DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2025, 04/29/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis - Step 1
Claims 1-6, and 9-13 recite a method/process, therefore claims 1-6, and 9-13 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claims 7-8 and 15-19 recite an apparatus/machine, therefore claims 7-8 and 15-19 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 7 includes limitations that recites mental processes and organizing human activity (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 11 recites:
A control device for a motor vehicle, the control device comprising:
a device for communicating with a mobile device on which a digital vehicle key for the motor vehicle is stored; and
a processing device configured to read a request stored in the digital vehicle key which is addressed to the motor vehicle by a key management system;
wherein the request relates to setting up a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key which can be used to control the motor vehicle and to set up the requested locking device.
These limitations, as drafted, is a system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a mental process and/or mathematical concept. That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed as mathematical concepts. For example,” a device for communicating with a mobile device…” and “ a processing device configured to read a request stored …" and " wherein the request relates to setting up a locking device against addition...", involves mental processes with method of organizing human activity as its related to receive message, read, interpreting and executing.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a "practical application."
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the "additional limitations" while the bolded portions continue to represent the "abstract idea"):
A control device for a motor vehicle, the control device comprising:
a device for communicating with a mobile device on which a digital vehicle key for the motor vehicle is stored; and
a processing device configured to read a request stored in the digital vehicle key which is addressed to the motor vehicle by a key management system;
wherein the request relates to setting up a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key which can be used to control the motor vehicle and to set up the requested locking device.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of "a device for communicating…" and “a processing device…” and “a locking device…” the components are merely generic components to perform a function using computer code. The generic components are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. a generic processor and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The examiner submits that these limitations are merely applying the above-noted abstract idea by merely using a general controller to perform the process (MPEP §2106.05).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular process for safety performance evaluation, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis - Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B in the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 12 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of "a device for communicating…" and “a processing device…” and “a locking device…”amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions cannot provide an inventive concept. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 1, 8-9, and 15-16 recites analogous limitations to that of claim 7, and are therefore rejected by the same premise.
Dependent claims 2-6, 10-14, and 17-19 specify limitations that elaborate on the abstract idea of claims 1, 7-9, and 15-16, and thus are directed to an abstract idea nor do the claims recite additional limitations that integrate the claims into a practical application or amount to “significantly more” for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1 discloses limitation “…detecting, by a key manager, a request…”, Application’s specification does not define/discloses terminology “key manger”, Appropriate correction required.
Note:- for examination purpose the examiner interpreted the term “key manager” as “key management system”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Kim (US20220191692A1).
Claim.1 Kim discloses a method of controlling a motor vehicle (see at least abstract, the vehicle digital key sharing service method, the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, which is registered from the management server, to validate the authentication token), the method comprising: detecting, by a key manager, a request to set up a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key that can be used to control the motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, p17, The vehicle digital key sharing service method may further include a step in which a digital key sharing mode is activated via a dedicated application of a master terminal used by a primary user who owns a digital key, a restriction on unlock authority for the vehicle device is set by performing identification verification and authentication, and a digital key to which a restriction value is applied is shared with a shared terminal used by a sharer, p18, performing a secondary authentication process for a door key sharing service using a compound authentication method in which authentication is performed via an identity verification means in the management server through the dedicated application of the master terminal, setting the restriction value for the digital key stored in the secure world of the master terminal, receiving a selected shared terminal to share the digital key and forwarding the restriction value for the digital key and information on the shared terminal to the management server, and storing, by the management server, the restriction value for the digital key); storing, by the key management system, a request to set up the locking device in a digital vehicle key stored on a mobile device (see at least fig.1-5, p13-14, The digital key registration step may include a step of registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode in which on behalf of the vehicle device the mobile terminal relays registration of the vehicle digital key through authentication by the management server and a step of registering the digital key in a vehicle device-based telematics support mode in which each of the vehicle device and the mobile terminal processes registration of their own digital keys through authentication by the management server, registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode may include receiving and storing, by the mobile terminal accessing the management server through the dedicated application, a server public key from the management server and generating a terminal public key and a terminal private key, forwarding, by the mobile terminal, the terminal public key to the vehicle device and decrypting encrypted vehicle information, p89, the management server 2 generates an encrypted vehicle digital key by encrypting the digital key using the vehicle public key in the vehicle information and generates an encrypted terminal digital key by encrypting the digital key using the terminal public key in the terminal information. The management server 2 transmits the encrypted vehicle and terminal digital keys to the mobile terminal 1 (S532), the mobile terminal 1 forwards the terminal digital key encrypted with the terminal public key to the SW (S534), and the encrypted terminal digital key is decrypted using the terminal private key and then stored in the SW (S536)); transmitting the request from the mobile device to the motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, p85, the mobile terminal-based relay mode, the vehicle device 3 does not support a telematics function, and thus the mobile terminal 1 serves as a gateway G/W of the vehicle device 3 and the management server 2. In this case, the mobile terminal 1 relays the vehicle device 3 and process vehicle digital key registration through authentication by the management server 2) ; and setting up a barrier of the motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, p106, The restriction value may include a usable period, the number of usable times, a usable area, re-sharable information, the master terminal 1-1 selects a shared terminal 1-2 used by a sharer and shares a digital key to which the restriction value is applied (S940). A digital key sharing method includes a face-to-face sharing method and a non-face-to-face method. The face-to-face sharing method includes near field communication (NFC), person-to-person (P2P), Bluetooth pairing, and the like).
Claim.2 Kim discloses wherein the request is only stored in the digital vehicle key when direct communication between the key management system and the motor vehicle is unsuccessful (see at least fig.5, p85, the mobile terminal-based relay mode, the vehicle device 3 does not support a telematics function, and thus the mobile terminal 1 serves as a gateway G/W of the vehicle device 3 and the management server 2. In this case, the mobile terminal 1 relays the vehicle device 3 and process vehicle digital key registration through authentication by the management server 2).
Claim.3 Kim discloses wherein the request is stored in a mailbox of the digital vehicle key (see at least fig.1-3, p32, the management server is decrypted in a secure world of the mobile terminal so that security of a digital can be enhanced even when the digital key is forwarded and received online,p68, an area in which the normal OS is operated will be referred to as a “normal world (NW)” 110 and an area in which the secure OS is operated will be referred to as a “secure world (SW)” 120. The SW 120 may correspond to a mobile secure world that uses one of trusted execution environment (TEE), white box cryptography (WBC), universal subscriber identity module (USIM), and embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM)).
Claim.4 Kim discloses wherein the request is stored in a mailbox of the digital vehicle key (see at least fig.1-5, abstract, the terminal digital key stored in the secure world when the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, p59, The digital key is a key encrypted and stored in a secure area of the mobile terminal 1 and the door of a vehicle may be unlocked with the key, p78, a digital key, a vehicle digital key is stored in a SW separated from a NW of a mobile terminal 1 using a dedicated application of the mobile terminal 1 after user authentication in a management server 2 when the mobile terminal 1 requests the management server 2 to register the digital key of a vehicle device 3 through the dedicated application).
Claim.5 Kim discloses wherein the locking device is set up by the key management in response to the request so that no attestation package is provided to the motor vehicle for a newly generated digital vehicle key(see at least fig. 1-6, 7-12, p63, the master terminal 1-1 is operated in a normal OS (OS) and a secure OS, and when the master terminal 1-1 requests the management server 2 to register a digital key through a dedicated application, a digital key is registered as a terminal digital key is stored in a secure area separated from a normal area of the master terminal 1-1 using the dedicated application of the master terminal 1-1 after user authentication in the management server 2, p65, shared terminal 1-2 may share the digital key in which the restriction value is reflected through the master terminal 1-1 and unlock the door of the vehicle device 3 within a limited range using the shared digital key, p71, user private key encryption, generation of an authentication token, decryption of an authentication token, generation of digital signature data, check of digital signature data, and the like, are also stored in the SW 120).
Claim.6 Kim discloses wherein the locking device is set up the by the key management in response to the request so that attestation package is provided to the motor vehicle for a newly generated digital vehicle key(see at least fig.1-6, 7-12, p63, the master terminal 1-1 is operated in a normal OS (OS) and a secure OS, and when the master terminal 1-1 requests the management server 2 to register a digital key through a dedicated application, a digital key is registered as a terminal digital key is stored in a secure area separated from a normal area of the master terminal 1-1 using the dedicated application of the master terminal 1-1 after user authentication in the management server 2, p65, shared terminal 1-2 may share the digital key in which the restriction value is reflected through the master terminal 1-1 and unlock the door of the vehicle device 3 within a limited range using the shared digital key, p71, user private key encryption, generation of an authentication token, decryption of an authentication token, generation of digital signature data, check of digital signature data, and the like, are also stored in the SW 120).
Claim.7 Kim discloses a control device for a motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, abstract, the vehicle digital key sharing service method, the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, which is registered from the management server, to validate the authentication token), the control device comprising: a device for communicating with a mobile device on which a digital vehicle key for the motor vehicle is stored (see at least fig.1-5, p17, The vehicle digital key sharing service method may further include a step in which a digital key sharing mode is activated via a dedicated application of a master terminal used by a primary user who owns a digital key, a restriction on unlock authority for the vehicle device is set by performing identification verification and authentication, and a digital key to which a restriction value is applied is shared with a shared terminal used by a sharer, p18, performing a secondary authentication process for a door key sharing service using a compound authentication method in which authentication is performed via an identity verification means in the management server through the dedicated application of the master terminal, setting the restriction value for the digital key stored in the secure world of the master terminal, receiving a selected shared terminal to share the digital key and forwarding the restriction value for the digital key and information on the shared terminal to the management server, and storing, by the management server, the restriction value for the digital key); and a processing device configured to read a request stored in the digital vehicle key which is addressed to the motor vehicle by a key management system(see at least fig.1-5, p13-14, The digital key registration step may include a step of registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode in which on behalf of the vehicle device the mobile terminal relays registration of the vehicle digital key through authentication by the management server and a step of registering the digital key in a vehicle device-based telematics support mode in which each of the vehicle device and the mobile terminal processes registration of their own digital keys through authentication by the management server, registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode may include receiving and storing, by the mobile terminal accessing the management server through the dedicated application, a server public key from the management server and generating a terminal public key and a terminal private key, forwarding, by the mobile terminal, the terminal public key to the vehicle device and decrypting encrypted vehicle information, p89, the management server 2 generates an encrypted vehicle digital key by encrypting the digital key using the vehicle public key in the vehicle information and generates an encrypted terminal digital key by encrypting the digital key using the terminal public key in the terminal information. The management server 2 transmits the encrypted vehicle and terminal digital keys to the mobile terminal 1 (S532), the mobile terminal 1 forwards the terminal digital key encrypted with the terminal public key to the SW (S534), and the encrypted terminal digital key is decrypted using the terminal private key and then stored in the SW (S536)); wherein the request relates to setting up a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key which can be used to control the motor vehicle and to set up the requested locking device (see at least fig.1-5, p106, The restriction value may include a usable period, the number of usable times, a usable area, re-sharable information, the master terminal 1-1 selects a shared terminal 1-2 used by a sharer and shares a digital key to which the restriction value is applied (S940). A digital key sharing method includes a face-to-face sharing method and a non-face-to-face method. The face-to-face sharing method includes near field communication (NFC), person-to-person (P2P), Bluetooth pairing, and the like).
Claim.17 Kim discloses a motor vehicle comprising a control device according to claim 7(see at least fig.1-5, p17, The vehicle digital key sharing service method may further include a step in which a digital key sharing mode is activated via a dedicated application of a master terminal used by a primary user who owns a digital key, a restriction on unlock authority for the vehicle device is set by performing identification verification and authentication, and a digital key to which a restriction value is applied is shared with a shared terminal used by a sharer, p18, performing a secondary authentication process for a door key sharing service using a compound authentication method in which authentication is performed via an identity verification means in the management server through the dedicated application of the master terminal, setting the restriction value for the digital key stored in the secure world of the master terminal, receiving a selected shared terminal to share the digital key and forwarding the restriction value for the digital key and information on the shared terminal to the management server, and storing, by the management server, the restriction value for the digital key).
Claim.8 Kim discloses a key management system for digital vehicle keys for a motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, abstract, the vehicle digital key sharing service method, the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, which is registered from the management server, to validate the authentication token), the key management system comprising: a device for communicating with a mobile device on which a digital vehicle key for the motor vehicle is stored(see at least fig.1-5, p17, The vehicle digital key sharing service method may further include a step in which a digital key sharing mode is activated via a dedicated application of a master terminal used by a primary user who owns a digital key, a restriction on unlock authority for the vehicle device is set by performing identification verification and authentication, and a digital key to which a restriction value is applied is shared with a shared terminal used by a sharer, p18, performing a secondary authentication process for a door key sharing service using a compound authentication method in which authentication is performed via an identity verification means in the management server through the dedicated application of the master terminal, setting the restriction value for the digital key stored in the secure world of the master terminal, receiving a selected shared terminal to share the digital key and forwarding the restriction value for the digital key and information on the shared terminal to the management server, and storing, by the management server, the restriction value for the digital key); and a processing device configured to read a request stored in the digital vehicle key which is directed from the motor vehicle to the key management system(see at least fig.1-5, p13-14, The digital key registration step may include a step of registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode in which on behalf of the vehicle device the mobile terminal relays registration of the vehicle digital key through authentication by the management server and a step of registering the digital key in a vehicle device-based telematics support mode in which each of the vehicle device and the mobile terminal processes registration of their own digital keys through authentication by the management server, registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode may include receiving and storing, by the mobile terminal accessing the management server through the dedicated application, a server public key from the management server and generating a terminal public key and a terminal private key, forwarding, by the mobile terminal, the terminal public key to the vehicle device and decrypting encrypted vehicle information, p89, the management server 2 generates an encrypted vehicle digital key by encrypting the digital key using the vehicle public key in the vehicle information and generates an encrypted terminal digital key by encrypting the digital key using the terminal public key in the terminal information. The management server 2 transmits the encrypted vehicle and terminal digital keys to the mobile terminal 1 (S532), the mobile terminal 1 forwards the terminal digital key encrypted with the terminal public key to the SW (S534), and the encrypted terminal digital key is decrypted using the terminal private key and then stored in the SW (S536)); wherein the request relates to setting up a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key which can be used to control the motor vehicle and to set up the requested locking device (see at least fig.1-5, p106, The restriction value may include a usable period, the number of usable times, a usable area, re-sharable information, the master terminal 1-1 selects a shared terminal 1-2 used by a sharer and shares a digital key to which the restriction value is applied (S940). A digital key sharing method includes a face-to-face sharing method and a non-face-to-face method. The face-to-face sharing method includes near field communication (NFC), person-to-person (P2P), Bluetooth pairing, and the like).
Claim.19 Kim discloses a system comprising: a motor vehicle (see at least fig.1, element 3 is a vehicle); a control system device including a device for communicating with a mobile device on which a digital vehicle key for the motor vehicle is stored (see at least fig.1, p42, a digital key sharing service using a mobile terminal in a mobile trusted environment); and a processing device configured to store a request located in the digital vehicle key, which is directed from the motor vehicle to a key management system; wherein the request related at an unlocking of a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key which can be used to control the motor vehicle; and a key management system according to claim 8(see at least fig.1-5, p13-14, The digital key registration step may include a step of registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode in which on behalf of the vehicle device the mobile terminal relays registration of the vehicle digital key through authentication by the management server and a step of registering the digital key in a vehicle device-based telematics support mode in which each of the vehicle device and the mobile terminal processes registration of their own digital keys through authentication by the management server, registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode may include receiving and storing, by the mobile terminal accessing the management server through the dedicated application, a server public key from the management server and generating a terminal public key and a terminal private key, forwarding, by the mobile terminal, the terminal public key to the vehicle device and decrypting encrypted vehicle information, p89, the management server 2 generates an encrypted vehicle digital key by encrypting the digital key using the vehicle public key in the vehicle information and generates an encrypted terminal digital key by encrypting the digital key using the terminal public key in the terminal information. The management server 2 transmits the encrypted vehicle and terminal digital keys to the mobile terminal 1 (S532), the mobile terminal 1 forwards the terminal digital key encrypted with the terminal public key to the SW (S534), and the encrypted terminal digital key is decrypted using the terminal private key and then stored in the SW (S536)).
Claim.9 Kim discloses a method for controlling a motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, abstract, the vehicle digital key sharing service method, the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, which is registered from the management server, to validate the authentication token), the method comprising: detecting, by the motor vehicle, a request to unlock a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key which can be used to control the motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, p17, The vehicle digital key sharing service method may further include a step in which a digital key sharing mode is activated via a dedicated application of a master terminal used by a primary user who owns a digital key, a restriction on unlock authority for the vehicle device is set by performing identification verification and authentication, and a digital key to which a restriction value is applied is shared with a shared terminal used by a sharer, p18, performing a secondary authentication process for a door key sharing service using a compound authentication method in which authentication is performed via an identity verification means in the management server through the dedicated application of the master terminal, setting the restriction value for the digital key stored in the secure world of the master terminal, receiving a selected shared terminal to share the digital key and forwarding the restriction value for the digital key and information on the shared terminal to the management server, and storing, by the management server, the restriction value for the digital key); determining a mobile device, on which a digital vehicle key for the motor vehicle is stored, around the motor vehicle; storing, by the motor vehicle, a request addressed by the motor vehicle to a key management system in the digital vehicle key, wherein the request concerns the unlocking of the locking device(see at least fig.1-5, p13-14, The digital key registration step may include a step of registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode in which on behalf of the vehicle device the mobile terminal relays registration of the vehicle digital key through authentication by the management server and a step of registering the digital key in a vehicle device-based telematics support mode in which each of the vehicle device and the mobile terminal processes registration of their own digital keys through authentication by the management server, registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode may include receiving and storing, by the mobile terminal accessing the management server through the dedicated application, a server public key from the management server and generating a terminal public key and a terminal private key, forwarding, by the mobile terminal, the terminal public key to the vehicle device and decrypting encrypted vehicle information, p89, the management server 2 generates an encrypted vehicle digital key by encrypting the digital key using the vehicle public key in the vehicle information and generates an encrypted terminal digital key by encrypting the digital key using the terminal public key in the terminal information. The management server 2 transmits the encrypted vehicle and terminal digital keys to the mobile terminal 1 (S532), the mobile terminal 1 forwards the terminal digital key encrypted with the terminal public key to the SW (S534), and the encrypted terminal digital key is decrypted using the terminal private key and then stored in the SW (S536)); transmitting the request from the mobile device to the key management system (see at least fig.1-5, p85, the mobile terminal-based relay mode, the vehicle device 3 does not support a telematics function, and thus the mobile terminal 1 serves as a gateway G/W of the vehicle device 3 and the management server 2. In this case, the mobile terminal 1 relays the vehicle device 3 and process vehicle digital key registration through authentication by the management server 2); and disabling the locking device by the key management (see at least fig.1-5, p106, The restriction value may include a usable period, the number of usable times, a usable area, re-sharable information, the master terminal 1-1 selects a shared terminal 1-2 used by a sharer and shares a digital key to which the restriction value is applied (S940). A digital key sharing method includes a face-to-face sharing method and a non-face-to-face method. The face-to-face sharing method includes near field communication (NFC), person-to-person (P2P), Bluetooth pairing, and the like).
Claim.10 Kim discloses wherein the request is only stored in the digital vehicle key when direct communication between the motor vehicle and the key management is unsuccessful (see at least fig.5, p85, the mobile terminal-based relay mode, the vehicle device 3 does not support a telematics function, and thus the mobile terminal 1 serves as a gateway G/W of the vehicle device 3 and the management server 2. In this case, the mobile terminal 1 relays the vehicle device 3 and process vehicle digital key registration through authentication by the management server 2).
Claim.11 Kim discloses wherein the request is stored in a mailbox of the digital vehicle key (see at least fig.1-3, p32, the management server is decrypted in a secure world of the mobile terminal so that security of a digital can be enhanced even when the digital key is forwarded and received online,p68, an area in which the normal OS is operated will be referred to as a “normal world (NW)” 110 and an area in which the secure OS is operated will be referred to as a “secure world (SW)” 120. The SW 120 may correspond to a mobile secure world that uses one of trusted execution environment (TEE), white box cryptography (WBC), universal subscriber identity module (USIM), and embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM)).
Claim.12 Kim discloses wherein the request is stored in a mailbox of the digital vehicle key (see at least fig.1-5, abstract, the terminal digital key stored in the secure world when the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, p59, The digital key is a key encrypted and stored in a secure area of the mobile terminal 1 and the door of a vehicle may be unlocked with the key, p78, a digital key, a vehicle digital key is stored in a SW separated from a NW of a mobile terminal 1 using a dedicated application of the mobile terminal 1 after user authentication in a management server 2 when the mobile terminal 1 requests the management server 2 to register the digital key of a vehicle device 3 through the dedicated application).
Claim.13 Kim discloses wherein, in response to the request, the locking device existing on the motor vehicle is removed, wherein the locking device prevents processing of an attestation package for a newly generated digital vehicle key(see at least fig. 1-6, 7-12, p63, the master terminal 1-1 is operated in a normal OS (OS) and a secure OS, and when the master terminal 1-1 requests the management server 2 to register a digital key through a dedicated application, a digital key is registered as a terminal digital key is stored in a secure area separated from a normal area of the master terminal 1-1 using the dedicated application of the master terminal 1-1 after user authentication in the management server 2, p65, shared terminal 1-2 may share the digital key in which the restriction value is reflected through the master terminal 1-1 and unlock the door of the vehicle device 3 within a limited range using the shared digital key, p71, user private key encryption, generation of an authentication token, decryption of an authentication token, generation of digital signature data, check of digital signature data, and the like, are also stored in the SW 120).
Claim.14 Kim discloses wherein, in response to the request, the locking device existing on the motor vehicle is removed, wherein the locking device prevents processing of an attestation package for a newly generated digital vehicle key(see at least fig.1-6, 7-12, p63, the master terminal 1-1 is operated in a normal OS (OS) and a secure OS, and when the master terminal 1-1 requests the management server 2 to register a digital key through a dedicated application, a digital key is registered as a terminal digital key is stored in a secure area separated from a normal area of the master terminal 1-1 using the dedicated application of the master terminal 1-1 after user authentication in the management server 2, p65, shared terminal 1-2 may share the digital key in which the restriction value is reflected through the master terminal 1-1 and unlock the door of the vehicle device 3 within a limited range using the shared digital key, p71, user private key encryption, generation of an authentication token, decryption of an authentication token, generation of digital signature data, check of digital signature data, and the like, are also stored in the SW 120).
Claim.15 Kim discloses a control system device for a motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, abstract, the vehicle digital key sharing service method, the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, which is registered from the management server, to validate the authentication token), the control system device comprising: a device for communicating with a mobile device on which a digital vehicle key for the motor vehicle is stored(see at least fig.1-5, p17, The vehicle digital key sharing service method may further include a step in which a digital key sharing mode is activated via a dedicated application of a master terminal used by a primary user who owns a digital key, a restriction on unlock authority for the vehicle device is set by performing identification verification and authentication, and a digital key to which a restriction value is applied is shared with a shared terminal used by a sharer, p18, performing a secondary authentication process for a door key sharing service using a compound authentication method in which authentication is performed via an identity verification means in the management server through the dedicated application of the master terminal, setting the restriction value for the digital key stored in the secure world of the master terminal, receiving a selected shared terminal to share the digital key and forwarding the restriction value for the digital key and information on the shared terminal to the management server, and storing, by the management server, the restriction value for the digital key); and a processing device configured to store a request located in the digital vehicle key, which is directed from the motor vehicle to a key management system(see at least fig.1-5, p13-14, The digital key registration step may include a step of registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode in which on behalf of the vehicle device the mobile terminal relays registration of the vehicle digital key through authentication by the management server and a step of registering the digital key in a vehicle device-based telematics support mode in which each of the vehicle device and the mobile terminal processes registration of their own digital keys through authentication by the management server, registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode may include receiving and storing, by the mobile terminal accessing the management server through the dedicated application, a server public key from the management server and generating a terminal public key and a terminal private key, forwarding, by the mobile terminal, the terminal public key to the vehicle device and decrypting encrypted vehicle information, p89, the management server 2 generates an encrypted vehicle digital key by encrypting the digital key using the vehicle public key in the vehicle information and generates an encrypted terminal digital key by encrypting the digital key using the terminal public key in the terminal information. The management server 2 transmits the encrypted vehicle and terminal digital keys to the mobile terminal 1 (S532), the mobile terminal 1 forwards the terminal digital key encrypted with the terminal public key to the SW (S534), and the encrypted terminal digital key is decrypted using the terminal private key and then stored in the SW (S536)); wherein the request relates to an unlocking of a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key which can be used to control the motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, p106, The restriction value may include a usable period, the number of usable times, a usable area, re-sharable information, the master terminal 1-1 selects a shared terminal 1-2 used by a sharer and shares a digital key to which the restriction value is applied (S940). A digital key sharing method includes a face-to-face sharing method and a non-face-to-face method. The face-to-face sharing method includes near field communication (NFC), person-to-person (P2P), Bluetooth pairing, and the like).
Claim.18 Kim discloses a motor vehicle comprising a control system device according to claim 15(see at least fig.1-5, p17, The vehicle digital key sharing service method may further include a step in which a digital key sharing mode is activated via a dedicated application of a master terminal used by a primary user who owns a digital key, a restriction on unlock authority for the vehicle device is set by performing identification verification and authentication, and a digital key to which a restriction value is applied is shared with a shared terminal used by a sharer, p18, performing a secondary authentication process for a door key sharing service using a compound authentication method in which authentication is performed via an identity verification means in the management server through the dedicated application of the master terminal, setting the restriction value for the digital key stored in the secure world of the master terminal, receiving a selected shared terminal to share the digital key and forwarding the restriction value for the digital key and information on the shared terminal to the management server, and storing, by the management server, the restriction value for the digital key).
Claim.16 Kim discloses a key management system for digital vehicle keys for a motor vehicle (see at least fig.1-5, abstract, the vehicle digital key sharing service method, the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, which is registered from the management server, to validate the authentication token), the key management system comprising: a device for communicating with a mobile device on which a digital vehicle key for the motor vehicle is stored(see at least fig.1-5, p17, The vehicle digital key sharing service method may further include a step in which a digital key sharing mode is activated via a dedicated application of a master terminal used by a primary user who owns a digital key, a restriction on unlock authority for the vehicle device is set by performing identification verification and authentication, and a digital key to which a restriction value is applied is shared with a shared terminal used by a sharer, p18, performing a secondary authentication process for a door key sharing service using a compound authentication method in which authentication is performed via an identity verification means in the management server through the dedicated application of the master terminal, setting the restriction value for the digital key stored in the secure world of the master terminal, receiving a selected shared terminal to share the digital key and forwarding the restriction value for the digital key and information on the shared terminal to the management server, and storing, by the management server, the restriction value for the digital key); and a processing device configured to read a request stored in the digital vehicle key which is directed from the motor vehicle to the key management system(see at least fig.1-5, p13-14, The digital key registration step may include a step of registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode in which on behalf of the vehicle device the mobile terminal relays registration of the vehicle digital key through authentication by the management server and a step of registering the digital key in a vehicle device-based telematics support mode in which each of the vehicle device and the mobile terminal processes registration of their own digital keys through authentication by the management server, registering the digital key in a mobile terminal-based relay mode may include receiving and storing, by the mobile terminal accessing the management server through the dedicated application, a server public key from the management server and generating a terminal public key and a terminal private key, forwarding, by the mobile terminal, the terminal public key to the vehicle device and decrypting encrypted vehicle information, p89, the management server 2 generates an encrypted vehicle digital key by encrypting the digital key using the vehicle public key in the vehicle information and generates an encrypted terminal digital key by encrypting the digital key using the terminal public key in the terminal information. The management server 2 transmits the encrypted vehicle and terminal digital keys to the mobile terminal 1 (S532), the mobile terminal 1 forwards the terminal digital key encrypted with the terminal public key to the SW (S534), and the encrypted terminal digital key is decrypted using the terminal private key and then stored in the SW (S536)); wherein the request relates to unlocking of a locking device against addition of a newly generated digital vehicle key which can be used to control the motor vehicle, and to disable the requested locking device (see at least fig.1-5, p106, The restriction value may include a usable period, the number of usable times, a usable area, re-sharable information, the master terminal 1-1 selects a shared terminal 1-2 used by a sharer and shares a digital key to which the restriction value is applied (S940). A digital key sharing method includes a face-to-face sharing method and a non-face-to-face method. The face-to-face sharing method includes near field communication (NFC), person-to-person (P2P), Bluetooth pairing, and the like).
Conclusion
Related References
The relevant art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Paraskevas (US 20210104107A1) teaches a digital key sharing system includes an electronic circuit and a first server computer. The electronic circuit is configured to store a plurality of digital keys, receive a plurality of key sharing requests, and generate a plurality of features in response to the plurality of key sharing requests. The first server computer is in wireless communication with the electronic circuit and is configured to generate an alert signal in response to finding one or more anomalies in the plurality of features to initiate a notification to a primary user device associated with the electronic circuit, and send a suspend notification signal to the electronic circuit in response to the finding of the one or more anomalies in the plurality of features. The electronic circuit is further configured to suspend use of the plurality of digital keys in response to reception of the suspend notification signal.
Fujiwara (US20180261028A1) teaches the locking and unlocking system has a server to store information on a reservation for a vehicle or facility and a mobile terminal to communicate with the server. A key unit to unlock or lock a door of the vehicle or facility, the key unit being disposed in the vehicle or facility in which it includes a key-unit first reception unit to receive the cancel information from the server, a second reception unit to receive the first authentication information and the first request signal from the mobile terminal, a first authentication unit to authenticate the mobile terminal based on the first authentication information when the first authentication information has been received by the key-unit second reception unit, and a locking and unlocking processing unit for unlocking or locking the door of the vehicle or facility when the authentication of the mobile terminal has succeeded and the first request signal has been received.
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664