DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 2A- 2E should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
In Figures 3A-3D, 4A and 4B, the label “Figures 3A” etc. are faint.
In Figures 4A, and 4B, the lines of the elements are faint.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 12, 13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 20220205333 A1 to MCFARLIN.
Regarding claim 1: MCFARLIN discloses 1. A downhole tool 24 comprising:
a mandrel 32 configured with a bore 26 and a respective seat 46 formed on an inner bore surface;
a pump out seat 28 disposed within the bore in a first position (Fig. 2);
wherein the pump out seat is movable between the first position (Fig. 2) and an other position ([0028]),
wherein the first position comprises the pump out seat not engaged on the respective seat (Figure 2), and
wherein the other position comprises the pump out seat dislodged from the bore.[0028]
Regarding claim 3: MCFARLIN discloses 3. The downhole tool of claim 1, wherein the downhole tool is a frac plug [0002], and wherein at least one component of the downhole tool is made of a reactive material ([0041] [0055][0063-0065]).
Regarding claim 6: MCFARLIN discloses 6. The downhole tool of claim 1, wherein the pump out seat is movable to a second position [0040], wherein the second position comprises a shoulder surface 42 of the pump out seat engaged with the respective seat 46 of the bore.
Regarding claim 7: MCFARLIN discloses 7. The downhole tool of claim 6, wherein shearing of a retainer pin 44 allows the pump out seat to move to the second position.(Fig. 3,[0039-0040])
Regarding claim 12: MCFARLIN discloses 12. A downhole tool 24 comprising:
a mandrel 32 configured with a bore 26 and a respective seat 46 formed on an inner bore surface;
a pump out seat 28 disposed within the bore in a first position (Fig. 2);
wherein the pump out seat is movable between the first position (Fig. 2) and an other position ([0028]),
wherein the first position comprises the pump out seat not engaged on the respective seat (Figure 2), and
wherein at least one component of the downhole tool is made of a reactive material ([0041] [0055][0063-0065]), and
wherein the other position comprises the pump out seat dislodged from the bore.[0028]
Regarding claim 13: MCFARLIN discloses 13. The downhole tool of claim 12, wherein the downhole tool is a frac plug[0002].
Regarding claim 19: MCFARLIN discloses 19. The downhole tool of claim 12, wherein the pump out seat comprises a sheared pressure down position whereby a shoulder surface of the pump out seat 42 engaged with the respective seat 46 of the bore.[0039-0040]
Regarding claim 20: MCFARLIN discloses 20. The downhole tool of claim 19, wherein shearing of a retainer pin 44 allows the pump out seat to move to the sheared pressure down position. [0039-0040]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are allowed.
Claims 2,4-5, and 14-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190323314 A1 discloses a downhole tool with a pump out plug having multiple positions.
US 20210404300 A1 discloses a plug for a downhole tool with open and closed positions depending on flow.
US 20200115988 A1 discloses a plug for a downhole tool, initially held by a shear pin, than can be removed by dislodging the plug.
/STEVEN A MACDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674