DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the application filed 5/2/2025.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
At the time of examination, no information disclosure statement (IDS) submission was found for the instant application. Accordingly, there is no IDS for the Examiner to consider.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christie, US2011/0239155.
Claims 1, 8, and 15. Christie teaches a method comprising:
displaying a view of a map on a display of a vehicle (figs. 13A-13H and 15A-15D best illustrates displaying a view of a map);
displaying a plurality of selectable indicators over the map, the plurality of selectable indicators corresponding respectively to a plurality of directions (figs. 7I and 19E, 19F best illustrates this element);
receiving a user input, via an interface of the vehicle, the user input selecting a first selectable indicator of the plurality of selectable indicators, the first selectable indicator corresponding to a first direction of the plurality of directions ([0004] teaches “For example, they are generally dedicated to moving the cursor in a specific direction (e.g., arrow keys)”, fig. 1 illustrates the display and input device, fig. 7I illustrates user input via an interface using selector with a plurality of selectable indicator); and
in response to receiving the user input: scrolling the view of the map in the first direction ([0087] reads on this element as such—“Referring to the scrolling actions described in FIG. 7H, and as shown in FIGS. 71 and 7J, a one or two finger touchdown within a scrollable window may cause the displayed content of the window to scroll at different speeds. Specifically, once a scrolling action is invoked 723, the scrolling takes place a 1.times. speed 724 if it is determined that only one finger (or one touchdown point) is detected on the touch sensitive display”).
Claims 2, 9, and 16. Christie teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein receiving a user input via an interface of the vehicle comprises receiving a touch input via the display of the vehicle ([0053] read on this element as such—“….the input device 70 can be a touch screen that is positioned over or in front of the display 68, integrated with the display device 68, or can be a separate component, such as a touch pad.”).
Claims 3, 10, and 17. Christie teaches the method of claim 2 and teaches, further comprising:
receiving a second touch input (fig. 16, item 452 teaches a second touch);
determining a first angle associated with a line between a first location corresponding to the second touch input and a second location corresponding to a center of the plurality of selectable indicators ([0117] reads on this element as such—“the rotate method 450 proceeds to block 454 where the angle of each of the finger is set. The angles can be typically determined relative to a reference point. Following block 454, rotate method 450 proceeds to block 456 where a rotate signal can be generated when the angle of at least one of the objects changes relative to the reference point. In most cases, the set down of the fingers will associate or lock the fingers to a particular image object displayed on the touch screen.”);
in response to determining that the first angle is within a threshold angle of a particular selectable indicator: scrolling the view of the map in accordance with the direction corresponding to the particular selectable indicator ([0018] give a scenario that read on this element as such—“…the rotate method 450 proceeds to block 454 where the angle of each of the finger is set. The angles can be typically determined relative to a reference point. Following block 454, rotate method 450 proceeds to block 456 where a rotate signal can be generated when the angle of at least one of the objects changes relative to the reference point. In most cases, the set down of the fingers will associate or lock the fingers to a particular image object displayed on the touch screen.”); and
in response to determining that the first angle is not within the threshold angle of any selectable indicator: scrolling the view of the map in accordance with the first angle ([0087] reads on this element as such—“Referring to the scrolling actions described in FIG. 7H, and as shown in FIGS. 71 and 7J, a one or two finger touchdown within a scrollable window may cause the displayed content of the window to scroll at different speeds. Specifically, once a scrolling action is invoked 723, the scrolling takes place a 1.times. speed 724 if it is determined that only one finger (or one touchdown point) is detected on the touch sensitive display”).
Claim 5, 12, and 19. the method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying on the map an indicator control representing an option to display the plurality of selectable indicators; receiving a second selection of the indicator control([0087] reads on this element as such—“Referring to the scrolling actions described in FIG. 7H, and as shown in FIGS. 7I and 7J, a one or two finger touchdown within a scrollable window may cause the displayed content of the window to scroll at different speeds. Specifically, once a scrolling action is invoked 723, the scrolling takes place a 1.times. speed 724 if it is determined that only one finger (or one touchdown point) is detected on the touch sensitive display”);
in response to receiving the second selection of the indicator control: displaying the plurality of selectable indicators over the map (best illustrated in at least fig. 7I).
Claims 6, 13, and 20. Christie teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the plurality of selectable indicators comprises a plurality of arrows, each arrow corresponding to a respective direction (this selectable indicator is best illustrated in at least fig. 7I).
Claims 7 and 14. Christie teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the plurality of selectable indicators consist of the first selectable indicator corresponding to a north direction, a second selectable indicator corresponding to an east direction, a third selectable indicator corresponding to a south direction and a fourth selectable indicator corresponding to a west direction (this selectable indicator is best illustrated in at least fig. 7I. Here there are four arrow indicators each individual arrow is pointing in four different directions of north, south, east and west).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christie in view of Badaye et al., US 2014/0002407 hereinafter “Badaye”.
Claims 4, 11, and 18. Christie teaches the method of claim 3; however, Christie is silent on the threshold. Yet, Badaye teaches wherein the threshold angle is a second angle between zero (0) degrees and ten (10) degrees (Badaye [0039] reads on this element as such—“Of course, the touch orientation calculator 120 can also determine the touch angle 208 to be 0º or 90º. In this embodiment, the touch angle 208 is with respect to an X-axis of the graph 200. Of course, the touch angle 208 can be determined with respect to a y-axis of the graph 200. Alternatively, the touch angles may be between 0º or 180º, or any arbitrary range as would be appreciated by one of ordinary skill in the art having the benefit of this disclosure. It should also be noted that identical physical orientations could be reported as 180 degrees and -90 degrees (or other values that are physically equivalent).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaches of Badaye with the teaching of Christie because such a combination would provide a finer resolution in touch angle and size calculations of the touch (see [0077], Harris).
Conclusion
/A.D.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RUSSELL FREJD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661