DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 19/193,044, filed on 04/29/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Priority
The application claims a CON of 17/388,316 filed on 07/29/2021 PAT 12316645.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 04/29/2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 12316645 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the con-pending application contains every element of claims on the instant application The table shows the mapping of independent claim 1.
For example, please see the claim 1 of current application mapping below.
Current Application No. 19/193044
Patent application No. US 12316645 B2
Claim 1:
A computing system, comprising:
a processor;
and
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, configure the processor to:
receive a request to initiate a first resource transfer for transferring a first defined quantity of resources from a transferor data record to a transferee data record;
verify that the transferee data record is associated with an intended recipient of the first resource transfer based on:
transmitting, to a first server associated with the transferee data record, a transfer solicitation request for requesting a second resource transfer to be initiated from the transferee data record to the transferor data record;
receiving, from the first server, a response message including an indication of approval of the second resource transfer by the intended recipient;
and
verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message, and after verifying that the transferee data record is associated with the intended recipient, initiate a third resource transfer for transferring a third defined quantity of resources from the transferor data record to the transferee data record.
Claim 1:
A computing system, comprising:
a processor;
and
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, configure the processor to:
receive a first request to initiate a first resource transfer for transferring a first defined quantity of resources from transferor data record to a transferee data record;
determine that the first resource transfer is of a first type;
in response to determining that the first resource transfer is of the first type, verify that the transferee data record is associated with an intended recipient of the first resource transfer by:
transmitting, to a first server associated with the transferee data record, a transfer solicitation request for requesting a second resource transfer of a second defined quantity of resources to be initiated from the transferee data record to the transferor data record;
receiving, from the first server, a response message authorizing the second resource transfer, the response message including an indication of approval of the second resource transfer by the intended recipient and including ownership information for the transferee data record; and
verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message, and
after verifying that the transferee data record is associated with the intended recipient, initiate a third resource transfer for transferring a third defined quantity from the transferor data record to the transferee data record.
This is a provisional non-statutory obviousness type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US Publication No. 2020/0387878 A1) in view of Jacobs (US Publication No. 20170237554 A1)
Regarding Claim 1:
Jones discloses:
A computing system, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, configure the processor to(Jones, [0013], a processor coupled to the communication module; and a memory coupled to the processor. The memory may store instructions that, when executed):
receive a request to initiate a first resource transfer for transferring a first defined quantity of resources from a transferor data record to a transferee data record(Jones, [0104], the processor allocates the transferred resource (e.g., payment) from a client record 126 of the user to another client record 126 associated with the recipient entity… allocating or transferring a resource may include a data transfer from a data record associated with a transferor entity to a data record associated with a recipient entity.);
verify that the transferee data record is associated with an intended recipient of the first resource transfer based on(Jones, [0086], The processor may query or scan the plurality of messages to identify the payee name or payee identifier.. [0087], the defined criteria may include a portion of an account number for identifying the transferor (e.g., customer) to the recipient (e.g., payee), [0094], the resource parameter may include a payee/recipient identifier… [0121], the resource server 120 may utilize account number information to associate the bill payment notification e-mail 500 with a client record 126, [0125], The resource parameter 604 may describe a collection of parameters including a recipient identifier…):
Jones does not disclose:
transmitting, to a first server associated with the transferee data record, a transfer solicitation request for requesting a second resource transfer to be initiated from the transferee data record to the transferor data record
receiving, from the first server, a response message including an indication of approval of the second resource transfer by the intended recipient
and verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message
and after verifying that the transferee data record is associated with the intended recipient, initiate a third resource transfer for transferring a third defined quantity of resources from the transferor data record to the transferee data record
Jacobs discloses:
transmitting, to a first server associated with the transferee data record, a transfer solicitation request for requesting a second resource transfer to be initiated from the transferee data record to the transferor data record(Jacobs, [0012], receiving, by a second computer (e.g., an issuer node computer), a request to transfer a value from a sender associated with a sender identifier to a recipient associated with a recipient identifier… generating a digital asset indicating that the value is being transferred to the recipient, [0029], to initiate an asset transfer, a user (or an institution representing the user) can instruct an issuer node in the asset transfer network to generate and provide the digital asset.[0063], the sending institution computer 160 may instruct with the issuer node computer 165 to initiate a value transfer from the user account to the resource provider account, [0113], provide a digital asset and/or a corresponding issuer node digital signature to the administrative node computer 150 in order obtain approval );
receiving, from the first server, a response message including an indication of approval of the second resource transfer by the intended recipient(Jacobs, [0012], sending a request to validate the digital asset to a first computer… receiving the second digital signature from the first computer… [0076], providing the second digital signature to the issuer node computer, wherein the issuer node computer sends the digital asset to a recipient node computer; recording the digital asset in a database; and coordinating a transaction associated with the digital asset. [0086], determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer, [0107], sending, to an administrative node computer, a request to validate the digital asset, the request including the digital asset and the first digital signature, wherein the administrative node computer validates the digital asset and generates a second digital signature for the digital asset, the second digital signature generated with a second private key associated with the administrative node computer);
and verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message(Jacobs, [0086], the processor 150A to validate a transaction. For example, the validation module 150J may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze information in a digital asset and determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer that has been screened for compliance. [0080], the administrative node computer 150, such that the administrative node computer 150 has sufficient information about participating entities),
and after verifying that the transferee data record is associated with the intended recipient, initiate a third resource transfer for transferring a third defined quantity of resources from the transferor data record to the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0063], the sending institution computer 160 to communicate with the issuer node computer 165. In this scenario, the sending institution computer 160 may instruct with the issuer node computer 165 to initiate a value transfer from the user account to the resource provider account. [0101], generate a digital asset including information associated with transferring a value from a user account to a recipient account. [0107], receiving a request to transfer a value from a sender associated with a sender identifier to a recipient associated with a recipient identifier;. [0109], generate a digital asset including information for transferring a value from a user account to a recipient account.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones's configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones's system for receiving an approval response associated with a transfer verification request, validating ownership information contained within the response, and initiating a transfer only after successful verification of the recipient account to ensure that resources are transferred to an authorized recipient account, as taught by Jacobs through validation and approval responses associated with transfer transactions and further taught by Xu through authenticated identity and certificate verification techniques, in order to enhance recipient authentication, transaction integrity, and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that transfer requests are executed only after confirming ownership and authorization of the recipient account, thereby reducing the risk of fraudulent, misdirected, or unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 2:
The computing system of claim 1, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein determining that the first resource transfer is of a first type comprises determining that there have not been any previous resource transfers from the transferor data record to the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0041], The ledger of transactions may be a database or other comparable file structure that may be configured to store data from all previous digital asset transfers, including the date and time of the transfer, the transfer amount, and identification information for the participants of the transfer. [0089], The update ledger module 150L may comprise code that causes the processor 150A to maintain a ledger of transactions. [0091], a ledger database 150D. Additional databases may store transaction records (e.g., a list of transactions not in a blockchain) and/or invoice records. Further, a settlement database may include information about transactions to be settled. [0095], the administrative node 150 with real-time visibility into the net-position of each financial institution, user, and/or business at any point in time,[01117], The issuer node computer 165 may be able to view transaction records for transactions to which the issuer node computer 165 or the sending institution computer 160 was party.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones system for determining whether there have been any previous transfers between a transferor data record and a transferee data record to ensure that first-time transfer transactions are identified and subjected to additional verification, as taught by Jacobs through the use of transaction histories and ledger records, in order to enhance transaction security and fraud prevention.
The motivation is to ensure that transfers involving previously unknown recipient accounts receive additional scrutiny, thereby reducing the likelihood of unauthorized, erroneous, or fraudulent transfers.
Regarding Claim 3:
The computing system of claim 1, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein determining that the first resource transfer is of a first type comprises determining that the first defined quantity of resources is requested to be transferred in real-time or substantially in real-time(Jones, [0094], the resource parameter may include a payee/recipient identifier, a proposed transfer amount, [0101], a transfer request alert based on the proposed resource transfer for display on a non-messaging application interface at the client device 110.).
Regarding Claim 4:
The computing system of claim 1, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein request data of the transfer solicitation request includes an indication that the transfer solicitation request is for verifying the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0012], … sending a request to validate the digital asset to a first computer…, [0076], … receiving, from an issuer node computer, a request to validate a digital asset..., [0107], sending, to an administrative node computer, a request to validate the digital asset. [0113], provide a digital asset and/or a corresponding issuer node digital signature to the administrative node computer 150 in order obtain approval).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones system for including, within a transfer request, information indicating that the request is being transmitted for verification of a recipient account to ensure that receiving systems recognize the request as a validation request, as taught by Jacobs through transmitting requests to validate digital assets, in order to enhance account verification and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that recipient account validation requests are properly identified and processed as verification transactions, thereby reducing the likelihood of fraudulent or unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 5:
Jones in view of Jacobs disclose:
The computing system of claim 1…
wherein message data of the response message includes ownership certifying data associated with the transferee data record and wherein verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message comprises validating the ownership certifying data(Jacobs, [0080], the administrative node computer 150 may have access to user information collected by a service provider (e.g., a bank), such as a user's legal name, address (street, city, country, etc.), date of birth, and any other suitable information. [0081], administrative node computer 150 may provide a digital certificate to an enrolled entity, the digital certificate proving that the entity is certified by the administrative node computer 150, and the digital certificate linking the entity with a public key. [0086], the validation module 150J may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze information in a digital asset and determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer that has been screened for compliance).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones's configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones's system for including recipient ownership-related information within a response message and validating such information to verify ownership of a transferee data record, to ensure that resources are transferred only to accounts associated with authorized recipients, as taught by Jacobs through validating recipient identity information, enterprise identifiers, and participant enrollment information, in order to enhance recipient-account authentication and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that the recipient account is legitimately associated with the intended recipient before executing a resource transfer, thereby reducing the risk of fraudulent, misdirected, or unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 8:
The computing system of claim 5, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein validating the ownership certifying data comprises: obtaining transferee information associated with an intended transferee of the first resource transfer(Jacobs, [0080], the asset transfer network, their information (e.g., a name, an address, a phone number, a business' corporate profile, etc.) may be disclosed to the administrative node computer 150, such that the administrative node computer 150 has sufficient information about participating entities. [0086], the validation module 150J may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze information in a digital asset and determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer that has been screened for compliance, [0123], digital assets may be broadcasted to several or all nodes, and the recipient node computer 145 may identify which digital assets are relevant to the recipient institution and/or resource provider);
and performing comparison between the ownership certifying data and the transferee information(Jacobs, [0086], The validation module 150J may comprise code that causes the processor 150A to validate a transaction. For example, the validation module 150J may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze information in a digital asset and determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer that has been screened for compliance. [0080], enroll for participation with the asset transfer network, their information (e.g., a name, an address, a phone number, a business' corporate profile, etc.) may be disclosed to the administrative node computer 150, such that the administrative node computer 150 has sufficient information about participating entities).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones system for obtaining transferee information associated with an intended recipient and comparing such transferee information with ownership-related information to ensure that the recipient account corresponds to the intended transferee, as taught by Jacobs through validating recipient identifiers and participant information and by Xu through associating identity information with authenticated entities, in order to enhance recipient authentication and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that recipient ownership information matches the intended recipient information before authorizing a transfer, thereby reducing the risk of fraudulent, misdirected, or unauthorized transactions.
Regarding Claim 9:
The computing system of claim 1, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein the third defined quantity is equal to a sum of the first defined quantity and a second defined quantity of resources associated with the second resource transfer(Jacobs, [0037], A digital asset may also include remittance information (e.g., information identifying a sending entity). In some embodiments, a digital asset may include one or more of a digital asset identifier, a value (e.g., an amount, an original currency type, a destination currency type), transfer fee information. [0035], A “digital asset” may refer to digital content associated with a value. In some cases, the digital asset may also indicate a transfer of the value. [0063], a value transfer from the user account to the resource provider account. [0101], the digital asset module 150M may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to generate a digital asset including information associated with transferring a value from a user account to a recipient account.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones's system for determining a transfer quantity based on multiple transfer amounts to ensure that a total transfer amount accurately reflects values associated with related transfer transactions, as taught by Jacobs through maintaining and processing transfer value and transfer amount information associated with value transfers, in order to enhance transfer accounting accuracy and transaction processing.
The motivation is to ensure that the total quantity of resources transferred accurately accounts for all associated transfer amounts, thereby improving transaction accuracy and reducing accounting errors.
Regarding Claim 11:
Jones discloses:
A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving a request to initiate a first resource transfer for transferring a first defined quantity of resources from a transferor data record to a transferee data record(Jones, [0104], the processor allocates the transferred resource (e.g., payment) from a client record 126 of the user to another client record 126 associated with the recipient entity… allocating or transferring a resource may include a data transfer from a data record associated with a transferor entity to a data record associated with a recipient entity.);
verifying that the transferee data record is associated with an intended recipient of the first resource transfer based on(Jones, [0086], The processor may query or scan the plurality of messages to identify the payee name or payee identifier.. [0087], the defined criteria may include a portion of an account number for identifying the transferor (e.g., customer) to the recipient (e.g., payee), [0094], the resource parameter may include a payee/recipient identifier… [0121], the resource server 120 may utilize account number information to associate the bill payment notification e-mail 500 with a client record 126, [0125], The resource parameter 604 may describe a collection of parameters including a recipient identifier…):
Jones does not disclose:
transmitting, to a first server associated with the transferee data record, a transfer solicitation request for requesting a second resource transfer to be initiated from the transferee data record to the transferor data record
receiving, from the first server, a response message including an indication of approval of the second resource transfer by the intended recipient
and verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message
and after verifying that the transferee data record is associated with the intended recipient, initiating a third resource transfer for transferring a third defined quantity of resources from the transferor data record to the transferee data record
Jacobs disclose:
transmitting, to a first server associated with the transferee data record, a transfer solicitation request for requesting a second resource transfer to be initiated from the transferee data record to the transferor data record(Jacobs, [0012], receiving, by a second computer (e.g., an issuer node computer), a request to transfer a value from a sender associated with a sender identifier to a recipient associated with a recipient identifier… generating a digital asset indicating that the value is being transferred to the recipient, [0029], to initiate an asset transfer, a user (or an institution representing the user) can instruct an issuer node in the asset transfer network to generate and provide the digital asset.[0063], the sending institution computer 160 may instruct with the issuer node computer 165 to initiate a value transfer from the user account to the resource provider account, [0113], provide a digital asset and/or a corresponding issuer node digital signature to the administrative node computer 150 in order obtain approval );
receiving, from the first server, a response message including an indication of approval of the second resource transfer by the intended recipient(Jacobs, [0012], sending a request to validate the digital asset to a first computer… receiving the second digital signature from the first computer… [0076], providing the second digital signature to the issuer node computer, wherein the issuer node computer sends the digital asset to a recipient node computer; recording the digital asset in a database; and coordinating a transaction associated with the digital asset. [0086], determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer, [0107], sending, to an administrative node computer, a request to validate the digital asset, the request including the digital asset and the first digital signature, wherein the administrative node computer validates the digital asset and generates a second digital signature for the digital asset, the second digital signature generated with a second private key associated with the administrative node computer);
and verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message(Jacobs, [0086], the processor 150A to validate a transaction. For example, the validation module 150J may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze information in a digital asset and determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer that has been screened for compliance. [0080], the administrative node computer 150, such that the administrative node computer 150 has sufficient information about participating entities),
and after verifying that the transferee data record is associated with the intended recipient, initiating a third resource transfer for transferring a third defined quantity of resources from the transferor data record to the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0063], the sending institution computer 160 to communicate with the issuer node computer 165. In this scenario, the sending institution computer 160 may instruct with the issuer node computer 165 to initiate a value transfer from the user account to the resource provider account. [0101], generate a digital asset including information associated with transferring a value from a user account to a recipient account. [0107], receiving a request to transfer a value from a sender associated with a sender identifier to a recipient associated with a recipient identifier;. [0109], generate a digital asset including information for transferring a value from a user account to a recipient account.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones's configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones's system for receiving an approval response associated with a transfer verification request, validating ownership information contained within the response, and initiating a transfer only after successful verification of the recipient account to ensure that resources are transferred to an authorized recipient account, as taught by Jacobs through validation and approval responses associated with transfer transactions and further taught by Xu through authenticated identity and certificate verification techniques, in order to enhance recipient authentication, transaction integrity, and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that transfer requests are executed only after confirming ownership and authorization of the recipient account, thereby reducing the risk of fraudulent, misdirected, or unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 12:
The method of claim 11, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein determining that the first resource transfer is of a first type comprises determining that there have not been any previous resource transfers from the transferor data record to the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0041], The ledger of transactions may be a database or other comparable file structure that may be configured to store data from all previous digital asset transfers, including the date and time of the transfer, the transfer amount, and identification information for the participants of the transfer. [0089], The update ledger module 150L may comprise code that causes the processor 150A to maintain a ledger of transactions. [0091], a ledger database 150D. Additional databases may store transaction records (e.g., a list of transactions not in a blockchain) and/or invoice records. Further, a settlement database may include information about transactions to be settled. [0095], the administrative node 150 with real-time visibility into the net-position of each financial institution, user, and/or business at any point in time,[01117], The issuer node computer 165 may be able to view transaction records for transactions to which the issuer node computer 165 or the sending institution computer 160 was party.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones system for determining whether there have been any previous transfers between a transferor data record and a transferee data record to ensure that first-time transfer transactions are identified and subjected to additional verification, as taught by Jacobs through the use of transaction histories and ledger records, in order to enhance transaction security and fraud prevention.
The motivation is to ensure that transfers involving previously unknown recipient accounts receive additional scrutiny, thereby reducing the likelihood of unauthorized, erroneous, or fraudulent transfers.
Regarding Claim 13:
The method of claim 11, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein determining that the first resource transfer is of a first type comprises determining that the first defined quantity of resources is requested to be transferred in real-time or substantially in real-time(Jones, [0094], the resource parameter may include a payee/recipient identifier, a proposed transfer amount, [0101], a transfer request alert based on the proposed resource transfer for display on a non-messaging application interface at the client device 110.).
Regarding Claim 14:
The method of claim 11, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein request data of the transfer solicitation request includes an indication that the transfer solicitation request is for verifying the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0012], … sending a request to validate the digital asset to a first computer…, [0076], … receiving, from an issuer node computer, a request to validate a digital asset..., [0107], sending, to an administrative node computer, a request to validate the digital asset. [0113], provide a digital asset and/or a corresponding issuer node digital signature to the administrative node computer 150 in order obtain approval).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones system for including, within a transfer request, information indicating that the request is being transmitted for verification of a recipient account to ensure that receiving systems recognize the request as a validation request, as taught by Jacobs through transmitting requests to validate digital assets, in order to enhance account verification and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that recipient account validation requests are properly identified and processed as verification transactions, thereby reducing the likelihood of fraudulent or unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 15:
The method of claim 11, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein message data of the response message includes ownership certifying data associated with the transferee data record and wherein verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message comprises validating the ownership certifying data(Jacobs, [0080], the administrative node computer 150 may have access to user information collected by a service provider (e.g., a bank), such as a user's legal name, address (street, city, country, etc.), date of birth, and any other suitable information. [0081], administrative node computer 150 may provide a digital certificate to an enrolled entity, the digital certificate proving that the entity is certified by the administrative node computer 150, and the digital certificate linking the entity with a public key. [0086], the validation module 150J may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze information in a digital asset and determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer that has been screened for compliance).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones's configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones's system for including recipient ownership-related information within a response message and validating such information to verify ownership of a transferee data record, to ensure that resources are transferred only to accounts associated with authorized recipients, as taught by Jacobs through validating recipient identity information, enterprise identifiers, and participant enrollment information, in order to enhance recipient-account authentication and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that the recipient account is legitimately associated with the intended recipient before executing a resource transfer, thereby reducing the risk of fraudulent, misdirected, or unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 18:
The method of claim 15, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein validating the ownership certifying data comprises: obtaining transferee information associated with an intended transferee of the first resource transfer(Jacobs, [0080], the asset transfer network, their information (e.g., a name, an address, a phone number, a business' corporate profile, etc.) may be disclosed to the administrative node computer 150, such that the administrative node computer 150 has sufficient information about participating entities. [0086], the validation module 150J may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze information in a digital asset and determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer that has been screened for compliance, [0123], digital assets may be broadcasted to several or all nodes, and the recipient node computer 145 may identify which digital assets are relevant to the recipient institution and/or resource provider);
and performing comparison between the ownership certifying data and the transferee information(Jacobs, [0086], The validation module 150J may comprise code that causes the processor 150A to validate a transaction. For example, the validation module 150J may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to analyze information in a digital asset and determine whether or not to approve the digital asset. For example, the instructions may include determining whether the named recipient (and/or sender) of a digital asset is an enrolled customer that has been screened for compliance. [0080], enroll for participation with the asset transfer network, their information (e.g., a name, an address, a phone number, a business' corporate profile, etc.) may be disclosed to the administrative node computer 150, such that the administrative node computer 150 has sufficient information about participating entities).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones system for obtaining transferee information associated with an intended recipient and comparing such transferee information with ownership-related information to ensure that the recipient account corresponds to the intended transferee, as taught by Jacobs through validating recipient identifiers and participant information and by Xu through associating identity information with authenticated entities, in order to enhance recipient authentication and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that recipient ownership information matches the intended recipient information before authorizing a transfer, thereby reducing the risk of fraudulent, misdirected, or unauthorized transactions.
Regarding Claim 19:
The method of claim 11, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein the third defined quantity is equal to a sum of the first defined quantity and a second defined quantity of resources associated with the second resource transfer (Jacobs, [0037], A digital asset may also include remittance information (e.g., information identifying a sending entity). In some embodiments, a digital asset may include one or more of a digital asset identifier, a value (e.g., an amount, an original currency type, a destination currency type), transfer fee information. [0035], A “digital asset” may refer to digital content associated with a value. In some cases, the digital asset may also indicate a transfer of the value. [0063], a value transfer from the user account to the resource provider account. [0101], the digital asset module 150M may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to generate a digital asset including information associated with transferring a value from a user account to a recipient account.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones's system for determining a transfer quantity based on multiple transfer amounts to ensure that a total transfer amount accurately reflects values associated with related transfer transactions, as taught by Jacobs through maintaining and processing transfer value and transfer amount information associated with value transfers, in order to enhance transfer accounting accuracy and transaction processing.
The motivation is to ensure that the total quantity of resources transferred accurately accounts for all associated transfer amounts, thereby improving transaction accuracy and reducing accounting errors.
Claims 6-7, 10, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al (US Publication No. 2020/0387878 A1) in view of Jacobs(US Publication No. 20170237554 A1) in further view of Xu (US Publication No. 2017/0141926 A1)
Regarding Claim 6:
The computing system of claim 5, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein the ownership certifying data includes at least one of: an account identifier associated with the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0037],… a digital asset may include one or more of a digital asset identifier… a recipient entity account number, a recipient entity name, recipient entity contact information, [0123], … the recipient node computer 145 may identify which digital assets are relevant to the recipient institution and/or resource provider (e.g., based on a recipient enterprise ID indicated in the digital asset).) ;
an indication of the first defined quantity or the second defined quantity; or an indication of historical activity data associated with the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0035], … the digital asset may correspond to other non-currency values, such as access privileges data (e.g., a number of authorized usages or a time allotment for accessing information) and ownership data (e.g., digital right data), [0037], a digital asset may include information useful for transferring value from one entity or account to another. A digital asset may also include remittance information (e.g., information identifying a sending entity)… [0063], to initiate a value transfer from the user account to the resource provider account. )
Jones in view of Jacobs).
Jones in view of Jacobs does not disclose:
a nonce challenge included in the transfer solicitation request
Xu discloses:
a nonce challenge included in the transfer solicitation request(Xu,[0006], generating the data to sign based on the first API message can comprise obtaining a timestamp… [0007], verifying a timestamp associated with the first API message to ensure that the first API message is received within a predetermined threshold amount of time from a time indicated by the timestamp. [0053], a request timestamp may be extracted from the client message and validated to ensure that a predetermined threshold of time (e.g., eight minutes),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones in view of Jacobs's configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones in view of Jacobs's systems for including a nonce challenge within a transfer solicitation request to ensure that a recipient account responding to the request is actively participating in the verification process and that the response corresponds to the particular transfer request, as taught by Xu through the use of timestamp-based authentication and replay-attack prevention mechanisms, in order to enhance recipient-account authentication, transaction integrity, and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that verification responses are uniquely associated with a particular transfer request and cannot be fraudulently reused or replayed, thereby reducing the risk of unauthorized transfers and account impersonation.
Regarding Claim 7:
Jones in view of Jacob disclose:
The computing system of claim 5…
Jones in view of Jacob disclose:
wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the processor to generate a first code and wherein verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message comprises confirming that the first code is included in the message data of the response message
Xu discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the processor to generate a first code and wherein verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message comprises confirming that the first code is included in the message data of the response message(Xu, [0006], generating the data to sign based on the first API message can comprise obtaining a timestamp from the signature token, [0053], a request timestamp may be extracted from the client message and validated to ensure that a predetermined threshold of time (e.g., eight minutes) has not lapsed since the request timestamp).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones in view of Jacobs configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones in view of Jacobs systems for generating a verification code and confirming the presence of the verification code within a received response message to ensure that a responding recipient account is associated with the transfer request and that the response corresponds to the initiated verification transaction, as taught by Xu through the use of authentication information, signed request validation, and anti-replay verification mechanisms, in order to enhance recipient-account authentication, transaction integrity, and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that a response message originates from an authorized recipient associated with the transferee account and corresponds to the specific verification request, thereby reducing the risk of spoofed responses, account impersonation, and unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 10:
Jones in view of Jacobs discloses:
The computing system of claim 1,
Jones in view of Jacobs do not disclose:
wherein message data of the response message is digitally signed using a private key associated with the first server
Xu discloses:
wherein message data of the response message is digitally signed using a private key associated with the first server(Xu, [0006], The first API message can comprise a method, a resource identifier, a message header, and a message body, and generating the data to sign based on the first API message. [0049], the private key 130A is not shared with the server system 104. Rather, the client system 102 can be configured to provide the public key 130B that corresponds with private key 130A to the server system 104. In some embodiments, the public key certificate (e.g., X.509 certificate) containing the public key 130B may be provided instead of just the public key. [0053], to validate the signed client message before verification of message signature).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones in view of Jacobs configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones in view of Jacobs systems for digitally signing response messages using a private key associated with a responding server to ensure that the authenticity and integrity of the response message can be verified, as taught by Xu through the use of private-key-generated digital signatures and certificate-based authentication, in order to enhance message authentication, transaction integrity, and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that response messages originate from a trusted server and have not been altered during transmission, thereby reducing the risk of spoofed responses, message tampering, and unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 16:
The method of claim 15, Jones in view of Jacobs disclose wherein the ownership certifying data includes at least one of: an account identifier associated with the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0037],… a digital asset may include one or more of a digital asset identifier… a recipient entity account number, a recipient entity name, recipient entity contact information, [0123], … the recipient node computer 145 may identify which digital assets are relevant to the recipient institution and/or resource provider (e.g., based on a recipient enterprise ID indicated in the digital asset).) ;
an indication of the first defined quantity or the second defined quantity;
or an indication of historical activity data associated with the transferee data record(Jacobs, [0035], … the digital asset may correspond to other non-currency values, such as access privileges data (e.g., a number of authorized usages or a time allotment for accessing information) and ownership data (e.g., digital right data), [0037], a digital asset may include information useful for transferring value from one entity or account to another. A digital asset may also include remittance information (e.g., information identifying a sending entity)… [0063], to initiate a value transfer from the user account to the resource provider account. ).
Jones in view of Jacobs does not disclose:
a nonce challenge included in the transfer solicitation request
Xu discloses:
a nonce challenge included in the transfer solicitation request(Xu,[0006], generating the data to sign based on the first API message can comprise obtaining a timestamp… [0007], verifying a timestamp associated with the first API message to ensure that the first API message is received within a predetermined threshold amount of time from a time indicated by the timestamp. [0053], a request timestamp may be extracted from the client message and validated to ensure that a predetermined threshold of time (e.g., eight minutes);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones in view of Jacobs's configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones in view of Jacobs's systems for including a nonce challenge within a transfer solicitation request to ensure that a recipient account responding to the request is actively participating in the verification process and that the response corresponds to the particular transfer request, as taught by Xu through the use of timestamp-based authentication and replay-attack prevention mechanisms, in order to enhance recipient-account authentication, transaction integrity, and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that verification responses are uniquely associated with a particular transfer request and cannot be fraudulently reused or replayed, thereby reducing the risk of unauthorized transfers and account impersonation.
Regarding Claim 17:
Jones in view of Jacob disclose:
The method of claim 15…
Jones in view of Jacob does not disclose:
further comprising generating a first code and wherein verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message comprises confirming that the first code is included in the message data of the response message
Xu discloses:
further comprising generating a first code and wherein verifying ownership of the transferee data record based on the response message comprises confirming that the first code is included in the message data of the response message(Xu, [0006], generating the data to sign based on the first API message can comprise obtaining a timestamp from the signature token, [0053], a request timestamp may be extracted from the client message and validated to ensure that a predetermined threshold of time (e.g., eight minutes) has not lapsed since the request timestamp).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones in view of Jacobs configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones in view of Jacobs systems for generating a verification code and confirming the presence of the verification code within a received response message to ensure that a responding recipient account is associated with the transfer request and that the response corresponds to the initiated verification transaction, as taught by Xu through the use of authentication information, signed request validation, and anti-replay verification mechanisms, in order to enhance recipient-account authentication, transaction integrity, and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that a response message originates from an authorized recipient associated with the transferee account and corresponds to the specific verification request, thereby reducing the risk of spoofed responses, account impersonation, and unauthorized transfers.
Regarding Claim 20:
Jones in view of Jacobs disclose:
The method of claim 11…
Jones in view of Jacobs does not disclose:
wherein message data of the response message is digitally signed using a private key associated with the first server
Xu discloses:
wherein message data of the response message is digitally signed using a private key associated with the first server(Xu, [0006], The first API message can comprise a method, a resource identifier, a message header, and a message body, and generating the data to sign based on the first API message. [0049], the private key 130A is not shared with the server system 104. Rather, the client system 102 can be configured to provide the public key 130B that corresponds with private key 130A to the server system 104. In some embodiments, the public key certificate (e.g., X.509 certificate) containing the public key 130B may be provided instead of just the public key. [0053], to validate the signed client message before verification of message signature).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Jones in view of Jacobs configuring data transfers based on electronic messages by enhancing Jones in view of Jacobs systems for digitally signing response messages using a private key associated with a responding server to ensure that the authenticity and integrity of the response message can be verified, as taught by Xu through the use of private-key-generated digital signatures and certificate-based authentication, in order to enhance message authentication, transaction integrity, and transfer security.
The motivation is to ensure that response messages originate from a trusted server and have not been altered during transmission, thereby reducing the risk of spoofed responses, message tampering, and unauthorized transfers.
Conclusion
/MAYASA SHAAWAT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433