DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “a first unit pixel and a second unit pixel alternately arranged with the first unit pixel in a first direction”, “the first light emitting area of the first unit pixel and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction”, and “the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction” all describe two single elements being alternately arranged. This is literally not consistent language as there are only two single elements described. It appears that the claim intends to describe alternating two types of elements in rows, but this is not actually claimed by the literal language. The claim should be amended to accurately describe the features of the device. For example the first limitation in the claims could be amended to “a display panel comprising a plurality of unit pixels, comprising [[a]] first unit pixels and [[a]] second unit pixels, second unit pixels alternately arranged with [[the]] first unit pixels in a first direction”. The remaining limitations in the claim and dependent claims would need to be correspondingly amended for consistency. Claims 2-12 depend from claim 1 and share the rejection.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations both describe two single elements being alternately arranged. This is literally not consistent language as there are only two single elements described. It appears that the claim intends to describe alternating two types of elements in a particular direction, but this is not actually claimed by the literal language. The claim should be amended to accurately describe the features of the device.
Regarding claim 4, the three limitations all describe two single elements being alternately arranged. This is literally not consistent language as there are only two single elements described. It appears that the claim intends to describe alternating two types of elements in a particular direction, but this is not actually claimed by the literal language. The claim should be amended to accurately describe the features of the device.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations both describe two single elements being alternately arranged. This is literally not consistent language as there are only two single elements described. It appears that the claim intends to describe alternating two types of elements in a particular direction, but this is not actually claimed by the literal language. The claim should be amended to accurately describe the features of the device.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “the second line portion comprises a second-first line portion and a second- second line portion alternately arranged with the second-first line portion in the first direction” describes two single elements being alternately arranged. This is literally not consistent language as there are only two single elements described. It appears that the claim intends to describe alternating two types of elements in rows, but this is not actually claimed by the literal language. The claim should be amended to accurately describe the features of the device.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “a display panel comprising a plurality of light emitting areas comprising a first light emitting area emitting a first color light, a second light emitting area emitting a second color light, and a third light emitting area emitting a third color light” is unclear as to whether it means that the entire plurality of light emitting areas comprises a first light emitting area, a second light emitting area, and a third light emitting area, or that each light emitting area comprises a first light emitting area, a second light emitting area, and a third light emitting area. The limitation “each of the first and second light emitting areas is alternately arranged with the third light emitting area in a first direction” refers back to plural first and second light emitting areas, but this is not clear from the prior limitation. This is also inconsistent with the term “the third light emitting area”, which refers to a single third light emitting area. It is not clear how each of multiple first and second light emitting areas can be alternately arranged with a single third light emitting area in a first direction. The limitation “the first light emitting area and the second light emitting area are alternately arranged with each other” describe two single elements being alternately arranged. This language is unclear as there are only two single elements described. Furthermore, the limitation is inconsistent with the previous limitation which refers to multiple first and second light emitting areas, so it is not clear how many or which first and light emitting areas are indicated. The limitation “the second light emitting area is arranged in a third direction intersecting each of the first and second directions on a plane defined by the first and second directions with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween” refers to a single second light emitting area. It is unclear how a single element can be arranged in a direction, without more details, or how a single element can have another element interposed therebetween. Claims 14-19 depend from claim 13 and share the rejection.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “wherein the second sensor conductive layer comprises a first mesh opening and a second mesh opening alternately arranged with the first mesh opening in the first direction” describes two single elements being alternately arranged. This is literally not consistent as there are only two single elements described.
Regarding claim 20, the limitations “the first light emitting area of the first unit pixel and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction, the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction, the first light emitting area of the first unit pixel and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween, and the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween” all describe two single elements being alternately arranged. This is literally not consistent language as there are only two single elements described. It appears that the claim intends to describe alternating two types of elements in a particular direction, but this is not actually claimed by the literal language. The claim should be amended to accurately describe the features of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note that citations to figures and elements should be understood to also implicitly refer to any pertinent explanatory text in the reference.
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0397305 A1 (Cho).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a display device (Abstract) comprising:
a display panel (Abstract; Figs. 6, 14, 15) comprising a plurality of unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15) comprising a first unit pixel (Fig. 2 at upper green, middle upper red, middle blue, and center red subpixels; analogous unit pixels in Figs. 14, 15) a second unit pixel alternately arranged with the first unit pixel in a first direction (Fig. 2 at upper blue, middle green, right upper red, and right middle red; analogous unit pixels in Figs. 14, 15); and
an input sensor on the display panel (Figs. 1, 5, 6), the input sensor comprising:
a first sensor conductive layer on the display panel (Figs. 11, 12 at BE1, Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2);
a first sensor insulating layer on the first sensor conductive layer (Figs. 11, 12 at ILD); and
a second sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer (Figs. 11, 12 at BE2, Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4),
wherein at least one of the first and second sensor conductive layers is provided with a mesh opening defined therethrough (Figs. 14, 15),
each of the unit pixels comprises a first light emitting area configured to emit a first color light, a second light emitting area configured to emit a second color light, and a third light emitting area configured to emit a third color light (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green, blue, red SP),
the first light emitting area of the first unit pixel (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15: patterns in Figs. 2 and 15 are extended/repeated in Fig. 14), and
the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel (Fig. 2 at middle blue) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at middle green) are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area of the first unit pixel (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15), and
the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel (Fig. 2 at middle blue; Figs. 14, 15) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15).
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) is spaced apart from the second light emitting area (Fig. 2 at middle blue; Figs. 14, 15) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction within the first unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the third light emitting area (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15) is spaced apart from the first and second light emitting areas in the first direction within the first unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area (Fig. 2 at middle green; Figs. 14, 15) is spaced apart from the second light emitting area (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) in a direction opposite to the second direction within the second unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the third light emitting area (Fig. 2 at upper right and middle right; Figs. 14, 15) is spaced apart from the first and second light emitting areas in the first direction within the second unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches wherein the display panel further comprises a third unit pixel alternately arranged with the first unit pixel in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and a fourth unit pixel alternately arranged with the third unit pixel in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area of the third unit pixel and the second light emitting area of the fourth unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the second light emitting area of the third unit pixel and the first light emitting area of the fourth unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area of the third unit pixel and the second light emitting area of the fourth unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the second light emitting area of the third unit pixel and the first light emitting area of the fourth unit pixel are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area is spaced apart from the second light emitting area in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction within the third unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the third light emitting area is spaced apart from the first and second light emitting areas in the first direction within the third unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area is spaced apart from the second light emitting area in a direction opposite to the second direction within the fourth unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the third light emitting area is spaced apart from the first and second light emitting areas in the first direction within the fourth unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 7, Cho teaches wherein a distance between the third light emitting area of the first unit pixel and the third light emitting area of the third unit pixel is different from a distance between the third light emitting area of the second unit pixel and the third light emitting area of the fourth unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15: each pixel unit comprises two red subpixels, and the term third light emitting area may read onto one or both of the red emitting areas, so for example the upper red area of the first unit pixel is greater distance from the lower red area of the third unit pixel than the distance from the lower red area of the second unit pixel to the upper red area of the fourth unit pixel).
Regarding claim 8, Cho teaches wherein a distance between the third light emitting area of the first unit pixel and the third light emitting area of the third unit pixel is equal to a distance between the third light emitting area of the second unit pixel and the third light emitting area of the fourth unit pixel (Figs. 2, 14, 15: each pixel unit comprises two red subpixels, and the term third light emitting area may read onto one or both of the red emitting areas, so for example, the lower red area of the first unit pixel is the same distance from the upper red area of the third unit pixel as the lower red area of the second unit pixel to the upper red area of the fourth unit pixel).
Regarding claim 9, Cho teaches wherein the second sensor conductive layer is provided with the mesh opening (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the second sensor conductive layer comprises a mesh pattern defining the mesh opening (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the mesh pattern comprises a first line portion extending in the first direction and a second line portion extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15), and the first line portion is between the first unit pixel and the third unit pixel and between the second unit pixel and the fourth unit pixel in a plan view (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 11, Cho teaches wherein the second sensor conductive layer is provided with the mesh opening (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the second sensor conductive layer comprises a mesh pattern defining the mesh opening (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the mesh pattern comprises a first line portion extending in the first direction and a second line portion extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the second line portion comprises a second-first line portion and a second- second line portion alternately arranged with the second-first line portion in the first direction (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the second-first line portion is at an edge of at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth unit pixels in a plan view (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15: a vertical electrode line at the left of a green SP), and
the second-second line portion crosses over at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth unit pixels in the plan view (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15: a vertical electrode line at the right of green SP, i.e. between green SP and red SP adjacent to the right of the green SP).
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches wherein the first sensor conductive layer comprises an auxiliary mesh pattern (Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2; Fig. 15), and
the auxiliary mesh pattern surrounds each of the first, second, and third light emitting areas in a plan view (Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches a display device (Abstract) comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of light emitting areas comprising a first light emitting area emitting a first color light, a second light emitting area emitting a second color light, and a third light emitting area emitting a third color light (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green, blue, red SP); and
an input sensor on the display panel (Figs. 1, 5, 6), the input sensor comprising:
a first sensor conductive layer on the display panel (Figs. 11, 12 at BE1, Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2);
a first sensor insulating layer on the first sensor conductive layer (Figs. 11, 12 at ILD); and
a second sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer (Figs. 11, 12 at BE2, Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4),
wherein at least one of the first and second sensor conductive layers is provided with a mesh opening defined therethrough (Figs. 14, 15),
each of the first and second light emitting areas (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green, red SP) is alternately arranged with the third light emitting area (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at red SP) in a first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green SP) and the second light emitting area (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at blue SP) are alternately arranged with each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the second light emitting area is arranged in a third direction intersecting each of the first and second directions on a plane defined by the first and second directions with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Figs. 2, 14, 15: blue SPs form along diagonal lines (positive or negative slope) between column adjacent blue SPs that are three rows apart, the diagonal lines intersect red SPs and first and second directions).
Regarding claim 14, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area is arranged in a fourth direction intersecting each of the first, second, and third directions on the plane defined by the first and second directions with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Figs. 2, 14, 15: green SPs form along diagonal lines (negative or positive slope so read on opposite slope of blue SPs) between column adjacent blue SPs that are three rows apart, the diagonal lines intersect red SPs and first, second, and third directions).
Regarding claim 15, Cho teaches wherein a distance between one third light emitting area and a third light emitting area adjacent to the one third light emitting area in the second direction is different from a distance between another third light emitting area adjacent to the one third light emitting area in the first direction and a third light emitting area adjacent to the another third light emitting area in the second direction (Figs. 2, 14, and 15: the claim does not require direct adjacency, so, for example, a red SP located at (i, j) may be a different distance to (i+1,j) than a (i, j+1) red SP to a (i+2,j+1) red SP).
Regarding claim 16, Cho teaches wherein a distance between one third light emitting area and a third light emitting area adjacent to the one third light emitting area in the second direction is equal to a distance between another third light emitting area adjacent to the one third light emitting area in the first direction and a third light emitting area adjacent to the another third light emitting area in the second direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 17, Cho teaches wherein the second sensor conductive layer is provided with the mesh opening, and the mesh opening overlaps at least four light emitting areas among the light emitting areas in a plan view (Figs. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4, 15).
Regarding claim 18, Cho teaches wherein the second sensor conductive layer comprises a first mesh opening and a second mesh opening alternately arranged with the first mesh opening in the first direction (Fig. 6, Figs. 14 at TE3, TE4, and other TEs in same row),
the first mesh opening overlaps two first light emitting areas, two second light emitting areas, and one third light emitting area in a plan view, and the second mesh opening overlaps one first light emitting area, one second light emitting area, and two third light emitting areas in the plan view (Fig. 14 at TE3, TE4; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 19, Cho teaches wherein the first sensor conductive layer comprises an auxiliary mesh pattern, and the auxiliary mesh pattern surrounds each of the light emitting areas in a plan view (Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 20, Cho teaches an electronic apparatus (Abstract) comprising:
a display device comprising an active area (Fig. 1 at DA) and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area (Fig. 1 at NDA); and
a window on the display device ([175]: cover glass), the display device comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15) comprising a first unit pixel (Fig. 2 at upper green, middle upper red, middle blue, and center red subpixels; analogous unit pixels in Figs. 14, 15) and a second unit pixel alternately arranged with the first unit pixel in a first direction (Fig. 2 at upper blue, middle green, right upper red, and right middle red; analogous unit pixels in Figs. 14, 15) and located in the active area (Fig. 1 at DA; Figs. 6, 14); and
an input sensor on the display panel (Figs. 1, 5, 6), the input sensor comprising:
a first sensor conductive layer on the display panel (Figs. 11, 12 at BE1, Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2);
a first sensor insulating layer on the first sensor conductive layer (Figs. 11, 12 at ILD); and
a second sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer (Figs. 11, 12 at BE2, Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4),
wherein at least one of the first and second sensor conductive layers is provided with a mesh opening defined therethrough (Figs. 14, 15),
each of the unit pixels comprises a first light emitting area configured to emit a first color light, a second light emitting area configured to emit a second color light, and a third light emitting area configured to emit a third color light (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green, blue, red SP),
the first light emitting area of the first unit pixel (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15: patterns in Figs. 2 and 15 are extended/repeated in Fig. 14),
the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel (Fig. 2 at middle blue) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at middle green) are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area of the first unit pixel (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15), and
the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel (Fig. 2 at middle blue; Figs. 14, 15) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0397305 A1 (Cho) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of obviousness to try.
Regarding claim 10, Cho does not expressly teach wherein a width of the first line portion and a width of the second line portion are not constant. Cho does teach that width of elements, including electrodes, may vary ([16]). Regarding constancy, there are two possible categories for the width, constant or not constant. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the current application, for one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to try wherein a width of the first line portion and a width of the second line portion are not constant.
Conclusion
/Gene W Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624