DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the body electrode connected to the source electrode of the first transistor must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 12, 15-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0371231) in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0256061, hereinafter Kim061), further in view of further in view of Yang et al. (US 2019/0172396).
As to Claim 1, Kim et al. A display device comprising a sub-pixel, wherein the sub-pixel comprises: a first transistor (fig.8, transistor 325) including a gate electrode connected to a first node (fig.8, node at gate of transistor 325), a source electrode connected to a first power line to which a first power voltage is applied (fig.8, electrode of transistor 325 connected to VDD), a body electrode connected to the source electrode, and a drain electrode connected to a second node (fig.8, node at drain of transistor 325);
a second transistor (fig.8, transistor 336) that switches an electrical connection between a third node (fig.8, node at drain of transistor 336 (connected to capacitor 334)) and a data line (fig.8, data line 5 Data) and including a gate electrode electrically connected to a first sub-scan line (fig.8, gate of transistor 336 connected to control signal SPWM);
a third transistor (fig.8, transistor 331) connected to the first node (fig.8, electrode of transistor 331 connected to node at gate of transistor 325) and including a gate electrode connected to the third node (fig.8, gate of transistor 331 connected to node at drain of transistor 336),
a fourth transistor that switches an electrical connection between the first node and the second node and including a gate electrode connected to a second sub-scan line,
a first capacitor including a first electrode electrically connected to the first node and a second electrode connected to a second power line to which a second power voltage is applied (fig.8, capacitor 312 connected to node at of transistor 325 and VDD)
a second capacitor including a first electrode electrically connected to the third node and a second electrode connected to a sweep line to which a sweep signal is applied (fig.8, electrode of capacitor 335 connected to node drain of transistor 336 and sweep line Sweep); and
a light emitting element connected between the second node and a third power line to which a third power voltage is applied (fig.8 light-emitting element 200 connected between second node and VSS).
Kim et al. does not expressly disclose a first transistor including a body electrode connected to the source electrode; a fourth transistor that switches an electrical connection between the first node and the second node and including a gate electrode connected to a second sub-scan line; a first capacitor including a second electrode connected to a second power line to which a second power voltage is applied.
Kim061 discloses a first transistor including a body electrode connected to the source electrode (fig.2, back-gate of transistor DRT connected to source node N4), a fourth transistor that switches an electrical connection between the first node and the second node and including a gate electrode connected to a second sub-scan line (fig.2, transistor T2 connected between node N2 at gate of transistor DRT and second node N3 drain of transistor DRT and a gate connected to scan Scan2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim et al. with the teachings of Kim061., the motivation being to provide stable current output of the driving transistor and compensation for threshold voltage of the driving transistor.
Kim et al. in view of Kim061 do not expressly disclose where a first capacitor including a second electrode connected to a second power line to which a second power voltage is applied.
Yang et al. discloses a capacitor including a second electrode connected to a second power line to which a second power voltage is applied (fig.2, capacitor Cst connected to node N1 and Vnit; para.0059,0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Kim061, with the teachings of Yang et al., to provide a storage capacitor that may store node voltage at gate of the driving transistor based in initialization voltage.
As to Claim 2, Kim et al. in view of Kim061 disclose, as modified by Yang et al. wherein the first power voltage has one of a low level, a middle level, and a high level (Kim-fig.3,9, driving voltage VDD; para.0122; Yang-fig.3, para.0060; ELVDD, has low, middle, high level, ELVDDL,ELVDDM,ELVDDH, respectively).
As to Claim 7, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al. disclose wherein in case that a first scan signal of a turn-on level is applied to the first sub-scan line, the third node and the data line are electrically connected (Kim-fig.8, transistor 336 is turned on in response to SPWM; para.0127).
As to Claim 8, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al., disclose wherein in a period in which the third power voltage transits from a high level to a low level and a voltage level of the sweep signal decreases from a high level to a low level (fig.9, light emission period VSS is low and sweep signal decreases to low level), in case that a voltage of a turn-on level is applied to the third transistor, the first transistor is turned off (Kim-para.0157-0158).
As to Claim 9, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al., disclose wherein the sub-pixel emits light having luminance according to a duration of time in which a driving current flows in a direction from the first transistor to the light emitting element (Kim-fig.8-9; para.0012,0102,0155).
As to Claim 12, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al., disclose wherein each of the first transistor, the third transistor, and the fourth transistor includes a P-type semiconductor (Kim-fig.8).
As to Claim 15, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al., disclose a display panel in which a plurality of sub-pixels including the sub-pixel are disposed (Kim-fig.12; Yang-fig.1); a gate driver that supplies a first scan signal and a second scan signal to the plurality of sub-pixels (Kim-fig.12, gate driver 830; Yang-fig.1); a sweep supply circuit that supplies the sweep signal to the plurality of sub-pixels; a data driver that supplies a data voltage to the plurality of sub-pixels (Kim-fig.7-8,12, driving circuit 300; para.0178); and a voltage generator that supplies the first power voltage, the second power voltage, and the third power voltage to the plurality of sub-pixels (Kim-fig.8; Yang-fig.1, voltage generator 170).
As to Claim 16, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al., disclose wherein the voltage generator is supplied with a driving voltage, a ground voltage, and a voltage control signal, and the voltage generator outputs the first power voltage having one of a low level, a middle level, and a high level in response to the voltage control signal (Yang-fig.1,3; voltage generator 170, control signal 107c; para.0046,0058-0060).
As to Claim 20 has limitations similar to those of Claims 1,15-16 and are met by the references as set forth above. Claim 20 further recites: a processor that transmits input image data (see Kim-fig.12-processor; Yang-fig.1-controller 100)
Claim(s) 10-11,13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US S2019/0371231) in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0256061, hereinafter Kim061), further in view of further in view of Yang et al. (US 2019/0172396), and further in view of Tsuboi et al. (US 2020/0143741).
As to Claim 10, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al., disclose wherein the third transistor is connected between the first power line and the first node (Kim-fig.8, transistor 331 connected between VDD and node at gate of transistor 325).
Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al. do not expressly disclose where third transistor includes a body electrode connected to the first power line.
Tsuboi et al. discloses a pixel circuit comprising transistors including a body electrode connected to a first power line (fig.2-3,9; power potential 208 Vdd is applied to back gate of transistors; para.0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al., with the teachings of Tsuboi et al., the motivation being to control the light emission of the organic light emitting element.
As to Claim 11, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al. disclose wherein the third transistor is connected between the second power line and the first node (Kim-fig.8, transistor 331 connected between VDD and node at gate of transistor 325; Yang-fig.2, Vinit).
Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al. do not expressly disclose third transistor includes a body electrode connected to the first power line.
Tsuboi et al. discloses a pixel circuit comprising transistors including a body electrode connected to a first power line (fig.2-3,9; power potential 208 Vdd is applied to back gate of transistors; para.0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et all, with the teachings of Tsuboi et al., the motivation being to control the light emission of the organic light emitting element
As to Claim 13, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al. and Tsuboi et al. disclose wherein the second transistor includes a P-type semiconductor, and includes a body electrode connected to the second power line (Kim-fig.8, transistor 336; Yang-fig.2-3; Tsuboi-fig.2).
As to Claim 14, Kim et al. in view of Kim061, as modified by Yang et al. and Tsuboi et al. disclose wherein the second transistor includes an N-type semiconductor, and includes a body electrode connected to a fourth power line (Kim-fig.11-transistor 336; Yang-figs.2-3; Tsuobi-fig.2, para.0039).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken alone or in combination do not teach or suggest “wherein a driving current flowing in a direction from the first transistor to the light emitting element is proportional to a square of a voltage difference between the middle level and the high level of the first power voltage” in combination with the other limitations in the claim.
Claim 4 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken alone or in combination do not teach or suggest wherein in at least a portion of a period in which a second scan signal of a turn-on level is applied to the second sub-scan line, the first power voltage has a low level, and in a remaining portion of the period in which the second scan signal of the turn-on level is applied to the second sub-scan line, the first power voltage has a middle level” ” in combination with the other limitations in the claim.
Claims 17-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 17 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken alone or in combination do not teach or suggest “applying a first power voltage of a low level to a source electrode and a body electrode of a driving transistor, and electrically separating a gate electrode and a drain electrode of the driving transistor from each other; applying the first power voltage of the low level to the source electrode and the body electrode of the driving transistor, and electrically connecting the gate electrode and the drain electrode of the driving transistor to each other; applying the first power voltage of a middle level to the source electrode and the body electrode of the driving transistor, and electrically connecting the gate electrode and the drain electrode of the driving transistor to each other; applying a data voltage to a first electrode of a sweep capacitor in case that the gate electrode and the drain electrode of the driving transistor are electrically separated from each other and a switching transistor is turned on” along with the other limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
/DISMERY MERCEDES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627