.
Hussey teaches a hydrophobic coating composition based on hyperbranched polymer (0009) such as silicone based polymer (0085-0086). It would have been obvious to use a silicon based polymer in Hofkens with the expectation of success because Hussey teaches a hydrophobic coating composition such as silicone based polymers.
In addition, the reference fails to teach the appropriate hydrophilic material. Clearfield teaches a pillared layered compound (title) in which the composition is hydrophilic (paragraph bridging cols.7-8) and can include hydroxy titanium phosphate (claim 4). It would have been obvious to a metal hydroxy phosphate in Hofkens with the expectation of success because Clearfield teaches a hydrophilic composition such as hydroxy titanium phosphate.
Regarding claim 13, Hofkens doesn’t appear to teach fluorocarbon compounds.
Regarding claim 14, Clearfield teaches a hydrophilic composition such as hydroxy titanium phosphate (claim 4).
Regarding claim 15, Hussey teaches a hydrophobic coating composition such as silicone based polymers (0085-0086).
Regarding claim 16, Hussey teaches kiss-roll and spray (0122).
Regarding claim 17, Hussey teaches a curing temperature of 120 to 150oC (0125).
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 08/13/2026