DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 20 are subject to objection because of the following informalities.
Regarding claim 11, in the phrase “alternately arranged with the second-first line portion”, the term “portion” should be plural.
Regarding claim 20, the term “a second unit pixels” has a superfluous article. It is recommended that the article “a” be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note that citations to figures and elements should be understood to also implicitly refer to any pertinent explanatory text in the reference.
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0397305 A1 (Cho).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a display device (Abstract) comprising:
a display panel (Abstract; Figs. 6, 14, 15) comprising a plurality of unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15) comprising first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper green, middle upper red, middle blue, and center red subpixels; analogous unit pixels in Figs. 14, 15) and second unit pixels, the second unit pixels being alternately arranged with the first unit pixels in a first direction (Fig. 2 at upper blue, middle green, right upper red, and right middle red; analogous unit pixels in Figs. 14, 15); and
an input sensor on the display panel (Figs. 1, 5, 6), the input sensor comprising:
a first sensor conductive layer on the display panel (Figs. 11, 12 at BE1, Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2);
a first sensor insulating layer on the first sensor conductive layer (Figs. 11, 12 at ILD); and
a second sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer (Figs. 11, 12 at BE2, Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4),
wherein at least one of the first and second sensor conductive layers is provided with a mesh opening defined therethrough (Figs. 14, 15),
each of the unit pixels comprises a first light emitting area configured to emit a first color light (Fig. 2 at upper green SP (first row); Figs. 14, 15), a second light emitting area configured to emit a second color light (Fig. 2 at middle blue SP (second row); Figs. 14, 15), and a third light emitting area configured to emit a third color light (Fig. 2 at middle upper red and center red SP (first and second rows) together; Figs. 14, 15),
the first light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper green; analogous elements of Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper blue; analogous elements of Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15: patterns in Figs. 2 and 15 are extended/repeated in Fig. 14),
the second light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle blue; Figs. 14, 15) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle green; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
a same third light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle upper red and center red SP together; Figs. 14, 15) is between the first light emitting area of a first unit pixel from among the first unit pixels (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of a second unit pixel from among the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) and the same third light emitting area is also between the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel from among the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle blue SP; Figs. 14, 15) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at middle green SP; Figs. 14, 15).
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15), and
the second light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle blue; Figs. 14, 15) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15).
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) is spaced apart from the second light emitting area (Fig. 2 at middle blue; Figs. 14, 15) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction within the first unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the third light emitting area (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15) is spaced apart from the first and second light emitting areas in the first direction within the first unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area (Fig. 2 at middle green; Figs. 14, 15) is spaced apart from the second light emitting area (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) in a direction opposite to the second direction within the second unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the third light emitting area (Fig. 2 at upper right and middle right; Figs. 14, 15) is spaced apart from the first and second light emitting areas in the first direction within the second unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches wherein the display panel further comprises a third unit pixels alternately arranged with the first unit pixels in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and a fourth unit pixels alternately arranged with the third unit pixels in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area of the third unit pixels and the second light emitting area of the fourth unit pixels are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the second light emitting area of the third unit pixels and the first light emitting area of the fourth unit pixels are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area of the third unit pixels and the second light emitting area of the fourth unit pixels are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the second light emitting area of the third unit pixels and the first light emitting area of the fourth unit pixels are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area is spaced apart from the second light emitting area in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction within the third unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the third light emitting area is spaced apart from the first and second light emitting areas in the first direction within the third unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area is spaced apart from the second light emitting area in a direction opposite to the second direction within the fourth unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
the third light emitting area is spaced apart from the first and second light emitting areas in the first direction within the fourth unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 7, Cho teaches wherein a distance between the third light emitting area of the first unit pixels and the third light emitting area of the third unit pixels is different from a distance between the third light emitting area of the second unit pixels and the third light emitting area of the fourth unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15: each pixel unit comprises two red subpixels, and the term third light emitting area may read onto one or both of the red emitting areas, so for example the upper red area of the first unit pixel is greater distance from the lower red area of the third unit pixel than the distance from the lower red area of the second unit pixel to the upper red area of the fourth unit pixel).
Regarding claim 8, Cho teaches wherein a distance between the third light emitting area of the first unit pixels and the third light emitting area of the third unit pixels is equal to a distance between the third light emitting area of the second unit pixels and the third light emitting area of the fourth unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15: each pixel unit comprises two red subpixels, and the term third light emitting area may read onto one or both of the red emitting areas, so for example, the lower red area of the first unit pixel is the same distance from the upper red area of the third unit pixel as the lower red area of the second unit pixel to the upper red area of the fourth unit pixel).
Regarding claim 9, Cho teaches wherein the second sensor conductive layer is provided with the mesh opening (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the second sensor conductive layer comprises a mesh pattern defining the mesh opening (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the mesh pattern comprises a first line portion extending in the first direction and a second line portion extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15), and the first line portion is between the first unit pixels and the third unit pixels and between the second unit pixels and the fourth unit pixels in a plan view (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 11, Cho teaches wherein the second sensor conductive layer is provided with the mesh opening (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the second sensor conductive layer comprises a mesh pattern defining the mesh opening (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the mesh pattern comprises a first line portion extending in the first direction and a second line portion extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
the second line portion comprises second-first line portions and second- second line portions alternately arranged with the second-first line portion in the first direction (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15),
a second-first line portion from among the second-first line portions is at an edge of at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth unit pixels in a plan view (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15: a vertical electrode line at the left of a green SP), and
a second-second line portion from among the second-second line portions crosses over at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth unit pixels in the plan view (Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4; Fig. 15: a vertical electrode line at the right of green SP, i.e. between green SP and red SP adjacent to the right of the green SP).
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches wherein the first sensor conductive layer comprises an auxiliary mesh pattern (Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2; Fig. 15), and
the auxiliary mesh pattern surrounds each of the first, second, and third light emitting areas in a plan view (Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches a display device (Abstract) comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of light emitting areas, each of the light emitting areas comprising a first light emitting area emitting a first color light, a second light emitting area emitting a second color light, and a third light emitting area emitting a third color light (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green, blue, red SP); and
an input sensor on the display panel (Figs. 1, 5, 6), the input sensor comprising:
a first sensor conductive layer on the display panel (Figs. 11, 12 at BE1, Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2);
a first sensor insulating layer on the first sensor conductive layer (Figs. 11, 12 at ILD); and
a second sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer (Figs. 11, 12 at BE2, Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4),
wherein at least one of the first and second sensor conductive layers is provided with a mesh opening defined therethrough (Figs. 14, 15),
each of the first and second light emitting areas (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green, red SP) is alternately arranged with the third light emitting areas (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at red SP) in a first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting areas (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green SP) and the second light emitting areas (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at blue SP) are alternately arranged with each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the second light emitting areas are arranged in a third direction intersecting each of the first and second directions on a plane defined by the first and second directions with the third light emitting areas interposed therebetween (Figs. 2, 14, 15: blue SPs form along diagonal lines (positive or negative slope) between column adjacent blue SPs that are three rows apart, the diagonal lines intersect red SPs and first and second directions),
in a first row, a same third light emitting area of the third light emitting areas (Fig. 2 at middle upper red and center red SP together; Figs. 14, 15) is between the first (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and second light emitting areas (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) of adjacent columns of the first and second light emitting areas (Figs. 2, 14, 15), and
in a second row immediately adjacent to the first row, the same third light emitting area (Fig. 2 at middle upper red and center red SP together; Figs. 14, 15) is between the second (Fig. 2 at middle blue SP; Figs. 14, 15) and first light emitting areas (Fig. 2 at middle green SP; Figs. 14, 15) of the adjacent columns of the first and second light emitting areas (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 14, Cho teaches wherein the first light emitting area is arranged in a fourth direction intersecting each of the first, second, and third directions on the plane defined by the first and second directions with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Figs. 2, 14, 15: green SPs form along diagonal lines (negative or positive slope so read on opposite slope of blue SPs) between column adjacent blue SPs that are three rows apart, the diagonal lines intersect red SPs and first, second, and third directions).
Regarding claim 15, Cho teaches wherein a distance between one third light emitting area and a third light emitting area adjacent to the one third light emitting area in the second direction is different from a distance between another third light emitting area adjacent to the one third light emitting area in the first direction and a third light emitting area adjacent to the another third light emitting area in the second direction (Figs. 2, 14, and 15: the claim does not require direct adjacency, so, for example, a red SP located at (i, j) may be a different distance to (i+1,j) than a (i, j+1) red SP to a (i+2,j+1) red SP).
Regarding claim 16, Cho teaches wherein a distance between one third light emitting area and a third light emitting area adjacent to the one third light emitting area in the second direction is equal to a distance between another third light emitting area adjacent to the one third light emitting area in the first direction and a third light emitting area adjacent to the another third light emitting area in the second direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Regarding claim 17, Cho teaches wherein the second sensor conductive layer is provided with the mesh opening, and the mesh opening overlaps at least four light emitting areas among the light emitting areas in a plan view (Figs. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4, 15).
Regarding claim 18, Cho teaches wherein the second sensor conductive layer comprises first mesh openings and second mesh openings alternately arranged with the first mesh openings in the first direction (Fig. 6, Figs. 14 at TE3, TE4, and other TEs in same row),
a first mesh opening from among the first mesh openings overlaps two first light emitting areas, two second light emitting areas, and one third light emitting area in a plan view, and a second mesh opening from among the second mesh openings overlaps one first light emitting area, one second light emitting area, and two third light emitting areas in the plan view (Fig. 14 at TE3, TE4; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 19, Cho teaches wherein the first sensor conductive layer comprises an auxiliary mesh pattern, and the auxiliary mesh pattern surrounds each of the light emitting areas in a plan view (Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 20, Cho teaches an electronic apparatus (Abstract) comprising:
a display device comprising an active area (Fig. 1 at DA) and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area (Fig. 1 at NDA); and
a window on the display device ([175]: cover glass), the display device comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of unit pixels (Figs. 2, 14, 15) comprising first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper green, middle upper red, middle blue, and center red subpixels; analogous unit pixels in Figs. 14, 15) and second unit pixels, the second unit pixels being alternately arranged with the first unit pixels in a first direction (Fig. 2 at upper blue, middle green, right upper red, and right middle red; analogous unit pixels in Figs. 14, 15) and located in the active area (Fig. 1 at DA; Figs. 6, 14); and
an input sensor on the display panel (Figs. 1, 5, 6), the input sensor comprising:
a first sensor conductive layer on the display panel (Figs. 11, 12 at BE1, Fig. 14 at TE1, BE1, TE2);
a first sensor insulating layer on the first sensor conductive layer (Figs. 11, 12 at ILD); and
a second sensor conductive layer on the first sensor insulating layer (Figs. 11, 12 at BE2, Fig. 14 at TE3, BE2, TE4),
wherein at least one of the first and second sensor conductive layers is provided with a mesh opening defined therethrough (Figs. 14, 15),
each of the unit pixels comprises a first light emitting area configured to emit a first color light, a second light emitting area configured to emit a second color light, and a third light emitting area configured to emit a third color light (Figs. 2, 14, 15 at green, blue, red SP),
the first light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15: patterns in Figs. 2 and 15 are extended/repeated in Fig. 14),
the second light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle blue) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle green) are alternately arranged with each other in the first direction (Figs. 2, 14, 15),
the first light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15),
the second light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle blue; Figs. 14, 15) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) are alternately arranged with each other with the third light emitting area interposed therebetween (Fig. 2 at upper red and center red; Figs. 14, 15), and
a same third light emitting area of the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle upper red and center red SP together; Figs. 14, 15) is between the first light emitting area of a first unit pixel from among the first unit pixels (Figs. 2 at upper green; Figs. 14, 15) and the second light emitting area of a second unit pixel from among the second unit pixels (Fig. 2 at upper blue; Figs. 14, 15) and the same third light emitting area is also between the second light emitting area of the first unit pixel from among the first unit pixels (Fig. 2 at middle blue SP; Figs. 14, 15) and the first light emitting area of the second unit pixel (Fig. 2 at middle green SP; Figs. 14, 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0397305 A1 (Cho) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of obviousness to try.
Regarding claim 10, Cho does not expressly teach wherein a width of the first line portion and a width of the second line portion are not constant. Cho does teach that width of elements, including electrodes, may vary ([16]). Regarding constancy, there are two possible categories for the width, constant or not constant. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the current application, for one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to try wherein a width of the first line portion and a width of the second line portion are not constant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have adequately addressed the previous rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 112(b). Those rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 01 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cho does not teach the subject matter of the newly added limitations to independent claims 1, 13, and 20. However, as explained in the rejections above, Cho does teach the subject matter of the limitations. Notably, a third light emitting area may comprise two red sub-pixels (Cho Figs. 2, 14, 15).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gene W Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624