DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of information disclosure statement filed 30 April 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 13 and 17 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al; (Publication number: US 2018/0124937 A1), hereafter CHOI, in view of Zhang, Pangling (Publication number: WO 2011/157015 A1), hereafter Zhang. Note a English-language translation is relied upon in the rejection on the claims below.
Regarding claim 1:
CHOI discloses a display device (CHOI Figure 1 10) comprising: a display panel having a first area, a folding area, and a second area arranged along a first direction, the folding area being configured to be folded with respect to a folding axis defined along a second direction (CHOI Figures 1 and 2 – display panel 10 includes two flat area FA and a bending area BA arranged along an x-direction and foldable with respect to an axis in the y-direction); and
a support plate on a rear surface of the display panel, the support plate having a pattern portion overlapping the folding area (CHOI Figure 1 and 2 – panel support portion 20 includes portion 40 overlapping the bending area BA).
CHOI does not disclose: a heat dissipation plate on a rear surface of the support plate, the heat dissipation plate having a continuous bending portion; and a first coolant between the bending portion and the support plate.
However, Zhang discloses a backlight module and display device thereof. More particularly, Zhang discloses a heat dissipation plate on a rear surface of the support plate, the heat dissipation plate having a continuous bending portion; and a first coolant between the bending portion and the support plate (Zhang page 3 paragraphs 3 – 6; heat dissipation plate 150, disposed on backplate 110, includes channel forming unit with wavy structure and heat dissipation fluid 156).
It would have been obvious to modify CHOI to include a heat dissipation plate on a rear surface of the support plate, the heat dissipation plate having a continuous bending portion; and a first coolant between the bending portion and the support plate, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to improve heat dissipation in the liquid crystal display, thereby improving a deformation problem of the backplate.
Regarding claim 2:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the bending portion is coupled to the support plate (CHOI Figure 2 bending area BA is coupled to 20).
Regarding claim 3:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the bending portion overlaps the folding area (disclosed by combination of CHOI Figure 1 BA and Zhang Figure 3 150).
Regarding claim 4:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the bending portion does not overlap the folding area (disclosed by combination of CHOI Figure 1 BA and Zhang Figure 3 150 portion not including center of backlight).
Regarding claim 5:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the heat dissipation plate has a lattice portion overlapping the folding area (CHOI Figure 2 40).
Regarding claim 6:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first coolant overlaps the first area and the second area (disclosed by combination of CHOI Figure 1 and Zhang 150 illustrating fluid 156 across length of backplate).
Regarding claim 7:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first coolant does not overlap the folding area (Zhang Figure 3 – portion of fluid in 150 does not overlap region BA in CHOI).
Regarding claim 8:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a lower plate on a rear surface of the heat dissipation plate (Zhang Figure 3 second plate 153).
Regarding claim 9:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 8, further comprising a second coolant between the bending portion and the lower plate (Zhang Figure 3 fluid passage 155 on lower side includes fluid 156).
Regarding claim 10:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the bending portion is coupled to the lower plate (Zhang Figure 3 fluid passage 155 on lower side includes fluid 156; connected to second plate 153).
Regarding claim 11:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising an upper plate between the support plate and the heat dissipation plate (disclosed in combination between CHOI Figure 2 20 and Zhang and first plate 151).
Regarding claim 12:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the bending portion is coupled to the upper plate (Zhang Figure 3 fluid passage 155 on upper side includes fluid 156; connected to first plate 151).
Regarding claim 13:
CHOI discloses CHOI discloses a display device (CHOI Figure 1 10) comprising: a display panel having a first area, a folding area, and a second area arranged along a first direction, the folding area being configured to be folded with respect to a folding axis defined along a second direction (CHOI Figures 1 and 2 – display panel 10 includes two flat area FA and a bending area BA arranged along an x-direction and foldable with respect to an axis in the y-direction); and
a support plate on a rear surface of the display panel, the support plate having a pattern portion overlapping the folding area (CHOI Figure 1 and 2 – panel support portion 20 includes portion 40 overlapping the bending area BA).
CHOI does not disclose a lower plate on a rear surface of the support plate; a heat dissipate plate between the support plate and the lower plate, the heat dissipation plate having a continuous bending portion; a first flow path between the support plate and the bending portion; and a second flow path between the lower plate and the bending portion.
However, Zhang discloses a backlight module and display device thereof. More particularly, Zhang discloses: a lower plate on a rear surface of the support plate (Zhang Figure 3 second plate 153 disclosed on backplate 110); a heat dissipate plate between the support plate and the lower plate (Zhang Figure 3 heat plate 150), the heat dissipation plate having a continuous bending portion (Zhang Figure 3 152 channel forming unit is wavy structure);
a first flow path between the support plate and the bending portion; and a second flow path between the lower plate and the bending portion (Zhang Figure 3 path between upper and lower plates and heat dissipating fluid 156).
Regarding claim 17:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein the bending portion comprises a first bending portion coupled to the support plate and a second bending portion coupled to the lower portion (Zhang Figure 3 fluid passage 155 on upper side includes fluid 156; connected to first plate 151/second plate 153).
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is similarly rejected for those reasons disclosed above in claim 1 (CHOI display device 100 comprises the display panel 10).
Regarding claim 19:
CHOI (in view of Zheng) discloses the electronic device of claim 18, further comprising a sensing layer on the display device, the sensing layer being configured to receive a user’s touch as an input (CHOI [0069]).
Regarding claim 20:
CHOI (in view of Zheng) discloses the electronic device of claim 18, wherein the bending portion of the heat dissipation plate forms two adjacent cooling channels separated from each other by the heat dissipation plate (Zheng figure 3 channel forming unit 152 separates fluid passages).
Claim(s) 14 - 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al; (Publication number: US 2018/0124937 A1), hereafter CHOI, in view of Zhang, Pangling (Publication number: WO 2011/157015 A1), hereafter Zhang, in view of Shimokoba et al; (Publication number: US 2013/0030105 A1), hereafter Shimokoba. Note a English-language translation is relied upon in the rejection on the claims below.
Regarding claim 14:
CHOI (in view of Zhang) does not disclose the display device of claim 13, further comprising: a first heat dissipation resin in the first flow path; and a second heat dissipation resin in the second flow path.
However, Shimokoba discloses a heat-dissipating resin composition used for LED light housing and heat-dissipating housing for LED lighting (Shimokoba [0014]).
It would have been obvious to further modify CHIO (n view of Zhang) such that the heat-dissipation fluid include a first heat dissipation resin in the first flow path; and a second heat dissipation resin in the second flow path, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate excellent heat dissipation and insulation properties (Shimokoba [0015]).
Regarding claim 15:
CHOI (in view of Zheng and Shimokoba) discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the first heat dissipation resin and the second heat dissipation resin overlap in the first area and the second area (disclosed in combination of CHOI Figure 2 20, 30 and Zhang Figure 3 backplate 150).
Regarding claim 16:
CHOI (in view of Zheng and Shimokoba) discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the first heat dissipation resin and the second heat dissipation resin do not overlap the folding area (disclosed in combination Zheng Figure 3 150 and Shimokoba [0014] with areas not corresponding to area BA in CHOI).
Conclusion
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 20 March 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622