DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on May 2, 2025, which paper has been placed of record in the file.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted May 2, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding independent claim 1, which is analyzing as the following:
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites a method. Thus, the claim is to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
The claim recites a method for providing service area maps for an autonomous vehicle transportation service. The claim recites the steps: determining an overlapping area of a polygon corresponding to a first service area of a first vehicle and a second polygon corresponding to a second service area of a second vehicle; providing map information based on the overlapping area; and communicating to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user based on the map information and a pickup or drop off location for a trip, under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the Specification, falls within “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising marketing or sales activities or behaviors, business relations. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.
Moreover, the claim recites the steps of: determining an overlapping area of a polygon corresponding to a first service area of a first vehicle and a second polygon corresponding to a second service area of a second vehicle; and providing map information based on the overlapping area, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the Specification, covers performance of the limitations in the mind, can be practically performed by human in their mind or with pen/paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a computer/processor/automatically”, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed in the mind. The mere nominal recitation of generic computing devices does not take the claim limitation out of the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas. Thus, if a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.
Therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Step 2A, Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception or whether the claim is “directed to” the judicial exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
The claim recites the additional elements of “one or more server computing devices”, ”providing, by the one or more server computing devices to a client computing device for display to a user”, and “communicating, by one or more server computer devices with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user.”
The additional elements “providing, by the one or more server computing devices to a client computing device for display to a user”, are mere data gathering, transmitting, and outputting recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering, transmitting, and outputting, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering, transmitting and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05. It is similar to other concepts that have been identified by the courts Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; Collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
The additional elements “communicating, by one or more server computer devices with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user” provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). MPEP 2106.05(f) provides the following considerations for determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer: (1) whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished; (2) whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process; and (3) the particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception.
The additional elements “communicating, by one or more server computer devices with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user” are used to generally apply the abstract idea without placing any limits on how the first/second vehicle functions. Rather, this limitation only recites the outcome of “to drive in an autonomous mode” and do not include any details about how the solution is accomplished. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements “communicating, by one or more server computer devices with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user” also merely indicate a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is performed. Although the additional elements “communicating, by one or more server computer devices with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user” limit the identified judicial exceptions “drive in an autonomous mode”, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (autonomous vehicle) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Further, the steps of “determining an overlapping area of a polygon corresponding to a first service area of a first vehicle and a second polygon corresponding to a second service area of a second vehicle; and providing map information based on the overlapping area”, are recited as being performed by the server computing devices. The server computing devices are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements recite generic computer components the server computing devices, and software programming instructions that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Moreover, these additional elements do not provide any improvement to the technology, improvement to the functioning of the computer, improvement to the server computing devices, the client computing device, the first vehicle, the second vehicle, they are just merely used as general means for collecting, transmitting, displaying data and performing an abstract idea.
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO), and the claim is directed to the judicial exception (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As explained with respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional elements of “communicating, by one or more server computer devices with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user” are at best mere instructions to “apply” the abstract ideas, which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements “providing, by the one or more server computing devices to a client computing device for display to a user” were found to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, Prong Two, because they were determined to be insignificant limitations as necessary data gathering and outputting. However, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra solution activity in Step 2A, Prong Two should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05, subsection I.A. At Step 2B, the evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the additional elements of “providing, by the one or more server computing devices to a client computing device for display to a user” are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to gathering and displaying data over a network and are well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely genetic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitation of the server computer devices to perform limitations “determining an overlapping area of a polygon corresponding to a first service area of a first vehicle and a second polygon corresponding to a second service area of a second vehicle; providing map information based on the overlapping area; and communicating to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user based on the map information and a pickup or drop off location for a trip”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO).
Regarding independent claim 11, Alice Corp. establishes that the same analysis should be used for all categories of claims. Therefore, independent claim 11 directed to a system, is also rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 for substantially the same reasons as independent method claim 1.
Regarding dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20, the dependent claims do not impart patent eligibility to the abstract idea of the independent claim. The dependent claims rather further narrow the abstract idea and the narrower scope does not change the outcome of the two-part Mayo test. Narrowing the scope of the claims is not enough to impart eligibility as it is still interpreted as an abstract idea, a narrower abstract idea.
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 12, the claims simply refine the abstract idea by further reciting determining a geographic area based on the overlapping area…,
that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claims recite the additional elements by the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claims do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 13, the claims simply refine the abstract idea by further reciting prior to communicating with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, assigning based on the map information and the pickup or drop off location, the first vehicle or the second vehicle to the trip, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claims recite the additional elements by the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claims do not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 4, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting wherein the map information is further based on the first service area and the second service area, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 5, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting selecting the first vehicle and the second vehicle from a fleet of vehicles based on availability of the first vehicle and the second vehicle to pick up the user, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 6, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting reducing the overlapping area using a third polygon corresponding to a third service area for the user…, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements by the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 7, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting wherein the reduced overlapping area correspond to an area of intersection between the overlapping area and the third polygon, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 8, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting determining a subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations…; determining a subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations…; and providing the subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations and the subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations to the client computing device, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements by the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 9, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting wherein determining the subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations and determining the subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations are further based on the overlapping area, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 10, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting prior to providing the subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations and the subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations to the client computing device, filtering the subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations and the subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations based on one or more pick up or drop off location limitations, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements by the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 14, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting receive a notification from the client computing device confirming a trip including a pickup location and a drop off location; and in response to receiving the notification, determine the overlapping area, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 15, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting determine an intersection between the overlapping area and a third polygon corresponding to a third service area for the user, and determine the map information further based on the intersection, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 16, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting determine an intersection between the overlapping area and a third polygon corresponding to a third service area for the user; and determine a set of drop off locations further based on the intersection, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 17, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting filter the set of drop off locations based on one or more drop off limitations for the user; and provide the filtered set of drop off locations to the client computing device, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 18, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting receive a notification that an application of the client computing device for an autonomous vehicle transportation service has been opened; and determine the overlapping area in response to receiving the notification, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 19, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting select the first vehicle and the second vehicle from a fleet of vehicles, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Moreover, the claim recites the additional elements the one or more server computing devices, which are recited at a high level of generality and are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Regarding dependent claim 20, the claim simply refines the abstract idea by further reciting comprising the first vehicle and the second vehicle, that fall under the category of Organizing Human activity and Mental process groupings of abstract ideas as described above in the independent claim 1. Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application under Step 2A-Prong Two), results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Therefore, none of the dependent claims alone or as an ordered combination add limitations that qualify as significantly more than the abstract idea.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more and are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (hereinafter Chenl, US 2020/0311846).
Regarding to claim 1, Chen discloses a method comprising:
determining, by the one or more server computing devices, an overlapping area of a polygon corresponding to a first service area of a first vehicle and a second polygon corresponding to a second service area of a second vehicle (para [0040] and figure 3, Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be static or dynamic. Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be dynamically updated (in real-time or in non-real time) as any of the aforementioned characteristics of the vehicles, road surfaces, requests and requestors are updated. Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be located in isolation from one another or may overlap partially or completely. For example, geographic zone 300(1) may be geographically isolated from geographic zones 300(2) and 300(n) while geographic zone 300(2) completely overlaps geographic zone 300(n). Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be located within any of geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) or in multiple geographic zones);
providing, by the one or more server computing devices to a client computing device for display to a user, map information based on the overlapping area (para [0040], Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be determined using any suitable method and may be displayed on a map such as the map of FIG. 3); and
communicating, by one or more server computer devices with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user based on the map information and a pickup or drop off location for a trip (para [0044], FIG. 5 is an illustration of designated pickup and drop-off locations associated with autonomous transportation provider vehicles. As described above with respect to FIGS. 2 and 4, autonomous transportation provider vehicles may have an ability to perform certain driving maneuvers including pulling into and/or pulling out of designated pickup and drop-off locations. As shown in FIG. 5, designated pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be located in areas in which the autonomous transportation provider vehicles are capable of entering and/or exiting and are configured such that transportation requestors are able to enter and/or exit the vehicles. Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be designated at certain locations on a map of the geographic area. Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may be guided to pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) based on the locations designated in the map of the geographic area).
Regarding to claim 2, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining, by the one or more server computing devices, a geographic area based on the overlapping area, wherein the map information is further based on the geographic area (para [0040], Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be located in isolation from one another or may overlap partially or completely. For example, geographic zone 300(1) may be geographically isolated from geographic zones 300(2) and 300(n) while geographic zone 300(2) completely overlaps geographic zone 300(n). Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be located within any of geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) or in multiple geographic zones; para [0044], Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be designated at certain locations on a map of the geographic area. Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may be guided to pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) based on the locations designated in the map of the geographic area).
Regarding to claim 3, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to communicating with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, assigning, by the one or more server computing devices based on the map information and the pickup or drop off location, the first vehicle or the second vehicle to the trip (para [0032], FIG. 2 is an illustration of designated pickup and drop-off locations associated with autonomous transportation provider vehicles in a geographic area. Geographic area 120 may have designated locations in which transportation requestors may be picked up or dropped off in the course of autonomous transportation provider vehicles providing transportation services. Geographic area 120 may have designated pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n). The location of designated pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be determined based on the ability of the transportation management system to efficiently and effectively match transportation requests with autonomous transportation provider vehicles in geographic area 120 using the designated pickup and drop-off locations).
Regarding to claim 4, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the map information is further based on the first service area and the second service area (para [0044], Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be designated at certain locations on a map of the geographic area. Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may be guided to pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) based on the locations designated in the map of the geographic area).
Regarding to claim 5, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising selecting the first vehicle and the second vehicle from a fleet of vehicles based on availability of the first vehicle and the second vehicle to pick up the user (para [0038], The designated pickup and drop-off locations may be determined based on a time of day and/or a day of the week. For example, designated pickup and drop-off locations may be based on characteristics of the autonomous transportation provider vehicles that may be based on a time of day and/or a day of the week. Certain autonomous transportation provider vehicles may be unavailable for certain pickup and drop-off locations based on, without limitation, availability of operators during a time of day and/or a day of the week, availability of the autonomous transportation provider vehicles during a time of day and/or a day of the week, maintenance schedules for the autonomous transportation provider vehicles, or a combination thereof).
Regarding to claim 6, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising reducing, by the one or more server computing devices, the overlapping area using a third polygon corresponding to a third service area for the user, wherein the map information is further based on the reduced overlapping area (para [0040], Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be located in isolation from one another or may overlap partially or completely. For example, geographic zone 300(1) may be geographically isolated from geographic zones 300(2) and 300(n) while geographic zone 300(2) completely overlaps geographic zone 300(n). Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be located within any of geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) or in multiple geographic zones).
Regarding to claim 7, Chen discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the reduced overlapping area correspond to an area of intersection between the overlapping area and the third polygon (figure 3 and para [0040], Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be located in isolation from one another or may overlap partially or completely. For example, geographic zone 300(1) may be geographically isolated from geographic zones 300(2) and 300(n) while geographic zone 300(2) completely overlaps geographic zone 300(n). Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be located within any of geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) or in multiple geographic zones).
Regarding to claim 8, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first vehicle is associated with a first set of pick up or drop off locations and the second vehicle is associated with a second set of pick up or drop off locations, and the method further comprises:
determining, by the one or more server computing devices, a subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations based on the first set of pick up or drop off locations for the first vehicle (para [0032], the pickup and drop-off locations may overlap one another. For example, pickup and drop-off locations 201(4) and 201(5) may overlap one another. In some examples, certain pickup and drop-off locations may be accessible to certain vehicles and not accessible to other vehicles. For example, pickup and drop-off locations 201(1), 201(2), 201(4), and 201(5) may be accessible by vehicle 202, whereas pickup and drop-off location 201(3) may be inaccessible to vehicle 202. As another example, pickup and drop-off locations 201(3) and 201(5) may be accessible by vehicle 203, whereas pickup and drop-off location 201(1), 201(2), and 201(4) may be inaccessible to vehicle 203. The pickup and drop-off locations accessible to certain vehicles may be determined based on the conditions and characteristics described below).
determining, by the one or more server computing devices, a subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations based on the second set of pick up or drop off locations for the second vehicle (para [0032], the pickup and drop-off locations may overlap one another. For example, pickup and drop-off locations 201(4) and 201(5) may overlap one another. In some examples, certain pickup and drop-off locations may be accessible to certain vehicles and not accessible to other vehicles. For example, pickup and drop-off locations 201(1), 201(2), 201(4), and 201(5) may be accessible by vehicle 202, whereas pickup and drop-off location 201(3) may be inaccessible to vehicle 202. As another example, pickup and drop-off locations 201(3) and 201(5) may be accessible by vehicle 203, whereas pickup and drop-off location 201(1), 201(2), and 201(4) may be inaccessible to vehicle 203. The pickup and drop-off locations accessible to certain vehicles may be determined based on the conditions and characteristics described below); and
providing, by the one or more server computing devices, the subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations and the subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations to the client computing device (para [0061], Display screen 1018 may also display, without limitation, an estimated time of transportation requestor arrival to pickup location 201(1), an estimated time of autonomous transportation provider vehicle arrival to pickup location 201(1), an estimated time of autonomous transportation provider vehicle arrival to drop-off location 201(2), an estimated time of transportation requestor arrival to destination 602, an identifier of the autonomous transportation provider vehicle, an identifier of an operator of the autonomous transportation provider vehicle, a value associated with the transportation service, or a combination thereof).
Regarding to claim 9, Chen discloses the method of claim 8, wherein determining the subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations and determining the subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations are further based on the overlapping area (para [0032], The location of designated pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be determined based on the ability of the transportation management system to efficiently and effectively match transportation requests with autonomous transportation provider vehicles in geographic area 120 using the designated pickup and drop-off locations).
Regarding to claim 10, Chen discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, prior to providing the subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations and the subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations to the client computing device, filtering, by the one or more server computing devices, the subset of the first set of pick up or drop off locations and the subset of the second set of pick up or drop off locations based on one or more pick up or drop off location limitations (para [0054], incoming requests 740 for transportation services using an autonomous transportation provider vehicle may be provided to matching module 728 for matching the request. Incoming requests 740 may be matched using data from incoming request 740 and the determined geographic zones from geographic zone determination module 722 using any suitable method. For example, matching module 728 may match a transportation request with an autonomous transportation provider vehicle in response to the transportation request pickup location, drop off location, and travel route being within a geographic zone associated with the autonomous transportation provider vehicle).
Regarding to claim 11, Chen discloses a system comprising:
one or more server computing devices configured to (figure 1 and para [0022], Electronic device 112 may provide the request for transportation service to transportation management system 123 through network 121):
determine an overlapping area of a polygon corresponding to a first service area of a first vehicle and a second polygon corresponding to a second service area of a second vehicle (para [0040] and figure 3, Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be static or dynamic. Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be dynamically updated (in real-time or in non-real time) as any of the aforementioned characteristics of the vehicles, road surfaces, requests and requestors are updated. Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be located in isolation from one another or may overlap partially or completely. For example, geographic zone 300(1) may be geographically isolated from geographic zones 300(2) and 300(n) while geographic zone 300(2) completely overlaps geographic zone 300(n). Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be located within any of geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) or in multiple geographic zones);
provide, to a client computing device for display to a user, map information based on the overlapping area (para [0040], Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be determined using any suitable method and may be displayed on a map such as the map of FIG. 3); and
communicate with the first vehicle or the second vehicle to cause the first vehicle or the second vehicle to drive in an autonomous mode to the user based on the map information and a pickup or drop off location for a trip (para [0044], FIG. 5 is an illustration of designated pickup and drop-off locations associated with autonomous transportation provider vehicles. As described above with respect to FIGS. 2 and 4, autonomous transportation provider vehicles may have an ability to perform certain driving maneuvers including pulling into and/or pulling out of designated pickup and drop-off locations. As shown in FIG. 5, designated pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be located in areas in which the autonomous transportation provider vehicles are capable of entering and/or exiting and are configured such that transportation requestors are able to enter and/or exit the vehicles. Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be designated at certain locations on a map of the geographic area. Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may be guided to pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) based on the locations designated in the map of the geographic area).
Regarding to claim 12, Chen discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more server computing devices are further configured to determine a geographic area based on the overlapping area, wherein the map information is further based on the geographic area (para [0040], Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be located in isolation from one another or may overlap partially or completely. For example, geographic zone 300(1) may be geographically isolated from geographic zones 300(2) and 300(n) while geographic zone 300(2) completely overlaps geographic zone 300(n). Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be located within any of geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) or in multiple geographic zones; para [0044], Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be designated at certain locations on a map of the geographic area. Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may be guided to pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) based on the locations designated in the map of the geographic area).
Regarding to claim 13, Chen discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more server computing devices are further configured to, prior to communicating with the first vehicle or the second vehicle, assign based on the map information and the pickup or drop off location, the first vehicle or the second vehicle to the trip (para [0032], FIG. 2 is an illustration of designated pickup and drop-off locations associated with autonomous transportation provider vehicles in a geographic area. Geographic area 120 may have designated locations in which transportation requestors may be picked up or dropped off in the course of autonomous transportation provider vehicles providing transportation services. Geographic area 120 may have designated pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n). The location of designated pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be determined based on the ability of the transportation management system to efficiently and effectively match transportation requests with autonomous transportation provider vehicles in geographic area 120 using the designated pickup and drop-off locations).
Regarding to claim 14, Chen discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more server computing devices are configured to:
receive a notification from the client computing device confirming a trip including a pickup location and a drop off location (para [0045], A transportation requestor may desire transportation from origin location (e.g., current requestor location) 601 to destination location 602); and
in response to receiving the notification, determine the overlapping area (para [0045], In response to a request for transportation service from origin location 601 to destination location 602, a transportation management system may provide the transportation requestor transportation service from pickup location 201(1) to drop-off location 201(2) over transportation route 620).
Regarding to claim 15, Chen discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more server computing devices are further configured to:
determine an intersection between the overlapping area and a third polygon corresponding to a third service area for the user (para [0040], Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be located in isolation from one another or may overlap partially or completely. For example, geographic zone 300(1) may be geographically isolated from geographic zones 300(2) and 300(n) while geographic zone 300(2) completely overlaps geographic zone 300(n). Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be located within any of geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) or in multiple geographic zones); and
determine the map information further based on the intersection (para [0044], Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be designated at certain locations on a map of the geographic area. Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may be guided to pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) based on the locations designated in the map of the geographic area).
Regarding to claim 16, Chen discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more server computing devices are further configured to:
determine an intersection between the overlapping area and a third polygon corresponding to a third service area for the user (para [0040], Geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) may be located in isolation from one another or may overlap partially or completely. For example, geographic zone 300(1) may be geographically isolated from geographic zones 300(2) and 300(n) while geographic zone 300(2) completely overlaps geographic zone 300(n). Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) to 201(n) may be located within any of geographic zones 300(1) to 300(n) or in multiple geographic zones); and
determine a set of drop off locations further based on the intersection (para [0044], Pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) may be designated at certain locations on a map of the geographic area. Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may be guided to pickup and drop-off locations 201(1) and 201(2) based on the locations designated in the map of the geographic area).
Regarding to claim 17, Chen discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the one or more server computing devices are further configured to:
filter the set of drop off locations based on one or more drop off limitations for the user (para [0054], incoming requests 740 for transportation services using an autonomous transportation provider vehicle may be provided to matching module 728 for matching the request. Incoming requests 740 may be matched using data from incoming request 740 and the determined geographic zones from geographic zone determination module 722 using any suitable method. For example, matching module 728 may match a transportation request with an autonomous transportation provider vehicle in response to the transportation request pickup location, drop off location, and travel route being within a geographic zone associated with the autonomous transportation provider vehicle); and
provide the filtered set of drop off locations to the client computing device (para [0054], Matching module 728 may issue the matched transportation request to matches 790. Matches 790 may provide a match for transportation services to the transportation requestor device as described in detail below with respect to FIG. 10).
Regarding to claim 18, Chen discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more server computing devices are further configured to:
receive a notification that an application of the client computing device for an autonomous vehicle transportation service has been opened (para [0045], A transportation requestor may desire transportation from origin location (e.g., current requestor location) 601 to destination location 602); and
determine the overlapping area in response to receiving the notification (para [0045], In response to a request for transportation service from origin location 601 to destination location 602, a transportation management system may provide the transportation requestor transportation service from pickup location 201(1) to drop-off location 201(2) over transportation route 620).
Regarding to claim 19, Chen discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more server computing devices are further configured to select the first vehicle and the second vehicle from a fleet of vehicles (para [0041], Different specific vehicles within a particular fleet of vehicles or within a particular manufacturer of the vehicles may be able to access different pickup and drop-off locations).
Regarding to claim 20, Chen discloses the system of claim 11, further comprising the first vehicle and the second vehicle (para [0022] and figure 1, Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may be available to provide transportation to one or more transportation requestors of the set of transportation requestors 110 in geographic area 120. Autonomous transportation provider vehicles 130(1) to 130(n) may include an electronic device (e.g., embedded computing device, electronic computing module, smartphone, etc.) that sends and receives information associated with characteristics of the respective autonomous transportation provider vehicle and information associated with the transportation request to and from transportation management system 123 through network 122).
Conclusion
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
9. The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Urano et al. (US 2020/0191582) disclose a method for route planning for an autonomous vehicle includes determining whether a route to a destination includes a stall factor and determining whether the autonomous vehicle will be occupied during the route.
Fairfield et al. (US 2018/0143643) disclose a route for a trip to a destination is generated using map information. A set of no-go roadway segments, where the vehicle is not able to drive in an autonomous mode, relevant to the route from the plurality of no-go roadway segments is identified from the map information.
O’Mahoney et al. (US 2017/0227371) disclose a travel coordination system provides suggestions to providers for where they should go to reduce the wait time between trips. A geographic region is broken down into zones and a score is generated for each zone. A zone score can be generated by determining the estimated wait time for the zone and generating a model for the wait time.
Aula et al. (US 9,599,477) disclose the vehicle includes one or more computing devices that receive a request for a vehicle from a client computing device. The request identifies a first location. The one or more computing devices also determine whether the first location is within a threshold outside of a service area of the vehicle.
Abhayanker et al. (US 2016/0027307) disclose a method of a dispatch server includes associating a user with a ride request system and determining that the user has requested to be picked-up at a geo-spatial location associated with a pick-up address of the user.
/NGA B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625 August 20, 2026