DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,704,291).
Regarding claim 2, 10, 18, Chen et al. disclose at least one non-transitory machine readable medium comprising instructions to cause at least one processor circuit to at least (See col. 1, lines 44-61): generate an initial three-dimensional (3D) volumetric structure representative of a geographic area, the initial 3D volumetric data structure based on light detection and ranging (LIDAR) data associated with a scan of the geographic area (See col. 1, lines 19-29; col. 2, lines label the initial 3D volumetric data structure based on two-dimensional (2D) geographic information system (GIS) map data of the geographic area to determine a labelled 3D volumetric data structure representative of the geographic area (See col. 1, lines 19-29), the labelled 3D volumetric data structure including label data to at least identify street geometry of the geographic area; and cause transmission of the labelled 3D volumetric data structure to a navigation device of a vehicle (See col. 1, lines 44-61). Chen et al. disclose 3D models and collections of 3D models may be used in mapping, navigation, or enhanced reality applications (See col. 2, lines 39-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use 3D volumetric data structure to a navigation device of a vehicle since the models may be used in mapping and navigation to be either transmitted or received (See col. 2, lines 20-54).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-9, 11-17, 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the 2D GIS map data includes the label data, and the instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to label the initial 3D volumetric data structure by: aligning the initial 3D volumetric data structure with the 2D GIS map data; and projecting the label data from the 2D GIS map data to the initial 3D volumetric data structure after alignment of the initial 3D volumetric data structure with the 2D GIS map data to determine the labelled 3D volumetric data structure.
Nor does the prior art disclose wherein the labelled 3D volumetric data structure includes labelled voxels ordered hierarchically, a first hierarchical level of the labelled 3D volumetric data structure is associated with first ones of the labelled voxels having a first level of detail, a second hierarchical level of the labelled 3D volumetric data structure is associated with second ones of the labelled voxels having a second level of detail, and the second level of detail is different from the first level of detail.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salemann (U.S. Patent No. 8,392,354) discloses a probabilistic database can including a set of geospatially referenced records and a probability engine. The geospatially referenced records corresponding to a real-world volumetric space indexed against voxels. Each voxel can have a unique identifier in the probabilistic database. Each voxel can correspond to a volumetric unit of the real-world volumetric space. Geospatial information referenced against voxels can be internally inconsistent, which results in a naturally probabilistic storage format. The probability engine can be operable to dynamically determine a certainty value for an object of the probabilistic database. The certainty value can be a value from zero to one hundred percent, which is based upon a statistical analysis of the internally inconsistent geospatial information referenced against the voxels. The internally inconsistent geospatial information can correspond to a volumetric unit of the real-world volumetric space in which the object has a probability of residing within.
/GERTRUDE ARTHUR JEANGLAUDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661