DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 11 objected to because of the following informalities: claims 2 and 11 state “the controller compries a look-up table” should be “the controller comprises a look-up table”. This is a minor spelling correction. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,020,629 B2 and claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,315,435 B2, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the elements of the application claims except the enable signal are to be found in patent claims 1-14 and 1-9 (as the application claims 1-18 fully encompass patent claims 1-14 and 1-9, respectively). The difference of an enable signal is common and Examiner is taking official notice that this signal is well known in the art and would be obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements are known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yields nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. The other difference between the application claims 1-18 lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1-14 and 1-9 of the patents are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims 1-18, respectively. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 1-8 are anticipated by claims 1-14 and 1-9 of the patents, it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-14 and 1-9 of the patents.
Patent No. US 12,020,629 B2
Patent No. US 12,315,435 B2
Instant Application 19/192,782
1. A display device, comprising:
a display panel including scan lines, data lines, and pixels connected to the scan lines and the data lines;
a scan driver configured to provide a scan signal to one of the scan lines; and
a data driver configured to generate a data signal based on image data and provide the data signal to one of the data lines,
wherein the data driver includes:
a controller configured to generate a gamma voltage control signal with respect to gamma voltage information corresponding to a target luminance level of an image displayed by the display panel;
a gamma voltage generator configured to generate gamma voltages having a voltage range corresponding to the target luminance level based on the gamma voltage control signal; and
a decoder configured to generate the data signal corresponding to a grayscale value using the gamma voltages, wherein the controller calculates an offset value corresponding to the target luminance level and applies the offset value to values obtained using gamma voltage information about sample luminance levels to obtain the gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level, wherein the gamma voltage information is changed nonlinearly in an area to which the target luminance level belongs among areas between the sample luminance levels, and wherein the, offset value is calculated using Equation 1 below:
wherein, in Equation 1, OS denotes the offset value, DV denotes the target luminance level, DBV1 and DBV2 denote a first sample luminance level and a second sample luminance level that have the smallest difference from the target luminance level among the sample luminance levels, and a and b are proportional constants according to emission characteristics of the pixel.
1. A display device, comprising:
a display panel including scan lines, data lines, and pixels connected to the scan lines and the data lines;
a timing controller configured to convert first data to serialized second data;
a scan driver configured to provide a scan signal to one of the scan lines; and
a data driver configured to generate a data signal based on the serialized second data and provide the data signal to one of the data lines,
wherein the data driver includes:
a shift register;
a controller configured to generate a gamma voltage control signal with respect to gamma voltage information corresponding to a target luminance level of an image displayed by the display panel and covert the serialized second data received from the timing controller to parallelized third data and provide the parallelized third data to the shift register;
a gamma voltage generator configured to generate gamma voltages having a voltage range corresponding to the target luminance level based on the gamma voltage control signal; and
a decoder configured to generate the data signal corresponding to a grayscale value using the gamma voltages, wherein the controller calculates an offset value corresponding to the target luminance level and applies the offset value to values obtained using gamma voltage information about sample luminance levels to obtain the gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level, and
wherein the offset value is calculated using Equation 1 below:
wherein, in Equation 1, OS denotes the offset value, DV denotes the target luminance level, DBV1 and DBV2 denote a first sample luminance level and a second sample luminance level that have the smallest difference from the target luminance level among the sample luminance levels, and a and b are proportional constants according to emission characteristics of the pixel.
1. A data driver, comprising:
a controller configured to receive image data, a data control signal, and a luminance control signal, to generate a gamma enable signal based on the image data and the data control signal, and to generate a gamma voltage control signal based on the luminance control signal; and
a gamma voltage generator configured to receive the gamma enable signal and the gamma voltage control signal, to generate gamma voltages based on the gamma enable signal, and to change a voltage range of the gamma voltages based on the gamma voltage control signal, and
wherein the luminance control signal includes information corresponding to a target luminance level of an image, and wherein the gamma voltage control signal includes target gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level.
5. The display device of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to calculate the offset value using Equation 1 below:
wherein, in Equation 1, OS denotes the offset value, DV denotes the target luminance level, DBV1 and DBV2 denote a first sample luminance level and a second sample luminance level that have the smallest difference from the target luminance level among the sample luminance levels, and a and b are proportional constants according to emission characteristics of a pixel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (USPN 2020/0286448 A1) in view of Son et al. (USPN 2020/0335042 A1).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a data driver (see at least [0055] “the display device 100 may include … a data driver 130.”), comprising:
a controller configured to receive image data, a data control signal, (see at least [0062] “The data driver 130 may generate data signals based on image data DATA2.”; [0083] “the data driver 130 (or a source driver) may include a controller 310.”; [0084] “The controller 310 may receive the data control signal DCS from the timing controller 140.”), and a luminance control signal, to generate a gamma enable signal based on the data control signal ([0087] “The controller 310 may generate a gamma enable signal G_EN.”), and
a gamma voltage generator configured to receive the gamma enable signal, to generate gamma voltages based on the gamma enable signal (see at least [0090] “The gamma voltage generator 330 may receive the gamma enable signal G_EN and generate the gamma voltages VG0 to VG2047.”), and
to change a voltage range of the gamma voltages based on the gamma voltage control signal (see at least [0117] “the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. … the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.”),
and
wherein the luminance control signal includes information corresponding to a target luminance level of an image (see at least [0117] “the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device.”).
Kim does not directly teach generating the gamma enable signal “based on the image data”, generating a separate “gamma voltage control signal”, and the gamma voltage control signal including “target gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level”. Kim discloses G_EN, but does not state it is generated based on image data. Kim discloses luminance control signal LCS, but does not describe a controller-generated gamma voltage control signal as a distinct signal. Kim adjusts VG_BOT but does not characterize this as target gamma voltage information.
Son teaches a controller configured to generate a gamma enable signal based on the image data (see at least [0067] “the controller 240 may receive the brightness selection signal SEL from the outside, and may control … the data driver 230 so that the display area 100 emits light at an overall brightness level corresponding to the brightness selection signal SEL.”, [0080] “the brightness controller 250 may control the brightness of the display area 100 by adjusting.. the gamma voltages of the reference gray levels according to the gamma data VGAM.”); and
to generate a gamma voltage control signal based on the luminance control signal (see at least [0068] “the controller 240 may supply gamma data VGAM corresponding to the input brightness selection signal SEL to the data driver 230. The gamma data VGAM may include gamma voltages set with respect to reference gray levels.”); and
wherein the gamma voltage control signal includes target gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level (see at least [0069] “the controller 240 may output the gamma voltages of the reference gray levels according to the brightness level corresponding to the brightness selection signal SEL to the data driver 230.”; [0080] “the brightness controller 250 may control the brightness of the display area 100 by adjusting.. the gamma voltages of the reference gray levels according to the gamma data VGAM.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Son because: Kim already adjusts a gamma voltage range based on luminance (see Kim at least [0117]). Son teaches generating gamma data and gamma voltages corresponding to a target luminance level at the controller (see Son at least [0068]–[0069]). Combining Son’s controller-level gamma control with Kim’s gamma voltage generator would have been a predictable variation to improve luminance-based gamma control. The combination merely assigns known luminance-based gamma determination (Son) to Kim’s existing gamma voltage generation circuitry. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kim to include controller-generated gamma voltage control information corresponding to a target luminance level as taught by Son.
As to claim 10, Kim teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a processor configured to generate input image data and a control signal (see at least fig. 1: input image DATA1, control signal CS and [0068] “The timing controller 140 may receive input image data DATA1 and a control signal CS from an external device, such as a graphic processor)”);
a timing controller configured to receive the input image data and the control signal, to generate image data based on the input image data, and to generate a data control signal and a luminance control signal based on the control signal (see at least fig. 1 and [0068] “The timing controller 140 may … generate the scan control signal SCS and a data control signal DCS based on the control signal CS, and generate the image data DATA2 by converting the input image data DATA1.”); and
a data driver configured to generate data signals based on the image data, the data control signal, and the luminance control signal (see at least fig. 1 and [0062] “The data driver 130 may generate data signals based on image data DATA2 and a is data control signal DCS provided from the timing controller 140”), and wherein the data driver comprises:
a controller configured to receive image data, a data control signal, (see at least [0062] “The data driver 130 may generate data signals based on image data DATA2.”; [0083] “the data driver 130 (or a source driver) may include a controller 310.”; [0084] “The controller 310 may receive the data control signal DCS from the timing controller 140.”), and a luminance control signal, to generate a gamma enable signal based on the data control signal ([0087] “The controller 310 may generate a gamma enable signal G_EN.”), and
a gamma voltage generator configured to receive the gamma enable signal, to generate gamma voltages based on the gamma enable signal (see at least [0090] “The gamma voltage generator 330 may receive the gamma enable signal G_EN and generate the gamma voltages VG0 to VG2047.”), and
to change a voltage range of the gamma voltages based on the gamma voltage control signal (see at least [0117] “the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. … the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.”),
and
wherein the luminance control signal includes information corresponding to a target luminance level of an image (see at least [0117] “the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device.”).
Kim does not directly teach generating the gamma enable signal “based on the image data”, generating a separate “gamma voltage control signal”, and the gamma voltage control signal including “target gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level”. Kim discloses G_EN, but does not state it is generated based on image data. Kim discloses luminance control signal LCS, but does not describe a controller-generated gamma voltage control signal as a distinct signal. Kim adjusts VG_BOT but does not characterize this as target gamma voltage information.
Son teaches a controller configured to receive a luminance control signal (see at least [0067] “The controller 240 may receive the brightness selection signal SEL from the outside.”),
to generate a gamma enable signal based on the image data (see at least [0067] “the controller 240 may receive the brightness selection signal SEL from the outside, and may control … the data driver 230 so that the display area 100 emits light at an overall brightness level corresponding to the brightness selection signal SEL.”, [0080] “the brightness controller 250 may control the brightness of the display area 100 by adjusting.. the gamma voltages of the reference gray levels according to the gamma data VGAM.”); and
to generate a gamma voltage control signal based on the luminance control signal (see at least [0068] “the controller 240 may supply gamma data VGAM corresponding to the input brightness selection signal SEL to the data driver 230. The gamma data VGAM may include gamma voltages set with respect to reference gray levels.”); and
wherein the gamma voltage control signal includes target gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level (see at least [0069] “the controller 240 may output the gamma voltages of the reference gray levels according to the brightness level corresponding to the brightness selection signal SEL to the data driver 230.”; [0080] “the brightness controller 250 may control the brightness of the display area 100 by adjusting.. the gamma voltages of the reference gray levels according to the gamma data VGAM.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Son because: Kim already adjusts a gamma voltage range based on luminance (see Kim at least [0117]). Son teaches generating gamma data and gamma voltages corresponding to a target luminance level at the controller (see Son at least [0068]–[0069]). Combining Son’s controller-level gamma control with Kim’s gamma voltage generator would have been a predictable variation to improve luminance-based gamma control. The combination merely assigns known luminance-based gamma determination (Son) to Kim’s existing gamma voltage generation circuitry. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Kim to include controller-generated gamma voltage control information corresponding to a target luminance level as taught by Son.
As to claim 2, the combination of Kim and Son teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the controller comprises a look-up table including gamma voltage information corresponding to sample luminance levels (see Son at least [0068] “The controller 240 may supply gamma data VGAM corresponding to the input brightness selection signal SEL to the data driver 230.”; [0077] “The display driver 200 may further include a storage unit for storing information necessary for an operation of the brightness controller 250.”; [0111] “Gamma data VGAM for each of some sample brightness levels DBV[1] to DBV[L] may be set and stored.” – note a “look-up table” encompasses any memory or storage structure that stores values retrievable based on an index, “brightness levels” correspond to luminance levels as brightness is a perceptual representation of luminance, and stored gamma data indexed by DBV values therefore constitutes a look-up table including gamma voltage information corresponding to sample luminance levels).
As to claim 3, the combination of Kim and Son teach the display device of claim 2 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is equal to a sample luminance level among the sample luminance levels, the controller is configured to calculate first gamma voltage information corresponding to the sample luminance level as the target gamma voltage information (see Son at least [0112] “when any one of the sample brightness levels is selected, the gamma voltages for the reference gray levels stored with respect to the selected sample brightness level may be output to the data driver 230 as the gamma data VGAM. When any one of the remaining brightness levels for which the gamma data VGAM is not stored in advance is selected, a gamma voltage for each reference gray level corresponding to a corresponding brightness level may be calculated through the gamma interpolation, and the calculated gamma voltages may be output to the data driver 230 as the gamma data VGAM. Therefore, in the data driver 230, data signals DS having voltages corresponding to respective brightness levels may be generated.”).
As to claim 4, the combination of Kim and Son teach the display device of claim 2 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is different from the sample luminance levels, the controller is configured to calculate second gamma voltage information by applying a linear interpolation method to the gamma voltage information, and to calculate third gamma voltage information, by applying an offset value corresponding to the target luminance level to the second gamma voltage information, as the target gamma voltage information (see Son at least [0111] “gamma data VGAM for a corresponding brightness level may be acquired through gamma interpolation.”; [0121] “gamma data VGAM may be finely controlled … to correct the color coordinate.”; [0128] “Each gamma data VGAM… may be calculated through linear interpolation with respect to the remaining brightness levels.”; [0162] “The gamma controller 256 may differentially adjust and output the gamma data VGAM of the reference gray levels according to each brightness level.” – note Son explicitly teaches linear interpolation of gamma data. Applying an “offset value” is reasonably interpreted as adjusting interpolated gamma data to more closely match a target brightness or luminance level. The claim does not require the offset to be calculated using a specific equation (claims 5 and 14 recite that limitation and are not rejected)).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kim and Son teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is increased, the gamma voltage generator is configured to widen the voltage range of the gamma voltages by decreasing a value of a first gamma voltage corresponding to a minimum value of the gamma voltages (see Kim at least [0117] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. The luminance control signal LCS may be provided from the outside, such as from the timing controller 140. More particularly, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.” – note decreasing a minimum gamma voltage widens the voltage range, increasing a minimum gamma voltage narrows the voltage range. Adjusting the maximum gamma voltage is an obvious symmetrical variation to adjusting the minimum gamma voltage, yielding predictable results).
As to claim 7, the combination of Kim and Son teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is decreased, the gamma voltage generator is configured to narrow the voltage range of the gamma voltages by increasing a value of a first gamma voltage corresponding to a minimum value of the gamma voltages (see Kim at least [0117] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. The luminance control signal LCS may be provided from the outside, such as from the timing controller 140. More particularly, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.” – note decreasing a minimum gamma voltage widens the voltage range, increasing a minimum gamma voltage narrows the voltage range. Adjusting the maximum gamma voltage is an obvious symmetrical variation to adjusting the minimum gamma voltage, yielding predictable results).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kim and Son teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is increased, the gamma voltage generator is configured to widen the voltage range of the gamma voltages by increasing a value of a second gamma voltage corresponding to a maximum value of the gamma voltages (see Kim at least [0117] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. The luminance control signal LCS may be provided from the outside, such as from the timing controller 140. More particularly, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.” – note decreasing a minimum gamma voltage widens the voltage range, increasing a minimum gamma voltage narrows the voltage range. Adjusting the maximum gamma voltage is an obvious symmetrical variation to adjusting the minimum gamma voltage, yielding predictable results).
As to claim 9, the combination of Kim and Son teach the display device of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is decreased, the gamma voltage generator is configured to narrow the voltage range of the gamma voltages by decreasing a value of a second gamma voltage corresponding to a maximum value of the gamma voltages (see Kim at least [0117] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. The luminance control signal LCS may be provided from the outside, such as from the timing controller 140. More particularly, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.” – note decreasing a minimum gamma voltage widens the voltage range, increasing a minimum gamma voltage narrows the voltage range. Adjusting the maximum gamma voltage is an obvious symmetrical variation to adjusting the minimum gamma voltage, yielding predictable results).
As to claim 11, the combination of Kim and Son teach the electronic device of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein the controller comprises a look-up table LUT1 including gamma voltage information corresponding to sample luminance levels (see Son at least [0068] “The controller 240 may supply gamma data VGAM corresponding to the input brightness selection signal SEL to the data driver 230.”; [0077] “The display driver 200 may further include a storage unit for storing information necessary for an operation of the brightness controller 250.”; [0111] “Gamma data VGAM for each of some sample brightness levels DBV[1] to DBV[L] may be set and stored.” – note a “look-up table” encompasses any memory or storage structure that stores values retrievable based on an index, “brightness levels” correspond to luminance levels as brightness is a perceptual representation of luminance, and stored gamma data indexed by DBV values therefore constitutes a look-up table including gamma voltage information corresponding to sample luminance levels).
As to claim 12, the combination of Kim and Son teach the electronic device of claim 11 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is equal to a sample luminance level among the sample luminance levels, the controller is configured to calculate first gamma voltage information corresponding to the sample luminance level as the target gamma voltage information (see Son at least [0112] “when any one of the sample brightness levels is selected, the gamma voltages for the reference gray levels stored with respect to the selected sample brightness level may be output to the data driver 230 as the gamma data VGAM. When any one of the remaining brightness levels for which the gamma data VGAM is not stored in advance is selected, a gamma voltage for each reference gray level corresponding to a corresponding brightness level may be calculated through the gamma interpolation, and the calculated gamma voltages may be output to the data driver 230 as the gamma data VGAM. Therefore, in the data driver 230, data signals DS having voltages corresponding to respective brightness levels may be generated.”).
As to claim 13, the combination of Kim and Son teach the electronic device of claim 11 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is different from the sample luminance levels, the controller is configured to calculate second gamma voltage information by applying a linear interpolation method to the gamma voltage information, and to calculate third gamma voltage information, by applying an offset value corresponding to the target luminance level to the second gamma voltage information, as the target gamma voltage information (see Son at least [0111] “gamma data VGAM for a corresponding brightness level may be acquired through gamma interpolation.”; [0121] “gamma data VGAM may be finely controlled … to correct the color coordinate.”; [0128] “Each gamma data VGAM… may be calculated through linear interpolation with respect to the remaining brightness levels.”; [0162] “The gamma controller 256 may differentially adjust and output the gamma data VGAM of the reference gray levels according to each brightness level.” – note Son explicitly teaches linear interpolation of gamma data. Applying an “offset value” is reasonably interpreted as adjusting interpolated gamma data to more closely match a target brightness or luminance level. The claim does not require the offset to be calculated using a specific equation (claims 5 and 14 recite that limitation and are not rejected)).
As to claim 15, the combination of Kim and Son teach the electronic device of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is increased, the gamma voltage generator is configured to widen the voltage range of the gamma voltages by decreasing a value of a first gamma voltage corresponding to a minimum value of the gamma voltages (see Kim at least [0117] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. The luminance control signal LCS may be provided from the outside, such as from the timing controller 140. More particularly, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.” – note decreasing a minimum gamma voltage widens the voltage range, increasing a minimum gamma voltage narrows the voltage range. Adjusting the maximum gamma voltage is an obvious symmetrical variation to adjusting the minimum gamma voltage, yielding predictable results).
As to claim 16, the combination of Kim and Son teach the electronic device of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is decreased, the gamma voltage generator is configured to narrow the voltage range of the gamma voltages by increasing a value of a first gamma voltage corresponding to a minimum value of the gamma voltages (see Kim at least [0117] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. The luminance control signal LCS may be provided from the outside, such as from the timing controller 140. More particularly, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.” – note decreasing a minimum gamma voltage widens the voltage range, increasing a minimum gamma voltage narrows the voltage range. Adjusting the maximum gamma voltage is an obvious symmetrical variation to adjusting the minimum gamma voltage, yielding predictable results).
As to claim 17, the combination of Kim and Son teach the electronic device of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is increased, the gamma voltage generator is configured to widen the voltage range of the gamma voltages by increasing a value of a second gamma voltage corresponding to a maximum value of the gamma voltages (see Kim at least [0117] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. The luminance control signal LCS may be provided from the outside, such as from the timing controller 140. More particularly, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.” – note decreasing a minimum gamma voltage widens the voltage range, increasing a minimum gamma voltage narrows the voltage range. Adjusting the maximum gamma voltage is an obvious symmetrical variation to adjusting the minimum gamma voltage, yielding predictable results).
As to claim 18, the combination of Kim and Son teach the electronic device of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein, when the target luminance level is decreased, the gamma voltage generator is configured to narrow the voltage range of the gamma voltages by decreasing a value of a second gamma voltage corresponding to a maximum value of the gamma voltages (see Kim at least [0117] “According to an exemplary embodiment, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT in response to a luminance control signal LCS. The luminance control signal LCS may be provided from the outside, such as from the timing controller 140. More particularly, the second buffer AMP_BOT may vary the minimum gamma voltage VG_BOT according to a display luminance of the display device 100, and thus, a range of the gamma voltages VO to V2047 may be adjusted.” – note decreasing a minimum gamma voltage widens the voltage range, increasing a minimum gamma voltage narrows the voltage range. Adjusting the maximum gamma voltage is an obvious symmetrical variation to adjusting the minimum gamma voltage, yielding predictable results).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record teach:
“A data driver, comprising:
a controller configured to receive image data, a data control signal, and a luminance control signal, to generate a gamma enable signal based on the image data and the data control signal, and to generate a gamma voltage control signal based on the luminance control signal; and
a gamma voltage generator configured to receive the gamma enable signal and the gamma voltage control signal, to generate gamma voltages based on the gamma enable signal, and to change a voltage range of the gamma voltages based on the gamma voltage control signal, and
wherein the luminance control signal includes information corresponding to a target luminance level of an image, and wherein the gamma voltage control signal includes target gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level;
wherein the controller comprises a look-up table including gamma voltage information corresponding to sample luminance levels;
wherein, when the target luminance level is different from the sample luminance levels, the controller is configured to calculate second gamma voltage information by applying a linear interpolation method to the gamma voltage information, and to calculate third gamma voltage information, by applying an offset value corresponding to the target luminance level to the second gamma voltage information, as the target gamma voltage information;
wherein the controller is configured to calculate the offset value using Equation 1 below:
wherein, in Equation 1, OS denotes the offset value, DV denotes the target luminance level, DBV1 and DBV2 denote a first sample luminance level and a second sample luminance level that have the smallest difference from the target luminance level among the sample luminance levels, and a and b are proportional constants according to emission characteristics of a pixel.” and
“An electronic device, comprising: a processor configured to generate input image data and a control signal; a timing controller configured to receive the input image data and the control signal, to generate image data based on the input image data, and to generate a data control signal and a luminance control signal based on the control signal; and a data driver configured to generate data signals based on the image data, the data control signal, and the luminance control signal, and wherein the data driver comprises: a controller configured to receive the image data, the data control signal, and the luminance control signal, to generate a gamma enable signal based on the image data and the data control signal, and to generate a gamma voltage control signal based on the luminance control signal; and a gamma voltage generator configured to receive the gamma enable signal and the gamma voltage control signal, to generate gamma voltages based on the gamma enable signal, and to change a voltage range of the gamma voltages based on the gamma voltage control signal, wherein the luminance control signal includes information corresponding to a target luminance level of an image, and wherein the gamma voltage control signal includes target gamma voltage information corresponding to the target luminance level;
wherein the controller comprises a look-up table LUT1 including gamma voltage information corresponding to sample luminance levels;
wherein, when the target luminance level is different from the sample luminance levels, the controller is configured to calculate second gamma voltage information by applying a linear interpolation method to the gamma voltage information, and to calculate third gamma voltage information, by applying an offset value corresponding to the target luminance level to the second gamma voltage information, as the target gamma voltage information;
wherein the controller is configured to calculate the offset value using Equation 1 below:
wherein, in Equation 1, OS denotes the offset value, DV denotes the target luminance level, DBV1 and DBV2 denote a first sample luminance level and a second sample luminance level that have the smallest difference from the target luminance level among the sample luminance levels, and a and b are proportional constants according to emission characteristics of a pixel.”
Conclusion
/JENNIFER L ZUBAJLO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2627 1/19/2026