DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steingass (US 7,367,361).
Regarding claim 1, Steingass discloses a fluid system for a fire apparatus, the fluid system comprising:
a water circuit (H);
an agent circuit (22) including an agent metering valve (20), the agent metering valve including a flow restrictor (54, 60) having a non-uniform profile (the profile is a ball and a stem); and a ratio controller (11) configured to (a) receive water from the water circuit and agent from the agent circuit and (b) provide an agent-water solution (Column 4, line 66-Column 5, lines 24).
Regarding claim 2, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 1, wherein the ratio controller (11) includes a housing (Figure 4) defining a mixing chamber (12), the housing having:
a first inlet (13) configured to receive the water (Column 4, lines 26-27);
an outlet (15) configured to output the agent-water solution (Column 4, lines 54-57); and
a second inlet (49) positioned between the first inlet and the outlet (Figure 4), the second inlet extending through a sidewall of the housing to the mixing chamber (Figure 4), the second inlet configured to receive the agent and provide the agent to the mixing chamber (Column 4, lines 39-45).
Regarding claim 3, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 2, wherein outlet is axially aligned with the first inlet (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 2, wherein the housing has:
a first pressure port (37) extending through the sidewall of the housing at a first position proximate the first inlet (Figure 4); and
a second pressure port (44) extending through the sidewall of the housing at a second position proximate the mixing chamber (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 2, wherein the ratio controller includes a nozzle (37) and a diffuser (42), wherein at least one of the nozzle or the diffuser at least partially extends into the mixing chamber (Figure 4) such that a nozzle outlet of the nozzle and a diffuser inlet of the diffuser are spaced a distance that is less than a width of the mixing chamber (Figure 4).
Regarding claims 12, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 1, wherein the flow restrictor includes a plunger (100, 85) including a plunger head (85) having the non-uniform profile (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 12, wherein the non-uniform profile is V-shaped (Figure 5, the connection of two of the wings 87 form a v shaped profile).
Regarding claim 14, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 13, wherein the non-uniform profile is V-shaped (Figure 5) with: a first angled wall portion extending linearly at a first angle; and a second angled wall portion extending linearly at a second angle different from the first angle (Figure 5, the top wing 87 extends at an angle relative to the y axis that differs from the angle of the right side wing 87).
Regarding claim 15, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 1, wherein the agent metering valve (20) includes a body (Figure 4) defining an inlet (22), an outlet (outlet of 47), and a chamber (51) positioned between the inlet and the outlet (Figure 4), and wherein the inlet and the outlet are orientated substantially perpendicularly to each other (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 16, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 15, wherein the flow restrictor is repositionable between a plurality of positions including (i) a fully-open position that permits a flow of the agent from the inlet to the outlet, (ii) a fully-closed position that restricts the flow of the agent between the inlet and the outlet, and (iii) a plurality of intermediate positions between the fully- open position and the fully-closed position that variably restrict the flow of the agent between the inlet and the outlet (Column 5, lines 16-20, the 6% ratio is interpreted as the fully open position).
Regarding claim 17, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 16, further comprising a valve controller (25) configured to adjust a position of the flow restrictor between the plurality of positions to variably restrict the flow of the agent from the inlet to the outlet based on a water flow rate entering the ratio controller from the water circuit and a preselected agent-to-water ratio for the agent-water solution exiting the ratio controller (Column 5, lines 22-35).
Regarding claim 18, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 15, wherein the agent metering valve includes a check valve (85) positioned between the inlet and the outlet (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 19, Steingass discloses a fluid system for a fire apparatus, the fluid system comprising: a water circuit (13);
an agent circuit (20) including an agent metering valve (54), the agent metering valve having a ninety-degree flow path (Figure 4, Into 22 and out of 47) and including an integrated check valve (85); and a ratio controller (11) configured to (a) receive water from the water circuit and agent from the agent circuit and (b) provide an agent-water solution (Column 4, line 66-Column 5, line 24).
Regarding claim 20, Steingass discloses a fluid system for a fire apparatus, the fluid system comprising:
a water circuit (13);
an agent circuit (20) including an agent metering valve (54) ; and
a ratio controller (11) configured to (a) receive water from the water circuit and agent from the agent circuit and (b) provide an agent-water solution, wherein the ratio controller has a unitary structure (Column 4, line 66-Column 5, line 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 5,167,285) in view of Steingass (US 7,367,361).
Regarding claim 1, Williams discloses a fluid system for a fire apparatus, the fluid system comprising:
a water circuit (supply of L);
an agent circuit (supply of F); and a ratio controller (B) configured to (a) receive water from the water circuit and agent from the agent circuit and (b) provide an agent-water solution (Column 4, lines 20-32), but fails to disclose the apparatus including an agent metering valve, the agent metering valve including a flow restrictor having a non-uniform profile.
Steingass discloses an improved system that includes an agent metering valve (20), the agent metering valve including a flow restrictor (54) having a non-uniform profile (The flow restrictor has orifices of varying sizes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Williams with the disclosures of Steingass, providing the supply of F to include including an agent metering valve (Steingass, 20), the agent metering valve including a flow restrictor (Steingass, 54) having a non-uniform profile (The flow restrictor has orifices of varying sizes), in order to provide for the ability to optimize foam consumption, and provide appropriate use for varying classes of foams, as disclosed by Steingass (Column 5, lines 11-21).
Regarding claim 2, Williams in view of Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 1, wherein the ratio controller (B) includes a housing (Figure 1) defining a mixing chamber (70), the housing having:
a first inlet (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1) configured to receive the water (Figure 1, the inlet receives the liquid L1);
an outlet (OA) configured to output the agent-water solution (Column 4, lines 39-41); and
a second inlet positioned between the first inlet and the outlet (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), the second inlet extending through a sidewall of the housing to the mixing chamber (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1), the second inlet configured to receive the agent and provide the agent to the mixing chamber (Column 4, lines 27-29).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 4, Williams in view of Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 2, wherein the second inlet is a first agent port (Foam is supplied through the second inlet), wherein the housing has a second agent port (66) positioned between the first inlet and the outlet (Figure 1) and (b) peripherally offset from the first agent port (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Williams in view of Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 4, wherein the first agent port and the second agent port protrude radially outward from an exterior surface of the housing (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Williams in view of Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 4, wherein the first agent port and the second agent port are positioned on opposing sides of the mixing chamber (Figure 1).
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steingass (US 7,367,361).
Regarding claims 9-11, Steingass discloses the fluid system of Claim 1, wherein the flow restrictor includes a ball having the non-uniform profile (Figure 4), but fails to disclose the non-uniform profile providing an elongated notch extending at least partially along a periphery of the ball, the elongated notch including a first end having a first size and a second end having a second size greater than the first size such that the elongated notch tapers between the first end and the second end.
The ball includes a notch (openings) extending partially around a periphery of the ball, but fails to disclose the notch having a shape that is elongated including a first end having a first size and a second end having a second size greater than the first size such that the elongated notch tapers between the first end and the second end;
As to claim 10, wherein the elongated notch has a linearly tapered profile.
As to claim 11, wherein the elongated notch has a non-linear tapered profile.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the notch shaped as claimed since it has been held that shape is a matter of choice which one of ordinary skill in the art would have found absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 13, 18, 19, 20 of U.S. Patent No 11185728. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite the same essential subject matter with minor adjustments in the claim language.
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No 11813489.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite the same essential subject matter with minor adjustments in the claim language.
Claims 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No 11813489.
‘489 discloses the device of claim 6, but fails to disclose the ports arranged on opposite sides of the mixing chamber. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the ports as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752