DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 04/29/2025. The applicant submits two Information Disclosure Statement dated 05/09/2025 and 02/03/2026. The applicant does not make a claim for Foreign priority. The applicant does make a claim to Domestic priority to applications filed on 11/14/2023 and 08/26/2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim contains a duplicate clause of, “a first at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium positioned at the vehicle; a first at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium positioned at the vehicle”. The second clause should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 1 is directed to transitory signals such as computer readable media or a set of instructions (such as a game or software per se) and are not included in the four patent eligible subject matter categories, and needs to be amended to include "a non-transitory computer readable media" if covered by the specifications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an mathematical operation without significantly more. The claims are evaluated with respect to the 2019 Subject Matter Guidance and the MPEP. Example 41 is the reference for evaluating the claims.
Step 1
The claims recite a system and a method are one of the four statutory categories. Therefore, the claims pass Step 1.
Step 2A Prong I
The independent claim 1 is reproduced below with the abstract idea identified as well as the pre/post solution activity.
Claim 1
A system comprising:
at least one data collection device positioned at a vehicle; (pre solution activity)
a first at least one communication interface positioned at the vehicle; (pre solution activity)
a first at least one processor positioned at the vehicle; (pre solution activity)
a first at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium positioned at the vehicle; (pre solution activity)
a first at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium positioned at the vehicle; (pre solution activity)
a remote device separate from the vehicle, the remote device comprising a second at least one processor, a second at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, and a second at least one communication interface; (pre solution activity) and
a user interface; wherein the first at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium stores first processor- executable instructions which, when executed by the first at least one processor cause the system to:
collect, by the at least one data collection device, operation data representing kinetic operation of the vehicle; (mathematical operation)
collect, by the at least one data collection device, raw fuel level data indicative of a fuel level in a fuel tank of the vehicle as measured by at least one fuel level sensor at the vehicle; (pre solution activity)
for a first time period beginning upon activation of the vehicle:
combine, by the first at least one processor at the vehicle, the raw fuel level data corresponding to the first time period to determine a first fuel level data point for the first time period representing an initial fuel level of the vehicle; (mathematical operation) and
transmit, by the first at least one communication interface, the first fuel level data point for storage at the remote device; (post solution activity)
after the first time period, determine, by the first at least one processor, a plurality of second fuel level data points for a plurality of second time periods, each second fuel level data point corresponding to a respective second time period of the plurality of second time periods, comprising for each second time period of the plurality of second time periods:
identifying, by the first at least one processor for each data point of operation data in the second time period, whether the data point is within stability criteria, the stability criteria indicative of operation of the vehicle being stable when the data point is within the stability criteria; (mathematical operation)
for each data point of operation data in the second time period which is within the stability criteria, including a corresponding data point of the raw fuel level data in a fuel level data subset; (mathematical operation)
for each data point of operation data in the second time period which is outside the stability criteria, excluding a corresponding data point of the raw fuel level data from the fuel level data subset; (mathematical operation) and
combining, by the first at least one processor, the fuel level data in the fuel level data subset to determine a respective second fuel level data point for the second time period; (mathematical operation) and
transmit, by the first at least one communication interface, at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods; (mathematical operation)
wherein the second at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium stores second processor-executable instructions which, when executed by the second at least one processor cause the system to:
receive, by the second at least one communication interface, the first fuel level data point and the at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points; (mathematical operation)
determine, by the second at least one processor, a fuel level trend over time for the vehicle, based on the first fuel level data point and the at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points; (mathematical operation)
determine, by the second at least one processor, whether the fuel level trend over time is within a fuel difference threshold, the fuel difference threshold indicative of an acceptable rate of change of fuel level; (mathematical operation) and
output, by the user interface, an indication that action is needed when the fuel level trend over time is not within the fuel difference threshold. (post solution operation)
With respect to the MPEP 2106.07, the inventive concept is interpreted to be a mathematical operation used to calculate the volume of fuel in a vehicle. With respect to 2106.04(a)(2)(II) the features of the claim are generic structural components used to collect data and then perform operations to calculate the amount of fuel remaining. In addition, the dependent claims contain further mathematical operations but do not identify what the feature of “an indication that an action is needed” constitutes.
With respect to the MPEP, example 41 shows how a mathematical operation is applied in a meaningful way. In this case, the independent claim contains the feature “an indication that action is needed”. But the feature is not specific like the example. Therefore, the claim does not satisfy the requirements of the MPEP.
Thus, the claims fail Step 2A Prong I.
Step 2A Prong II
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because to show how the invention is a new or improved invention in the art. With respect to the MPEP section 2106.04 (d)(1-2). The claim does how the mathematical operation is implemented to use determine the amount of fuel remaining. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2A Prong II.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims fail to show how the mathematical operation satisfies MPEP 2106.05(a-h). The claims fail to identify what constitutes “an indication that an action is needed”. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2B and not eligible for patent protection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 ,2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims contain the word “action” but do not define what the feature constitutes and how it is implemented.
Claims 1, 3 – 8, 14, and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims contain the feature of “stability criteria” without defining objectively the metes and bounds of the feature. The claims define operations that occur around the feature and a result of the feature, but do not identify what the feature constitutes exactly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mineta US 2011/0160990.
As per claim 1, A system comprising:
at least one data collection device positioned at a vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0071 discloses, “The sensor I/F 20 transmits a signal received from a gyroscope 26 and a geomagnetic sensor 28, which are mounted on the vehicle 1, to the control device 10. As with the GPS receiving unit 22, the gyroscope 26 and the geomagnetic sensor 28 transmit a signal for specifying a current position and an orientation of the vehicle to the control device 10.”)
a first at least one communication interface positioned at the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0067 discloses, “The manipulation unit 14 includes a button used to input information and a button used to select pieces of information displayed on the display unit 12.”)
a first at least one processor positioned at the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0024 discloses, “The method may comprise receiving fuel consumption data from vehicle probes for a first portion of the plurality of speed ranges, wherein a second portion of the plurality of speed ranges lacks fuel consumption data; determining from the fuel consumption data of the first portion of the plurality of speed ranges, using a computer processor,”)
a first at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium positioned at the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0024 discloses, “The method may comprise receiving fuel consumption data from vehicle probes for a first portion of the plurality of speed ranges, wherein a second portion of the plurality of speed ranges lacks fuel consumption data; determining from the fuel consumption data of the first portion of the plurality of speed ranges, using a computer processor,”)
a first at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium positioned at the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0024 discloses, “The method may comprise receiving fuel consumption data from vehicle probes for a first portion of the plurality of speed ranges, wherein a second portion of the plurality of speed ranges lacks fuel consumption data; determining from the fuel consumption data of the first portion of the plurality of speed ranges, using a computer processor,”)
a remote device separate from the vehicle, the remote device comprising a second at least one processor, a second at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, and a second at least one communication interface; (Mineta paragraph 0077 discloses, “The control device 10 obtains map data stored in the information storage unit 18 or obtains a distance L (km) of each interval from the information server 38.”) and
a user interface; (Mineta paragraph 0066 discloses, “A route searching device 100 in a vehicle 1 includes a control device 10, a display unit 12, a manipulation unit 14, a sound output unit 16, an information storage unit 18, a sensor interface (I/F) 20, a GPS receiving unit 22, and a communication interface (I/F) 24. The control device 10 is also called an Electronic Control Unit (hereinafter referred to as "ECU"), and the control device 10 is a kind of a computer including a Central Processing Unit (CPU) and a memory.”)
wherein the first at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium stores first processor- executable instructions which, when executed by the first at least one processor cause the system to:
collect, by the at least one data collection device, operation data representing kinetic operation of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
collect, by the at least one data collection device, raw fuel level data indicative of a fuel level in a fuel tank of the vehicle as measured by at least one fuel level sensor at the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
for a first time period beginning upon activation of the vehicle:
combine, by the first at least one processor at the vehicle, the raw fuel level data corresponding to the first time period to determine a first fuel level data point for the first time period representing an initial fuel level of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and
transmit, by the first at least one communication interface, the first fuel level data point for storage at the remote device; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
after the first time period, determine, by the first at least one processor, a plurality of second fuel level data points for a plurality of second time periods, each second fuel level data point corresponding to a respective second time period of the plurality of second time periods,
comprising for each second time period of the plurality of second time periods: (Mineta paragraph 0040)
identifying, by the first at least one processor for each data point of operation data in the second time period, whether the data point is within stability criteria, the stability criteria indicative of operation of the vehicle being stable when the data point is within the stability criteria; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
for each data point of operation data in the second time period which is within the stability criteria, including a corresponding data point of the raw fuel level data in a fuel level data subset; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
for each data point of operation data in the second time period which is outside the stability criteria, excluding a corresponding data point of the raw fuel level data from the fuel level data subset; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and
combining, by the first at least one processor, the fuel level data in the fuel level data subset to determine a respective second fuel level data point for the second time period; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and
transmit, by the first at least one communication interface, at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods; wherein the second at least one non-transitory processor-readable storage medium stores second processor-executable instructions which, when executed by the second at least one processor cause the system to:
receive, by the second at least one communication interface, the first fuel level data point and the at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points; (Mineta paragraph 0040 and 0042)
determine, by the second at least one processor, a fuel level trend over time for the vehicle, based on the first fuel level data point and the at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points; (Mineta paragraph 0040 0042)
determine, by the second at least one processor, whether the fuel level trend over time is within a fuel difference threshold, the fuel difference threshold indicative of an acceptable rate of change of fuel level; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and
output, by the user interface, an indication that action is needed when the fuel level trend over time is not within the fuel difference threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0067)
As per claim 2, The system of claim 1, wherein the second processor-executable instructions further cause the system to: determine, by the second at least one processor, when the fuel level trend over time is below a fuel level threshold, the fuel level threshold indicative of an acceptable fuel level for future use of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and output, by the user interface, an indication that action is needed when the fuel level trend over time is below the fuel level threshold. (Minetoa paragraph 0042 and 0066)
As per claim 3, The system of claim 1, wherein: the operation data comprises movement speed data representing a movement speed of the vehicle; and the stability criteria comprise a threshold in the movement speed of the vehicle, where the operation data is within the stability criteria when the movement speed of the vehicle is within the threshold, and the operation data is outside of the stability criteria when the movement speed of the vehicle exceeds the threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0040)
As per claim 4, The system of claim 1, wherein: the operation data comprises vehicle engine data representing a rotation speed of an engine of the vehicle; (Mineta 0041) and the stability criteria comprises a threshold in the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle, where the operation data is within the stability criteria when the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle is within the threshold, and the operation data is outside of the stability criteria when the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle exceeds the threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 5, The system of claim 4, wherein the stability criteria comprises a co-efficient of variation of the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle, where the operation data is within the stability criteria when the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle is within the threshold, and the operation data is outside of the stability criteria when the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle exceeds the threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 6, The system of claim 1, wherein: the operation data comprises acceleration data representing acceleration of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0041) and the stability criteria comprises a threshold magnitude of the acceleration of the vehicle, where the operation data is within the stability criteria when the acceleration of the vehicle is within the threshold, and the operation data is outside of the stability criteria when the acceleration of the vehicle exceeds the threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 7, The system of claim 1, wherein: the operation data comprises: movement speed data representing a movement speed of the vehicle, and acceleration data representing acceleration of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0042) the stability criteria comprises a threshold in movement speed of the vehicle and a threshold magnitude of acceleration of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0042) and the first processor executable instructions which cause the first at least one processor to identify whether each point of operation data is within the stability criteria cause the at least one processor to identify whether each point of operation data is within the threshold in movement speed of the vehicle and the threshold magnitude of acceleration of the vehicle. (Mineta paragraph 0040)
As per claim 8, The system of claim 1, wherein: the operation data comprises: movement speed data representing a movement speed of the vehicle, and vehicle engine data representing a rotation speed of an engine of the vehicle; the stability criteria comprises a threshold in movement speed of the vehicle and a threshold in rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0042) and the first processor-executable instruction which cause the first at least one processor to identify whether each point of operation data is within the stability criteria cause the at least one processor to identify whether each point of operation data is within either of the threshold in movement speed of the vehicle or the threshold in rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 9, The system of claim 1, wherein: the first processor-executable instructions which cause the first at least one processor to combine the raw fuel level data corresponding to the first time period cause the first at least one processor to determine an average fuel level for the first time period by averaging data points in the raw fuel level data for the first time period; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and the first processor-executable instructions which cause the first at least one processor to combine the fuel level data in the fuel level data subset cause the first at least one processor to determine an average fuel level for the respective second time period by averaging data points in the fuel level data subset for the respective second time period. (Mineta paragraph 0040)
As per claim 10, The system of claim 1, wherein: the first processor-executable instructions further cause the first at least one processor to generate a simplified fuel level dataset for the plurality of second time periods by selectively filtering the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods; (Mineta paragraph 0042) and the first processor-executable instructions which cause the first at least one communication interface to transmit the at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods cause the first at least one communication interface to transmit the simplified fuel level dataset for the plurality of second time periods. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 11, The system of claim 10, wherein the first processor-executable instructions which cause the first at least one processor to generate the simplified fuel level dataset for the plurality of second time periods by selectively filtering the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods cause the first at least one processor to: identify select data points from the plurality of second fuel level data points for inclusion in the simplified fuel level dataset, based on differences between the select data points and iteratively-defined reference lines through portions of the fuel level trend; (Minera paragraph 0040) and compile the select data points as the simplified fuel level dataset, excluding data points which are not identified as select data points. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 12, The system of claim 1, further comprising at least one fuel level sensor positioned at the vehicle, wherein: the first processor-executable instructions further cause the at least one fuel level sensor to capture the raw fuel level data; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and the first processor-executable instructions which cause the system to collect, by the at least one data collection device, the raw fuel level data cause the at least one data collection device to receive the raw fuel level data from the at least one fuel level sensor. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 13, The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one data collection device includes at least one fuel level sensor, wherein the first processor-executable instructions which cause the system to collect, by the at least one data collection device, the raw fuel level data cause the at least one fuel level sensor to capture the raw fuel level data. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 14, A method comprising:
collecting, by at least one data collection device positioned at a vehicle, operation data representing kinetic operation of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0071 discloses, “The sensor I/F 20 transmits a signal received from a gyroscope 26 and a geomagnetic sensor 28, which are mounted on the vehicle 1, to the control device 10. As with the GPS receiving unit 22, the gyroscope 26 and the geomagnetic sensor 28 transmit a signal for specifying a current position and an orientation of the vehicle to the control device 10.”)
collecting, by the at least one data collection device, raw fuel level data indicative of a fuel level in a fuel tank of the vehicle as measured by at least one fuel level sensor at the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
for a first time period beginning upon activation of the vehicle:
combining, by a first at least one processor at the vehicle, the raw fuel level data corresponding to the first time period to determine a first fuel level data point for the first time period representing an initial fuel level of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and
transmitting, by a first at least one communication interface at the vehicle, the first fuel level data point for storage at a remote device separate from the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
after the first time period, determining, by the first at least one processor, a plurality of second fuel level data points for a plurality of second time periods, each second fuel level data point corresponding to a respective second time period of the plurality of second time periods, comprising for each second time period of the plurality of second time periods:
identifying, by the first at least one processor, for each data point of operation data in the second time period, whether the data point is within stability criteria, the stability criteria indicative of operation of the vehicle being stable when the data point is within the stability criteria; (Mineta paragraph 0042)
for each data point of operation data in the second time period which is within the stability criteria, including a corresponding data point of the raw fuel level data in a fuel level data subset; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
for each data point of operation data in the second time period which is outside the stability criteria, excluding a corresponding data point of the raw fuel level data from the fuel level data subset; (Mineta paragraph 0042) and
combining, by the first at least one processor, the fuel level data in the fuel level data subset to determine a respective second fuel level data point for the second time period; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and
transmitting, by the first at least one communication interface at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods; (Mineta paragraph 0042)
receiving, by a second at least one communication interface of the remote device, the first fuel level data point and the at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points; (Mineta paragraph 0040)
determine, by a second at least one processor at the remote device, a fuel level trend over time for the vehicle, based on the first fuel level data point and the at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points; (Mineta paragraph 0042)
determining, by the second at least one processor, whether the fuel level trend over time is within a fuel difference threshold, the fuel difference threshold indicative of an acceptable rate of change of fuel level; (Mineta paragraph 0042) and
output, by a user interface, an indication that fuel adjustment is needed. (Mineta paragraph 0067)
As per claim 15, The method of claim 14, further comprising: determining, by the second at least one processor, when the fuel level trend over time is below a fuel level threshold, the fuel level threshold indicative of an acceptable fuel level for future use of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and outputting, by the user interface, an indication that action is needed when the fuel level trend over time is below the fuel level threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0067)
As per claim 16, The method of claim 14, wherein: the operation data comprises movement speed data representing a movement speed of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0042) and the stability criteria comprise a threshold in the movement speed of the vehicle, where the operation data is within the stability criteria when the movement speed of the vehicle is within the threshold, and the operation data is outside of the stability criteria when the movement speed of the vehicle exceeds the threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 17, The method of claim 14, wherein: the operation data comprises vehicle engine data representing a rotation speed of an engine of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0024) and the stability criteria comprises a threshold in the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle, where the operation data is within the stability criteria when the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle is within the threshold, and the operation data is outside of the stability criteria when the rotation speed of the engine of the vehicle exceeds the threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0024 and 0040)
As per claim 18, The method of claim 14, wherein: the operation data comprises acceleration data representing acceleration of the vehicle; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and the stability criteria comprises a threshold magnitude of the acceleration of the vehicle, where the operation data is within the stability criteria when the acceleration of the vehicle is within the threshold, and the operation data is outside of the stability criteria when the acceleration of the vehicle exceeds the threshold. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 19, The method of claim 14, further comprising generating, by the first at least one processor, a simplified fuel level dataset for the plurality of second time periods by selectively filtering the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods; wherein transmitting at least one data point of the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods comprises transmitting the simplified fuel level dataset for the plurality of second time periods. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
As per claim 20, The method of claim 19, wherein generating the simplified fuel level dataset for the plurality of second time periods by selectively filtering the plurality of second fuel level data points for the plurality of second time periods comprises: identifying select data points from the plurality of second fuel level data points for inclusion in the simplified fuel level dataset, based on differences between the select data points and iteratively-defined reference lines through portions of the fuel level trend; (Mineta paragraph 0040) and compiling the select data points as the simplified fuel level dataset, excluding data points which are not identified as select data points. (Mineta paragraph 0042)
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664