DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/25/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 406. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0034] recites “…receives energy from the energy storage device 208 power rotation…”, in which the underlined portion appears to be grammatically incorrect.
[0057] recites “…including list…”, which appears to be grammatically incorrect.
[0058] recites “…is power value…”, which appears to be grammatically incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 9, 11-12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shan of US 20260027905 A1, filed 12/22/2022, hereinafter “Shan”.
Regarding claim 1, Shan discloses:
A vocational vehicle comprising: a chassis; a body assembly coupled to the chassis; a prime mover coupled to at least one of the chassis or the body assembly; (See at least [0005]: “As shown in FIG. 1, a chassis engine of the single-engine cranes not only provides power for traveling of the chassis, but also drives an oil pump by means of a clutch, a gearbox and a power takeoff to provide power for an upper hydraulic system during operation of the upper body. As shown in FIG. 2, a chassis engine and an upper engine of the double-engine cranes respectively provide power for traveling of the chassis and operation of the upper body.” See also [0037] & [0042] regarding the lower body.)
an energy storage device coupled to at least one of the chassis or the body assembly; and (See at least [0036-0037]: “As shown in FIG. 3, this embodiment provides an extended-range hybrid power system, comprising a power battery, an all-in-one controller, a motor 1, a motor 2 and an engine. The power battery is arranged on a lower body and connected to the all-in-one controller by means of a BMS…”)
a peak shaving system coupled to at least one of the chassis or the body assembly, the peak shaving system comprising: a hydraulic pump; (See at least [0038]: “The upper operating mechanism comprises a hydraulic pump connected to the clutch 2, and a revolving device, a luffing device, a hoisting device, a telescopic boom and chassis outriggers which are driven by the hydraulic pump.”)
a motor-generator coupled to the prime mover, the energy storage device, and the hydraulic pump; and (See at least Fig. 3, [0038]: “The hydraulic pump is driven by the motor 2, or is driven by the engine by means of the clutch 1 and a rotor of the motor 2, or is driven by the motor 2 and the engine” & [0040]: “In this embodiment, the engine, the motor 1, the motor 2 and the power battery are connected to the all-in-one controller by means of the MCUs or the BMS, and the central revolving device transfers hydraulic signals, high-voltage power and communication signals from the upper body and the lower body.”)
a controller communicably coupled to the motor-generator, the controller configured to control the motor-generator to selectively supply power to the energy storage device or to power the hydraulic pump based on an operating condition of the vocational vehicle. (See at least [0047]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is sufficient and higher than a design threshold A (such as 30%), users may select the pure electric operating mode; similar to the plug-in operating mode, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is disengaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is engaged, the power battery drives the motor 2 by means of the BMS, the all-in-one controller, the central revolving device and the MUC2, the motor 2 drives the hydraulic pump to implement revolving, luffing, telescoping and hoisting of the upper body and the actions of the chassis outriggers” & [0051]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is lower than the design threshold A, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is engaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is disengaged, and the engine is started to drive the motor 2 to generate power to charge the power battery by means of the MCU2, the central revolving device, the all-in-one controller and the BMS…”. See also [0040] regarding the engine, the motor 1, the motor 2 and the power battery being connected to the all-in-one controller.)
Regarding claim 3, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shan additionally discloses:
wherein the motor-generator includes a first drive element that is rotationally coupled to the prime mover, and a second drive element that is rotationally coupled to the hydraulic pump, and so that the hydraulic pump rotates at a same rotational speed as the first drive element in at least one operating mode. (See at least Fig. 3, [0038]: “The engine is arranged on an upper body and connected to a clutch 1, the clutch 1 is connected to an input shaft of the motor 2, an output shaft of the motor 2 is connected to a clutch 2, and the clutch 2 is connected to an upper operating mechanism. The upper operating mechanism comprises a hydraulic pump connected to the clutch 2, and a revolving device, a luffing device, a hoisting device, a telescopic boom and chassis outriggers which are driven by the hydraulic pump” & [0049]: “When the users select the hybrid operating mode, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is engaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is engaged, and the engine drives the hydraulic pump to work by means of the clutch 1, the rotor of the motor 2 and the clutch 2.”)
NOTE: Claim 3 recites the following intended use limitation: “…and so that the hydraulic pump rotates at a same rotational speed as the first drive element in at least one operating mode”. This limitation is not positively recited and is instead recited as intended use via the phrase “so that”. Therefore, the BRI of claim 3 only requires the limitations “wherein the motor-generator includes a first drive element that is rotationally coupled to the prime mover, and a second drive element that is rotationally coupled to the hydraulic pump”.
Regarding claim 4, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shan additionally discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the motor-generator between a first operating state in which the motor-generator receives energy from the energy storage device to power movement of the hydraulic pump, and a second operating state in which the motor-generator provides energy to the energy storage device. (See at least [0047]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is sufficient and higher than a design threshold A (such as 30%), users may select the pure electric operating mode; similar to the plug-in operating mode, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is disengaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is engaged, the power battery drives the motor 2 by means of the BMS, the all-in-one controller, the central revolving device and the MUC2, the motor 2 drives the hydraulic pump to implement revolving, luffing, telescoping and hoisting of the upper body and the actions of the chassis outriggers” & [0051]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is lower than the design threshold A, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is engaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is disengaged, and the engine is started to drive the motor 2 to generate power to charge the power battery by means of the MCU2, the central revolving device, the all-in-one controller and the BMS…”)
Regarding claim 7, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shan additionally discloses:
wherein the peak shaving system further comprises a clutch that couples the motor-generator to the hydraulic pump. (See at least Fig. 3B & [0038]: “The engine is arranged on an upper body and connected to a clutch 1, the clutch 1 is connected to an input shaft of the motor 2, an output shaft of the motor 2 is connected to a clutch 2, and the clutch 2 is connected to an upper operating mechanism. The upper operating mechanism comprises a hydraulic pump connected to the clutch 2…”)
Regarding claim 9, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shan additionally discloses:
wherein the controller is further configured to: receive the operating condition as a function request to actuate a hydraulic system onboard the vocational vehicle; and control the motor-generator to selectively supply power to the energy storage device or to power the hydraulic pump based on the function request. (See at least [0047]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is sufficient and higher than a design threshold A (such as 30%), users may select the pure electric operating mode; similar to the plug-in operating mode, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is disengaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is engaged, the power battery drives the motor 2 by means of the BMS, the all-in-one controller, the central revolving device and the MUC2, the motor 2 drives the hydraulic pump to implement revolving, luffing, telescoping and hoisting of the upper body and the actions of the chassis outriggers” & [0051]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is lower than the design threshold A, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is engaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is disengaged, and the engine is started to drive the motor 2 to generate power to charge the power battery by means of the MCU2, the central revolving device, the all-in-one controller and the BMS…”)
Regarding claim 11, Shan discloses:
A peak shaving system for a vocational vehicle, the peak shaving system comprising: a hydraulic pump configured to power a hydraulic system onboard the vocational vehicle; (See at least [0036-0038]: “As shown in FIG. 3, this embodiment provides an extended-range hybrid power system, comprising a power battery, an all-in-one controller, a motor 1, a motor 2 and an engine…The engine is arranged on an upper body and connected to a clutch 1, the clutch 1 is connected to an input shaft of the motor 2, an output shaft of the motor 2 is connected to a clutch 2, and the clutch 2 is connected to an upper operating mechanism. The upper operating mechanism comprises a hydraulic pump connected to the clutch 2, and a revolving device, a luffing device, a hoisting device, a telescopic boom and chassis outriggers which are driven by the hydraulic pump.”)
a motor-generator configured to couple the hydraulic pump to (i) a prime mover of the vocational vehicle and (ii) an energy storage device; and (See at least Fig. 3, [0038]: “The hydraulic pump is driven by the motor 2, or is driven by the engine by means of the clutch 1 and a rotor of the motor 2, or is driven by the motor 2 and the engine” & [0040]: “In this embodiment, the engine, the motor 1, the motor 2 and the power battery are connected to the all-in-one controller by means of the MCUs or the BMS, and the central revolving device transfers hydraulic signals, high-voltage power and communication signals from the upper body and the lower body.”)
a controller communicably coupled to the motor-generator, the controller configured to: receive a function request; and control the motor-generator to selectively supply power to the energy storage device or to power the hydraulic pump based on the function request. (See at least [0047]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is sufficient and higher than a design threshold A (such as 30%), users may select the pure electric operating mode; similar to the plug-in operating mode, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is disengaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is engaged, the power battery drives the motor 2 by means of the BMS, the all-in-one controller, the central revolving device and the MUC2, the motor 2 drives the hydraulic pump to implement revolving, luffing, telescoping and hoisting of the upper body and the actions of the chassis outriggers” & [0051]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is lower than the design threshold A, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is engaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is disengaged, and the engine is started to drive the motor 2 to generate power to charge the power battery by means of the MCU2, the central revolving device, the all-in-one controller and the BMS…”. See also [0040] regarding the engine, the motor 1, the motor 2 and the power battery being connected to the all-in-one controller.)
Regarding claim 12, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Shan additionally discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the motor-generator between a first operating state in which the motor-generator receives energy from the energy storage device to power movement of the hydraulic pump, and a second operating state in which the motor-generator provides energy to the energy storage device. (See at least [0047]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is sufficient and higher than a design threshold A (such as 30%), users may select the pure electric operating mode; similar to the plug-in operating mode, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is disengaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is engaged, the power battery drives the motor 2 by means of the BMS, the all-in-one controller, the central revolving device and the MUC2, the motor 2 drives the hydraulic pump to implement revolving, luffing, telescoping and hoisting of the upper body and the actions of the chassis outriggers” & [0051]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is lower than the design threshold A, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is engaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is disengaged, and the engine is started to drive the motor 2 to generate power to charge the power battery by means of the MCU2, the central revolving device, the all-in-one controller and the BMS…”)
Regarding claim 16, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Shan additionally discloses:
wherein the motor-generator includes a first drive element that is rotationally coupled to the prime mover, and a second drive element that is rotationally coupled to the hydraulic pump, and so that the hydraulic pump rotates at a same rotational speed as the first drive element in at least one operating mode. (See at least Fig. 3, [0038]: “The engine is arranged on an upper body and connected to a clutch 1, the clutch 1 is connected to an input shaft of the motor 2, an output shaft of the motor 2 is connected to a clutch 2, and the clutch 2 is connected to an upper operating mechanism. The upper operating mechanism comprises a hydraulic pump connected to the clutch 2, and a revolving device, a luffing device, a hoisting device, a telescopic boom and chassis outriggers which are driven by the hydraulic pump” & [0049]: “When the users select the hybrid operating mode, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is engaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is engaged, and the engine drives the hydraulic pump to work by means of the clutch 1, the rotor of the motor 2 and the clutch 2.”)
NOTE: Claim 16 recites the following intended use limitation: “…and so that the hydraulic pump rotates at a same rotational speed as the first drive element in at least one operating mode”. This limitation is not positively recited and is instead recited as intended use via the phrase “so that”. Therefore, the BRI of claim 16 only requires the limitations “wherein the motor-generator includes a first drive element that is rotationally coupled to the prime mover, and a second drive element that is rotationally coupled to the hydraulic pump”.
Regarding claim 17, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Shan additionally discloses:
further comprising a clutch that couples the motor-generator to the hydraulic pump. (See at least Fig. 3B & [0038]: “The engine is arranged on an upper body and connected to a clutch 1, the clutch 1 is connected to an input shaft of the motor 2, an output shaft of the motor 2 is connected to a clutch 2, and the clutch 2 is connected to an upper operating mechanism. The upper operating mechanism comprises a hydraulic pump connected to the clutch 2…”)
Regarding claim 18, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Shan additionally discloses:
wherein the energy storage device includes a battery pack. (See at least [0037]: “The power battery is arranged on a lower body and connected to the all-in-one controller by means of a BMS…”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Dalum of US 20120207620 A1, filed 02/15/2012, hereinafter “Dalum”.
Regarding claim 2, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shan does not explicitly teach:
further comprising a power take-off configured to selectively couple the motor-generator to the prime mover.
Dalum teaches:
further comprising a power take-off configured to selectively couple the motor-generator to the prime mover. (See at least [0064]: “System 10 includes a first prime mover 20 (e.g., an internal combustion engine, such as a diesel fueled engine, etc.), a first prime mover driven transmission 30, a component 40 (e.g., a power take-off (PTO), a transfer case, etc.), a second prime mover 50 (e.g., a motor, such as an electric motor/generator, a hydraulic pump with a thru-shaft, etc.)…Transmission 30 is mechanically coupled to component 40. Component 40 is coupled to second prime mover 50.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Shan’s vehicle with Dalum’s power-take off configured to selectively couple the motor-generator to the prime mover. Doing so would be obvious since “when a power take-off (PTO) configured to be engaged or disengaged while a transmission is moving is used, any unneeded drive system components other than a first prime mover can be entirely disconnected from the drive train, reducing inefficiencies and wear in situations where the different portions of the system do not need to interact” (See [0057] of Dalum).
Regarding claim 10, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shan does not explicitly teach:
wherein the hydraulic pump is a variable displacement pump.
Dalum teaches:
wherein the hydraulic pump is a variable displacement pump. (See at least [0064]: “System 10 includes…an accessory 60 (e.g., a hydraulic pump, such as a variable volume displacement pump, etc.)”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Shan’s vehicle with Dalum’s variable displacement pump. Doing so would be obvious since “If the pump is a variable volume displacement pump, further simplification is possible because a clutch may not be needed between the second prime mover and the pump” (See [0058] of Dalum).
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Maroney of US 20230278785 A1, filed 02/16/2023, hereinafter “Maroney”.
Regarding claim 8, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shan does not explicitly teach:
wherein the operating condition is indicative of an anticipated power demand associated with operation of a hydraulic actuator onboard the vocational vehicle.
Maroney teaches:
wherein the operating condition is indicative of an anticipated power demand associated with operation of a hydraulic actuator onboard the vocational vehicle. (See at least [0063-0064]: “For example, the controller may be configured to disable battery charging when a vehicle controller (or onboard computer system) issues a command to actuate one of the hydraulically powered body systems or when hydraulic demand is sensed…The controller may also be configured to sense or anticipate demand for (or use of) hydraulic power (e.g., by monitoring various sensor data including output pump pressure or an input pressure at the hydraulically actuated body system, a hydraulic piston position sensor, a proximity sensor, or a timer).”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Shan’s vehicle with Maroney’s operating condition being indicative of an anticipated power demand associated with operation of a hydraulic actuator onboard the vocational vehicle. Doing so would be obvious to “advantageously mitigate against engine overloading (or prevent the engine from stalling or bogging down under excessive load)” (See [0060] of Maroney).
Regarding claim 15, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Shan additionally teaches:
receive data indicative of a state of charge of the energy storage device; and control the motor-generator to supply power to the energy storage device(See at least [0051]: “When the state of charge of the power battery is lower than the design threshold A, the clutch 1 between the engine and the motor 2 is engaged, the clutch 2 between the motor 2 and the hydraulic pump is disengaged, and the engine is started to drive the motor 2 to generate power to charge the power battery by means of the MCU2, the central revolving device, the all-in-one controller and the BMS…”)
Shan does not explicitly teach:
wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a power demand based on the function request;
…when the power demand is less than a power threshold…
Maroney teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a power demand based on the function request; (See at least [0063-0064]: “For example, the controller may be configured to disable battery charging when a vehicle controller (or onboard computer system) issues a command to actuate one of the hydraulically powered body systems or when hydraulic demand is sensed…In such embodiments in which the controller 130, 150 is configured to discontinue battery charging in response to actuation of one of the hydraulic body systems, the controller may be responsive to a command issued by an onboard vehicle controller to actuate one or more of the hydraulic body systems (such as a command to actuate the packer assembly). For example, the controller may open the above-described switch in response to such an actuation command. The controller may also be configured to sense or anticipate demand for (or use of) hydraulic power (e.g., by monitoring various sensor data including output pump pressure or an input pressure at the hydraulically actuated body system, a hydraulic piston position sensor, a proximity sensor, or a timer).”)
…when the power demand is less than a power threshold… (See at least [0075]: “As described above, the generator continues to charge the battery at 212 as long as the battery is not fully charged at 214, there is no (or low) hydraulic activity at 216, and the generator rpm remains in the predetermine range of rpm values at 218.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Shan’s system with Maroney’s technique of determining a power demand based on the function request and controlling the motor-generator to supply power to the energy storage device when the power demand is less than a power threshold. Doing so would be obvious to “advantageously mitigate against engine overloading (or prevent the engine from stalling or bogging down under excessive load)” (See [0060] of Maroney).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Koga of US 20220185582 A1, published 06/16/2022, hereinafter “Koga”.
Regarding claim 5, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shan does not explicitly teach:
further comprising: an electric power take-off system coupled to the energy storage device, the electric power take-off system comprising:
a motor configured to be powered by the energy storage device; and
a second hydraulic pump coupled to the motor.
Koga teaches:
further comprising: an electric power take-off system coupled to the energy storage device, the electric power take-off system comprising: (See at least [0057]: “Referring to FIG. 14, a schematic of an alternative refuse vehicle 10 is provided. The refuse vehicle 10 generally includes a charge storing device, shown as battery assembly 23, which is configured to provide power to the prime mover 20 to drive the refuse vehicle. The battery assembly 23 is further configured to provide power to one or more E-PTOs 100a, 100b, 100n.”)
a motor configured to be powered by the energy storage device; and (See at least [0058]: “As depicted in FIG. 14, each E-PTO 100a, 100b, 100n can include an inverter 318 to convert DC electrical power received from the battery assembly 23 into AC electric power for use by the electric motor 104.”)
a second hydraulic pump coupled to the motor. (See at least Fig. 14 & [0057]: “The E-PTOs 100a, 100b, 100n, as discussed above, each include an electric motor 104 that is configured to drive one or more hydraulic pumps 102 to provide pressurized hydraulic fluid to different systems on the refuse vehicle 10.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Shan’s vehicle with Koga ’s electric power take-off system that comprises a motor configured to be powered by the energy storage device and a second hydraulic pump coupled to the motor. Doing so would be obvious since “The additional E-PTOs can help provide a more controllable and easier-to-maintain refuse vehicle 10” and “providing each hydraulic component with its own dedicated electric motor 104 and hydraulic pump 102 can allow the use of smaller and less expensive motors and pumps, which can reduce the overall cost of the refuse vehicle 10, while also making the refuse vehicle 10 easier to maintain. Further, the use of independent hydraulic circuits can allow for more precise control of the hydraulic pump 102, as fewer components are being provided with pressurized hydraulic fluid from the same source” (See [0056] & [0064] of Koga).
Regarding claim 6, Shan and Koga in combination teach all the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Koga additionally teaches:
wherein the electric power take-off system is configured to operate independently from the peak shaving system. (See at least [0043]: “Each of the circuits 300, 400 are designed to form a reliable and efficient selective electrical coupling between the battery 23 and the E-PTO system 100. The circuits 300, 400 are further designed to be integrated into refuse trucks 10 having different battery 23 types or systems so that the E-PTO system 100 can be incorporated into the vehicle. The circuits 300, 400 further allow a user to lock out and disable the E-PTO system 100 without affecting the rest of the refuse truck 10 functions, so that the refuse truck 10 can still be driven or otherwise operated independent of the E-PTO system 100 function. This operational mode can be useful when power conservation is necessary, such as when the batteries 23 have limited remaining power.”)
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Maroney and further in view of Dalum.
Regarding claim 13, Shan discloses all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Shan does not explicitly teach:
wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a power demand based on the function request;
control the motor-generator to supply power to the energy storage device when the power demand does not satisfy the power threshold.
Maroney teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a power demand based on the function request; (See at least [0063-0064]: “For example, the controller may be configured to disable battery charging when a vehicle controller (or onboard computer system) issues a command to actuate one of the hydraulically powered body systems or when hydraulic demand is sensed…In such embodiments in which the controller 130, 150 is configured to discontinue battery charging in response to actuation of one of the hydraulic body systems, the controller may be responsive to a command issued by an onboard vehicle controller to actuate one or more of the hydraulic body systems (such as a command to actuate the packer assembly). For example, the controller may open the above-described switch in response to such an actuation command. The controller may also be configured to sense or anticipate demand for (or use of) hydraulic power (e.g., by monitoring various sensor data including output pump pressure or an input pressure at the hydraulically actuated body system, a hydraulic piston position sensor, a proximity sensor, or a timer).”)
control the motor-generator to supply power to the energy storage device when the power demand does not satisfy the power threshold. (See at least Fig. 6, [0072]: “With continued reference to FIG. 6, the battery charge level, hydraulic demand, and generator rotation rate are monitored at 214, 216, and 218 while charging at 212. If the battery is fully charged at 214, if hydraulic system is active at 216, or the generator rpm is outside the predetermine range at 218, then the method stops charging and may optionally disengage the generator power take off at 220. Otherwise, the charging operation continues” & [0074-0075]: “After such engagement, the method checks hydraulic activity and generator rpm at 208 and 210 and initiates battery charging at 212 when there is no (or low) hydraulic activity and when the generator rpm is within the predetermined range of values. As described above, the generator continues to charge the battery at 212 as long as the battery is not fully charged at 214, there is no (or low) hydraulic activity at 216, and the generator rpm remains in the predetermine range of rpm values at 218.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Shan’s system with Maroney’s technique of determining a power demand based on the function request and controlling the motor-generator to supply power to the energy storage device when the power demand does not satisfy the power threshold. Doing so would be obvious to “advantageously mitigate against engine overloading (or prevent the engine from stalling or bogging down under excessive load)” (See [0060] of Maroney).
Shan and Maroney in combination do not explicitly teach:
control the motor-generator to power the hydraulic pump when the power demand satisfies a power threshold; and
Dalum teaches:
control the motor-generator to power the hydraulic pump when the power demand satisfies a power threshold; and (See at least [0087]: “Accordingly, system 10 uses an electric motor (e.g., prime mover 50) to power a hydraulic pump (e.g., accessory 60) for the operation of hydraulic equipment (e.g., aerial buckets, hydraulically powered compressors, etc.). Alternatively, the electric motor may directly power a compressor. The electric motor can be configured to only operate when there is a demand for hydraulic flow or the need to operate other mechanically coupled equipment to conserve energy within first rechargeable energy source 70.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Shan and Maroney’s system with Dalum’s technique of controlling the motor-generator to power the hydraulic pump when the hydraulic demand satisfies a power threshold. Doing so would be obvious to achieve “lower consumption of power from the rechargeable energy source” “when demand for hydraulic flow is low” (See [0090] of Dalum).
Regarding claim 14, Shan, Maroney, and Dalum in combination teach all the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above.
Dalum additionally teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to control the hydraulic pump to adjust at least one of a pressure or a flow rate of hydraulic fluid provided by the hydraulic pump based on the power demand. (See at least [0090]: “If the rechargeable energy reserve is large enough, the electric motor (mover 50) may operate continuously, eliminating the need for a controller to turn motor on and off based upon demand. Such a system may be coupled to a variable volume displacement pump to reduce flow when demand for hydraulic flow is low, resulting in lower consumption of power from the rechargeable energy source. This same method of continuous operation can also be used for hybrid system configurations” & [0098]: “However, in some scenarios, second prime mover 50 may provide power to accessory 60 and the speed of second prime mover 50 may be varied by a controller. For example, the speed of second prime mover 50 may be varied to reduce the flow of fluid from accessory 60 (e.g., for two speed operation of an aerial device where lower hydraulic flow may be desirable for fine movement of the boom).”)
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maroney in view of Dalum.
Regarding claim 19, Maroney teaches:
A method comprising: receiving, by a controller, a function request associated with a hydraulic system of a vocational vehicle; (See at least [0063-0064]: “For example, the controller may be configured to disable battery charging when a vehicle controller (or onboard computer system) issues a command to actuate one of the hydraulically powered body systems or when hydraulic demand is sensed…In such embodiments in which the controller 130, 150 is configured to discontinue battery charging in response to actuation of one of the hydraulic body systems, the controller may be responsive to a command issued by an onboard vehicle controller to actuate one or more of the hydraulic body systems (such as a command to actuate the packer assembly). For example, the controller may open the above-described switch in response to such an actuation command.”)
determining, by the controller, a power demand of the hydraulic system based on the function request; and (See at least [0064]: “The controller may also be configured to sense or anticipate demand for (or use of) hydraulic power (e.g., by monitoring various sensor data including output pump pressure or an input pressure at the hydraulically actuated body system, a hydraulic piston position sensor, a proximity sensor, or a timer)” & [0072]: “With continued reference to FIG. 6, the battery charge level, hydraulic demand, and generator rotation rate are monitored at 214, 216, and 218 while charging at 212.”)
controlling, by the controller, a motor-generator that is coupled(See at least Fig. 6, [0072]: “If the battery is fully charged at 214, if hydraulic system is active at 216, or the generator rpm is outside the predetermine range at 218, then the method stops charging and may optionally disengage the generator power take off at 220. Otherwise, the charging operation continues” & [0074-0075]: “After such engagement, the method checks hydraulic activity and generator rpm at 208 and 210 and initiates battery charging at 212 when there is no (or low) hydraulic activity and when the generator rpm is within the predetermined range of values. As described above, the generator continues to charge the battery at 212 as long as the battery is not fully charged at 214, there is no (or low) hydraulic activity at 216, and the generator rpm remains in the predetermine range of rpm values at 218.”)
However, Maroney does not explicitly teach that the motor-generator is coupled to a hydraulic pump of the hydraulic system and powering the hydraulic pump based on the power demand.
Dalum teaches an electric motor for powering a hydraulic pump that “can be configured to only operate when there is a demand for hydraulic flow” (See at least [0087]).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Maroney’s method with Dalum’s electric motor that powers a hydraulic pump where is a demand for hydraulic flow. Doing so would be obvious to achieve “lower consumption of power from the rechargeable energy source” “when demand for hydraulic flow is low” (See [0090] of Dalum).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maroney in view of Dalum and further in view of Turner of US 20230117427 A1, published 04/20/2023, hereinafter “Turner”.
Regarding claim 20, Maroney and Dalum in combination teach all the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above.
Maroney additionally teaches:
wherein the vocational vehicle is a refuse vehicle, (See at least [0036]: “Hybrid refuse vehicles including at least one electrically actuated body system and at least one hydraulically actuated body system are disclosed.”)
Maroney and Dalum in combination do not explicitly teach:
wherein receiving the function request comprises receiving a user input from a user interface requesting operation of at least one of a lift system of the refuse vehicle or an ejector system of the refuse vehicle.
Turner teaches:
wherein receiving the function request comprises receiving a user input from a user interface requesting operation of at least one of a lift system of the refuse vehicle or an ejector system of the refuse vehicle. (See at least [0008]: “According to various embodiments, the method includes receiving, by the controller, a user input from a user interface, and increasing, by the controller, the speed of the motor in response to receiving the user input. According to various embodiments, the user input includes a request to activate a lifting mechanism.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Maroney and Dalum’s method with Turner’s technique of receiving the function request comprises receiving a user input from a user interface requesting operation of at least one of a lift system of the refuse vehicle. Doing so would be obvious so that “the operator can control one or more components of the refuse vehicle 10” (See [0126] of Turner).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180154738 A1 is directed to an idle mitigation system including an electric motor that can power a hydraulic system and charge batteries.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nikki Molina whose telephone number is (571) 272-5180. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday and alternate Fridays, 7:30-4:30 PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aniss Chad, can be reached on (571) 270-3832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NIKKI MARIE M MOLINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3662