DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 19/199,068 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 has a period after the first clause.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As per claim 9, the stored access token lacks antecedent basis.
As per claim 10, the authorization request lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP Application Publication 2014/0143836 to Fletcher et al., hereinafter Fletcher.
As per claims 1, 14, and 19, Fletcher teaches a data security system for enabling tokenized access to sensitive data, the data security system comprising a token provisioning computing device including a processor communicatively coupled to a memory, the token provisioning computing device configured to:
receive, from a service provider computing device, a request for access to sensitive data of an individual stored in memory (0030 and 0037);
transmit an authorization request message to a remote client computing device associated with the individual, the authorization request message prompting the individual to authorize provisioning of an access token to the service provider (0039 and 0059), the access token being configurable by (i) associating a data definition of one or more sensitive data elements to the access token for allowing access to be granted (0063), and (ii) identifying one or more authorization parameters [Fletcher incorporates by reference the draft v2-31 of the OAuth 2.0 specification dated Jul. 31, 2012 (0008); in section 1.4 the token is specified to contain specific scopes and durations of access. Duration of access is considered an authorization parameter. A copy of this Draft is included with this Office Action];
receive, from the remote computing device, an authorization response including the data definition and the one or more authorization parameters (0060 and 0063);
generate the access token that enables access to the one or more sensitive data elements according to the one or more authorization parameters (0040 and 0041 and 0063; and
transmit, to the service provider computing device, a response including the access token [access token issued by 120 is transmitted to the resource requesting device 145 via device 150].
As per claim 5, Fletcher teaches the authorization request message includes an authentication request, requesting input of authentication credentials by the individual to the remote computing device, and wherein the authorization response message includes input authentication credentials, wherein the token provisioning computing device is further configured to process the input authentication credentials (0038).
As per claims 6 and 16, Fletcher teaches a secure manager integrated with or separate from the token provisioning computing device (0016), wherein the secure manager is configured to:
receive, from the service provider computing device or the token provisioning computing device, the access token (0041); and
provide, to the service provider computing device, access to the sensitive data elements defined by the data definition according to the one or more authorization parameters of the access token (0041).
As per claim 12, Fletcher teaches the data definition includes a subset of a plurality of data elements available to provide to the service provider computing device from one or more data sources (0063).
As per claim 13, Fletch teaches by way of incorporating by reference the access token of OAuth draft v2-31 (0008), where in that draft the access token is one of alphanumeric code, a bar code, and a QR code (§5.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fletcher in view of USP Application Publication 2017/0192402 to Karp et al., hereinafter Karp.
As pe claim 2, Fletcher is silent in explicitly teaching to store the access token in a token database with the data definition and the one or more authorization parameters. Karp teaches storing the access token in a token database (0214 and 0232) with the data definition and the one or more authorization parameters (0208). Karp contains all the access token with scope and permissions in a database so that they may be looked up and checked when access requests are made. Fletcher already authorization access tokens and using a database was a known way of keeping track of access token when they are later used. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results.
As per claim 3, the combination of Fletcher and Karp teaches the access token is further stored in the token database with an identifier of the individual [Karp:0232], and wherein token provisioning computing device is further configured to:
receive, from the service provider computing device, a token validation request message including the access token [Fletcher: 0041]; in response to receiving the token validation request message, perform a lookup operation using at least one of the access token or the identifier of the individual [Karp: 0206 and 0244]; when the lookup operation returns a valid and active stored access token, validate the access token [Fletcher: 0041]; and transmit a token validation response message to the service provider computing device, the token validation response message including an indication that the access token was successfully validated [Karp: 0244].
As per claim 7, the combination of Fletcher and Karp teaches the token provisioning computing device is further configured to: store the access token in a token database with the data definition and the one or more authorization parameters [Karp: (0214 and 0232)];
at a future time, receive, from the service provider computing device, a data access request including an inputted access token [Fletcher: 0041]; compare the inputted access token to the access token stored in the token database [Karp: 0206 and 0244]; and when the inputted access token matches the stored access token [Karp: 0206 and 0244], facilitate access, to the service provider computing device, to the sensitive data elements defined by the data definition according to the one or more authorization parameters of the access token [Fletcher: 0041].
As per claims 8 and 17, Fletcher is silent in explicitly teaching receive, from the remote client computing device, user input from the individual indicating a revocation of the access token; and in response to receiving the user input, at least one of delete the stored access token or disable the stored access token to prevent further access to the sensitive data by the service provider computing device. Karp teaches receive, from the remote client computing device, user input from the individual indicating a revocation of the access token (0184 and 0202); and in response to receiving the user input, at least one of delete the stored access token or disable the stored access token to prevent further access to the sensitive data by the service provider computing device (0202 and 0246). Tokens have a lifetime but revoking a token can add greater control and security for disallowing access whenever a user sees fit. Token revocation is a well-established principle governing the management of access tokens. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results. Allowing the user to revoke token in Fletcher would generate the same result as taught by Karp.
As per claim 15, it is rejected for the same reason as claims 2 and 3.
Claims 9, 11, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fletcher in view of USP Application Publication 2018/0302391 to Jones et al., hereinafter Jones.
As per claims 9 and 18, Fletcher teaches the token is valid for a duration (§1.4 of the OAuth draft) but is silent in explicitly teaching the one or more authorization parameters include a validity date after which access to the sensitive data is revoked, and wherein the token provisioning computing device is further configured to: upon reaching the validity date, at least one of delete the stored access token or disable the stored access token to prevent further access to the sensitive data by the service provider computing device. Jones teaches the one or more authorization parameters include a validity date after which access to the sensitive data is revoked (0032, 0033, and 0052), and wherein the token provisioning computing device is further configured to: upon reaching the validity date, at least one of delete the stored access token or disable the stored access token to prevent further access to the sensitive data by the service provider computing device [access token is no longer valid; 0033]. Fletcher has the access token lifetime but does not explicitly teach revoking or disabling the access token after that lifetime. Jones which also uses OAuth protocol 2.0 explicitly teaching disabling the access token after their lifetime. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results. Incorporating Jones predictably describes how the time duration of access token can be used to control access to resources.
As per claims 11 and 20, the combination of Fletcher and Jones teaches the one or more authorization parameters include at least one of a validity time/date parameter, a data source parameter, or an authorized service provider parameter [Jones: 0032-0033].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fletcher in view of USP Application Publication 2017/0250972 to Ronda et al., hereinafter Ronda.
As per claim 10, Fletcher teaches receiving, upon communicatively connecting to the remote client computing device, an identifier associated with individual (0038); and accessing one or more data sources using the identifier to identify any sensitive data elements associated with the individual that are respectively stored at and available from the one or more data sources (0039); and generating a selection form based on all sensitive data elements available from the one or more data sources (0039 and 0063). Fletcher is silent in explicitly teaching the token provisioning computing device is further configured to implement the authorization request by: communicatively connecting to the remote client computing device over a secure communication channel. Ronda teaches communicatively connecting to the remote client computing device over a secure communication channel (0179) when authenticating a user (0205-0207) in a similar system where the user consents to the release of his/her information (0208). The use of a secure communication channel is obvious because the user’s credentials are carried over the connection. The claim is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art can combine methods known before the effective filing date which produce predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the enclosed PTO-892 form.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL R. VAUGHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7316. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 9:30am - 5:30pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynn Feild can be reached on (571) 272-2092. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL R VAUGHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431