DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nandakumar et al. (US 2019/0370575).
Regarding claim 1: Nandakumar discloses a system for implementing trip check for vehicles comprising one or more server computer devices remote from a vehicle [0108], the one or more server computer devices being configured to: receive, from the vehicle, imagery of an interior arca of the vehicle; determine, based on the imagery and using machine learning, a condition of the interior area of the vehicle; and perform a selected action based on the condition of the interior area of the vehicle [0021, 0023, 0026, 0028, 0064, 0066].
Regarding claim 2: Nandakumar discloses the condition is a cleanliness condition of the interior area of the vehicle [0026, 0073].
Regarding claim 3: Nandakumar discloses the one or more server computer devices are further configured to perform the selected action to resolve the cleanliness condition, the selected action including at least one of: (i) schedule a cleaning service, or (ii) initiate remote assistance regarding the cleanliness condition [0026, 0069, 0074].
Regarding claim 4: Nandakumar discloses the one or more server computer devices are configured to (i) schedule the cleaning service or (ii) initiate remote assistance regarding the cleanliness condition prior to performance of a next pickup operation by the vehicle [0026, 0069, 0074].
Regarding claim 5: Nandakumar discloses the one or more server computer devices are further configured to determine the cleanliness condition by determination of whether any items were left behind in the interior area of the vehicle [0026, 0028, 0074].
Regarding claim 6: Nandakumar discloses the one or more server computer devices are further configured, responsive to the determination that an item was left behind, to cause scheduling of a stop at a service facility or other location for the vehicle so that the item that was left behind can be removed from the vehicle [0028, 0079].
Regarding claim 7: Nandakumar discloses the condition is whether a seatbelt is being worn by a passenger onboard the vehicle [0027].
Regarding claim 8: Nandakumar discloses the condition is whether one or more particular zones of the interior arca of the vehicle are clear [0026].
Regarding claim 9: Nandakumar discloses the determination whether the one or more particular zones of the interior area of the vehicle are clear includes a determination that one or more doors or windows of the vehicle can be closed [0078, 0080].
Regarding claim 10: Nandakumar discloses the condition is whether a hand of a passenger onboard the vehicle is on a steering wheel of the vehicle [0035].
Regarding claim 11: Nandakumar discloses the imagery has been captured using one or more image sensors disposed within the interior area of the vehicle [0026].
Regarding claim 12: Nandakumar discloses the one or more server computer devices are further configured to cause the vehicle to initiate capture of the imagery using the one or more image sensors (109) [0039, 0047].
Regarding claim 13: Nandakumar discloses the condition is that a cabin of the vehicle is in a starting state condition [0026, 0073, 0074].
Regarding claim 14: Nandakumar discloses the starting state condition includes one or more seats within the cabin being at a selected position [0024].
Regarding claim 15: Nandakumar discloses the one or more server computer devices are further configured to cause the vehicle to adjust one or more seats to a selected position upon determination that the one or more seats are not at the selected position (all passengers seated appropriately; indicates that the seats are adjusted in a proper position) [0027].
Regarding claim 16: Nandakumar discloses the one or more server computer devices are further configured to communicate with one or more passenger client computing devices while the vehicle operates in an autonomous driving mode [0046].
Regarding claim 17: Nandakumar discloses the communication with the one or more passenger client computing devices includes information regarding either buckling up or objects left in the vehicle [0026, 0027, 0028].
Regarding claim 18: Nandakumar discloses a system for implementing trip check for vehicles comprising one or more processors configured to: receive, from a perception system of a vehicle, imagery including an interior area of the vehicle, wherein the imagery is captured using one or more image sensors disposed along the vehicle; evaluate, using machine learning, the imagery to detect an object outside of the vehicle in an external area; identify, based on the evaluation, one or more characteristics of the object; and in response to the identification, cause a system of the vehicle to perform a selected action [0042, 0055-0060].
Regarding claim 19: Nandakumar discloses detection of the object outside of the vehicle in the external arca includes detection of a person (pedestrians) adjacent to the vehicle [0055].
Regarding claim 20: Nandakumar discloses the one or more processors are further configured to evaluate the imagery based on audio information obtained by one or more acoustical sensors of the vehicle [0023, 0047].
Regarding claim 21: Nandakumar discloses the selected action includes closing a trunk lid of the vehicle or a window of the vehicle (secured vehicle doors/windows) [0078, 0080].
Regarding claim 22: Nandakumar discloses the one or more processors are disposed remote from the vehicle in a server computer device [0022, 0039, 0041, 0043-0045, 0108].
Regarding claim 23: Nandakumar discloses at least one of the one or more image sensors are disposed along an interior of the vehicle [0023, 0030, 0047].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claimed the same subject matter. The same subject matter comprises the capturing/receiving of the interior area images of the vehicle; process/determine the condition of the interior area of the vehicle based on the images and output/perform an action based upon the condition of the interior area of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Ito et al. (US 12,668,179) discloses a notification system that notifies a user of misplacement of luggage, and a vehicle equipped with the notification system.
-Ito et al. (US 12,668,178) discloses a lost article prevention device includes a sensor, a communication device, and a controller. The sensor is configured to detect a state inside a vehicle cabin.
-Gupta et al. (US 12,515,605) discloses a vehicle cabin-based target detection and tracking system operable for perceiving a location and orientation of a target within a vehicle cabin or interior and tracking the same through a series of collected images or other sensor data.
/TOAN N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 7/22/26