DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 18421958, filed 1/24/2024, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
The priority date of claimed invention is 7/29/2016.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11527583. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications recite substantially similar claim limitations.
19/199375
U.S. Patent No. 11527583
1. An electronic device comprising:
a display device configured to display an image and detect an external input; and
a frame to which the display device is fixed,
wherein the display device comprises:
a base layer;
touch electrodes disposed on the base layer;
signal lines electrically connected to the touch electrodes;
pads electrically connected to the signal lines;
a bank disposed between the touch electrodes and the pads; and
a capping pattern overlapping the bank and spaced apart from the signal lines,
wherein the bank comprises:
a first portion overlapping the signal lines and having a first thickness;
a second portion not overlapping the signal lines and having a second thickness greater than the first thickness; and
a third portion disposed between the first and second portions and having an inclined upper surface, and
wherein the capping pattern overlaps the third portion.
1. A display device comprising:
a base layer comprising a display area and a peripheral area adjacent to the display area;
a device layer disposed on the display area of the base layer and comprising light emitting elements;
an encapsulation layer disposed on the device layer;
a touch sensing layer disposed on the encapsulation layer, the touch sensing layer comprising electrodes and signal lines electrically connected to the electrodes, respectively;
a bank layer disposed on the peripheral area of the base layer and comprising a first portion having a first thickness, a second portion having a second thickness less than the first thickness, and a third portion disposed between the first portion and the second portion; and
a capping layer disposed on the third portion of the bank layer and disposed on the peripheral area of the base layer,
wherein a first distance between the base layer and an upper surface of the first portion of the bank layer is greater than a second distance between the base layer and an upper surface of the second portion of the base layer.
19/199375
U.S. Patent No. 11527583
20. An electronic device comprising:
a base layer;
a circuit layer disposed on the base layer;
a device layer disposed on the circuit layer;
an encapsulation layer disposed on the device layer and covering the device layer;
touch electrodes disposed on the encapsulation layer;
signal lines electrically connected to the touch electrodes;
pads disposed on the base layer and electrically connected to the signal lines;
a bank disposed between the touch electrodes and the pads and extending in a first direction; and
a capping pattern overlapping the bank and spaced from the signal lines in the first direction,
wherein the encapsulation layer does not overlap the bank.
1. A display device comprising:
a base layer comprising a display area and a peripheral area adjacent to the display area;
a device layer disposed on the display area of the base layer and comprising light emitting elements;
an encapsulation layer disposed on the device layer;
a touch sensing layer disposed on the encapsulation layer, the touch sensing layer comprising electrodes and signal lines electrically connected to the electrodes, respectively;
a bank layer disposed on the peripheral area of the base layer and comprising a first portion having a first thickness, a second portion having a second thickness less than the first thickness, and a third portion disposed between the first portion and the second portion; and
a capping layer disposed on the third portion of the bank layer and disposed on the peripheral area of the base layer,
wherein a first distance between the base layer and an upper surface of the first portion of the bank layer is greater than a second distance between the base layer and an upper surface of the second portion of the base layer.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 need to spell out what is “PEDOT” because it is first time introduced the term.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (U.S. Patent Publication US 2016/0154499 A1, Assignee: Samsung, Published: 6/2/2016) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Publication US 20160103537 A1 Published: 10/10/2014).
Regarding claim 20, Bae discloses An electronic device comprising:
a base layer; (Fig. 4, [0109] “flexible substrate includes a first film 112 and a second film 113 “ [0056] “a substrate”)
a circuit layer disposed on the base layer; ([0115] The semiconductor 154 b may include a channel region 152 b, and source and drain regions 153 b and 155 b that are formed by doping to be disposed at opposite lateral sides of the channel region 152 b. The semiconductor 154 b may include amorphous silicon, polysilicon, or an oxide semiconductor.)
a device layer (Fig. 4, light-emitting member 370” of Fig. 4 and [0124]) disposed on the circuit layer;
an encapsulation layer disposed on the device layer and covering the device layer; (Fig. 4, [0070] “a touch electrode layer including first and second touch electrodes 410 and 420 is formed on the thin film encapsulation layer of the display area (S70).“ [0131] An encapsulation layer 280 may be disposed on the facing electrode 270. The encapsulation layer 280 encapsulates the light-emitting member 370 and the facing electrode 270 and may prevent permeation of moisture and/or oxygen. The encapsulation layer 280 may include a plurality of encapsulating thin films. The first touch electrodes 410 arranged in the first direction and the second touch electrodes 420 arranged in the second direction may be disposed on the encapsulation layer 280. The first touch electrodes 410 may be separated from each other, and may be connected to first connecting portions.)
touch electrodes disposed on the encapsulation layer; (Fig. 4, [0070] “a touch electrode layer including first and second touch electrodes 410 and 420 is formed on the thin film encapsulation layer of the display area (S70).“)
signal lines electrically connected to the touch electrodes; electrically ([0093] “first and second contact wires 411 and 421 may be disposed in the peripheral area PA of the display panel 300, as shown in FIG. 3, but alternatively, may be disposed in the touch active area TA. The second contact wires 421 are connected to second touch wires 423 through a second contact electrode 191_3 (shown in FIG. 5), and end portions of second touch wires 423 form a pad portion 450 in the peripheral area PA of the display panel 300.”)
pads disposed on the base layer and electrically connected to the signal lines; ([0093] The first and second contact wires 411 and 421 may be disposed in the peripheral area PA of the display panel 300, as shown in FIG. 3, but alternatively, may be disposed in the touch active area TA. The second contact wires 421 are connected to second touch wires 423 through a second contact electrode 191_3 (shown in FIG. 5), and end portions of second touch wires 423 form a pad portion 450 in the peripheral area PA of the display panel 300. [0177] End portions of the first and second touch wires 413 and 423 form a pad portion 450 in the peripheral area PA of the display panel 300.)
a bank (Fig 4, 411 [1046]) disposed between the touch electrodes and the pads and extending in a first direction; (Fig 4, 411 extending in X direction) and
wherein the encapsulation layer does not overlap the bank. (Fig 4, shows encapsulation layer 280 not overlap 411)
Bae does not disclose “a capping pattern overlapping the bank and spaced from the signal lines in the first direction,”
Park discloses “a capping pattern (Figs 3, 4 capping pattern from TL1 – BC1, [0066] – [0069]) overlapping the bank (Figs 3, 4 IL Layer, [0065]) and spaced from the signal lines (Figs 3, 4, BR, [0066] – [0069]) in the first direction,”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate capping pattern by Park into device of Bae. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Park: [0011])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 – 19 are allowed.
Claims 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the double patenting rejection(s), set forth in this Office action.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) and 35 U.S.C. 103, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) and claim objection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20050280002 A1 discloses different thickness of a layer.
U.S. Patent Publication US 2016/0154499 A1 discloses substrate layer on [0056]
U.S. Patent Publication US 20160103537 A1 discloses on layer structure on Fig. 4.
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629